Kelisa Club Tok V2

smokeman50
post Feb 3 2015, 12:23 AM

Kelisa 12 years old, air con little cold in mornings but not
cold at all in afternoons.

Authorised denso dealer workshop in Klang indicated original
Denso compressor worn out & cooling coil leaking.

Changed to Recon compressor & new 'Patco' coil & new Denso drier.
Inclusive of gas filling, vacuum & repair labour, about rm900.

Would appreciate comments & suggestions on
pricing & repair choices.

Called up Denso Main Service Centre at Glenmarie,
approximately RM2000 to do the same with all original Denso parts.

This post has been edited by smokeman50: Feb 3 2015, 12:26 AM
smokeman50
post Feb 4 2015, 04:06 PM

QUOTE(nargcore @ Feb 4 2015, 10:57 AM)
haha,I think it should be between 25 to 30 km...distance depending on the car performance.
In my 12 yrs with kelisa, only once I hit E mark,
i.e. last month, afternoon right middle of KL,
cannot find any petrol station, roads are one way mostly,
so switched off air con to conserve petrol,
luckily found one after running 8 km.

This post has been edited by smokeman50: Feb 7 2015, 07:31 AM
smokeman50
post Feb 4 2015, 04:11 PM

QUOTE(FatalitY @ Feb 3 2015, 12:49 AM)
It can last for a year or two. Im using recon compressor too.
Sifu, how's pricing at dealer workshop, ok?
I was told by workshop, that no one in right mind,
will install a new Denso compressor for a 12 yr old car.

This post has been edited by smokeman50: Feb 4 2015, 04:13 PM
smokeman50
post Feb 5 2015, 01:45 PM

QUOTE(FatalitY @ Feb 5 2015, 01:05 PM)
I never on full blast on my aircond's temperature control. Its actually at minimum all the time. My mechanic said never turn full blast. It actually stresses the compressor.
I agree. My temperature dial always 1/2 way, never full cold. Original Denso compressor lasted almost 12 years! I heard some people only 7 to 8 years already kong-off !
smokeman50
post Feb 5 2015, 01:52 PM

QUOTE(FatalitY @ Feb 4 2015, 05:27 PM)
It depends. If you are looking for a long term then go original. My recon is giving problem once a while...and all of this A/C system links. Ur compressor pau ur pipes
Price include only:
1. recon compressor
2. Patco cooling coil
3. denso drier filter,
4. fill gas, vacuum,
5. workmanship
Total = rm900.
* Didnt change any piping or valves.

Hope it was reasonable price.
Its shoplot workshop but brand authorised.

This post has been edited by smokeman50: Feb 12 2015, 01:07 PM
smokeman50
post Feb 12 2015, 01:15 PM

QUOTE(yorkhan @ Feb 5 2015, 12:48 PM)
i went below the gauge all the way. E is quite safe up to 50km depending on traffic and ur foot. the needle can actually go below the bar another 1mm. *swt* haha
changed my compressr yesterday, new sanden from china. rm785 includes gas,drier,expansion valve and labor. he asked if i need to service the cooling coil, i say no need, but he said he did it anyway. compressor alone was 490. wonder how long it'll last.
On the sidewalk, I spoke to a passing Kelisa bro, he said he did new sanden compressor only (include gas & labor);
all in about RM650 at Shah Alam, but he didnt mention anything else e.g. whether changed or service cooling coil, expansion valve, nor pipes & joints.

I wonder if I made the right choice earlier to fix a recon (unknow brand, maybe a Denso) @rm480, when a new Sanden (China) @rm490 ?

This post has been edited by smokeman50: Feb 12 2015, 01:19 PM
smokeman50
post Feb 12 2015, 10:53 PM

QUOTE(tankx3 @ Feb 12 2015, 10:30 PM)
Just to share..
My kelisa last month add aircon gas, so aircon still cold even at 1. But on aircon will cause pickup even slower.

Want to ask, how long you guys change timing belt?
Mine is almost 100000km since the last change. Cost? Thanks.
Perodua W/shop recommend every 60,000km, but in practice it's up to 100,000km.
Bro, you timing belts are due, better have it changed.
I heard some people say: if timing belt broken while running, may cause engine to have serious problem.
I did mine, complete set + labor, at Perodua W/shop @rm 450 in 2012.
smokeman50
post Feb 14 2015, 01:03 AM

QUOTE(yorkhan @ Feb 13 2015, 08:21 PM)
for our car, the top piston has space. i had a friend who broke a few times and nothing happened. seems this is daihatsu design  whereby the belt breaks it will not bend the valve or damaged the piston head.

Sifu/Bro yorkhan, thanks for your info & I am surprised by its design;
it is re-assuring to know that if timing belts breaks, it won't destroy the inner Kelisa engine components.
smokeman50
post Mar 18 2015, 08:32 AM

QUOTE(azlan13 @ Mar 15 2015, 10:54 PM)
Guys, i just did a complete overhaul for my Kelisa, the cost rm 2700. Now my car have this whistling problem when i start pressing the accelerator. what can it be ah
Hi Azlan,

Would be great if you could share with us what are the repairs done for overhaul costing RM2700.
Just a brief summary of major items in the overhaul job.
Many Kelisa/Kenari in excess of 10 years are due for a major overhaul, including mine.

Also which w/shop you did it. (PM me if necessary)
Thank you.

smokeman50
post Mar 18 2015, 08:35 AM

QUOTE(mikehwy @ Mar 17 2015, 01:23 PM)
My cosmetic change...
Hi Mike,

You did your car paint job & modify where?
Seems well done & how much it cost totally?

smokeman50
post Apr 23 2015, 12:51 AM

Hi Sifu,

Its about Kelisa air-con.
Model: EZ 2003, I have been told it's a Denso.

Just wanted to know, where is the location of the so-called dryer/filter?

Is it attached next to the radiator?

If looking from the front of the car grille, is it on the left side of the radiator unit?

There seems to be a long cylindrical object there.

Can anyone enlighten on this?

Need to know urgently.

Thanks to all Sifu.

This post has been edited by smokeman50: Apr 23 2015, 12:52 AM
smokeman50
post Apr 25 2015, 06:11 AM

QUOTE(skizco @ Apr 24 2015, 12:26 AM)
Based on my experience after servicing my Kelisa air cond, the dryer/filter is as you said the long cylindrical object right next to the condenser which is in front of the radiator.

Aside from that, to all sifus here I had heard from an auto performance shop that Kelisa can use Alza absorber mounting rather than Kelisa's own. Alza absorber mounting is bearing based which is more durable and better than Kelisa own. Have anyone used Alza absorber mounting in their Kelisa?
Thanks for reply. Noted on the dryer position.

I have no idea about the Alza absorber mounting for Kelisa use.
But I will share some general hindsight with you.
There's a saying: Buyer's beware (Caveat Emptor)

Auto Performance is exactly what they do: mix & match & substitute to produce some superior effects.
Any long term reseach done?
They thrive on immediate & visible effects by exploring and inventing new applications.
2 years later? 4 years later? What happens then? Any side effects to the car structures?

Also, no need to ask Perodua, because they will always say use their recommended spares only, full stop!
Follow what the Japanese had told them in their ISO books.

So where does that leave us, the consumers?
How do we decide what's better?
Caveat Emptor again!

That's what an Auto Performance told me those days; change to different brand absorbers;
so that the Kelisa ride is not so harsh and noisy, and also these absorbers last longer than originals.

Intentions may be genuine & sincere, but factually inaccurate.
As the English idiom goes: "Little knowledge is a dangerous thing".
But then "necessity is the mother of invention"

I never did change my absorbers to his suggestion; perhaps he was right then; who knows?
But if things go wrong; and may go hazardously wrong later; who is to blame?

In the end, you have to weight his circle of technical competencies against a giant automotive corporation's.

If you ask around other Auto performances; they will tell you similar schools of thoughts;
because they are likely teh tarik friends, same trade associations, same vocational alma mater, relatives & whatsapp pals.

How to get reliable independent technical information, that's backed by evidence of empirical data?
Probably not so soon since automotive expertise have not reach a consummate level;
also existing purist auto performance may not be willing to re-work my Kelisa.

This is where the forum comes in just handily.
Stick to original ISO or eventually '... may the force be with you'.

This post has been edited by smokeman50: Apr 25 2015, 06:21 AM
smokeman50
post Apr 26 2015, 05:59 AM

QUOTE(lucankong82 @ Apr 25 2015, 06:49 AM)
Smoke and, you sound like a wise teacher.. Hehe. First time seeing someone quoting lots of phrases and idioms.
Yes, you're right in some ways. They're from same school of thoughts... Sometimes Base on hear say without knowing the actual story/facts behind it.
Anyway just for knowledge and discussion.... Sometimes manufacturer share parts amongst models. So that's why can cross change to substitute.
As for absorbers only without springs, I don't see the problem changing one to the aftermarket. The aftermarket company are also giant company that has their own R&D dept. They are also the OEM suppliers at times. E.g. Kayaba n apm. APM makes perodua absorbers they also makes aftermarket absorbers. They have already the tools in place. Why not improve the ride handling with their already employed staff?  Kayaba makes Toyota. There is enough room for "error" to prevent any adverse effects to your cars structural strength.
Having said that, it all depends on the car owners objectives and views. If he's a hardcore car enthusiasts, he'll take the little risk(changing parts without modifying original car structure) or higher rish(modify original structure to fit in new parts)  to go with aftermarket parts with own research to modify his car.
Need to take some risk to excite your life. Life will be mundane and boring without some excitement.
😁
Hi and thanks for your feedback.
I was merely sharing my car experiences and thoughts.
None wiser than any sifu in the forum here.

I acknowledge that 'known' aftermarket replacement parts are as good as prescribed originals.
And cheaper too but be aware of the 'grades' of spares and the many 'other' aftermarket competitors.

I am cautious of subsitution with parts of different specifications.
As in the case of parts of one model being used in another car model.

Nothing against 3rd party automotive providers nor innovative entrepreneurship.
Well and good for the many start-up's that offer an alternative solution.
However there are few contenders in R&D optimisation compared to the Giants.

Still one needs to exercise caveat emptor for excitement risk-taking.
Then there are also the factors of technical expertise and the right tools needed for the job.

End of the day, I surmise that majority of Kelisa owners are either seeking a safe bet or toying.
Hope to receive more infor on Kelisa issues.
smokeman50
post Aug 20 2015, 11:32 AM

QUOTE(smokeman50 @ Feb 5 2015, 01:52 PM)
Price include only:
  1. recon compressor
  2. Patco cooling coil
  3. denso drier filter,
  4. fill gas, vacuum,
  5. workmanship
Total  = rm900.
* Didnt change any piping or valves.

Hope it was reasonable price.
Its shoplot workshop but brand authorised.
Just to update on installing re-cond air-con compressor.

It has been already 6 months and the air-con is working fine, very cooling.
Just like the first day of installation.

I think I made the right choice to do it at an authorised Denso workshop,
even though it's just a shoplot with hardly any cars waiting inside.

Cost a bit more, but they were sure of what they were doing.
Assurance is better than Insurance!

The re-cond warranty of 3 months already over.
But the Cooling coil got 1 year warranty.

0.0357sec    0.67    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 12:47 PM