Samsung GALAXY S4 Official Thread V4, waiting for 4.3 JellyBean Official :)

HeartRoxas
post Jun 26 2013, 10:45 AM

aka Xyreon
1,258 posts

Safe to say, avoid SanDisk.

Grats on V4.

This post has been edited by HeartRoxas: Jun 26 2013, 10:46 AM
HeartRoxas
post Jun 26 2013, 11:50 AM

aka Xyreon
1,258 posts

QUOTE(weileong @ Jun 26 2013, 11:07 AM)
found S4 thread is not popular or so called hot sales like S2,S3 wondering izit people is bored with the design ? or price factor ?
QUOTE(manx @ Jun 26 2013, 11:12 AM)
less discussion means less issues  rclxms.gif
Less spams as well. biggrin.gif

Discussion:
Wonder how is everyone's batt doing.

Despite GSM Arena rating HTC One's batt to be on par with ours despite the difference in mAh, I find that my phone still usually last longer than my gf's HTC One.

What are the batt saver apps you people are using, if any?

And why?

HeartRoxas
post Jun 26 2013, 02:48 PM

aka Xyreon
1,258 posts

QUOTE(tancc19 @ Jun 26 2013, 11:52 AM)
try to turn off the Google Location Services. You may found save alot of the battery.
You may wanna read again. I have no problem with my batt. I'm asking inspects and apps people are using.

HeartRoxas
post Jul 1 2013, 01:18 PM

aka Xyreon
1,258 posts

QUOTE(johnlcp @ Jul 1 2013, 12:35 PM)
I am using s4 for few weeks already.happy with the phone so far, I was iPhone user before this.

the only problem I am having now is the battery. I have to charge it at least once per day. I check the batter statistic, usually the battery used up about 50-60% of my batter. Even I already reduce the brightness to -5.

is this normal? Is it because the screen is bigger, so it consume more power?
As many have suggested, screenshot your screen on time.

You can use GSAM Battery Monitor for this.

That is the most important before we jump to any suggestion on bat saver apps.

HeartRoxas
post Jul 1 2013, 02:25 PM

aka Xyreon
1,258 posts

QUOTE(666devil @ Jul 1 2013, 01:36 PM)
At night I use gsam to detect which app suck power most even when phone off. Found out lousy fb app and gsam suck most. Once I have that info, I uninstalled gsam.
GSAM used about 2% of my batt average. And my SOT is usually higher than 4 hours.
Don't think it's a batt sucker. But facebook definitely. Until I greenify it.
HeartRoxas
post Jul 1 2013, 02:40 PM

aka Xyreon
1,258 posts

QUOTE(fkinmeng @ Jul 1 2013, 02:34 PM)
SOT more than 4 hours with brightness set at auto?

SOT 4 hours left how many % battery level?
http://imgur.com/jUUXIxW

My batt stat about week plus ago.

Brightness at auto.

Should prolly mention that I was at 50% when I started playing game that time till 16% then I check batt stats.

This post has been edited by HeartRoxas: Jul 1 2013, 02:41 PM
HeartRoxas
post Jul 1 2013, 03:03 PM

aka Xyreon
1,258 posts

QUOTE(amfslash @ Jul 1 2013, 02:59 PM)
seems that u guys are gettin 4hrs+ SOT... looks good to me!! octa or lte?
LTE.
HeartRoxas
post Jul 1 2013, 03:45 PM

aka Xyreon
1,258 posts

QUOTE(fkinmeng @ Jul 1 2013, 03:15 PM)
yours look good. without power saving i presume?
No. Power Saving on, cpu not ticked.
HeartRoxas
post Jul 6 2013, 01:27 PM

aka Xyreon
1,258 posts

SOT can't be the sole benchmark also. If you charge everyday, yeah SOT can be a benchmark but like me last week, I didn't even have the time to play around with it. I used for 3 days (2d 23h to be precise) without charge and I reached 20% before I plugged it in yesterday night. But SOT only 2h. If you don't finish draining it everyday, SOT alone can't be the defining factor of batt drain already. WiFi and Data, how little they take, even off screen, after 3 days your batt will still go down.

So what, I was the one with 4h SOT at 16% posts ago, I'm now the one with 2h SOT at 20%. Is that worse? No, I used it for 3 days before I need to charge and I think it's superb. So as long as your batt dont drop like 11% when sleep 8 hours or dont drop 4% 5% when you just screen on for few mins, then your batt is gonna be FINE and it's GOOD being a flagship.

Like steven said, if you compete too much on SoT, you end up using an iPod Touch S4. What's the point? The sole reason ppl are comparing is because there might be apps taking up batt and after comparison, they might find out; not because 4h SOT is the benchmark.

HeartRoxas
post Jul 8 2013, 03:49 PM

aka Xyreon
1,258 posts

QUOTE(prettydevil @ Jul 8 2013, 03:10 PM)
thanks for that.

i sent my phone back to samsung service centre and turned out it's hardware failure... they changed it but i totally lost faith in samsung...
Really? One hardware and lost faith? What are you a boy still dreaming for Santa Claus?

First of all, what is the faulty hardware? How are you sure LG, Sony, Apple, Motorola, HTC will not have the same failure?

I'm not even a fan of Samsung (I'm "still" more of a HTC guy) but these "Samsung sucks" posts are getting more and more and I sometimes think, why do you even buy a Samsung phone without knowing their reputation?

If they are weak in hardware and service, don't get it. They have the best specs? Sucks to be you. I choose specs.

Many (not just you) get a Samsung, use touchwiz and end up saying meh, Android/Samsung sucks because it's so lag, build quality sucks, many problems, bla bla. iPong so good no lag. I used to argue with these people, trying to knock them some sense. But that was 3 years ago. Now, I'll just say, get an iPhone. Don't ever come android.

Yeah you aren't comparing, I'm doing it because after many posts, I decide to reply to yours so don't take it to heart.

My question stands : which hardware is the one having failure that you "lost hope" on Samsung devices?
HeartRoxas
post Jul 8 2013, 04:51 PM

aka Xyreon
1,258 posts

QUOTE(frozz@holic @ Jul 8 2013, 04:31 PM)
No sorry fruit is a crap product then, its a crap product now. I came from 3310 to Symbian to android I never once even remotely thought of a fruit products, has too many shortcomings 
just because of one issue you loss faith in them... there are many reason for hardware failure maybe you just so happens to be one of the "lucky" few to receive a defect unit. even fruit has defect units.
Well as much as I would agree with you, I cannot start a pitchfork fanboism discussion here.
I don't mind fruit product grows strong really. I don't mind if they finally goes true multitask and start having homescreens. I know I wont buy it, I know I wont give a damn. But if they are to put up a good fight, that's good. Consumers only win in competitions.

When Samsung dominates, there are also fears of it being the next apple. Which I wish it wouldn't happen. And with that, we need competitions.

PS: It's because of fruit, I appreciate desserts. smile.gif

0.0459sec    0.42    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 10:29 PM