This post has been edited by JeremiahRais: Jul 15 2016, 01:45 AM
Everdying
post May 9 2006, 04:55 PM

Two is One and One is None.
30,735 posts

i'm a natural lefty.
but i learnt to play right handed, easier to fret the guitar.
then slowly just worked on the right hand picking techniques.
noisetrigger
post May 9 2006, 07:48 PM

687 posts

It can be done, I am right handed but when I first held a guitar in my hands, I was holding it the left handed way and it felt natural back then. Took me a while to adjust to the proper way of playing.

I also know a friend who is left handed but play right handed.

I guess it is just a matter of practice.
led_zep_freak
post May 9 2006, 08:05 PM

5,231 posts

It's always recommended for lefties to try out right-hand guitars in the right-handed way. It takes time to get used to, I guess, but it's possible.

However, if your left hand is really not comfortable in gripping the neck & fretting the chords, stick to left-handed guitars. smile.gif
noisetrigger
post May 9 2006, 08:47 PM

687 posts

Stick to left handed guitar and be doomed with the limited selection of guitars and also the extra price you have to pay.
Everdying
post May 9 2006, 08:56 PM

30,735 posts

but then that would also mean none of your irritating friends can come borrow or play around on your baby tongue.gif
led_zep_freak
post May 9 2006, 09:19 PM

5,231 posts

QUOTE(noisetrigger @ May 9 2006, 08:47 PM)
Stick to left handed guitar and be doomed with the limited selection of guitars and also the extra price you have to pay.
If you're not comfortable, why the hell force it??? doh.gif doh.gif rclxub.gif sweat.gif

Paul McCartney, Kurt Cobain, Tony Iommi all did ok.
XCcude
post May 9 2006, 09:25 PM

Rockers United
975 posts

was hendrix left too? =P

TSJeremiahRais
post May 9 2006, 10:24 PM

186 posts

------

This post has been edited by JeremiahRais: Jul 15 2016, 01:45 AM
echobrainproject
post May 9 2006, 11:29 PM

4,765 posts

u're from kuching too? smile.gif

well you could always ask lee's music.

you could try ordering in from les paul (mr kho) too but i doubt theyll bring in lower end ones. their prices for ordering in can sometimes be cheaper than kl and quite close to singapore. i wouldnt recommend the ones in the shop coz theyre in bad shape.
TSJeremiahRais
post May 10 2006, 12:22 AM

186 posts

------

This post has been edited by JeremiahRais: Jul 15 2016, 01:46 AM
echobrainproject
post May 10 2006, 06:56 AM

4,765 posts

which church do you go to?

i dont think theres that much choices too in kl
evo.com
post May 10 2006, 05:55 PM

2,234 posts

stick to left hand... we all know lefties are way cooler tongue.gif tongue.gif
na just joking..... get a "normal" guitar and start there...
like what noisetrigger said, once your go on the path of the devil you're doomed for life, limited choices plus 20% mark up. god i love the commercial world smile.gif
TSJeremiahRais
post May 10 2006, 06:50 PM

186 posts

------

This post has been edited by JeremiahRais: Jul 15 2016, 02:13 AM
echobrainproject
post May 11 2006, 07:35 PM

4,765 posts

goin out of topic for a lil while

who was that kid who was playing drums during carry the call? seems to be quite a solid player for that age.
Paile
post May 11 2006, 07:43 PM

98 posts

How bout right handed playing left handed instruments? i nearly did that when i saw an awesome left handed ibanez s540 in a pwn shop for a fraction of its value . nearly took it home start to learn playing it left handed , or do it the right handed hendrix style.
TheWhacker
post May 12 2006, 09:21 AM

3,914 posts

It's quite hard to find shops selling left-handed guitars. Well, you can always ask them to order one for you but you can't go there and then and try out the guitar. You have to wait till the shops gets the guitar first. But when you order that guitar, you have to buy it already ... normally they will ask you for a desposit fee first before ordering that guitar.

I have a friend who is a left-handed guitar player. He ordered a left-handed American Stratocaster® guitar. But before he got the chance to play the guitar, he was playing with a right-handed guitar. So now, he can play both left and right hand guitars.

Besides, its very rare to see a left-handed guitarist ...... so that makes you (left-hand guitarist) special thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by TheWhacker: May 12 2006, 09:21 AM
suprnova-refugee
post May 12 2006, 07:29 PM

169 posts

Im a left-handed too dude tongue.gif ...I think playin left -handed is the best for me as I feel that im playing naturally...anyway where do u live in kuching..
echobrainproject
post May 13 2006, 01:45 AM

4,765 posts

i better not mention where...
later kena rompak...

haha
Shane Satanic
post May 14 2006, 01:43 AM

273 posts

hi there i'm also leffy but kinda feeling f*ckup when people ask to buy
right handed where naturally i'm more into lefty vmad.gif also till now my life go more
troublesome when using right handed stuff ..... its hard to live in right handed world sweat.gif ........dun feel ashame if u're lefty or southpaw ......many lefty are successfull and creative u know eg Jimi hendrix, Paul Mccartney,Bill Gates(richest people in the world) ,Bill Clinton(US President) ,George Bush,Dani From Cradle Of Filth(yeah) etc etc

The population of lefty are 12% only in the world

also to all lefty please dun become evil and bad cuz statitically lefty prone to do bad thing eg of famous people people.... Jack the ripper..... Osama ...etc etc

This post has been edited by Shane Satanic: May 14 2006, 02:00 AM
nerd
post May 14 2006, 12:40 PM

another brick in the wall.
3,373 posts

QUOTE(Shane Satanic @ May 14 2006, 01:43 AM)
hi there i'm also leffy but kinda feeling f*ckup when people ask to buy
right handed where naturally i'm more into lefty  vmad.gif    also till now my life go more
troublesome when using right handed stuff ..... its hard to live in right handed world  sweat.gif ........dun feel ashame if u're lefty or southpaw  ......many lefty are successfull and creative u know  eg Jimi hendrix, Paul Mccartney,Bill Gates(richest people in the world) ,Bill Clinton(US President) ,George Bush,Dani From Cradle Of Filth(yeah)  etc etc

The population of lefty are  12% only in the world 

also to all lefty please dun become evil and bad cuz statitically lefty prone to do bad thing eg of famous people people.... Jack the ripper..... Osama ...etc etc
i think your nick shows that you're on the right track. laugh.gif

anyway, i'm ambidextral. but playing a left handed guitar is still greek to me. i can't do it, it feels unnatural.
coriandery
post May 14 2006, 12:58 PM

58 posts

I'm a lefty who learnt how to play right-handed guitar as well. Once you learn, it's natural, no big deal!

In some ways, you'll have an advantage (holding and fingering is easier) and then others maybe not (finger-picking was a struggle to begin, playing arpeggios a little tricky). But it's second nature after a while.

You know, I still want to learn how to play left handed guitar, just to be ambidextrous. smile.gif
evo.com
post May 15 2006, 07:20 AM

2,234 posts

we're all biased in someways....
im was a righty for a 6 years and left till now....
for guitar where both hands are qually important... you can take up left hand or right hand without any problem....
although some ppl say that its better if your fretting hand is your dominant one smile.gif
TSJeremiahRais
post May 16 2006, 06:45 PM

186 posts

------

This post has been edited by JeremiahRais: Jul 15 2016, 01:46 AM
Shane Satanic
post May 17 2006, 01:54 AM

273 posts

i think your nick shows that you're on the right track. laugh.gif

tongue.gif

I'm a lefty who learnt how to play right-handed guitar as well. Once you learn, it's natural, no big deal! 

Yesterday I'd try to play right handed but cannot do shred like left liau
feel awkward..... kinda holding a dead instrument sweat.gif

i'll try it another time

and yeah maybe we southpaws should join Osama in conquering the world for Southpaw dominance

thumbup.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif i see 3vil in u heheh whistling.gif

This post has been edited by Shane Satanic: May 17 2006, 02:01 AM
Notoriez
post May 17 2006, 02:32 AM

I am Notty and Notorious !!!
2,499 posts

A Lefty here biggrin.gif..
ninelives1980
post May 20 2006, 10:29 PM

680 posts

fellow southpaw here as well.
TSJeremiahRais
post May 21 2006, 11:40 PM

186 posts

------

This post has been edited by JeremiahRais: Jul 15 2016, 01:47 AM
echobrainproject
post May 21 2006, 11:55 PM

4,765 posts

cool. which squeir did u get? was it from lees?
TSJeremiahRais
post May 22 2006, 12:11 AM

186 posts

------

This post has been edited by JeremiahRais: Jul 15 2016, 01:47 AM
led_zep_freak
post May 22 2006, 12:29 AM

5,231 posts

QUOTE(JeremiahRais @ May 22 2006, 12:11 AM)
Yep from Lee Music, a Squier '51
A 51?????? How much was it? Was it a Violin Sunburst finish or the blonde finish??? thumbup.gif thumbup.gif

Pics would be much aprreciated!!!! thumbup.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
TSJeremiahRais
post Jun 17 2006, 09:07 PM

186 posts

------

This post has been edited by JeremiahRais: Jul 15 2016, 01:48 AM
led_zep_freak
post Jun 17 2006, 09:14 PM

5,231 posts

Eh eh... I wanna see pic! You can upload it at Photobucket. thumbup.gif thumbup.gif

I kinda love the Squier 51 + blonde finish, what a lovely guitar! biggrin.gif
suprnova-refugee
post Jun 17 2006, 11:29 PM

169 posts

rolleyes.gif first time noe that osama is a southpaw
Bassix
post Jun 18 2006, 04:36 AM

-----
1,171 posts

the first time you pick up a guitar is how you should play it.

I am a righty, but leftys are super cool. I love watching leftys playing righty guitars. Looks dem outstanding..... Respect to all leftys who dun give a crap about learning right hand just to buy good guitars. If they see a good guitar, they buy it and restring it and play it. Dem well too... rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

*EDIT* Same way if i find a good lefty guitar that sounds brilliant, i would buy it and play it right hand...i dont care.

This post has been edited by Bassix: Jun 18 2006, 04:37 AM
led_zep_freak
post Jun 18 2006, 11:04 AM

5,231 posts

QUOTE(Bassix @ Jun 18 2006, 04:36 AM)
*EDIT* Same way if i find a good lefty guitar that sounds brilliant, i would buy it and play it right hand...i dont care.
If it's a double-cutway guitar, yeah no problem... however if it's a single-cutway, then it's kinda stupid not to go for the righty version. smile.gif
Bassix
post Jun 18 2006, 04:09 PM

-----
1,171 posts

QUOTE(led_zep_freak @ Jun 18 2006, 04:04 AM)
If it's a double-cutway guitar, yeah no problem... however if it's a single-cutway, then it's kinda stupid not to go for the righty version. smile.gif
i dont believe so... Because the neck shape is symmetrical. And if you apply a trick that i learned from steve bailey (6 string bassist) you can play up to the end of the fretboard even without a cutaway (classical guitar applies this technique i think...)

It's using the thumb to fret strings. That way, the whole wrist is brought in a position that is kind of in front of the neck and out of the way. So the body wood doesnt get in the way...hard to explain, but i think you can find many pictures from cello and contrabass players...Let's just call it a different technique tongue.gif tongue.gif
TSJeremiahRais
post Jun 27 2006, 02:46 PM

186 posts

------

plankton
post Jun 27 2006, 03:36 PM

*Place Custom Member Title Here*
809 posts

dun think so. but i can try imageshack also
TSJeremiahRais
post Jun 27 2006, 08:12 PM

186 posts

------

ninelives1980
post Jun 28 2006, 11:56 AM

680 posts

some gallery to add some colors to the texts......

my electric guitar....ah yea, it's LEFTY
love it for every moment.....heh

TSJeremiahRais
post Jul 1 2006, 01:12 AM

186 posts

------

This post has been edited by JeremiahRais: Jul 15 2016, 01:49 AM
ninelives1980
post Jul 4 2006, 12:44 PM

680 posts

QUOTE(JeremiahRais @ Jul 1 2006, 01:12 AM)
I tought you wanted to sell that guitar? You even made some probs over at Jamtank right?
me made some problems at Jamtank? don't know where you got your story, but your remark tickled my funny bone right there.

p.s. it was the others who made a big 'hoo hah' o'er there, i was totally not involved in it....ultimately, they realised what they did was wrong, and apologised in the end....hope you're gettin' the right scoop here this time, jeremiah

JiaYing
post Jul 4 2006, 10:41 PM

15 posts

I had to say this...
WANG LEE HOM is Left Handed!!!
TSJeremiahRais
post Jul 6 2006, 01:26 AM

186 posts

------

This post has been edited by JeremiahRais: Jul 15 2016, 01:50 AM
pizzicato
post Jul 7 2006, 12:10 AM

45 posts

i'm also left-handed. I play piano..left hand will automatically play more loudly than right hand...have to balance it always~~ doh.gif

TSJeremiahRais
post Jul 7 2006, 11:11 PM

186 posts

------

This post has been edited by JeremiahRais: Jul 15 2016, 01:50 AM
ninelives1980
post Jul 10 2006, 06:07 AM

680 posts

QUOTE(JeremiahRais @ Jul 6 2006, 01:26 AM)
Well sorry, didn't get the full information. Anyway you wanted to sell your guitar on both Lowyat and Jamtank. Why all of the sudden you wanna keep it?  smile.gif
still up for sale if there's anyone interested...though the price reflects a custom made since it's well....a custom-made....but a cheap custom made price for a good custom made that is

ninelives1980
post Jul 10 2006, 06:09 AM

680 posts

anyways...for those left handed guitarists out there, what left handed guitars you own?

for me, it's just this les paul (electric guitar) as depicted above, and a santa cruz acoustic guitar.

i plan to get another one....this time around, it's gonna be ibanez hopefully.

evo.com
post Jul 10 2006, 09:19 AM

2,234 posts

i got an ibanez RG470L fitted with the air norton/blue velvet/tone zone pups
ninelives1980
post Jul 12 2006, 06:28 PM

680 posts

QUOTE(evo.com @ Jul 10 2006, 09:19 AM)
i got an ibanez RG470L fitted with the air norton/blue velvet/tone zone pups
where did you buy your guitar?

led_zep_freak
post Jul 12 2006, 06:39 PM

5,231 posts

QUOTE(ninelives1980 @ Jul 12 2006, 06:28 PM)
where did you buy your guitar?
Auckland I guess... biggrin.gif All pickups soldered by himself. thumbup.gif
evo.com
post Jul 12 2006, 08:51 PM

2,234 posts

i got my gat from bentley...
actually i wanted to get the rg320fm but there wasnt one there so i had to go with this one... could have probably gotten a better amp with the extra paid for the guitar
Lexor
post Jul 26 2006, 05:31 PM

54 posts

i'm a lefty who plays right handed drums
but now going for left handed drums just by changing the position of the drumset. sometimes it's hard to control drum rolls as i tend to use my left as the initial beat.
ninelives1980
post Aug 2 2006, 11:06 PM

680 posts

okay, i hope this' not considered spam....

anyone selling off their lefty electric guitars...cos' i'm lookin' for one...gracias.....would prefer ibanez or schecter models though i would consider the others; that includes project guitars......

wouldn't mind if a project guitar could be built, according to my humble specs.....

gracias mucho
TSJeremiahRais
post Aug 23 2006, 12:27 AM

186 posts

------

This post has been edited by JeremiahRais: Jul 15 2016, 01:51 AM
ninelives1980
post Aug 23 2006, 12:33 AM

680 posts

QUOTE(JeremiahRais @ Aug 23 2006, 12:27 AM)
sorry for bein away for awhile lol. dang pmr is gettin closer... :'(
it's good to be young.....smile.gif
cant' remember how it feels like when i was your age....sad.gif...heh

hoongern
post Aug 23 2006, 12:44 AM

721 posts

Hmm... I'm righthanded, but recently I started looking into left hand stuff...

I'm a pianist... and I found a lot of ONE-hand piano music, for the left hand only.. and it's pretty amazing stuff..

One I especially enjoy listening to/playing - Ravel's Piano Concerto for the left hand. Amazing stuff...

I don't think being lefthanded should stop anyone from being a musician. My previous piano teacher was lefthanded and he was really good...
ninelives1980
post Aug 23 2006, 03:55 PM

680 posts

Am I and evo the only left handed guitarists in this entire low yat net forum?

geez..

This post has been edited by ninelives1980: Aug 23 2006, 03:56 PM
Everdying
post Aug 23 2006, 05:00 PM

30,735 posts

QUOTE(ninelives1980 @ Aug 2 2006, 11:06 PM)
wouldn't mind if a project guitar could be built, according to my humble specs.....
gracias mucho
thought you already had that GIM LP...

anyway, i'm left handed but play right handed.
i try playing left handed once in awhile, but had so much trouble fretting so wasnt worth it tongue.gif

davidson_leong
post Dec 16 2006, 12:03 AM

32 posts

Left? Right? By the way, by using left hands to play is normal, as long as you have interest in music....
ninelives1980
post Nov 17 2007, 01:51 AM

680 posts

thought i wanted a 7 string left handed - built the cheap way
but alas - wish i could build it myself

azzaim92
post Mar 31 2008, 10:25 PM

375 posts

QUOTE(XCcude @ May 9 2006, 09:25 PM)
was hendrix left too? =P
yes he was..

and for th eabout topic..if lefty use lefty or not..

play lefty....why? because i dunno but for me the moment i turn my right guitar upside down and restrung so that the 6th string is closes...it was juz like wow....this feels natural...so i advice to u try both ways when u wanna go buy....see which u like more... me preferring the lefty way..though it's gonna be expensive... but worth is..
blacktrix
post Apr 1 2008, 09:23 AM

Scott Pilgrim Vs The World!
13,063 posts

Please check the important message above. This thread will be closed soon.

0.0345sec    0.73    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 07:44 PM