Are you excited about any new Android gadget?, Seems like we have nothing new...?!?

TSmydragoon
post Jun 21 2013, 08:26 AM, updated 12y ago

7,044 posts

I'm just wondering if there are still any phones/ tablets that we're still really looking forward to...? I mean, anything new that is getting you excited? It seems we may have hit the brickwall, so to speak. It does not seem like were have any more new stuffs... Be it from the OS or the hardware. What we seem to be getting looks more like incremental improvements such as -- slightly faster processor (that is supposedly consumes less power), more RAM, bigger screen, 'better' camera -- depending on brand, could be more MP or so-called better technology...

I mean... A few years back... We had single core, then going dual core then now quad-core. so far, quad core is enough to run most of the apps and games. so, the excitement about new quad core isn't really there. NFC is getting into a lot of phones... But sadly, not taking up as well as it should. But I guess we can say that "Android has seen it, been there, done it, and now let's more along!"

OS side... We've seen lots of nice changes (ok, this one is hard to list but if you've been around from Donut or even Eclair and now compare with say ICS, I'm sure you'll agree things have changed a lot, some how.

On the non-smartphone & tablet front... We've seen a few gaming consoles being made with Android as the OS. There's OUYA, nVidia's Shield, etc...

But the thing is... Other than faster processor... Android dun seem to have anything new.

It would seem like sticking to last year's quad-core phone is good enough to probably last another 1-2 years, probably would be good to just grab a 32GB internal memory version. Just wondering if anyone feels the same... Or thinks we're still going to be having better features/ functions (please share)...

I for one, would be excited if we have something like a wallet function in Malaysia... but again... this one's probably going to be many, many years before we get this...

Lastly... Happy Friday! biggrin.gif
TSmydragoon
post Jun 21 2013, 09:13 AM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(Dannyl @ Jun 21 2013, 08:56 AM)
Yeah, nothing much to look forward to.  S3 onwards, things are just improved slightly.  Like 720p to 1080p, 1GB RAM to 2GB RAM, 8MP to 13MP... incremental which made little difference to a lot of people.

If I use an S3 right now, and don't update the OS and apps ever, will it stay as fluid 3 years later?  hmm.gif  since the proc and RAM upgrades are just for running heavier software.
ya... thats' exactly how i'm feeling... i have note 2. it's quad core. 2GB. and i got the 32GB version. for me... the battery life is ok. but i always carry powerbank anyway, so no issues. camera... i can accept the quality. it's decent enough for me to use for A4-sized photobooks. only thing is night and low-light shots but heck, most camera also have this problem unless you happen to be carrying flashlight or spotlight. screen... well, 1080p screen is nice to have but fact is... i'm no superman and i probably won't notice the extra pixels on 1080p vs the 720p on my current Note2.

and that's why honestly... i look at all the rumours and news about latest phones and tablets... nothing excites me. ok, maybe those hybrid tablets like Transformer or the ones just revealed by Samsung that can dual boot -- Windows and Android. but otherwise those who already have a quad core phone, dun seem like there's much to look forward to.

read this morning about new LG phone that can capture, playback and display in UltraHD format. seriously... even 1080p seems overkill at the moment and we're now talking UHD?!?

but this whole situation... i guess it's good for my wallet. not so painful. and i think this probably means we can really start to see falling smartphone prices... ouch, if that happens... i might just get itchy and buy something even though i might not need it... biggrin.gif

update 1:
i guess Android needs to get more quality contents and games. i was just reading this article & realised ya... we lack good contents/ games as compared to iOS:
The Boy Genius Report: Apple’s plan to take over the living room while destroying Microsoft and Sony
http://bgr.com/2013/06/20/apple-gaming-str...y-analysis-ios/

By introducing a game controller standard (this is incredibly helpful since developers now can build games that recognize a standard set of button controls and inputs that will work across every single game in the App Store), Apple has started to turn the volume up on Sony and Microsoft. Soon, you are going to be able to play a console-quality game on your iPhone or iPad with a game controller, and you’re going to be able to see it on your big screen television without any effort. This is game-changing!

This post has been edited by mydragoon: Jun 21 2013, 09:18 AM
TSmydragoon
post Jun 21 2013, 01:58 PM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(geforce88 @ Jun 21 2013, 01:26 PM)
yup, PC is PC, phone is phone, no matter how smart is a smartphone, certain task still must rely on PC to complete
errr... what is you use smartphone to access a virtual desktop... counted as using PC or smartphone or...? biggrin.gif
TSmydragoon
post Jun 21 2013, 05:04 PM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(ramz @ Jun 21 2013, 04:17 PM)
Google glass. Use at work. Look at something and glass give u meta data on what u looking to make your work more effective. Google glass integrated with Google now equals wow
ok, ya... i guess i missed out this one. Glass is Android, right?

ya, i guess this is probably the only Android thing i'm really looking forward to though from what i have read... seems this may not take off... plus, usd1500 for the pioneer set. if it goes mass production, how much lower, i wonder...

consoles based on android... personally... i think gaming trend moving towards mobile gaming.
TSmydragoon
post Jun 24 2013, 09:26 AM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(tjayy09 @ Jun 23 2013, 02:13 PM)
oh  come on it's google we're talking about here. been a huge fan of google's work and the nexus line, especially the gnex. And its time for google's very own product, it's gonna be good. Eventho the specs aren't the top of the line, they know what their stuff, and can't wait to see what they have in-store. And a moto fan too, v3 was awesome at that time.

Plus tough phones -which doesn't look like crap- are still growing in the market, besides the xperia z. So would love to see google taking a bite on this design. Pretty sure that crappy image leak was only a bumper or a casing. And a new camera technology is always welcomed.
back to the point of this topic... i mean... seriously... based on what we've heard about this X Phone (some say its a brand for a series of new Android phones), there's nothing really ground-breaking about the phone. better battery (unless you say one charge can last 73 hours with 24-7 3g connection, heavy gaming and etc), cheaper pricing... it's not really anything seriously new for me. ya, no doubt they are still improvements, but i mean... it's really nothing BIG and exciting.

which is why this topic got started... i feel like there are many who feel the same... Android seems to have reached a peak... android on smartphone and tablets anyway. Google Glass is something new and exciting... and something that i was reminded of by another reply here... yes, this is what i mean by exciting... it's something new. phones... we just get bigger screen, more ram, faster processor... but it still feels old. if you get what i mean.. biggrin.gif
TSmydragoon
post Aug 28 2013, 10:31 AM

7,044 posts

would a 'smart watch' excite you?

i know we've had plenty of 'smart watch' recently...

and here's one from Samsung/ Android: Galaxy Gear.
note: image is possibly just artist impression/ rendition.

but Galaxy Gear is for sure to be coming soon... real soon.

Samsung Exec Confirms Galaxy Gear Smartwatch Aimed At Younger, Hip Buyers Coming Sept. 4
http://techcrunch.com/2013/08/27/samsung-e...-coming-sept-4/

Samsung’s Galaxy Gear smartwatch is poised to be the next big news in wearable tech, and it’s also rapidly becoming one of the worst kept secrets of the tech world. Today, Samsung Executive Vice President of Mobile Lee Young-hee told The Korea Times that the Galaxy Gear would indeed be unveiled in Berlin on Sept. 4 two days ahead of the IFA conference opening, and that the new smartwatch would be powered by Android, and would not feature Samsung’s fledgling flexible display tech.

The Galaxy Gear will be a device to “enhance” and “enrich” the smart phone experience, according to Lee, which makes sense given the recent reports that it would be more of an accessory device than something that stands separate from a smartphone and is capable of making its own calls.

Lee also characterized the Galaxy Gear as a “wearable concept device,” saying that Samsung has been working on the smartwatch category for a long time now, and noting that is aimed primarily at “young trendsetters” in the interview with the Korea Times. All of which combines to make it sound like Samsung is designing this not only as something that’s aimed at early adopters, but also as something of a fashion accessory.

Earlier, GigaOM reported that the Galaxy Gear would have a 2.5-inch display, with 320 x 320 resolution, and a dual core processor. It’s designed to pair up to devices with Bluetooth 4.0, and will likely require an app provided through the Samsung dedicated app marketplace in order to work, making it likely an accessory exclusive to Samsung’s own smartphones.

Samsung Galaxy Gear smartwatch launch date revealed
http://www.telegraph.co.uk/technology/news...e-revealed.html

Patent filings unearthed by a South Korean news site earlier this month suggested the smartwatch would feature a screen controlled by a small panel with keys like those featured on the company’s Galaxy Android handset.

The plans also suggested the watch would be able to make and receive phone calls, send emails and texts, store information and access the internet.

Documents on the Moveplayer news site showed then that the company has registered the names Samsung Galaxy Gear for the US market and Samsung Gear for South Korea.
TSmydragoon
post Sep 2 2013, 08:59 AM

7,044 posts

wearable gadgets seems to be the IN thing...

Google quietly bought smartwatch maker WIMM last year – Nexus watch almost certain
http://phandroid.com/2013/08/30/google-buy...xus-smartwatch/

Rumors of a Google-made “Nexus smartwatch” have been buzzing around the rumor mill for awhile now. It was back in March a source from The Financial Times allegedly confirmed the existence of such a smartwatch, one that could be released by end of this year.

You may remember back in August of 2011 a small company by the name of WIMM tried making a name for itself with a modular smartwatch product called the WIMM One. Barely a year later, it was during the summer of last year that WIMM mysteriously stopped selling the pre-release developer kit, announcing publicly that they had entered an “exclusive, private relationship” with an unnamed company. It’s only now we’re learning who that company was…

Originally speculated that it could have been Apple who bought up WIMM, but in a scoop picked up by GigaOM, it appears that “private relationship” was with none other than our friends at Google. Apparently a few of the original WIMM team actually stayed on to help Google with the project, with some of their LinkedIn profiles updated to reflect the change in employment. As an added bonus of the acquisition, Google now owns the domain: smartwatch.com.

We mentioned in a previous post that the smartwatch market is about to explode. With OEM’s like Samsung, Sony, LG, and Motorola making their own smartwatches based on Google’s mobile operating system, it only makes sense that Google steps in and shows manufacturer’s how apps and services should work on the small — very small — screen. While it’s still too early to say, we’re expecting a UI similar to what we’ve already seen on Glass (picture above) with a heavy focus on quick access to Google Now, and acting a smartphone companion — not a replacement.

With Google now entering into the fray, will you jump on offerings from other OEMs, or wait around for Google to release their “Nexus” smartwatch?

if this watch can be smart on its own without the need to pair to a phone, it'll be interesting...

if the above is accurate, we can expect a Nexus watch this year end. it might just get me to start wearing a watch again -- i stopped wearing one since 12, i think... tongue.gif
TSmydragoon
post Sep 3 2013, 09:10 AM

7,044 posts

well, its not a phone... but definitely Android...

Smarten up your TV
The Rikomagic MK802 is a small computer thats a little bigger than a USB flash drive, it connects to your TV via its HDMI connector and has wireless connectivity to allow connection to the internet and other wireless devices.

The Rikomagic MK802 runs the latest version of Google Android™ (Jelly Bean) which gives you access to a huge selection of apps, its a bit like turning your TV into a giant Android™ tablet!

Rikomagic can be used as a media center to play HD films on a large display, it can also be used as a games console by connecting a compatible controller and as there are literally 1000's of Applications available from the Google Play Store you are only limited by your imagination!

Rikomagic is controlled by a wireless controller, simply plug in a wireless mouse/keyboard and you can browse the web, check emails, blast some zombies, listen to music or download a movie right from the comfort of your arm chair.

Quad Core Graphics
Fancy gaming? The MK802IV features a Quad Core Mali Graphics Proccessor which means its finally possible to bring the most complex and graphically rich games to the big screen!

The MK802IV Quad Core is one of the fastest Android devices around, the combined power of the RK3188 SOC and Mali Graphics allow stunning performance in full HD resolutions.

The onboard hardware video decoder, DLNA and Miracast support make it easier than ever to stream just about anything to the device.

Get Connected
The MK802IV features 1 x Full Size USB Host, 1 x Micro USB (for power) and 1 x Micro USB Host (OTG).

Theres a Micro SD card slot for expanding the storage on the device. You can also plug in any removable media.

The MK802IV comes with built in WIFI, Bluetooth and 8GB of storage space.

ya, i guess these weird little things make Android still interesting...

a colleague of mine just got it... for slightly over rm300+, i believe. gonna bug him for more details later.
TSmydragoon
post Aug 22 2014, 10:19 AM

7,044 posts

the rage with Android phone is now... * cheap android phones with high-end specs. like XiaoMi, etc. but in terms of innovation, nothing really new.

OUYA, the Android console, came and went... its kinda good deal as a media player. but then again, many media player out there also getting cheaper.

wearables... not only watches now. we have bracelets. google glass was open to public, but not sure how many got enough $$$ to grab one.

but...

back to the topic. anything from Android that you're really excited about? for me, nothing new for phones. seems like its the same old, same old stuff and specs.

moto360 is interesting, but i don't wear any watches and no plans to get.
TSmydragoon
post Aug 22 2014, 02:04 PM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(mudkipryan94 @ Aug 22 2014, 12:29 PM)
Ouya... drool.gif my dream toys bang...

Moto 360 - looks cool
but I'm still Prefer G watch 2 biggrin.gif
ouya... now my media player. its superb... can plug in external harddisk... and play from MX Player.

then there's also XBMC on it.
TSmydragoon
post Aug 22 2014, 02:19 PM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(briantwj @ Aug 22 2014, 02:13 PM)
brace urself. Sept we'll see more Android Wears and new device.

Asus, Motorola, HTC, Samsung, Huawei all got event on coming Sept. And also got IFA in Berlin coming September, to show case more new device.

What to expect?

Sony Xperia Z3, Sony Xperia Z3 Compact, Sony SmartWatch 3, LG G3 Stylus, LG G Flex 2, Samsung Galaxy Note 4, Samsung Gear Solo, Motorola Moto G2, Motorola Moto X+1, Motorola Moto 360.

sos

Btw, the Nvidia Shield Tablet looks damn nice. Powered by Nvidia's K1 processor, running on stock android, gaming device. drool.gif If Nexus 8 is not out, can consider Nvidia Shield Tablet. It looks more like a gaming version of Nexus 8. drool.gif

And also Asus is said to unveil cheaper Android Wear, they claim they will have cheaper version of smartwatch compared to current smartwatches. Anxious to see what does Asus have for us in smartwatch department.  rclxm9.gif
asus has somehow been able to intrigue me with unique stuff like the Transformer series. i still regard them as the best hybrid.

nVidia Shield Tablet... ya, a few review/ preview articles are calling it Nexus 8.
TSmydragoon
post Aug 28 2014, 10:33 AM

7,044 posts

i guess i forgot about smart TVs... specifically... MiTV. i think it should be running Android.

there's also talk about OUYA being integrated with MiTV.

0.0189sec    0.87    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 07:34 AM