Oil & Gas Careers v5, Upstream and Downstream

hidz7
post Dec 25 2013, 06:05 PM

Halfway there..
707 posts

Hi all,

I just graduated in July 2013 (in Mechanical Engineering) and currently working but not in O&G industry. So I still searching for O&G jobs because that is what I am looking for.
Recently, I went to an interview for Design Engineer position at MMHE, and last Monday I got a call from them stating that the interview was a success, and they would like to offer me the position, but on a contract basis.

So now I am in dilemma, because in my current job, my position is permanent, BUT that's not O&G field.

On the other hand, MMHE offers me a Design Engineer position in O&G field, BUT it is 1 year contract.

So all sifus, can you guys enlighten me and also share your opinion on this?Should I go? Should I stay?

Thanks in advance! smile.gif

This post has been edited by hidz7: Dec 25 2013, 09:09 PM
hidz7
post Dec 27 2013, 11:18 PM

Halfway there..
707 posts

QUOTE(HeReLiSm @ Dec 26 2013, 03:23 PM)
How about the benefits comparison, such as salary, allowance and etc?
Thanks for the reply. Since currently HR and me just finished the commercial negotiation, I haven't receive any black and white from MMHE yet, hopefully everything will go well for me to receive the official offer letter from them. Do pray for me smile.gif

Anyway, this is a bit on the salary and benefits.

Current Company (Construction) vs MMHE (as what HR and me had agreed)
RM3500 vs RM3700-3900

Surprisingly from what the HR guy told me, the benefit is quite ok I think, other than the medical benefit for MMHE just cover the employee because it is on contract basis. The rest are quite similar.

QUOTE(Stamp @ Dec 27 2013, 04:57 PM)
Accept the job since your priority is to work in O&G industry. Do not be too concern about the 1-hr contract since the company may offer you a permanent position after you complete the contract, or you may apply to other O&G company later.
Thank you, hopefully everything will turn out good for me. When I first heard that it is a contract basis it really scares me. laugh.gif

QUOTE(nash9701 @ Dec 27 2013, 10:41 PM)
Mostly MMHE nowadays offer contract as they got a lot of existing contract staff which also want to become permanent. If you perform well, then should be no issue. Not everyone got chance to join OnG. My friend last time searching about 1 year to join OnG after he graduate till he got offer from McDermott. Just grab if you feel it worth..

(^__^)
Thanks for your opinion, it really helps on deciding. But now need to wait for the official letter from them, hopefully they will not change their mind and will offer me the job. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by hidz7: Dec 27 2013, 11:26 PM
hidz7
post Dec 30 2013, 09:47 PM

Halfway there..
707 posts

QUOTE(BillySteel @ Dec 28 2013, 12:12 AM)
DR got base in Malaysia?

As far as I know they are based in Singapore.

Quite a established vendor.

Hidz7,

You can get into O&G and if working on the malikai project then it is a very good experience which commercially is beneficial down the line.

Normally most companies will give you 1 year contract to view performance.

Butttt.....there is the daily jam if you are located at the yard.
QUOTE(HeReLiSm @ Dec 30 2013, 09:30 AM)
Yup I believe its quite a good package. I would take the opportunity, since OnG is quite hard to get in nowadays, even more if you do not have any experience in it. Eventhough its a 1-year contract, thinks positive. Chances are your contract will be extended if you performed well, or if not, you have one-year experience with one of the biggest fabricator in Malaysia.  smile.gif
Thanks BillySteel and Herelism, your opinions are really helpful. Hopefully everything will go well for me. smile.gif
hidz7
post Apr 2 2014, 07:39 PM

Halfway there..
707 posts

Hi guys,

It has been a while since my last post. Before this I had mentioned that I got an offer from mmhe for Design Engineer (process safety) but on a contract basis. Due to a lot of support from people here, I have accepted the offer and just started working with them this week.

Anyway, here I have a few questions for all sifus.
1) Since I am involved in FEED and design verification, does it considered as upstream or downstream?

2) Do you guys think it will be easy for me to apply jobs from other companies, in case if my contract is not renewed?

3) My career progression in oil and gas as a whole, where to head in the future.

Thanks in advance guys. smile.gif

0.0470sec    0.46    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 12:01 AM