Asus Fonepad Note FHD6, Here another 6 incher :D

TSun_id
post Jun 27 2013, 01:12 PM, updated 12y ago

music is soul's food
7,106 posts

{ps: i hope i didn't made a dupe thread, there is not thread on this right? i couldn't see any}

so, here goes,

Asus Fonepad Note FHD6

GENERAL 2G Network GSM 850 / 900 / 1800 / 1900
3G Network HSDPA 850 / 900 / 1900 / 2100
SIM Yes
Announced 2013, June
Status Coming soon. Exp. release 2013, Q3
BODY Dimensions -
Weight
- Stylus
DISPLAY Type Super IPS+ LCD capacitive touchscreen, 16M colors
Size 1080 x 1920 pixels, 6.0 inches (~367 ppi pixel density)
Multitouch Yes

SOUND Alert types Vibration, MP3 ringtones
Loudspeaker Yes, with stereo speakers
3.5mm jack Yes
MEMORY Card slot microSD, up to 64 GB
Internal 8/16 GB storage, 2 GB RAM
DATA GPRS Class 10 (4+1/3+2 slots), 32 - 48 kbps
EDGE Class 10, 236.8 kbps
Speed DC-HSPA+; HSDPA, 42 Mbps; HSUPA, 5.76 Mbps
WLAN Wi-Fi 802.11 a/b/g/n, Wi-Fi Direct, dual-band, Wi-Fi hotspot
Bluetooth Yes, v4.0 with A2DP
NFC Yes
USB Yes, v2.0
CAMERA Primary 8 MP, 3264 x 2448 pixels, autofocus
Features Geo-tagging
Video Yes, 720p@30fps
Secondary Yes, 1.2 MP
FEATURES OS Android OS, v4.2 (Jelly Bean)
Chipset Intel Atom Z2560
CPU Dual-core 1.6 GHz
GPU PowerVR SGX544MP2
Sensors Accelerometer, gyro, compass
Messaging SMS(threaded view), MMS, Email, Push Mail, IM
Browser HTML5
Radio No
GPS Yes, with A-GPS support
Java Yes, via Java MIDP emulator
Colors White
- SNS integration
- MP3/WAV/WMA/AAC player
- MP4/H.264/H.263 player
- Organizer
- Document editor
- Photo viewer/editor
- Voice memo/dial
- Predictive text input
BATTERY Non-removable Li-Ion battery

[Specs credit to GSMarena]

This post has been edited by un_id: Jun 27 2013, 01:15 PM

TSun_id
post Jun 27 2013, 01:16 PM

music is soul's food
7,106 posts

Reserve 1
TSun_id
post Jun 27 2013, 01:16 PM

music is soul's food
7,106 posts

Reserve 2
TSun_id
post Jun 27 2013, 01:17 PM

music is soul's food
7,106 posts

Reserve 3
TSun_id
post Jun 27 2013, 01:18 PM

music is soul's food
7,106 posts

Intel Atom dual core, hmm, wonder how will it performs.
airspeeder
post Jun 27 2013, 01:54 PM

314 posts

same digitizer tech like galaxy note?..
TSun_id
post Jun 27 2013, 02:07 PM

music is soul's food
7,106 posts

QUOTE(airspeeder @ Jun 27 2013, 01:54 PM)
same digitizer tech like galaxy note?..
Not sure.. I bet different..

Design wise I already fall in love, and the stylus added the attraction. (but fall in love with many incoming phones already sweat.gif)
Bujal.x
post Jun 27 2013, 03:13 PM

PUNGGUNG ITU~~~
2,387 posts

QUOTE(un_id @ Jun 27 2013, 01:18 PM)
Intel Atom dual core, hmm, wonder how will it performs.
i read somewhere lenovo k900 with intel atom dual core can survived the whole day with only 2400mAh battery.its fascinating considered k900 have full hd 5.5" display
mudkipryan94
post Jun 27 2013, 03:32 PM

someone need a sarcasm meter?
12,000 posts

-bump- for nice 'toys' for TS smile.gif
mudkipryan94
post Jun 27 2013, 03:33 PM

12,000 posts

QUOTE(Bujal.x @ Jun 27 2013, 03:13 PM)
i read somewhere lenovo k900 with intel atom dual core can survived the whole day with only 2400mAh battery.its fascinating considered k900 have full hd 5.5" display
later Taiwan say Asus best den Lenvono shut up liao tongue.gif
kingsora
post Jun 27 2013, 03:49 PM

Louis Litttt
1,407 posts

I guess 6 inch is the new 4.7 inch.
Say goodbye to HTC One then? shocking.gif

un_id
SyathibiyMegat
post Jun 27 2013, 05:47 PM

Linguistics
2,634 posts

Here perhaps? asus new line up
TSun_id
post Jun 27 2013, 06:08 PM

music is soul's food
7,106 posts

QUOTE(SyathibiyMegat @ Jun 27 2013, 05:47 PM)
Here perhaps? asus new line up
This one is dedicated for fonepad fhd6 while waiting for launching.. I will convert this to official thread if I decide to buy it. Lol
TSun_id
post Jun 27 2013, 06:08 PM

music is soul's food
7,106 posts

QUOTE(kingsora @ Jun 27 2013, 03:49 PM)
I guess 6 inch is the new 4.7 inch.
Say goodbye to HTC One then?  shocking.gif

un_id
Perhaps.. tongue.gif
a852006
post Jun 29 2013, 11:44 PM

QUOTE(Bujal.x @ Jun 27 2013, 03:13 PM)
yup agreed.. plus intel atom consumes lesser energy for the high performance tasks compared to arm conterparts
wkkm007
post Jun 30 2013, 12:24 AM

3,123 posts

IntelAtomSoCAndroid-IA(X86)phone/tab,INTEL inside, SamsungGTab3/FHD-AsusFonepadNote6,MeMO10
https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=2752934&hl=

Smartphone/Tablet processor Teread;War Begun;
https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=2751654&hl=
darth5zaft
post Jul 27 2013, 08:37 PM

901 posts

Where is it? Asus being so quite. Even the latter launch Z ultra is already here.
SyathibiyMegat
post Oct 22 2013, 12:15 AM

Linguistics
2,634 posts

It's definitely the 2nd best phablet after Note 3. But since this is Asus's first time, it's pardoned. But I'm confident 2nd gen Fonepad 6 will be better than Note 4
andrekua2
post Oct 22 2013, 07:15 AM

13,476 posts

The hands on video from Android Central show stutters but the one from Techno Buffalo is smooth.

Looks big and thick. I'm guessing unless this is priced few hundreds cheaper than Note 3 or it will fail big time.
benny888
post Oct 22 2013, 08:00 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(SyathibiyMegat @ Oct 22 2013, 12:15 AM)

It's definitely the 2nd best phablet after Note 3. But since this is Asus's first time, it's pardoned. But I'm confident 2nd gen Fonepad 6 will be better than Note 4
2nd best if not better ( depending on user needs) is the Xperia Z Ultra n definitely not this phone
SyathibiyMegat
post Oct 22 2013, 02:25 PM

Linguistics
2,634 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Oct 22 2013, 08:00 AM)
2nd best if not better ( depending on user needs) is the Xperia Z Ultra n definitely not this phone
Phablet is all abt the pen. Anything bigger than 5"(G2 exception) but no pen, it'll never be in my list
-kytz-
post Dec 4 2013, 09:27 PM

12,573 posts

RM1,268 OMG SO CHEAP

https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...&#entry64974779
toda_erika_II
post Dec 5 2013, 06:41 PM

rawr~~
540 posts

Saw two review videos. Looks like it will lag (like when scrolling down through photo albums) even though it's Android 4.2.2 with 2GB RAM. Camera photos look whitish. Otherwise nice phone.

maldini3totti
post Dec 6 2013, 06:23 AM

283 posts

The price is definitely cheap for the specs and features and the design looks cool (except for the thick bezels which are a total turnoff).

A good effort from Asus!
mydragoon
post Dec 6 2013, 12:31 PM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(SyathibiyMegat @ Oct 22 2013, 02:25 PM)
Phablet is all abt the pen. Anything bigger than 5"(G2 exception) but no pen, it'll never be in my list
same here. i'm hooked to a proper pen.

however, asus gives me mixed reaction. having owned 1st gen transformer... really love it. nothing to complain. but after that, had padfone2... and scary experience -- having to go Customer Service, wait, and then see so many bugs... no doubt back then, asus was fast with firmware updates, but still... its no fun having a buggy main device.

but otherwise, this is cheap and looks like a decent deal.

SUSvmammoth
post Dec 6 2013, 12:34 PM

265 posts

Mana LTE?
retsmot
post Dec 6 2013, 04:55 PM

the power cosmic!
1,229 posts

Wow really cheap... Anyone bought? I might take the plunge...
funguss
post Dec 7 2013, 11:44 PM

573 posts

No flash for the camera, non removable battery and no LTE. Otherwise, the other features like full HD display, 2 front speakers, stylus capability, low price etc may make this an appealing phablet.

How is Asus' after sales service ?

This post has been edited by funguss: Dec 7 2013, 11:45 PM
forgot_86
post Dec 8 2013, 01:00 AM

182 posts

Got demo unit at the mines, not bad. Everything is smooth and screen is very very nice and bright. Sound is clear but not loud, maybe cuz the place was too crowded just now. And yes, its really cheap for what you're getting.

Might be getting 1 myself, will try play again tomorrow biggrin.gif

kob3bryant
post Dec 8 2013, 10:20 AM

276 posts

QUOTE(forgot_86 @ Dec 8 2013, 01:00 AM)
Got demo unit at the mines, not bad. Everything is smooth and screen is very very nice and bright. Sound is clear but not loud, maybe cuz the place was too crowded just now. And yes, its really cheap for what you're getting.

Might be getting 1 myself, will try play again tomorrow  biggrin.gif
bro, pls try it and share the feedback with us. the price is attrative. i watched youtube link, the modern combat 4 cannot run at all
benny888
post Dec 8 2013, 10:41 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(kob3bryant @ Dec 8 2013, 10:20 AM)
bro, pls try it and share the feedback with us. the price is attrative. i watched youtube link, the modern combat 4 cannot run at all
If gaming is important, you can forget about this phablet as the Atom processor does not perform well ( based on my previous experience using the Fonepad 1.2 n 1.5 Ghz) and many games are incompatible too
If you are looking for a budget phablet with reasonably good performance - Huawei Ascend Mate , Mega 6.3

This post has been edited by benny888: Dec 8 2013, 10:47 AM
forgot_86
post Dec 8 2013, 01:28 PM

182 posts

QUOTE(kob3bryant @ Dec 8 2013, 10:20 AM)
For normal usage, browsing, watch movies and light gaming is smooth. But heavy games didnt get to try, internet was so slow at the shop. See the spec seems to be the same with Lenovo K900. Perhaps can check with k900 users.

Contrary to most review, the back of the fon is like rubberized matte feeling. Not glossy so no fingerprint issue. Only black color available, white not yet arrive
yoyoan
post Dec 8 2013, 03:10 PM

1,209 posts

except for the thickness and soft buttons, I think this device rocks! Especially for that price.
forgot_86
post Dec 8 2013, 09:06 PM

182 posts

Finally bought this phone after few times playing at the shop. Got it at rm1399 with 6 months instalment tongue.gif

Still cant believe the price i paid for the experience of this fon wub.gif
mydragoon
post Dec 9 2013, 08:12 AM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(forgot_86 @ Dec 8 2013, 01:00 AM)

Might be getting 1 myself, will try play again tomorrow  biggrin.gif
i was at Digital Mall PJ. saw some demo units.

played around with it. wow... it feels very much like a note (i'm a Note 2 user). there's even pen hovering function (looks like they use wacom screen tech?!?)...

scrolling was smooth. din really feel any lag. 6" isn't as uncomfortable as i would have expected.

din try games and photos.

but ya, had to agree with forgot_86. we played a sample video that was in the phone and maxed the volume. could not really hear anything. it's bad for a phone with 2 front facing speakers.
mydragoon
post Dec 9 2013, 08:21 AM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(forgot_86 @ Dec 8 2013, 01:28 PM)
For normal usage, browsing, watch movies and light gaming is smooth. But heavy games didnt get to try, internet was so slow at the shop.  See the spec seems to be the same with Lenovo K900. Perhaps can check with k900 users.

Contrary to most review, the back of the fon is like rubberized matte feeling. Not glossy so no fingerprint issue. Only black color available, white not yet arrive
QUOTE(forgot_86 @ Dec 8 2013, 09:06 PM)
Finally bought this phone after few times playing at the shop. Got it at rm1399 with 6 months instalment  tongue.gif

Still cant believe the price i paid for the experience of this fon  wub.gif
since you got yourself a unit. if you have the time, can try and test out the following games (just curious to know how it does):
* Destroy Gunner SP (alpha) @ https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?....DGunsSPF&hl=en
* Asphalt 8 @ https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?....ANMP.GloftA8HM (it's now free)
* Fifa 14: @ https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?...ifa14_row&hl=en
and maybe CSR Racing too @ https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?...otion.csrracing

these are considered the graphic intensive games. do let us know how it performs.

QUOTE(yoyoan @ Dec 8 2013, 03:10 PM)
except for the thickness and soft buttons, I think this device rocks! Especially for that price.
soft button is the way to go. i prefer soft buttons. smile.gif
kob3bryant
post Dec 9 2013, 11:00 AM

276 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Dec 8 2013, 10:41 AM)
If gaming is important, you can forget about this phablet as the Atom processor does not perform well ( based on my previous experience using the Fonepad 1.2 n 1.5 Ghz) and many games are incompatible too
If you are looking for a budget phablet with reasonably good performance - Huawei Ascend Mate , Mega 6.3
yes bro, i m serious considering these few models. Have to study more before i make any decision. The asus model is attrating me with the FHD resolution plus 32GB internal. While the Ascend mate is for its battery life and the ability of using sd card as internal storage. As for Mega, i m not so keen. Side note, the G Pro can be get at RM1.2 via Taobao hence it is a good deal and good contestant in my heart. and it's a f240k model

QUOTE(mydragoon @ Dec 9 2013, 08:21 AM)
since you got yourself a unit. if you have the time, can try and test out the following games (just curious to know how it does):
* Destroy Gunner SP (alpha) @ https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?....DGunsSPF&hl=en
* Asphalt 8 @ https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?....ANMP.GloftA8HM (it's now free)
* Fifa 14: @ https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?...ifa14_row&hl=en
and maybe CSR Racing too @ https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?...otion.csrracing

these are considered the graphic intensive games. do let us know how it performs.
soft button is the way to go. i prefer soft buttons. smile.gif
yes bro you should try it and share

manatwork
post Dec 9 2013, 03:01 PM

Just got this just now for RM1399 (+ free 2 years international warranty, 16GB Memory Card and 12 months EZP). So far, this thing is great for reading, which is the primary reason i bought it for as my Ipad is tad too heavy.
funguss
post Dec 9 2013, 03:02 PM

573 posts

I had a chance to play with a black set in LYP.

Nice full HD screen and finishing. Contrary to reviews which said that it has a glossy plastic surface, it actually came with a soft touch back cover which is slip resistant.

Feels light and not too bulky despite its thickness. Not much bloatware installed.

However, the 2 front speakers are a big disappointment. Even my Mega's single rear speaker is so much louder. Wonder if firmware update can fix this.

I came across some online retailers who are selling this for less than $ 1,300. I suppose it's really good value.

This post has been edited by funguss: Dec 9 2013, 03:06 PM
mydragoon
post Dec 9 2013, 03:23 PM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(manatwork @ Dec 9 2013, 03:01 PM)
Just got this just now for RM1399 (+ free 2 years international warranty, 16GB Memory Card and 12 months EZP). So far, this thing is great for reading, which is the primary reason i bought it for as my Ipad is tad too heavy.
never mind... got confused by the Asus products.

This post has been edited by mydragoon: Dec 9 2013, 03:24 PM
yoyoan
post Dec 9 2013, 03:44 PM

1,209 posts

QUOTE(funguss @ Dec 9 2013, 03:02 PM)
I had a chance to play with a black set in LYP.

Nice full HD screen and finishing. Contrary to reviews which said that it has a glossy plastic surface, it actually came with a soft touch back cover which is slip resistant.

Feels light and not too bulky despite its thickness. Not much bloatware installed.

However, the 2 front speakers are a big disappointment. Even my Mega's single rear speaker is so much louder. Wonder if firmware update can fix this.

I came across some online retailers who are selling this for less than $ 1,300. I suppose it's really good value.
so how does it feel in your hand compared to your Mega 6.3? Is it about the same size?
funguss
post Dec 9 2013, 03:54 PM

573 posts

QUOTE(yoyoan @ Dec 9 2013, 03:44 PM)
so how does it feel in your hand compared to your Mega 6.3? Is it about the same size?
It feels just a little smaller and lighter despite it being thicker.

I like the back cover which is slip resistant and gives a more premium feel. The Mega's glossy plastic feels cheap and slippery.

This post has been edited by funguss: Dec 9 2013, 03:56 PM
forgot_86
post Dec 9 2013, 04:18 PM

182 posts

After 1 day...
Design wise - nice n comfy to hold in hands, much better than my previous z ultra. No creaky parts, good built quality.
UI Experience - very fast n smooth, didnt encounter any lagging. I love the one handed operation features which can select between 4.3 to 4.7 inch.Attached Image
Display - its better than my previous z ultra, the screen somehow is more lively. Like htc butterfly. Can also adjust color saturation Attached Image
Performance - so so, havent got to try it to the fullest. But as requested by some user, i did play Asphalt 8(omg the file so big), its running smooth. Same with real racing 3.
Sound - loudspeaker is nice n rich but at maximum its still not loud enough. Need to put my ringtone level at 80 percent when outdoor.
Stylus - comparable to note 1 or note 2 maybe? Very accurate n smooth. Fon can even detect where is ur last stylus location.
Battery - plug off at 6am. At 4pm left with 40%. SOT 1hour 30minutes. With wifi on allthe time, internet browsing, downloads, whatsapp n play games. Not so good but still ok. will keep monitor later with normal usage.
funguss
post Dec 9 2013, 04:42 PM

573 posts

QUOTE(forgot_86 @ Dec 9 2013, 04:18 PM)
After 1 day...
Design wise - nice n comfy to hold in hands, much better than my previous z ultra. No creaky parts, good built quality.
UI Experience - very fast n smooth, didnt encounter any lagging. I love the one handed operation features which can select between 4.3 to 4.7 inch.Attached Image
Display - its better than my previous z ultra, the screen somehow is more lively. Like htc butterfly. Can also adjust color saturation Attached Image
Performance - so so, havent got to try it to the fullest. But as requested by some user, i did play Asphalt 8(omg the file so big), its running smooth. Same with real racing 3.
Sound - loudspeaker is nice n rich but at maximum its still not loud enough. Need to put my ringtone level at 80 percent when outdoor.
Stylus - comparable to note 1 or note 2 maybe? Very accurate n smooth. Fon can even detect where is ur last stylus location.
Battery - plug off at 6am. At 4pm left with 40%. SOT 1hour 30minutes. With wifi on allthe time, internet browsing, downloads, whatsapp n play games. Not so good but still ok. will keep monitor later with normal usage.
Hi, how about the performance of the GPS when used in a car? Can it get a lock on quickly and maintain signal ?

This post has been edited by funguss: Dec 9 2013, 04:44 PM
forgot_86
post Dec 9 2013, 05:49 PM

182 posts

QUOTE(funguss @ Dec 9 2013, 04:42 PM)
Hi, how about the performance of the GPS when used in a car? Can it get a lock on quickly and maintain signal ?
Sorry i dont have mobile data, cant test. If at home with wifi the lock time is acceptable, not slow.
funguss
post Dec 9 2013, 06:14 PM

573 posts

QUOTE(forgot_86 @ Dec 9 2013, 05:49 PM)
Sorry i dont have mobile data, cant test. If at home with wifi the lock time is acceptable, not slow.
You can actually test it with an app called GPS Data cos it doesn't require mobile data.
yoyoan
post Dec 10 2013, 03:19 PM

1,209 posts

QUOTE(funguss @ Dec 9 2013, 03:54 PM)
It feels just a little smaller and lighter despite it being thicker.

I like the back cover which is slip resistant and gives a more premium feel. The Mega's glossy plastic feels cheap and slippery.
I understand that the black one feels more premium, but the white version has creaky parts. When are you getting yours?

Can't wait to get one for myself.
funguss
post Dec 10 2013, 03:47 PM

573 posts

QUOTE(yoyoan @ Dec 10 2013, 03:19 PM)
I understand that the black one feels more premium, but the white version has creaky parts. When are you getting yours?

Can't wait to get one for myself.
Haha....I don't think I will get it although it's tempting. Still love my Mega 6.3 very much and have no use for the stylus. The lack of flash for the camera is also a put off cos I use it as a torchlight pretty often tongue.gif
yoyoan
post Dec 10 2013, 04:32 PM

1,209 posts

QUOTE(funguss @ Dec 10 2013, 03:47 PM)
Haha....I don't think I will get it although it's tempting. Still love my Mega 6.3 very much and have no use for the stylus. The lack of flash for the camera is also a put off cos I use it as a torchlight pretty often  tongue.gif
THAT and also the soft buttons is putting me off. Saw review on youtube, the soft buttons is always there. Can we make it to autohide or something? It's eating into the screen.
-kytz-
post Dec 10 2013, 04:34 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(yoyoan @ Dec 10 2013, 04:32 PM)
THAT and also the soft buttons is putting me off. Saw review on youtube, the soft buttons is always there. Can we make it to autohide or something? It's eating into the screen.
Go to google play and download:

https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?...md.hidesoftkeys
yoyoan
post Dec 10 2013, 05:12 PM

1,209 posts

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Dec 10 2013, 04:34 PM)
hey thanks dude.....
forgot_86
post Dec 11 2013, 01:30 PM

182 posts

After second charge, i managed to get better battery life tho with not much activity + wifi always on. Hit SOT 3 hours with 32% left.

Its decent, but still far to compare to one max, note 3, n G2.
Watching movies, n browsing is awesome, which is my main use besides sketching note. I can see now why some user put stylus as top priority in big smartphone biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by forgot_86: Dec 11 2013, 01:31 PM
yoyoan
post Dec 11 2013, 02:30 PM

1,209 posts

QUOTE(forgot_86 @ Dec 11 2013, 01:30 PM)
After second charge, i managed to get better battery life tho with not much activity + wifi always on. Hit SOT 3 hours with 32% left.

Its decent, but still far to compare to one max, note 3, n G2.
Watching movies, n browsing is awesome, which is my main use besides sketching note. I can see now why some user put stylus as top priority in big smartphone  biggrin.gif
Thanks for the input, really appreciate it. thumbup.gif
ethantan
post Dec 11 2013, 07:03 PM

75 posts

Today Asus just release a new phone.. padfone mini... which is better? Note FHD6? as the padfone mini is a quadcore....for rm1300...

This post has been edited by ethantan: Dec 11 2013, 07:03 PM
eye
post Dec 11 2013, 07:56 PM

1,166 posts

are flip cases available for sale in klang valley for this fonepad 6? thank you.
retsmot
post Dec 16 2013, 06:05 PM

the power cosmic!
1,229 posts

did u guys get a case and screen protector with this phone?

i'm contemplating this or note 3... i like this but it has no led flash for camera... quite a deal breaker. but the price so good. lol.
yoyoan
post Dec 23 2013, 03:29 PM

1,209 posts

I came from Mega 6.3, then Note 3. But I went back to Mega 6.3. This Fonepad have stereo speakers, 6 inch and a stylus which is a plus..

Minus points are the soft buttons, thickness and lack of flash. (not that it matters to me).

Any other user feedback?
TSun_id
post Dec 23 2013, 11:49 PM

music is soul's food
7,106 posts

how is the stylus performance? is it accurate like the Note?
Eugene91
post Dec 24 2013, 11:34 PM

6,109 posts

Hey there owners~ what do you think of your fonepad note 6 camera performance?
forgot_86
post Dec 25 2013, 06:32 PM

182 posts

QUOTE(un_id @ Dec 23 2013, 11:49 PM)
how is the stylus performance? is it accurate like the Note?
The stylus is very accurate. But note 3 stylus has more features of course.

QUOTE(Eugene91 @ Dec 24 2013, 11:34 PM)
Hey there owners~ what do you think of your fonepad note 6 camera performance?
The camera is good and responsive. But in low light condition i find the picture abit blur (no flash)
Eugene91
post Dec 25 2013, 09:56 PM

6,109 posts

QUOTE(forgot_86 @ Dec 25 2013, 06:32 PM)
The camera is good and responsive. But in low light condition i find the picture abit blur (no flash)
Thanks, btw in good lighting do you notice any whitish glare in the pictures/videos? hmm.gif

forgot_86
post Dec 26 2013, 09:19 AM

182 posts

QUOTE(Eugene91 @ Dec 25 2013, 09:56 PM)
Thanks, btw in good lighting do you notice any whitish glare in the pictures/videos?  hmm.gif
I'm not so sure about that. In good lighting the camera works as usual, which is pretty good enough for me.

Btw, up until now, ASUS have already release 3 software updates for this phone. The latest update brings major improvement to the sound system. Now the Stereo Speaker is more loud and clear. The difference in Audio Wizard setting between Movie mode and Music mode is now more significant.

On battery life, I can constantly get SOT of 4 Hours to 4.5 Hours with battery left 15%.

But casing until now cannot find at all. Lucky the rubber like texture on the back help to prevent scratches.
yoyoan
post Dec 26 2013, 10:49 AM

1,209 posts

QUOTE(forgot_86 @ Dec 26 2013, 09:19 AM)
I'm not so sure about that. In good lighting the camera works as usual, which is pretty good enough for me.

Btw, up until now, ASUS have already release 3 software updates for this phone. The latest update brings major improvement to the sound system. Now the Stereo Speaker is more loud and clear. The difference in Audio Wizard setting between Movie mode and Music mode is now more significant.

On battery life, I can constantly get SOT of 4 Hours to 4.5 Hours with battery left 15%.

But casing until now cannot find at all. Lucky the rubber like texture on the back help to prevent scratches.
Yours is a black unit right? The white unit is the hard plastic?
Kva
post Dec 26 2013, 10:28 PM

96 posts

Any fonepad 6 users facing some irregular mobile standby draining battery?
forgot_86
post Dec 28 2013, 04:10 PM

182 posts

QUOTE(yoyoan @ Dec 26 2013, 10:49 AM)
Yours is a black unit right? The white unit is the hard plastic?
I dont think white is available yet but based on most reviews, white seems like hard plastic.

QUOTE(Kva @ Dec 26 2013, 10:28 PM)
Any fonepad 6 users facing some irregular mobile standby draining battery?
No issues here.
yoyoan
post Dec 30 2013, 08:13 PM

1,209 posts

What sim card is this phone using? Maybe getting one tonight
((Xa))0102
post Dec 30 2013, 08:19 PM

兩支湯匙         一個碗
2,553 posts

QUOTE(yoyoan @ Dec 30 2013, 08:13 PM)
What sim card is this phone using? Maybe getting one tonight
Micro-SIM

yoyoan
post Dec 30 2013, 09:12 PM

1,209 posts

Watched youtube review just now....the soft buttons does not auto hide does it? Are all phones with soft buttons the same? Hehe so many questions..

Eugene91
post Dec 30 2013, 10:22 PM

6,109 posts

QUOTE(yoyoan @ Dec 30 2013, 09:12 PM)
Watched youtube review just now....the soft buttons does not auto hide does it? Are all phones with soft buttons the same? Hehe so many questions..
Yes.
funguss
post Dec 30 2013, 10:39 PM

573 posts

QUOTE(yoyoan @ Dec 30 2013, 09:12 PM)
The soft buttons on the Xperia Z and ZL goes away depending on the app used. It will reappear when screen is touched.
yoyoan
post Dec 30 2013, 11:24 PM

1,209 posts

Just got mine....quite premium feel. Size does not differ much...weight felt slightly lighter compared to mega...

funguss
post Dec 31 2013, 12:26 AM

573 posts

QUOTE(yoyoan @ Dec 30 2013, 11:24 PM)
Just got mine....quite premium feel. Size does not differ much...weight felt slightly lighter compared to mega...
It's 170 gm vs Mega which is 199 gm. Thinner too iirc.

You still keeping the Mega ?
yoyoan
post Dec 31 2013, 12:41 AM

1,209 posts

QUOTE(funguss @ Dec 31 2013, 12:26 AM)
It's 170 gm vs Mega which is 199 gm. Thinner too iirc.

You still keeping the Mega ?
Yeah...still keeping the mega...Will swap SIM card tomorrow

Just got 2 updates just now. Battery is going dead. Need to charge

This post has been edited by yoyoan: Dec 31 2013, 12:43 AM
funguss
post Dec 31 2013, 01:17 AM

573 posts

QUOTE(yoyoan @ Dec 31 2013, 12:41 AM)
Yeah...still keeping the mega...Will swap SIM card tomorrow

Just got 2 updates just now. Battery is going dead.  Need to charge
Do let us know how this compares to the Mega.

This post has been edited by funguss: Dec 31 2013, 01:34 AM
yoyoan
post Dec 31 2013, 03:05 PM

1,209 posts

After 12 hours in my hands:

1. Screen scores much better than mega.
2. Camera is at par at least. Got burst feature.
3. The black one is slippery for me but my wife says it's not. Personal preference I'd say.
4. Soft keys will auto hide in you tube and while playing movies.
5. Playing games-no problems on CSR Racing but stuttered in Jetpack.
6. Was VERY HOT while syncing. But soon after everything cools down
7. Achieved SOT almost 3 hours today on the first charge.
8. It has a battery saver which blocks whatsapp gtalk Line and such when the phone is suspended.

Btw....this device reminds me of my Dell Streak....largely because of the sounds and vibration....

However I have problem Helium is not detecting my external sd card. However the phones can read photos and music inside the card.

This post has been edited by yoyoan: Dec 31 2013, 07:56 PM
yoyoan
post Jan 1 2014, 09:30 AM

1,209 posts

Happy new year!!
joytest
post Jan 1 2014, 09:48 AM

Vox populi vox dei? Quot homines,tot sententiae
13,188 posts

Happy new year.

Question to any owner.

Does this device have palm rejection? Meaning when you place your palm on the screen you can still use the stylus. This is a very important feature of any device featuring a stylus as a selling point.

This will do good as a secondary device.
toda_erika_II
post Jan 1 2014, 11:18 AM

rawr~~
540 posts

QUOTE(yoyoan @ Dec 31 2013, 03:05 PM)
After 12 hours in my hands:
how's the touch screen responsive-ness?
yoyoan
post Jan 1 2014, 05:56 PM

1,209 posts

QUOTE(joytest @ Jan 1 2014, 09:48 AM)
Happy new year.

Question to any owner.

Does this device have palm rejection?  Meaning when you place your palm on the screen you can still use the stylus. This is a very important feature of any device featuring a stylus as a selling point.

This will do good as a secondary device.
Yes it does have palm rejection. Native app is named SuperNote. The pen is exactly the same like note series with the same tip.

The charger is also the same like note 3 except it is black in colour .

This post has been edited by yoyoan: Jan 1 2014, 05:59 PM
yoyoan
post Jan 1 2014, 06:02 PM

1,209 posts

QUOTE(toda_erika_II @ Jan 1 2014, 11:18 AM)
how's the touch screen responsive-ness?
Not sure how to answer this but....for me it is okay. Not once hang on me yet. Although the stock keyboard is a bit cluttered. Like Note 1.

Kva
post Jan 6 2014, 03:16 PM

96 posts

extensive testing, i concluded the phone misreporting mobile draining without actually draining
shogun_125
post Feb 1 2014, 08:00 PM

557 posts

I was in the thunder match pc shop and and i found this beauty, i try to hold and play with and its quite impressive, responsive and nice, its power by atom dual core 2ghz and the screen is Full HD
saykong
post Mar 1 2014, 03:40 AM

35 posts

How is the GPS and Wi-Fi strength? Some review say not good.
What about phone quality?
forgot_86
post Mar 1 2014, 10:37 AM

182 posts

QUOTE(saykong @ Mar 1 2014, 03:40 AM)
How is the GPS and Wi-Fi strength? Some review say not good.
What about phone quality?
Used to own it, for its price the build quality is amazing. Feels solid and very smooth. Never had any problems, kinda regret selling it.
Other brands of the same price can never match, I dare say
saykong
post Mar 1 2014, 11:21 AM

35 posts

U mean GPS can get satelite fast? What about Wi-Fi strength? Is it strong?
Cause I using GPS and Wi-Fi a lot.
I'm now decide between Lenovo S930 and this.

This post has been edited by saykong: Mar 1 2014, 11:24 AM
fat16
post Mar 1 2014, 11:13 PM

4,582 posts

somebody can post GPS Test screnshoot ? I want to know how many glonass on the malaysian sky.
dude1988
post Mar 12 2014, 05:15 AM

166 posts

This phone price drop so fast

Rm899 by Directd
grim.fandango
post Mar 12 2014, 06:28 AM

97 posts

QUOTE(dude1988 @ Mar 12 2014, 05:15 AM)

Rm899 by Directd
AP set?
Andrew_1980
post Mar 12 2014, 06:51 AM

6,196 posts

How about battery life?
Nightstalker1993
post Mar 12 2014, 07:03 PM

M� �R�|�
8,930 posts

Rm899 by Directd
i think it's today only promotion or they clear stock. they had done this a few times before. last time HTC One X last selling price rm700 until finish, HTC butterfly RM1250 rclxub.gif

Got my FHD6 today from there too today by the way brows.gif
andrekua2
post Mar 12 2014, 08:04 PM

13,476 posts

QUOTE(Nightstalker1993 @ Mar 12 2014, 07:03 PM)
i think it's today only promotion or they clear stock. they had done this a few times before. last time HTC One X last selling price rm700 until finish, HTC butterfly RM1250 rclxub.gif

Got my FHD6 today from there too today by the way brows.gif
How good it is? Thinking of buying one but already using Note2.

BTW, does the SuperNote support like drawing some diagram and add remarks beside?
TSun_id
post Mar 13 2014, 12:15 AM

music is soul's food
7,106 posts

Rm899 by Directd
couldn't see it in DirectD thread
dude1988
post Mar 13 2014, 12:32 AM

166 posts

QUOTE(un_id @ Mar 13 2014, 12:15 AM)
check lelong.my
Nightstalker1993
post Mar 13 2014, 04:07 AM

M� �R�|�
8,930 posts

QUOTE(andrekua2 @ Mar 12 2014, 08:04 PM)

BTW, does the SuperNote support like drawing some diagram and add remarks beside?
No idea, honestly I don't use the pen sweat.gif laugh.gif

QUOTE(un_id @ Mar 13 2014, 12:15 AM)
QUOTE(dude1988 @ Mar 13 2014, 12:32 AM)
check lelong.my
well looks like other sellers on Lelong also selling same price now hmm.gif
midas
post Mar 13 2014, 09:45 AM

36 posts

QUOTE(andrekua2 @ Mar 12 2014, 08:04 PM)

Can detect writing nicely, and can add typing. When the stylus is pulled out a tab appears on the left, and using that can scribble on seemingly any screen. Also stylus is detected even when hovering near screen.

andrekua2
post Mar 13 2014, 10:03 AM

13,476 posts

QUOTE(midas @ Mar 13 2014, 09:45 AM)
Can detect writing nicely, and can add typing. When the stylus is pulled out a tab appears on the left, and using that can scribble on seemingly any screen. Also stylus is detected even when hovering near screen.
Thanks a lot...
joytest
post Mar 13 2014, 10:06 AM

Vox populi vox dei? Quot homines,tot sententiae
13,188 posts

QUOTE(andrekua2 @ Mar 13 2014, 10:03 AM)
Thanks a lot...
I laid my hands on a demo unit 2 weeks back. Nice screen but won't detect either note2 or note3 stylus. I thought it was a wacom digitizer as well from some reviews.
mudkipryan94
post Mar 13 2014, 10:23 AM

12,000 posts

QUOTE(Nightstalker1993 @ Mar 13 2014, 04:07 AM)
No idea, honestly I don't use the pen sweat.gif laugh.gif
well looks like other sellers on Lelong also selling same price now hmm.gif
laugh.gif den how's your HOX yea?
yoyoan
post Mar 13 2014, 10:35 AM

1,209 posts

QUOTE(joytest @ Mar 13 2014, 10:06 AM)
I laid my hands on a demo unit 2 weeks back. Nice screen but won't detect either note2 or note3 stylus. I thought it was a wacom digitizer as well from some reviews.
So did you get yourself a unit?

I just dont like it because its fat. biggrin.gif . Other than that it is superbly priced for the build quality and functionalities. I hope they come out with a thinner 32GB for a successor.
midas
post Mar 13 2014, 11:39 AM

36 posts

This device is hot! Are there any good apps for heat/processor management? Device gets hot even when reading ebooks @.@
Also, wifi hotspot range not as good compared to a cheaper phone (alcatel scribe easy).

Uhm because i am unbelievably new to android i tend to compare this FonePad to my Windows PC. Hence my following questions:
Is there a way to setup a 'home network' as opposed to wifi hotspot?
Any way to know who is piggybacking your hotspot connection?
Is it true that Java is supported via Java MIDP (Java seems as just broken as on other androids)
andrekua2
post Mar 13 2014, 03:21 PM

13,476 posts

Seem like DirectD just lower the price slightly to RM888... huat aaaaa
Nightstalker1993
post Mar 13 2014, 04:26 PM

M� �R�|�
8,930 posts

QUOTE(mudkipryan94 @ Mar 13 2014, 10:23 AM)
laugh.gif den how's your HOX yea?
Screen crack until tulan liao. then browser all also laggy, phone hot like hell and battery life like crap. This offer came just at the right time.

QUOTE(midas @ Mar 13 2014, 11:39 AM)
This device is hot! Are there any good apps for heat/processor management? Device gets hot even when reading ebooks @.@
Also, wifi hotspot range not as good compared to a cheaper phone (alcatel scribe easy).

Uhm because i am unbelievably new to android i tend to compare this FonePad to my Windows PC. Hence my following questions:
Is there a way to setup a 'home network' as opposed to wifi hotspot?
Any way to know who is piggybacking your hotspot connection?
Is it true that Java is supported via Java MIDP (Java seems as just broken as on other androids)
If you think this phone is hot, you should try the HTC One X LOL

QUOTE(andrekua2 @ Mar 13 2014, 03:21 PM)
Seem like DirectD just lower the price slightly to RM888... huat aaaaa
They tipu me say selling out edi cry.gif

And the pen is made by Waltop, not Wacom. can be seen in hardware information. Wacom had some kind of agreement with Samsung if not mistaken,that's why so far phones equipped with Wacom's solutions are Samsungs, up until recently.

Nightstalker1993
post Mar 13 2014, 04:29 PM

M� �R�|�
8,930 posts

http://www.waltop.com/english/01_products/...ail.php?SID=156

More info on the pen system

kob3bryant
post Mar 13 2014, 04:33 PM

276 posts

QUOTE(Nightstalker1993 @ Mar 13 2014, 04:29 PM)
Bro, how's the user experince? RM888 is really drool.gif
Nightstalker1993
post Mar 13 2014, 05:00 PM

M� �R�|�
8,930 posts

QUOTE(kob3bryant @ Mar 13 2014, 04:33 PM)
Bro, how's the user experince? RM888 is really drool.gif
User experience seriously no regrets. Browsing Internet is smooth as butter, the stock browser imo is better than Chrome, and all the little improvements ASUS had added really improves the user experience, much better than AOSP Vanilla Android. Battery life not too bad as well, estimating 4 hours of on screen time browsing fb, insta, Web browser etc.

I think this is the first Android phone I get where I don't have the urge to flash to some other roms. The stock rom is more than adequate as it is already, just gonna root the phone, install adaway and titanium backup and the phone would be perfect! laugh.gif the one-handed mode is a really nice touch as well when you can't use the phone with both hands. laugh.gif

Only gripes I have so far is the lack of front notification LED light and rear camera LED flash and also the battery icon at the status bar cannot be replaced with a percentage value instead. Although the camera doesn't have any flash, but the low light performance and overall quality of the camera is seriously amazing though sweat.gif

Take note that the phone also doesn't come with NFC and MHL though I don't use those and also the processor isn't exactly that powerful, Real Racing 3 chokes up quite often but remains playable and the battery drops like stone when playing games sweat.gif

My favourite thing about this phone would be the awesome full hd screen, stereo speakers which really sounds very good, peniinput for browsing websites which makes use of mouse hover drop-down menus, adequately large battery, really decent quality audio output through the headphone jack and the provided earphones itself produces really really good sound,totally unexpected from a bundled earphone. And lastly my favourite thing would be the support for microsd card! justbought a 64gb card laugh.gif

Disadvantages would be as I mentioned before, plus lack of accessories, non removable battery and also the size needs some getting used to.
kob3bryant
post Mar 13 2014, 05:56 PM

276 posts

QUOTE(Nightstalker1993 @ Mar 13 2014, 05:00 PM)
User experience seriously no regrets. Browsing Internet is smooth as butter, the stock browser imo is better than Chrome, and all the little improvements ASUS had added really improves the user experience, much better than AOSP Vanilla Android. Battery life not too bad as well, estimating 4 hours of on screen time browsing fb, insta, Web browser etc.

I think this is the first Android phone I get where I don't have the urge to flash to some other roms. The stock rom is more than adequate as it is already, just gonna root the phone, install adaway and titanium backup and the phone would be perfect! laugh.gif the one-handed mode is a really nice touch as well when you can't use the phone with both hands. laugh.gif

Only gripes I have so far is the lack of front notification LED light and rear camera LED flash and also the battery icon at the status bar cannot be replaced with a percentage value instead. Although the camera doesn't have any flash, but the low light performance and overall quality of the camera is seriously amazing though sweat.gif

Take note that the phone also doesn't come with NFC and MHL though I don't use those and also the processor isn't exactly that powerful, Real Racing 3 chokes up quite often but remains playable and the battery drops like stone when playing games sweat.gif

My favourite thing about this phone would be the awesome full hd screen, stereo speakers which really sounds very good, peniinput for browsing websites which makes use of mouse hover drop-down menus, adequately large battery, really decent quality audio output through the headphone jack and the provided earphones itself produces really really good sound,totally unexpected from a bundled earphone. And lastly my favourite thing would be the support for microsd card! justbought a 64gb card laugh.gif

Disadvantages would be as I mentioned before, plus lack of accessories, non removable battery and also the size needs some getting used to.
Do you have sample photos taken during the night? i will just fine with the missing of NFC anf MHL, It supports OTG?
saykong
post Mar 13 2014, 06:10 PM

35 posts

QUOTE(Nightstalker1993 @ Mar 13 2014, 05:00 PM)

How is the GPS and Wi-Fi strength? Is it strong?
Nightstalker1993
post Mar 13 2014, 06:45 PM

M� �R�|�
8,930 posts

QUOTE(kob3bryant @ Mar 13 2014, 05:56 PM)
Do you have sample photos taken during the night? i will just fine with the missing of NFC anf MHL,  It supports OTG?

haven't tested for otg support yet but it claims it does.

QUOTE(saykong @ Mar 13 2014, 06:10 PM)
How is the GPS and Wi-Fi strength? Is it strong?
wifi signal is decent, gps signal haven't test yet
Nightstalker1993
post Mar 13 2014, 06:46 PM

M� �R�|�
8,930 posts

and here's how the one-handed mode looks like laugh.gif

saykong
post Mar 13 2014, 07:01 PM

35 posts

QUOTE(Nightstalker1993 @ Mar 13 2014, 06:45 PM)

haven't tested for otg support yet but it claims it does.
wifi signal is decent, gps signal haven't test yet
Thanks. If u tested GPS pls share with us, cause I use a lot Wi-Fi and GPS.
Nightstalker1993
post Mar 13 2014, 07:28 PM

M� �R�|�
8,930 posts

Hey guys, does any of you actually knows how to root this device? sweat.gif

the conventional rooting method cannot be used after the latest update doh.gif

and by the looks of it, I have to downgrade to .28, root it, BUY supersu PRo, activate survivor mode and then ota update back. rclxub.gif

Any of you guys who can read chinese mind searching on the chinese forums how to root? I'm pretty sure someone there have at least some idea...
kob3bryant
post Mar 13 2014, 08:40 PM

276 posts

QUOTE(Nightstalker1993 @ Mar 13 2014, 06:46 PM)
and here's how the one-handed mode looks like laugh.gif

rclxms.gif the one hand mode is really decent. last time i had a galaxy note 2 for a month, the one hand mode is only meant for the keyboard

and the night scene photo should be taken without much light, if you are willing notworthy.gif
mudkipryan94
post Mar 13 2014, 08:58 PM

12,000 posts

QUOTE(Nightstalker1993 @ Mar 13 2014, 04:26 PM)
Screen crack until tulan liao. then browser all also laggy, phone hot like hell and battery life like crap. This offer came just at the right time.
If you think this phone is hot, you should try the HTC One X LOL
They tipu me say selling out edi cry.gif

And the pen is made by Waltop, not Wacom. can be seen in hardware information. Wacom had some kind of agreement with Samsung if not mistaken,that's why so far phones equipped with Wacom's solutions are Samsungs, up until recently.
haha... BURN YOUR HOX now... [jokes aside bro..] biggrin.gif
GOO
post Mar 14 2014, 12:50 AM

171 posts

QUOTE(Nightstalker1993 @ Mar 13 2014, 07:28 PM)
Hey guys, does any of you actually knows how to root this device? sweat.gif

the conventional rooting method cannot be used after the latest update doh.gif

and by the looks of it, I have to downgrade to .28, root it, BUY supersu PRo, activate survivor mode and then ota update back. rclxub.gif

Any of you guys who can read chinese mind searching on the chinese forums how to root? I'm pretty sure someone there have at least some idea...
Not sure if this method works: http://playfuldroid.com/how-to-root-asus-f...fhd-6-tutorial/

Now still thinking if I should get this phone or any new phone. Right now still rocking galaxy nexus. lol
Nightstalker1993
post Mar 14 2014, 03:12 AM

M� �R�|�
8,930 posts

QUOTE(saykong @ Mar 13 2014, 07:01 PM)
Thanks. If u tested GPS pls share with us, cause I use a lot Wi-Fi and GPS.
Wifi as I said is decent, GPS just now while outdoors i launched the GPS toolbox app and the GPS performance doesn't seem too good. The best it got in terms of accuracy was down to 6m, but most of the time it fluctuates between 8-32m. My Huawei Ideos X5 which I'm using as my second phone can hold a steady 5-6m accuracy no problems doh.gif

Should be accurate enough for normal Waze though i doubt it's accurate to track sports like jogging/cycling and whatnot.

QUOTE(kob3bryant @ Mar 13 2014, 08:40 PM)
the one hand mode is really decent. last time i had a galaxy note 2 for a month, the one hand mode is only meant for the keyboard

and the night scene photo should be taken without much light, if you are willing notworthy.gif
Yeap the one hand mode really is useful when I'm *cough*driving*cough* rolleyes.gif

Heres more night scene photos.

My car's interior

Supper on the hazy street.

And you can't get any darker than this... Room lit only by 2 LCD monitors, taken in Night mode. For those who understands camera jargon, the phone increased the ISO to 1100 and then dropped the shutter speed to 1/4. Honestly I had no idea how I managed to take this handheld photo at 1/4 without an image stabiliser. Even on a DSLR or prosumer compact it's hard to take a clear shot at 1/4 shutter speed sweat.gif laugh.gif

Conclusion, I doubt you'll miss the missing flash laugh.gif

QUOTE(mudkipryan94 @ Mar 13 2014, 08:58 PM)
haha... BURN YOUR HOX now... [jokes aside bro..]
I think the internals considered fry edi since the thing runs so hot. The hottest I got the processor to go was around 86c I think, checked with System tuner. Charger plugged in and browsing the net on Dolphin browser doh.gif

QUOTE(GOO @ Mar 14 2014, 12:50 AM)
Not sure if this method works: http://playfuldroid.com/how-to-root-asus-f...fhd-6-tutorial/

Now still thinking if I should get this phone or any new phone. Right now still rocking galaxy nexus. lol
Yeah I found that link before I bought the phone, then after I bought the phone I found out that no longer works anymore as it only works for the older firmware. I read some people they downgrade to the .28 firmware, root it, purchase SuperSU PRO just to enable survivor mode, then OTA update back to the latest version. Results not guaranteed rclxub.gif

And oh, got new accessories today... brows.gif

tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Nightstalker1993: Mar 14 2014, 03:15 AM
andrekua2
post Mar 14 2014, 08:47 AM

13,476 posts

I'm not sure if direct d really stock too many or what, seem like lowered again to 879.
Nightstalker1993
post Mar 14 2014, 09:41 AM

M� �R�|�
8,930 posts

QUOTE(andrekua2 @ Mar 14 2014, 08:47 AM)
I'm not sure if direct d really stock too many or what, seem like lowered again to 879.
Dafuq... No fair cry.gif
mudkipryan94
post Mar 14 2014, 10:18 AM

12,000 posts

QUOTE(Nightstalker1993 @ Mar 14 2014, 03:12 AM)
I think the internals considered fry edi since the thing runs so hot. The hottest I got the processor to go was around 86c I think, checked with System tuner. Charger plugged in and browsing the net on Dolphin browser doh.gif

Wadafak?

86 Deg. Celcus? that temp. can cook your dua biji telur man...
Nightstalker1993
post Mar 14 2014, 10:25 AM

M� �R�|�
8,930 posts

QUOTE(mudkipryan94 @ Mar 14 2014, 10:18 AM)
Wadafak?

86 Deg. Celcus? that temp. can cook your dua biji telur man...
Yes and the back of the phone near the camera there and the screen was fooking hot. Processor temp at 86, battery temp hit 61 before also if not mistaken lol
mudkipryan94
post Mar 14 2014, 10:27 AM

12,000 posts

QUOTE(Nightstalker1993 @ Mar 14 2014, 10:25 AM)
Yes and the back of the phone near the camera there and the screen was fooking hot. Processor temp at 86, battery temp hit 61 before also if not mistaken lol
shiityy man...... that phone really can cook the instant noodles man...
kob3bryant
post Mar 14 2014, 01:21 PM

276 posts

QUOTE(Nightstalker1993 @ Mar 14 2014, 03:12 AM)
Wifi as I said is decent, GPS just now while outdoors i launched the GPS toolbox app and the GPS performance doesn't seem too good. The best it got in terms of accuracy was down to 6m, but most of the time it fluctuates between 8-32m. My Huawei Ideos X5 which I'm using as my second phone can hold a steady 5-6m accuracy no problems doh.gif

Should be accurate enough for normal Waze though i doubt it's accurate to track sports like jogging/cycling and whatnot.
Yeap the one hand mode really is useful when I'm *cough*driving*cough*  rolleyes.gif

Heres more night scene photos.

My car's interior

Supper on the hazy street.

And you can't get any darker than this... Room lit only by 2 LCD monitors, taken in Night mode. For those who understands camera jargon, the phone increased the ISO to 1100 and then dropped the shutter speed to 1/4. Honestly I had no idea how I managed to take this handheld photo at 1/4 without an image stabiliser. Even on a DSLR or prosumer compact it's hard to take a clear shot at 1/4 shutter speed sweat.gif laugh.gif

Conclusion, I doubt you'll miss the missing flash laugh.gif
Yeah I found that link before I bought the phone, then after I bought the phone I found out that no longer works anymore as it only works for the older firmware. I read some people they downgrade to the .28 firmware, root it, purchase SuperSU PRO just to enable survivor mode, then OTA update back to the latest version. Results not guaranteed rclxub.gif

And oh, got new accessories today... brows.gif

tongue.gif
Struggling to buy the phone now. My plan is to buy iphone 6 when it is launched in Singapore. But this phone has always in my mind when it was being announced but due to the price tag of RM1.4K, i gave it a pass.

I should give it a serious thought now.

As for the night mode, it seems decent. And ISO1100 with that kind of shutter speed is not easy to handle. You got a steady hand. thumbup.gif

Nightstalker1993
post Mar 14 2014, 01:24 PM

M� �R�|�
8,930 posts

QUOTE(kob3bryant @ Mar 14 2014, 01:21 PM)
Struggling to buy the phone now. My plan is to buy iphone 6 when it is launched in Singapore. But this phone has always in my mind when it was being announced but due to the price tag of RM1.4K, i gave it a pass.

I should give it a serious thought now.

As for the night mode, it seems decent. And ISO1100 with that kind of shutter speed is not easy to handle. You got a steady hand. thumbup.gif
Hold like a sniper, must hold your breath. seriously. sweat.gif laugh.gif
syazwanreno
post Mar 15 2014, 02:18 AM

Won (*3*) Chu Kiss Me?
1,269 posts

man, this phone price dropped like stone because of the zenphone series will be launched next month.

I think i wanna try to get one but... why do you guys think? hmm.gif

This post has been edited by syazwanreno: Mar 15 2014, 11:44 AM
aliffnasir
post Mar 15 2014, 07:16 PM

85 posts

directd reduce the price to rm879!! walawehhh! rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

http://www.lelong.com.my/asus-fonepad-note...4-05-Sale-P.htm

This post has been edited by aliffnasir: Mar 15 2014, 07:20 PM
Nightstalker1993
post Mar 15 2014, 11:07 PM

M� �R�|�
8,930 posts

I bought mine at RM909 white colour cry.gif

Then bought a 64gb card at RM175 brows.gif

Oh, and my tpu case arrived today! Transparent looks so elegant with the white body rclxms.gif
aliffnasir
post Mar 16 2014, 01:11 AM

85 posts

QUOTE(Nightstalker1993 @ Mar 15 2014, 11:07 PM)

Oh, and my tpu case arrived today! Transparent looks so elegant with the white body rclxms.gif
where do you buy the transparent case? how much? share2 la brows.gif brows.gif
Nightstalker1993
post Mar 16 2014, 02:22 AM

M� �R�|�
8,930 posts

QUOTE(aliffnasir @ Mar 16 2014, 01:11 AM)
where do you buy the transparent case? how much? share2 la  brows.gif  brows.gif
Got mine from here.

http://www.lelong.com.my/free-shipping-asu...7-01-Sale-I.htm

Got another 2 more awaiting arrival from China laugh.gif

http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/New-Stylish-Gra...ME:L:OU:MY:3160
http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/New-Stylish-Red...ME:L:OU:MY:3160
Nightstalker1993
post Mar 16 2014, 12:18 PM

M� �R�|�
8,930 posts

Was one of the photographers for this morning's Malaysia Women's Marathon event and when I was getting into position, saw this amazing sight, took a shot with my DSLR, then one with my PadFone set to Night Mode. The result was seriously quite surprising and amazing sweat.gif

mavezai1984
post Mar 16 2014, 02:24 PM

1,610 posts

QUOTE(Nightstalker1993 @ Mar 16 2014, 12:18 PM)
Was one of the photographers for this morning's Malaysia Women's Marathon event and when I was getting into position, saw this amazing sight, took a shot with my DSLR, then one with my PadFone set to Night Mode. The result was seriously quite surprising and amazing sweat.gif

Great night shot that was for a phone without flash.

Grrr...trying to resist myself from buying, u're injecting too much poison. laugh.gif
kob3bryant
post Mar 16 2014, 02:53 PM

276 posts

rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
aliffnasir
post Mar 16 2014, 03:16 PM

85 posts

thanks to sony sensor rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
Nightstalker1993
post Mar 17 2014, 01:34 AM

M� �R�|�
8,930 posts

Sony sensor, not to forget f2.0 lens and what seems to be 28mm equivalent lens. The night mode on this isn't your average night mode as well. Looks like the camera captures 2-3 photos in succession then combines it to form the final photo. So it's not just powerful hardware, but smart software as well the backs the night performance of the phone.

By the wayr, other than me, who else is using this phone? sweat.gif
mudkipryan94
post Mar 17 2014, 07:19 AM

12,000 posts

QUOTE(Nightstalker1993 @ Mar 15 2014, 11:07 PM)

lel, wait for slickwraps products to beautify your phone la tongue.gif
Nightstalker1993
post Mar 17 2014, 08:56 AM

M� �R�|�
8,930 posts

QUOTE(mudkipryan94 @ Mar 17 2014, 07:19 AM)
lel, wait for slickwraps products to beautify your phone la tongue.gif
tak boleh. my main purpose is protection. If Otterbox makes one for the Fonepad, I'll grab it in a flash. Destroyed too many phones already cry.gif
yoyoan
post Mar 17 2014, 10:10 AM

1,209 posts

QUOTE(Nightstalker1993 @ Mar 17 2014, 01:34 AM)
Sony sensor, not to forget f2.0 lens and what seems to be 28mm equivalent lens. The night mode on this isn't your average night mode as well. Looks like the camera captures 2-3 photos in succession then combines it to form the final photo. So it's not just powerful hardware, but smart software as well the backs the night performance of the phone.

By the wayr, other than me, who else is using this phone? sweat.gif
Have you tried doing macro shots? I did from about 2 cm and the result was marvellous
nevland
post Mar 17 2014, 11:28 AM

1,055 posts

how's the battery life?
Nightstalker1993
post Mar 17 2014, 06:31 PM

M� �R�|�
8,930 posts

quite decent. On HSDPA i managed to get more than 3hr of screen on time. Better than my HOX ever performed and considering the hugeass full HD screen, it really isn't bad.
Nightstalker1993
post Mar 18 2014, 05:45 AM

M� �R�|�
8,930 posts

Moar night sample images...

The first photo didn't look that good blown up on max res, though the reduced-res version looks decent.
MildLO
post Mar 18 2014, 03:08 PM

411 posts

want to get this phone,waiting2,hehe
hazard_puppet
post Mar 18 2014, 06:45 PM

561 posts

received my phone just now, the build quality is amazing, and screen is bright and clear, no bleeding on the edge also, really good quality screen!

my 1st problem is my charger seems faulty, why i am so unlucky sad.gif

bought from directd rm879 + rm12 shipping
MildLO
post Mar 18 2014, 08:41 PM

411 posts

QUOTE(hazard_puppet @ Mar 18 2014, 06:45 PM)
received my phone just now, the build quality is amazing, and screen is bright and clear, no bleeding on the edge also, really good quality screen!

upload picture bro? white or black?

tebal tak? sweat.gif
hazard_puppet
post Mar 18 2014, 09:48 PM

561 posts

QUOTE(MildLO @ Mar 18 2014, 08:41 PM)

tebal tak?  sweat.gif
no picture bro, i took black one tongue.gif dont like glossy look on the white version

quite thick, and big, looks more like a tablet rather than a phone
Nightstalker1993
post Mar 18 2014, 10:37 PM

M� �R�|�
8,930 posts

The build quality I won't actually use the word 'amazing'. I would say fairly decent but not perfect. If you press the back can hear creaking...

And my earpiece(for phone call) cracks abit when on max volume.

QUOTE(MildLO @ Mar 18 2014, 08:41 PM)

tebal tak?  sweat.gif
quite tebal bro sweat.gif
aliffnasir
post Mar 18 2014, 11:13 PM

85 posts

yes it is thick but feel comfortable on my hand... rolleyes.gif rolleyes.gif rolleyes.gif
hazard_puppet
post Mar 18 2014, 11:38 PM

561 posts

QUOTE(Nightstalker1993 @ Mar 18 2014, 10:37 PM)
The build quality I won't actually use the word 'amazing'. I would say fairly decent but not perfect. If you press the back can hear creaking...

And my earpiece(for phone call) cracks abit when on max volume.
quite tebal bro sweat.gif
mine doesnt make any noise, maybe different unit different quality biggrin.gif

didnt test the earpice though

and the screen is really bright, compare to my xiaomi mi3, i can watch video on mx player using 0 brightness rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by hazard_puppet: Mar 18 2014, 11:40 PM
cracksys
post Mar 19 2014, 12:14 PM

I'm a Vault Dweller!!
3,668 posts

I bought mine at RM1259 just a little over 3 weeks ago. Damn, looking at your price is frustrating.

And i just had my first overheating episode.

Maybe that's the reason why the price drop steeply?

This post has been edited by cracksys: Mar 19 2014, 12:32 PM
MildLO
post Mar 19 2014, 12:43 PM

411 posts

QUOTE(cracksys @ Mar 19 2014, 12:14 PM)
I bought mine at RM1259 just a little over 3 weeks ago. Damn, looking at your price is frustrating.

And i just had my first overheating episode.

Maybe that's the reason why the price drop steeply?
zenphone 4, 5 ,6 maybe
sweat.gif

cracksys
post Mar 19 2014, 01:05 PM

I'm a Vault Dweller!!
3,668 posts

QUOTE(MildLO @ Mar 19 2014, 12:43 PM)
zenphone 4, 5 ,6 maybe
sweat.gif
Either way, I should have get myself a Note 3.

RM400 price drop within 3 weeks is just too painful to bear.

Any remedy to the overheating issue?
hazard_puppet
post Mar 19 2014, 03:52 PM

561 posts

QUOTE(cracksys @ Mar 19 2014, 01:05 PM)
Either way, I should have get myself a Note 3.

RM400 price drop within 3 weeks is just too painful to bear.

Any remedy to the overheating issue?
mind to explain more about the overhaeting issue bro?
cracksys
post Mar 19 2014, 04:32 PM

I'm a Vault Dweller!!
3,668 posts

QUOTE(hazard_puppet @ Mar 19 2014, 03:52 PM)
mind to explain more about the overhaeting issue bro?
I was surfing on the internet using Chrome and suddenly the top half of the screen kinda heat up (it is warm usually but not this hot). It blacks out and took about 1 minute before it reboots back on.

I can't think of going for another round of RMA with ASUS. The first unit that I got had a faulty stylus. Took ASUS more than a week to issue a DOA letter.

This post has been edited by cracksys: Mar 19 2014, 04:37 PM
TSun_id
post Mar 20 2014, 02:08 PM

music is soul's food
7,106 posts

wah so cheap now is it? is that DirectD official price now?
cracksys
post Mar 20 2014, 04:33 PM

I'm a Vault Dweller!!
3,668 posts

QUOTE(un_id @ Mar 20 2014, 02:08 PM)
yeah. for black set at least.

white set may be sold at higher price point.
Nightstalker1993
post Mar 20 2014, 06:34 PM

M� �R�|�
8,930 posts

QUOTE(cracksys @ Mar 19 2014, 04:32 PM)
I was surfing on the internet using Chrome and suddenly the top half of the screen kinda heat up (it is warm usually but not this hot). It blacks out and took about 1 minute before it reboots back on.

I can't think of going for another round of RMA with ASUS. The first unit that I got had a faulty stylus. Took ASUS more than a week to issue a DOA letter.
Hmmmm didn't had any problems about overheating.

My HOX used to overheat badly. Imagine processor temps in excess of 86c and battery temp at 61c while charging and using the device at the same time for simple web browsing. On my ASUS, it handled without a problem.

QUOTE(un_id @ Mar 20 2014, 02:08 PM)
QUOTE(cracksys @ Mar 20 2014, 04:33 PM)
yeah. for black set at least.

white set may be sold at higher price point.
Yes that's DirectD price. I got my white unit for RM909 when the list price was 899. Only few days after I bought my unit they dropped it to 879 doh.gif
weilitng
post Mar 23 2014, 07:33 AM

61 posts

QUOTE(Nightstalker1993 @ Mar 20 2014, 06:34 PM)
Hmmmm didn't had any problems about overheating.

My HOX used to overheat badly. Imagine processor temps in excess of 86c and battery temp at 61c while charging and using the device at the same time for simple web browsing. On my ASUS, it handled without a problem.
Yes that's DirectD price. I got my white unit for RM909 when the list price was 899. Only few days after I bought my unit they dropped it to 879 doh.gif
i also just brought 1 from Directd, me going time is 888 for Black,

my white 903, lucky wait few more day before purchase, when 1st day start check price is 1230 when my padfone 2 station 2 screen crack.

after few day drop to 899.

did you phone screen have issue ?

Kendall
post Mar 23 2014, 09:27 AM

973 posts

QUOTE(weilitng @ Mar 23 2014, 07:33 AM)

my white 903, lucky wait few more day before purchase, when 1st day start check price is 1230 when my padfone 2 station 2 screen crack.

ori or ap price?
weilitng
post Mar 23 2014, 06:31 PM

61 posts

QUOTE(Kendall @ Mar 23 2014, 09:27 AM)
ori or ap price?
this phone only have ori, and warranty with Asus.

Nightstalker1993
post Mar 25 2014, 10:08 AM

M� �R�|�
8,930 posts

QUOTE(weilitng @ Mar 23 2014, 07:33 AM)

Nothing wrong with my screen, anything wrong with yours?
aliffnasir
post Mar 26 2014, 03:44 PM

85 posts

is there any pc suite software for this phone? i install asus sync but it cannot detect my phone mellow.gif mellow.gif mellow.gif
weilitng
post Mar 27 2014, 12:10 AM

61 posts

QUOTE(Nightstalker1993 @ Mar 25 2014, 10:08 AM)
Nothing wrong with my screen, anything wrong with yours?
i think is my unit problem, the screen like floating when my sleep on bed playing phone, when screen face to gravity.

may need sent to Asus SC claim RMA.

Nightstalker1993
post Mar 27 2014, 01:21 AM

M� �R�|�
8,930 posts

QUOTE(weilitng @ Mar 27 2014, 12:10 AM)
i think is my unit problem, the screen like floating when my sleep on bed playing phone, when screen face to gravity.

may need sent to Asus SC claim RMA.
Floating? That's the first time I heard that description for a screen issue sweat.gif

Any image or video of the issue?
fieznur81
post Mar 27 2014, 03:51 AM

276 posts

QUOTE(Nightstalker1993 @ Mar 17 2014, 08:56 AM)
tak boleh. my main purpose is protection. If Otterbox makes one for the Fonepad, I'll grab it in a flash. Destroyed too many phones already cry.gif
Wow, i also destroyed a lot of my previous phone. Gonna go buy this tomorrow, if got time.

If there's special case for protection, please share with us hahaha

weilitng
post Mar 27 2014, 11:23 PM

61 posts

QUOTE(fieznur81 @ Mar 27 2014, 03:51 AM)
Wow, i also destroyed a lot of my previous phone. Gonna go buy this tomorrow, if got time.

If there's special case for protection, please share with us hahaha
able find the Asus flip casing at ebay, 43USD or 43CAD, me select the 43 CAD after convert around rm13x, expensive, or jelly bumper case , USD 5 each also from ebay , sent from china.

me just bought it last few day, waiting 5-7 day for the item delivery from Taiwan.

shk66
post Mar 28 2014, 11:45 PM

67 posts

dear all note 6 users, i have below Leather Side Flip Case want to let go, who interested?

actually i wanna buy note 6. i paid directd already but then they refund back to me and said no stock.

before i received the note 6, i placed order to the above casing and the seller said they had placed order to their vendor and therefore do not allow me to cancel the order cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif

i bought it at RM107 (case RM95 + clear protector RM6 + postage RM6) and now wanna let go at RM80.

with RM80, you get case + protector + free postage.

the case still haven't reach the above seller's hand (they said they need around 10 days and now just passed 3 days).

who interested just let me know quick. i would ask the above seller to change the shipping address. therefore, you save the postage biggrin.gif
sniperwolf
post Mar 29 2014, 10:41 AM

Boku Wa Gundam
2,810 posts

QUOTE(shk66 @ Mar 28 2014, 11:45 PM)
dear all note 6 users, i have below Leather Side Flip Case want to let go, who interested?

actually i wanna buy note 6. i paid directd already but then they refund back to me and said no stock.

before i received the note 6, i placed order to the above casing and the seller said they had placed order to their vendor and therefore do not allow me to cancel the order cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif

i bought it at RM107 (case RM95 + clear protector RM6 + postage RM6) and now wanna let go at RM80.

the case still haven't reach the above seller's hand (they said they need around 10 days and now just passed 3 days).

who interested just let me know quick. i would ask the above seller to change the shipping address. therefore, you save the postage biggrin.gif
Local pricing really quite ridiculous as this should be the denlia case I got from mainland for my T200, which only cost around half of its selling price in lelong. As for your fonepad note, why not just get from other seller instead?

This post has been edited by sniperwolf: Mar 29 2014, 10:45 AM
shk66
post Mar 29 2014, 01:42 PM

67 posts

QUOTE(sniperwolf @ Mar 29 2014, 10:41 AM)
Local pricing really quite ridiculous as this should be the denlia case I got from mainland for my T200, which only cost around half of its selling price in lelong. As for your fonepad note, why not just get from other seller instead?
Cosz I decided to buy memopad hd7 instead of note 6.

This is for my dad. My initial idea is to buy note 6 to replace his S3. Bigger screen for better viewing pleasure.

Now think of why not give him even bigger tablet? Haha😊

sniperwolf
post Mar 29 2014, 03:36 PM

Boku Wa Gundam
2,810 posts

QUOTE(shk66 @ Mar 29 2014, 01:42 PM)
Cosz I decided to buy memopad hd7 instead of note 6.

This is for my dad. My ithenitial idea is to buy note 6 to replace his S3. Bigger screen for better viewing pleasure.

Now think of why not give him even bigger tablet? Haha😊
Memo pad hd7? Ain't that just only a tablet? Indeed 7 inch will provide better viewing, but the mobility might be slight bit issue. My old man wouldn't even use anything larger than 5 inch as it can't fit into his pocket
shk66
post Mar 29 2014, 04:13 PM

67 posts

QUOTE(sniperwolf @ Mar 29 2014, 03:36 PM)
Memo pad hd7? Ain't that just only a tablet? Indeed 7 inch will provide better viewing, but the mobility might be slight bit issue. My old man wouldn't even use anything larger than 5 inch as it can't fit into his pocket
Yup. Just a tablet. Since it would only be used at home, size is not an issue😊

shk66
post Mar 29 2014, 04:18 PM

67 posts

QUOTE(sniperwolf @ Mar 29 2014, 03:36 PM)
If I buy note 6, I would then sell his S3. If buy HD7, then he would have one phone plus one tablet😅
Nightstalker1993
post Mar 29 2014, 09:38 PM

M� �R�|�
8,930 posts

My red and Grey case from mainland just arrived! Now can change case depending on mood laugh.gif

Sorry to hear about your case shk66, but I got too many cases already now and I don't really like flip cases sweat.gif

Hey guys, any of you know how to read Chinese mind browsing the Chinese forum for a root method? I'm pretty sure the Chinese had found out how to root it laugh.gif
fieznur81
post Mar 29 2014, 11:21 PM

276 posts

Hi guys.
Just bought my black FN6 this evening. Wow, the display is so nice. Vivid and clear.

What's the latest firmware available?l
shk66
post Mar 30 2014, 03:12 AM

67 posts

QUOTE(Nightstalker1993 @ Mar 29 2014, 09:38 PM)

My red and Grey case from mainland just arrived! Now can change case depending on mood laugh.gif

Sorry to hear about your case shk66, but I got too many cases already now and I don't really like flip cases sweat.gif

Hey guys, any of you know how to read Chinese mind browsing the Chinese forum for a root method? I'm pretty sure the Chinese had found out how to root it laugh.gif
Don't worry nightstalker1993😊
fieznur81
post Mar 30 2014, 10:01 AM

276 posts

QUOTE(shk66 @ Mar 28 2014, 11:45 PM)

before i received the note 6, i placed order to the above casing and the seller said they had placed order to their vendor and therefore do not allow me to cancel the order cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif

I remembered someone wanted to buy case on fb group yesterday. I'll give your link to him.

shk66
post Mar 30 2014, 02:21 PM

67 posts

QUOTE(fieznur81 @ Mar 30 2014, 10:01 AM)
I remembered someone wanted to buy case on fb group yesterday. I'll give your link to him.
Wow, thank you so much fieznur 81😊
fieznur81
post Mar 30 2014, 03:18 PM

276 posts

QUOTE(shk66 @ Mar 30 2014, 02:21 PM)
Wow, thank you so much fieznur 81😊
No problem at all!

Nightstalker1993
post Mar 30 2014, 04:59 PM

M� �R�|�
8,930 posts

QUOTE(fieznur81 @ Mar 30 2014, 10:01 AM)
There's a group? sweat.gif
shk66
post Mar 31 2014, 09:31 AM

67 posts

no one interested to my flip case and screen protector? hmm.gif hmm.gif hmm.gif
fieznur81
post Mar 31 2014, 06:52 PM

276 posts

Search for Asus Fonepad group on FB. International participants....so might be confuse a bit....

Also I'm trying to make an Asus Fonepad Note 6 group, just that need to add basic info.
shk66
post Mar 31 2014, 11:42 PM

67 posts

dear all, RM50 let go the black leather flip case + clear protector + postage.

let me know if you interested.
Nightstalker1993
post Apr 2 2014, 01:41 AM

M� �R�|�
8,930 posts

Whoever wants the Note 6 better act fast, now DirectD just selling off their last batch sweat.gif

fieznur81
post Apr 5 2014, 05:36 AM

276 posts

No roots yet?
aliffnasir
post Apr 5 2014, 09:37 PM

85 posts

just realize that my unit is not turning to super note widget screen automatically when the stylus is detached...any of yours have same issue? unsure.gif unsure.gif unsure.gif
aliffnasir
post Apr 5 2014, 09:52 PM

85 posts

sold out at directd! laku macam pisang goreng panas...
midas
post Apr 5 2014, 11:15 PM

36 posts

QUOTE(aliffnasir @ Apr 5 2014, 09:37 PM)
just realize that my unit is not turning to super note widget screen automatically when the stylus is detached...any of yours have same issue? unsure.gif  unsure.gif  unsure.gif
Mine just indicates that stylus is detached, and brings out the tab that opens the page that allows you to scribble over things...
aliffnasir
post Apr 6 2014, 12:54 PM

85 posts

QUOTE(midas @ Apr 5 2014, 11:15 PM)
Mine just indicates that stylus is detached, and brings out the tab that opens the page that allows you to scribble over things...
same here...but the review video of this phablet in youtube shows that it will turn to supernote widget screen automatically when the stylus is detached... hmm.gif hmm.gif hmm.gif
TSun_id
post Apr 6 2014, 02:28 PM

music is soul's food
7,106 posts

QUOTE(aliffnasir @ Apr 5 2014, 09:52 PM)
sold out at directd! laku macam pisang goreng panas...
a very good phone for the price
Nightstalker1993
post Apr 6 2014, 05:16 PM

M� �R�|�
8,930 posts

QUOTE(aliffnasir @ Apr 6 2014, 12:54 PM)
same here...but the review video of this phablet in youtube shows that it will turn to supernote widget screen automatically when the stylus is detached...  hmm.gif  hmm.gif  hmm.gif
I remember mine did it the first day I had it, then it didn't auto change page anymore which I didn't miss as I find it somewhat annoying.
aliffnasir
post Apr 6 2014, 05:35 PM

85 posts

QUOTE(Nightstalker1993 @ Apr 6 2014, 05:16 PM)
I remember mine did it the first day I had it, then it didn't auto change page anymore which I didn't miss as I find it somewhat annoying.
i think maybe because of the firmware update that disable this features... hmm.gif hmm.gif hmm.gif

another thing i realize, at first day i got my unit, the icon will become slightly bigger and the folders at homescreen will pop up automatically when hovering stylus on it...but today it did not happen... dry.gif dry.gif shakehead.gif shakehead.gif

This post has been edited by aliffnasir: Apr 6 2014, 05:35 PM
Nightstalker1993
post Apr 6 2014, 08:50 PM

M� �R�|�
8,930 posts

QUOTE(aliffnasir @ Apr 6 2014, 05:35 PM)
i think maybe because of the firmware update that disable this features... hmm.gif  hmm.gif  hmm.gif

another thing i realize, at first day i got my unit, the icon will become slightly bigger and the folders at homescreen will pop up automatically when hovering stylus on it...but today it did not happen...  dry.gif  dry.gif  shakehead.gif  shakehead.gif
Probably because of fw update, I remember updating the fw few hours after I got the phone. maybe you never enable the peak feature? or try disabling it then re-enabling it again. mine still expand the folders and enlarge the icons on the home screen when you hover over it
fieznur81
post Apr 6 2014, 11:39 PM

276 posts

Now that you guys mentioning it....just realized it too...
aliffnasir
post Apr 7 2014, 02:03 PM

85 posts

QUOTE(Nightstalker1993 @ Apr 6 2014, 08:50 PM)
Probably because of fw update, I remember updating the fw few hours after I got the phone. maybe you never enable the peak feature? or try disabling  it then re-enabling it again. mine still expand the folders and enlarge the icons on the home screen when you hover over it
i try it few times by disabling then enabling it again, even i restart the phone...but not working... unsure.gif unsure.gif unsure.gif icon_question.gif icon_question.gif icon_question.gif
cracksys
post Apr 7 2014, 02:16 PM

I'm a Vault Dweller!!
3,668 posts

i don't have any problem with the smart peek feature.

by the way, i'm on FW update 52.33.
aliffnasir
post Apr 7 2014, 03:59 PM

85 posts

QUOTE(cracksys @ Apr 7 2014, 02:16 PM)
i don't have any problem with the smart peek feature.

by the way, i'm on FW update 52.33.
only smart peek feature at home screen seems problem...at calendar, gallery, etc seems no problem at all... hmm.gif hmm.gif hmm.gif
fieznur81
post Apr 8 2014, 09:20 PM

276 posts

you guys can access the developer's setting?
aliffnasir
post Apr 9 2014, 12:06 AM

85 posts

QUOTE(fieznur81 @ Apr 8 2014, 09:20 PM)
you guys can access the developer's setting?
to enable the developer option, you have to do some trick...at settings>about>tap build number several time...and a text saying that “you are now a developer!” will pop up...you will now see the developer option at setting rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
Nightstalker1993
post Apr 13 2014, 04:13 PM

M� �R�|�
8,930 posts

This thread seems dead... Let me start an activity! post your best image taken by your phone tongue.gif laugh.gif

Both images taken in HDR mode
fieznur81
post Apr 13 2014, 07:53 PM

276 posts

How to downgrade to 28.10 version? anyone can help?
Nightstalker1993
post Apr 14 2014, 11:02 AM

M� �R�|�
8,930 posts

QUOTE(fieznur81 @ Apr 13 2014, 07:53 PM)
I've downloaded the downgrade file but haven't actually done it yet. haha

From what I read last time you'd have to rename the file to a number higher than your current one to fool the phone to update it.

If you're doing it just to get root though, you'd need to purchase an app in order to use the premium root keeper feature before you Ota update again.
saykong
post Apr 16 2014, 07:44 PM

35 posts

Can.t use Waze on this phone, it say error than close. Anybody got same problem?
Did this phone support UHS-1 memory card?
aliffnasir
post Apr 16 2014, 09:32 PM

85 posts

QUOTE(fieznur81 @ Apr 13 2014, 07:53 PM)
why you want to downgrade?
edu
post Apr 17 2014, 01:15 PM

287 posts

got dual sim version?
wcnew
post Apr 17 2014, 03:17 PM

275 posts

anyone notice there is a new version with Intel Atom Z2580 chipset? http://www.lelong.com.my/asus-fonepad-note...7-01-Sale-I.htm
wcnew
post Apr 17 2014, 03:17 PM

275 posts

Edit: double post

This post has been edited by wcnew: Apr 17 2014, 03:18 PM
Nightstalker1993
post Apr 18 2014, 12:54 AM

M� �R�|�
8,930 posts

QUOTE(aliffnasir @ Apr 16 2014, 09:32 PM)
why you want to downgrade?
That's the only way to root
Nightstalker1993
post Apr 18 2014, 07:58 AM

M� �R�|�
8,930 posts

QUOTE(wcnew @ Apr 17 2014, 03:17 PM)
anyone notice there is a new version with Intel Atom Z2580 chipset? http://www.lelong.com.my/asus-fonepad-note...7-01-Sale-I.htm
Mine is with z2580 chipset...
andrekua2
post Apr 18 2014, 08:18 AM

13,476 posts

QUOTE(wcnew @ Apr 17 2014, 03:17 PM)
Or you remember wrongly? It has always been Z2580

http://www.gsmarena.com/asus_fonepad_note_fhd6-5494.php
wcnew
post Apr 18 2014, 10:53 AM

275 posts

Confused with the thread spec stated Intel Atom Z2560 with CPU Dual-core 1.6 GHz...
fieznur81
post Apr 20 2014, 02:14 AM

276 posts

Tried the downgrade method but failed....
zDarkForceSz
post Apr 27 2014, 05:46 PM

1,938 posts

I use this phone for more than a month. Never know there's a group on lowyat,
Black Unit report in.

Anyone have touch screen not sensitive issues?
But after I stick screen protector i get from mainland, the problem seems solve =x
fieznur81
post May 3 2014, 09:23 AM

276 posts

This thread is slow....

Not much problem I guess.

Rooting method seems failed at least for my unit.

Anyone tried the downgrade method?
g933299
post May 6 2014, 12:00 PM

256 posts

Hi all, just got my Note 6 last week, and I am having a strange problem.

When I turn on mobile data and set network type to "WCDMA" or "WCDMA preferred/GSM", from time to time I will lose network signal when I'm using the data. If I don't use data, it seems fine (voice calls on 3G network doesn't drop out).

If I switch to GSM only, data connection works fine with no signal drops (but 2G is slow as hell). I only have one APN (Maxis).

Already tried factory resetting, updating firmware (was already at latest, but I downloaded from ASUS website and updating again), but the problem seems to persist.

Contacted ASUS support and they weren't much help. Since the 2G data connection works, I don't think it's a hardware issue :/ Would like to avoid sending to service center if possible, too much hassle to travel downtown to Lowyat.

Anybody have any other ideas I could try? (that doesn't void warranty of course)
cracksys
post May 6 2014, 07:39 PM

I'm a Vault Dweller!!
3,668 posts

i have somewhat similar issue. it seems that the phone decided to hop between H and H+. data works great on H+ but when it is on H, no data received. thus creating the signal dropping effect.
g933299
post May 8 2014, 09:00 AM

256 posts

QUOTE(cracksys @ May 6 2014, 07:39 PM)
i have somewhat similar issue. it seems that the phone decided to hop between H and H+. data works great on H+ but when it is on H, no data received. thus creating the signal dropping effect.
Yes, I noticed when on 3G, it does hop a lot between 3G-H-H+. Did you manage to resolve your problem?

keebl
post May 14 2014, 10:33 PM

425 posts

Now it 4.3 o stil on 4.2.2
g933299
post May 14 2014, 11:38 PM

256 posts

Still on 4.2.2 :/ Don't think Asus announced any 4.3 updates for Note 6 yet.
zam_ir
post May 19 2014, 09:00 AM

my data network and wifi connection always disconnect suddenly....
how to solve this problem ?
aliffnasir
post May 19 2014, 02:11 PM

85 posts

any chance that we will get 4.3 update? or 4.4?
aliffnasir
post May 22 2014, 05:18 PM

85 posts

where is everyone? gone already? dry.gif dry.gif
Nightstalker1993
post May 22 2014, 06:42 PM

M� �R�|�
8,930 posts

Imma here, but Fonepad 6 nothing much to do sadly. Far cry from my Motorola Defy and HTC One X which still have an active developement comunity sad.gif
weilitng
post May 22 2014, 08:01 PM

61 posts

QUOTE(saykong @ Apr 16 2014, 07:44 PM)
Can.t use Waze on this phone, it say error than close. Anybody got same problem?
Did this phone support UHS-1 memory card?
i have use waze on note 6, no issue on than. gps detect better than padfone 2
weilitng
post May 22 2014, 08:04 PM

61 posts

QUOTE(g933299 @ May 6 2014, 12:00 PM)
Hi all, just got my Note 6 last week, and I am having a strange problem.

When I turn on mobile data and set network type to "WCDMA" or "WCDMA preferred/GSM", from time to time I will lose network signal when I'm using the data. If I don't use data, it seems fine (voice calls on 3G network doesn't drop out).

If I switch to GSM only, data connection works fine with no signal drops (but 2G is slow as hell). I only have one APN (Maxis).

Already tried factory resetting, updating firmware (was already at latest, but I downloaded from ASUS website and updating again), but the problem seems to persist.

Contacted ASUS support and they weren't much help. Since the 2G data connection works, I don't think it's a hardware issue :/ Would like to avoid sending to service center if possible, too much hassle to travel downtown to Lowyat.

Anybody have any other ideas I could try? (that doesn't void warranty of course)
so far me use ok at data signal ok in seremban and Shah alam with Umobile .
g933299
post May 22 2014, 11:10 PM

256 posts

QUOTE(weilitng @ May 22 2014, 08:01 PM)
i have use waze on note 6, no issue on than. gps detect better than padfone 2
I used to have that error, but then I solved by turning on all options under Location Services, then was able to start normally.

After can start normally once, then can turn off any Location Service you don't want (e.g. location using mobile network).
XCloudz
post May 29 2014, 06:57 PM

323 posts

Hi All,

Anyone can confirm do Note FHD6 has vibration feature?
My phone seem won vibrate at all even setting has enabled.
saykong
post May 29 2014, 08:11 PM

35 posts

My Note 6 can vibrate.
XCloudz
post May 29 2014, 08:24 PM

323 posts

QUOTE(saykong @ May 29 2014, 08:11 PM)
My Note 6 can vibrate.
Aih, then i think i got a faulty unit, bought it 2nd hand on Monday night.
Got to visit Asus service center d...
aliffnasir
post Jun 1 2014, 11:47 PM

85 posts

want to ask, any of your unit have screen transition animation? mine does not have... mellow.gif mellow.gif mellow.gif
midas
post Jun 3 2014, 09:16 AM

36 posts

QUOTE(aliffnasir @ Jun 1 2014, 11:47 PM)
want to ask, any of your unit have screen transition animation? mine does not have... mellow.gif  mellow.gif  mellow.gif
Mine does, but if you don't have it you can re-enable it via developer options...

To find the developer options (initially hidden) follow the trick as stated by someone in this very thread previously.

IIRC tap version number 4-5 times, then a message will pop up 'You are now a developer'. Thereafter you can access the developer options via settings page.
SUSgogo2
post Jun 3 2014, 09:23 AM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(XCloudz @ May 29 2014, 06:57 PM)
Hi All,

Anyone can confirm do Note FHD6 has vibration feature?
My phone seem won vibrate at all even setting has enabled.
If you did hard reset and still have no vibration, your unit is faulty. I just scared previous user drop into toilet and dry it in the rice box.
uk15029
post Jun 3 2014, 09:23 AM

1,031 posts

RM899 for note 6

how is the performance of fonepad note 6?

will get it if the review is good
XCloudz
post Jun 3 2014, 09:27 AM

323 posts

QUOTE(midas @ Jun 3 2014, 09:16 AM)
Mine does, but if you don't have it you can re-enable it via developer options...

To find the developer options (initially hidden) follow the trick as stated by someone in this very thread previously.

IIRC tap version number 4-5 times, then a message will pop up 'You are now a developer'. Thereafter you can access the developer options via settings page.
Great info, able to enable the developer options, anyway which option to configure?
Window, transtion, animator? current value is 1x
SUSgogo2
post Jun 3 2014, 09:29 AM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(uk15029 @ Jun 3 2014, 09:23 AM)
RM899 for note 6

how is the performance of fonepad note 6?

will get it if the review is good
hipset Intel Atom Z2560
CPU Dual-core 1.6 GHz

I think the performance is bad. You need Snapdragon 800 for 1080p display. So mi3 is better with RM889 price tag.
XCloudz
post Jun 3 2014, 09:32 AM

323 posts

QUOTE(gogo2 @ Jun 3 2014, 09:23 AM)
If you did hard reset and still have no vibration, your unit is faulty. I just scared previous user drop into toilet and dry it in the rice box.
Yes, i performed the hard reset when cod with seller.
Anyway to trace it is a water damage unit? previously we can remove the back over and check some square indicator turn to pink colour, but for this phone's battery is not removable.
uk15029
post Jun 3 2014, 09:33 AM

1,031 posts

QUOTE(gogo2 @ Jun 3 2014, 10:29 AM)
hipset Intel Atom Z2560
CPU Dual-core 1.6 GHz

I think the performance is bad. You need Snapdragon 800 for 1080p display. So mi3 is better with RM889 price tag.
ok...thanks

Mi3 does not support sd card right
SUSgogo2
post Jun 3 2014, 09:33 AM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(XCloudz @ Jun 3 2014, 09:32 AM)
Yes, i performed the hard reset when cod with seller.
Anyway to trace it is a water damage unit? previously we can remove the back over and check some square indicator turn to pink colour, but for this phone's battery is not removable.
Hard to trace lo. Just pray that no water damage.
XCloudz
post Jun 3 2014, 09:34 AM

323 posts

QUOTE(gogo2 @ Jun 3 2014, 09:29 AM)
hipset Intel Atom Z2560
CPU Dual-core 1.6 GHz

Just to share with you guys the latest price i can get was RM879. Asus original warranty.
Can pm me for more detail of the seller.
SUSgogo2
post Jun 3 2014, 09:34 AM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(uk15029 @ Jun 3 2014, 09:33 AM)
ok...thanks

Mi3 does not support sd card right
Yeah, not support. But you can buy external thumb drive with micro USB. You can store all your XXX video inside the thumb drive.
XCloudz
post Jun 3 2014, 09:36 AM

323 posts

QUOTE(gogo2 @ Jun 3 2014, 09:33 AM)
Hard to trace lo. Just pray that no water damage.
Sigh, it is 1 months + used unit with valid Asus warranty, i think i shall send it to service center for inspection.
Thanks for the info.
SUSgogo2
post Jun 3 2014, 09:42 AM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(XCloudz @ Jun 3 2014, 09:36 AM)
Sigh, it is 1 months + used unit with valid Asus warranty, i think i shall send it to service center for inspection.
Thanks for the info.
Yeah, that's why I don't prefer 2nd hand phone. Many things happen also we dunno. Drop la. This and that la.
XCloudz
post Jun 3 2014, 09:47 AM

323 posts

QUOTE(gogo2 @ Jun 3 2014, 09:42 AM)
Yeah, that's why I don't prefer 2nd hand phone. Many things happen also we dunno. Drop la. This and that la.
Yea, but some time we have no choice due to tight budget...LOL...unless we can go for lower range phone with more affordable price tag. smile.gif
aliffnasir
post Jun 3 2014, 11:47 AM

85 posts

QUOTE(midas @ Jun 3 2014, 09:16 AM)

thanks dude! rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif

aliffnasir
post Jun 3 2014, 11:50 AM

85 posts

anyone know if our fonepad note 6 will have 4.3 or 4.4 update? or zen ui update?
hazard_puppet
post Jun 3 2014, 11:57 AM

561 posts

thinking of letting go my fonepad 6, how much is the suitable price for 2nd hand unit? plus my charger is faulty since day 1, directd replace me with samsung charger, but already went kaput after 2 weeks, haha

main advantage of this phone i think is the big screen and dual front speaker, really other smartphone ive used cant challenge
midas
post Jun 4 2014, 08:04 AM

36 posts

QUOTE(XCloudz @ Jun 3 2014, 09:27 AM)
Great info, able to enable the developer options, anyway which option to configure?
Window, transtion, animator? current value is 1x
Honestly, not sure. Gotta go by trial and error here perhaps. From what i see, transition seems to control the speed that menus appear and disappear. The other 2 not too sure @.@

Hopefully someone can offer a full/better list of affected elements.
midas
post Jun 4 2014, 08:12 AM

36 posts

QUOTE(hazard_puppet @ Jun 3 2014, 11:57 AM)
thinking of letting go my fonepad 6, how much is the suitable price for 2nd hand unit? plus my charger is faulty since day 1, directd replace me with samsung charger, but already went kaput after 2 weeks, haha

main advantage of this phone i think is the big screen and dual front speaker, really other smartphone ive used cant challenge
So would you go for the zenphone 6, when it finally appears, or do you have another candidate in mind? Kinda interested to know what competitors there are for this seemingly superb value phone... Haha right now on both sides of my screen got advertisement for something called Mi3 (Mission: Impossible 3 phone?) but i still feel that the zenfone 6 is the only true alternative to our phone.
uk15029
post Jun 4 2014, 08:31 AM

1,031 posts

QUOTE(hazard_puppet @ Jun 3 2014, 12:57 PM)

second hand value probably RM600++ since new one is about RM890
XCloudz
post Jun 4 2014, 08:51 AM

323 posts

QUOTE(midas @ Jun 4 2014, 08:04 AM)
Honestly, not sure. Gotta go by trial and error here perhaps. From what i see, transition seems to control the speed that menus appear and disappear. The other 2 not too sure @.@

Hopefully someone can offer a full/better list of affected elements.
Noted, will try on every single option and see what is the effect.
TSun_id
post Jun 5 2014, 02:23 PM

music is soul's food
7,106 posts

Anyone want to take over this thread? I can close this one and new TS can set up a proper thread for this.. Sorry my daily routine does not permit me to be actively updates thread
saykong
post Jun 14 2014, 02:58 PM

35 posts

Got new update, but not download yet.
g933299
post Jun 15 2014, 02:15 AM

256 posts

Still 4.2.2, dunno what changes it bring, can't find any changelog.

midas
post Jun 25 2014, 09:18 AM

36 posts

Anyone noticed that this device is misrepresented on versus.com? Too many specs wrong lol...
Alan Yee
post Jul 31 2014, 10:30 AM

1,031 posts

Hi all sifu....

Been very interested in this phone recently.
Spec wise, it is very similar to Zenfone 6 (2GB RAM version).

Spec for Fonepad Note FHD 6:
- Full HD screen, 1920 x 1080
- Dual front speaker
- Stylus
- 8MP camera without flash, front 1.2MP

Zenfone 6
- 1280 x 720 screen
- 13MP camera with LED flash, Pixelmaster (improve low light condition), 2MP front
- Dual Sim support

Heard Fonepad Note FHD 6 has very poor reception issue. Still android version 4.2.2
While Zenfone 6 has issue using Facebook, camera issue. Upgradable to android 4.4

Now, both are priced very similar. (Around RM859++)

Please advise with one is better?
g933299
post Aug 4 2014, 03:40 PM

256 posts

It all depends on what your needs are.

If you watch a lot of videos (especially HD), then Note 6 is the better choice. Full HD videos render very sharp on the screen.

If your focus is photography, then Zenfone6 is better. Don't know about the facebook or camera issue though, never used it before.

As for the Note 6 connectivity, yea, I'm still stuck using 2G most of the time. If I switch to 3G, it still drops every now and then. Doesn't really bother me much though, since my data is only 500MB a month XD
saykong
post Aug 7 2014, 08:46 PM

35 posts

New update KitKat 4.4.2

http://www.asus.com/my/Phones/ASUS_Fonepad...pDesk_Download/
g933299
post Aug 7 2014, 11:40 PM

256 posts

QUOTE(saykong @ Aug 7 2014, 08:46 PM)
Nice! But I think I'll wait for OTA, else it will wipe all my games' progress =_=
ateq123
post Aug 8 2014, 10:29 AM

94 posts

hi.just found this thread.i just wanna ask if any of this phone owner face the same prob as me. my note 6 always lost connection to mobile network esp. when im using mobile data.can somebody tell me how to solve this.thx btw
midas
post Aug 8 2014, 11:51 AM

36 posts

QUOTE(saykong @ Aug 7 2014, 08:46 PM)
Thanks for the info! Btw does anyone have experience using zenui (update will be using it). Also, what is the extent of impact when upgrading to kitkat, apart from game progress wipes?

Downloading 1.1gb file while researching these mysteries...

XCloudz
post Aug 8 2014, 12:29 PM

323 posts

QUOTE(midas @ Aug 8 2014, 11:51 AM)
Thanks for the info! Btw does anyone have experience using zenui (update will be using it). Also, what is the extent of impact when upgrading to kitkat, apart from game progress wipes?

Downloading 1.1gb file while researching these mysteries...
Same question here, if it goona wipe the games's progress, i think it will wipe the whole phone.
Any one can advise?
g933299
post Aug 8 2014, 12:38 PM

256 posts

QUOTE(XCloudz @ Aug 8 2014, 12:29 PM)
Same question here, if it goona wipe the games's progress, i think it will wipe the whole phone.
Any one can advise?
Yes, downloading firmware from Asus website and installing will wipe WHOLE PHONE. Only OTA update will retain data (at least that's what happened to me last time when I downloaded from the website).

I only mentioned game saves because they are the only things I can't back up (not without root anyway).

Contacts, SMS, everything else can back up without root.
g933299
post Aug 8 2014, 12:40 PM

256 posts

QUOTE(ateq123 @ Aug 8 2014, 10:29 AM)
hi.just found this thread.i just wanna ask if any of this phone owner face the same prob as me. my note 6 always lost connection to mobile network esp. when im using mobile data.can somebody tell me how to solve this.thx btw
Replied PM bro. Basically I set to 2g network and no problem. If use 3G then will keep disconnecting.

I think it actually depends on the area you're in. Some areas I can turn on 3G and it doesn't have disconnect problem until I'm back home.

I suspect modem baseband firmware cacat. Hopefully the 4.4.2 patch will fix.
midas
post Aug 10 2014, 12:47 AM

36 posts

QUOTE(XCloudz @ Aug 8 2014, 12:29 PM)
Any one can advise?
Update: no it does not wipe the phone... just like a very large update. However i kinda dislike zen ui compared to whatever was used, and so i reccommend trying out zen ui first.

g933299
post Aug 10 2014, 01:04 AM

256 posts

QUOTE(midas @ Aug 10 2014, 12:47 AM)
Update: no it does not wipe the phone... just like a very large update. However i kinda dislike zen ui compared to whatever was used, and so i reccommend trying out zen ui first.
Hmm, previous updates it did wipe my phone.

But if this doesn't wipe then I will try. Hopefully I can start to go on 3G instead of being stuck on 2G XD
g933299
post Aug 10 2014, 02:50 AM

256 posts

Updated!

Good:
- network so far seems stable on 3g, will need further testing to see if they fix the bug

Bad:
- ZENUI is horrible, don't think I will ever get used to it, Icons are too big for a 6 inch screen, should be scaled down
- Audio volume is erratic, suddenly soft, suddenly loud, affects especially media volume
- Audio scale for media volume has been tweaked, making the speakers no longer as loud as before

This post has been edited by g933299: Aug 10 2014, 02:55 AM
midas
post Aug 10 2014, 08:33 AM

36 posts

Though I haven't noticed erratic sounds, I have noticed another problem: asphalt 8 crashes or hangs the phone very regularly, very fast... Even at the garage view, doing nothing.

Typing speed seems like lagging right now (not sure if its a setting).
Icons too simple / lame for my taste.
The convenience of pulling down the quick setting page from within any app is gone too.

The ui is so much less useful that i can now say : zenfone 6 vs fonepad note 6, fonepad wins hands down, even without kitkat! Seriously, the ui experience is such a letdown that i now need to have a break. Having a kitkat sad.gif

Edit: they did add some apps for sharing pics, and even apps, with other devices. Havent gotten to trying those yet. They also added a customer support add, so i guess kitkat users will at least have something new that we need :-P

This post has been edited by midas: Aug 10 2014, 08:38 AM
g933299
post Aug 10 2014, 11:04 AM

256 posts

QUOTE(midas @ Aug 10 2014, 08:33 AM)
The convenience of pulling down the quick setting page from within any app is gone too.

Quick setting still works, you need to pull down on the right side. Pulling down on left side is notifications (now works like Google's stock Android).

Even if you pull down on the left, there's a button to swap to quick settings.

But yeah, UI-wise, this update is a disaster T_T
midas
post Aug 10 2014, 01:38 PM

36 posts

Yay ty, quick settings ftw smile.gif only the option to control volumes selectively now missing. Btw for the benefit of other forumers, problem with crashing game (asphalt 8) was easily solved; just by clearing the cache.
g933299
post Aug 10 2014, 02:28 PM

256 posts

Ok, been on 3g the whole day and no more network disconnections! Anyone else having the problem can give this update a try, just keep in mind the crappy zen UI and weird quirks.
XCloudz
post Aug 10 2014, 02:57 PM

323 posts

QUOTE(midas @ Aug 10 2014, 12:47 AM)
Oh really...ok i will try also...thank!!
XCloudz
post Aug 10 2014, 04:09 PM

323 posts

Tried download the zip file, extract it will have ...user.zip, copied to root of internal storage...accept the update notification on the phone. Phone restart showing an android icon with status bar...halfway it show error n start the phone as usual...any advise where it goes wrong?

UPDATES:
Resolved, able to update after redownload again.

This post has been edited by XCloudz: Aug 10 2014, 05:16 PM
midas
post Aug 10 2014, 05:30 PM

36 posts

QUOTE(XCloudz @ Aug 10 2014, 04:09 PM)
Tried download the zip file, extract it will have ...user.zip, copied to root of internal storage...accept the update notification on the phone. Phone restart showing an android icon with status bar...halfway it show error n start the phone as usual...any advise where it goes wrong?

UPDATES:
Resolved, able to update after redownload again.
Grats, welcome to the club!
XCloudz
post Aug 11 2014, 08:01 AM

323 posts

QUOTE(midas @ Aug 10 2014, 05:30 PM)
Grats, welcome to the club!
Appreciate it rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
ateq123
post Aug 12 2014, 02:50 AM

94 posts

thx bos.already update to kitkat.no more network problem notworthy.gif
XCloudz
post Aug 12 2014, 05:57 PM

323 posts

Anyone could advise where can i claim the warranty around klang valley?
Other than visiting Asus Service center at Imbi/Lowyat area or return to the shop.

* It was Ori MY set bought from DirectD, having vibration issue as the phone doesn't vibrate at all even vibration was enabled.
midas
post Aug 22 2014, 08:56 AM

36 posts

I see improvements in the UI smile.gif e.g. the return of the ability to control various volumes from the popup activated by the volume buttons. Typing, like right now, is still quite slow, and Asphalt force closes and hangs at least once a day, but zenui is getting better, bit by bit.

Btw MyBitcast and some other apps were removed, so it is now possible to uninstall it.

Anyone else notice these or improvements or degradations in kitkat and zenui compared to the jellybean version?

Edit: Has anyone rooted kitkat?

This post has been edited by midas: Aug 22 2014, 09:08 AM
saykong
post Aug 25 2014, 07:26 PM

35 posts

After upgrade, battery consumption higher.
aliffnasir
post Aug 27 2014, 04:30 PM

85 posts

my antutu score decrease after update to kitkat...has anyone else experience this?
zDarkForceSz
post Sep 7 2014, 10:11 AM

1,938 posts

just realise there's a update today.
so far you i see you guys saying that zen ui is the only drawback?
zDarkForceSz
post Sep 8 2014, 08:23 PM

1,938 posts

I'm fine with ZenUI after using it.
But after updating my phone to the latest version, I few my phone draining power real quick and some problem with ZenUI.
After I reformat my phone, now back to normal.

So if anyone updated to the latest version, the best is to format your phone and run new.
midas
post Sep 11 2014, 10:29 AM

36 posts

QUOTE(zDarkForceSz @ Sep 8 2014, 08:23 PM)
I'm fine with ZenUI after using it.
But after updating my phone to the latest version, I few my phone draining power real quick and some problem with ZenUI.
After I reformat my phone, now back to normal.

So if anyone updated to the latest version, the best is to format your phone and run new.
Meaning format the phone can reinstall JellyBean? How can I do this? Hehe since i have the 1GB file i guess it would be fun to revert, see how JB feels in comparison, and then decide if i wana re-upgrade XD
g933299
post Sep 11 2014, 11:48 AM

256 posts

By format, I think he meant to Factory Reset.

I don't think it works that way :/ Once you go to Kitkat I don't think you can downgrade to Jellybean (it won't detect the older update to allow you to install).

You can try to rename the JB update version number to older one, then it might detect, but if the partitioning is different then you can brick your phone.
zDarkForceSz
post Sep 11 2014, 04:15 PM

1,938 posts

QUOTE(midas @ Sep 11 2014, 10:29 AM)
Meaning format the phone can reinstall JellyBean? How can I do this? Hehe since i have the 1GB file i guess it would be fun to revert, see how JB feels in comparison, and then decide if i wana re-upgrade XD
Format = Factory Reset aka wipe all data.
I don't think the process is reversible.
Once you upgraded to KitKat, you can't downgrade to JellyBean on this phone.

So far my phone running great on KitKat.
But android always got a problem where AUTO run some apps on background.
I personally disable a lot useless app like amazon kindle, play book etc.
They RUN in background even I didn't use them / ever open them.

Battery life great.
Ram usage below 1000/1984mb
Some upgrades on Camera functions.
Note apps still retain which is great!
Other is just like normal to me.
Slowly getting used to ZenUI
digita1tech
post Sep 11 2014, 04:18 PM

307 posts

Hello guys, my Fonepad 6 screen and LCD cracked......do you guys have any idea where to purchase/repair the glass screen + LCD? THanks.
midas
post Sep 13 2014, 12:57 AM

36 posts

QUOTE(digita1tech @ Sep 11 2014, 04:18 PM)
Hello guys, my Fonepad 6 screen and LCD cracked......do you guys have any idea where to purchase/repair the glass screen + LCD? THanks.
IMHO best to get it repaired by Asus itself, hence i would point you towards service centre in Lowyat Plaza.

For everyone else, ty for clarifying the 'format' thingy. I wouldn't mind starting off again with squeaky clean kitkat; some of my apps do work better after a simple redownload. This kinda reminds me of the scenario we get when upgrading PC OS without formatting the older version. It might just erase some remnants of old bloatware...
saykong
post Sep 16 2014, 12:34 PM

35 posts

Got new OTA.
XCloudz
post Sep 20 2014, 04:27 PM

323 posts

anyone know which asus service center open on weekend?
saykong
post Oct 24 2014, 06:38 PM

35 posts

Got new update.
XCloudz
post Oct 24 2014, 06:46 PM

323 posts

QUOTE(saykong @ Oct 24 2014, 06:38 PM)
Got new update.
Any major changes? Sigh my phone is is the service center now.
g933299
post Oct 24 2014, 06:48 PM

256 posts

QUOTE(saykong @ Oct 24 2014, 06:38 PM)
Got new update.
Is it via OTA?

Because on the website, the 4.4 update is no longer there, Asus pulled it because apparently there were some issues.

saykong
post Oct 24 2014, 06:54 PM

35 posts

Yes OTA, phone still charging not install yet.
XCloudz
post Nov 3 2014, 01:52 PM

323 posts

QUOTE(g933299 @ Oct 24 2014, 06:48 PM)
Is it via OTA?

Because on the website, the 4.4 update is no longer there, Asus pulled it because apparently there were some issues.
Android 4.4 re-uploaded to Asus website...
g933299
post Nov 3 2014, 02:30 PM

256 posts

Yay. Anyways I installed OTA the other day, doesn't seem to have much difference.

And the volume still has auto-leveling, which is super annoying. With or without headphones, it automatically limits the volume =_= wish they give option to turn off.
XCloudz
post Nov 7 2014, 12:25 PM

323 posts

My charger just dead (half year old), anyone encounter the same problem?
It was all the time plugged in the socket on my desk, it just dead out of sudden.
Could it be the fuse in the charger?
midas
post Dec 7 2014, 04:02 AM

36 posts

QUOTE(XCloudz @ Nov 7 2014, 12:25 PM)
Could it be the fuse in the charger?
In your case, probably that, or some caps bloated out... BTW in case you were thinking of replacing the fuse, its probably an smd; didn't see any other kinds when my charger popped open the other day lol.

For me, the charger contacts (internal) are now loose, guess i kept pulling out the usb cable too often @,@ In my case, wiggling the cable at the charger end allows the phone to charge momentarily; i guess this can be a symptom / indicator of loose contacts.

Edit:

The one thing seriously wrong with this phone (for me) is the deafening tone that plays when a call is cut. Ridiculously loud, when the phone is smack flat against the ear. Anyone else has this issue? If so, a 'solution' would be to drop the 'notifications' volume...

This post has been edited by midas: Dec 7 2014, 04:08 AM
saykong
post Jan 1 2015, 01:02 PM

35 posts

Got new update. OTA.
XCloudz
post Jan 1 2015, 01:07 PM

323 posts

QUOTE(saykong @ Jan 1 2015, 01:02 PM)
Got new update. OTA.

Updating... rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
midas
post Jan 1 2015, 07:12 PM

36 posts

Hey guys has anyone repaired cracked glass? Wanna get price estimate to decide between repair or getting a zenfone 6. Love this screen's clarity though. Unfortunately, Asus won't give a price estimate until after inspection, and inspection without repair is supposed to cost RM150.00
Also, does anyone have any thoughts about those diy screen repair kits online? DIY screen repair @.@
brutus
post Jan 3 2015, 06:22 AM

1,743 posts

New unit costs 699, if I were you, I will buy one to replace it rather than repair or consider ZF6. 720 screen is no match for 1080 screen plus you have spare stylus, earphone, battery and charger.
midas
post Jan 3 2015, 05:21 PM

36 posts

QUOTE(brutus @ Jan 3 2015, 06:22 AM)
New unit costs 699, if I were you, I will buy one to replace it rather than repair or consider ZF6. 720 screen is no match for 1080 screen plus you have spare stylus, earphone, battery and charger.
Awesome, thanks! Saved me a lot of time and effort.

In this case, i would like to ask, does anyone have recommendation(s) for protective accessories? For my part, i can testify that screen protector has held my screen glass in mostly in place, and hence functional (with stylus but not to finger) even after the gorilla cracked.

Haha lucky i asked here else thought price still around 1k smile.gif)
brutus
post Jan 4 2015, 06:46 AM

1,743 posts

Phone prices are constantly dropping. So it makes sense to shop around especially if the model has been in the market for more than 1yr.
If you can find use those round edged tempered glass screen protector. Very good user experience.

0.1792sec    0.91    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 07:07 PM