Are you excited about any new Android gadget?, Seems like we have nothing new...?!?

TSmydragoon
post Jun 21 2013, 08:26 AM, updated 12y ago

7,044 posts

I'm just wondering if there are still any phones/ tablets that we're still really looking forward to...? I mean, anything new that is getting you excited? It seems we may have hit the brickwall, so to speak. It does not seem like were have any more new stuffs... Be it from the OS or the hardware. What we seem to be getting looks more like incremental improvements such as -- slightly faster processor (that is supposedly consumes less power), more RAM, bigger screen, 'better' camera -- depending on brand, could be more MP or so-called better technology...

I mean... A few years back... We had single core, then going dual core then now quad-core. so far, quad core is enough to run most of the apps and games. so, the excitement about new quad core isn't really there. NFC is getting into a lot of phones... But sadly, not taking up as well as it should. But I guess we can say that "Android has seen it, been there, done it, and now let's more along!"

OS side... We've seen lots of nice changes (ok, this one is hard to list but if you've been around from Donut or even Eclair and now compare with say ICS, I'm sure you'll agree things have changed a lot, some how.

On the non-smartphone & tablet front... We've seen a few gaming consoles being made with Android as the OS. There's OUYA, nVidia's Shield, etc...

But the thing is... Other than faster processor... Android dun seem to have anything new.

It would seem like sticking to last year's quad-core phone is good enough to probably last another 1-2 years, probably would be good to just grab a 32GB internal memory version. Just wondering if anyone feels the same... Or thinks we're still going to be having better features/ functions (please share)...

I for one, would be excited if we have something like a wallet function in Malaysia... but again... this one's probably going to be many, many years before we get this...

Lastly... Happy Friday! biggrin.gif
geforce88
post Jun 21 2013, 08:43 AM

2,841 posts

lets hope the upcoming KLP 5.0 is much more polish, much more advance and user-friendly. not to say current JB is bad, but i believe everyone will welcome positive improvement.

as for hardware side, maybe better camera or larger sensor is nice smile.gif

or ultra high-capacity battery brows.gif
PainHacker
post Jun 21 2013, 08:52 AM

235 posts

QUOTE(geforce88 @ Jun 21 2013, 08:43 AM)
lets hope the upcoming KLP 5.0 is much more polish, much more advance and user-friendly. not to say current JB is bad, but i believe everyone will welcome positive improvement.

as for hardware side, maybe better camera or larger sensor is nice  smile.gif

or ultra high-capacity battery  brows.gif
agree with you. i think the performance is already "enough" or maybe overenough to run most of the aps and game. I much prefer a smartphone with best performance plus with a good camera. Because i dont want to buy a handphone then need to buy another digital camera just to get the functionality of itHonestly i never see a good android camera like iphone. Not try being fanboys but we need to be open minded and accept the facts and truth.

This post has been edited by PainHacker: Jun 21 2013, 08:53 AM
Bujal.x
post Jun 21 2013, 08:55 AM

PUNGGUNG ITU~~~
2,387 posts

after bought vivo xplay (which is the best phone i have bought so far)..im no longer excited to look for a new phone (at least for now). room for improvement is always there but it almost run out of space~thats why most phone nowadays comes with unnecessary feature like 1080p,bigger megapixel,much more thinner etc.for me note 2 already reached the "perfection" of a smart phone but hey,people will never be satisfied. biggrin.gif

but i do really love to see other manufacturer come out with padfone 2 idea~
Dannyl
post Jun 21 2013, 08:56 AM

what the fucuk-yimai
6,113 posts

Yeah, nothing much to look forward to. S3 onwards, things are just improved slightly. Like 720p to 1080p, 1GB RAM to 2GB RAM, 8MP to 13MP... incremental which made little difference to a lot of people.

If I use an S3 right now, and don't update the OS and apps ever, will it stay as fluid 3 years later? hmm.gif since the proc and RAM upgrades are just for running heavier software.
joytest
post Jun 21 2013, 09:03 AM

Vox populi vox dei? Quot homines,tot sententiae
13,188 posts

It will become like the pc market. And battery technology needs to improve or give me.another 2mm with a larger battery.

I mean look at windows xp to vista to 7 to 8 now. 8 was.change coz someone said let's change and make everyone pay for retraining.

This post has been edited by joytest: Jun 21 2013, 09:06 AM
mafioso
post Jun 21 2013, 09:11 AM

6,155 posts

expecting a better KLP.
phone is good enough so not looking forward for another one for the next 2-3 years nod.gif
TSmydragoon
post Jun 21 2013, 09:13 AM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(Dannyl @ Jun 21 2013, 08:56 AM)
Yeah, nothing much to look forward to.  S3 onwards, things are just improved slightly.  Like 720p to 1080p, 1GB RAM to 2GB RAM, 8MP to 13MP... incremental which made little difference to a lot of people.

If I use an S3 right now, and don't update the OS and apps ever, will it stay as fluid 3 years later?  hmm.gif  since the proc and RAM upgrades are just for running heavier software.
ya... thats' exactly how i'm feeling... i have note 2. it's quad core. 2GB. and i got the 32GB version. for me... the battery life is ok. but i always carry powerbank anyway, so no issues. camera... i can accept the quality. it's decent enough for me to use for A4-sized photobooks. only thing is night and low-light shots but heck, most camera also have this problem unless you happen to be carrying flashlight or spotlight. screen... well, 1080p screen is nice to have but fact is... i'm no superman and i probably won't notice the extra pixels on 1080p vs the 720p on my current Note2.

and that's why honestly... i look at all the rumours and news about latest phones and tablets... nothing excites me. ok, maybe those hybrid tablets like Transformer or the ones just revealed by Samsung that can dual boot -- Windows and Android. but otherwise those who already have a quad core phone, dun seem like there's much to look forward to.

read this morning about new LG phone that can capture, playback and display in UltraHD format. seriously... even 1080p seems overkill at the moment and we're now talking UHD?!?

but this whole situation... i guess it's good for my wallet. not so painful. and i think this probably means we can really start to see falling smartphone prices... ouch, if that happens... i might just get itchy and buy something even though i might not need it... biggrin.gif

update 1:
i guess Android needs to get more quality contents and games. i was just reading this article & realised ya... we lack good contents/ games as compared to iOS:
The Boy Genius Report: Apple’s plan to take over the living room while destroying Microsoft and Sony
http://bgr.com/2013/06/20/apple-gaming-str...y-analysis-ios/

By introducing a game controller standard (this is incredibly helpful since developers now can build games that recognize a standard set of button controls and inputs that will work across every single game in the App Store), Apple has started to turn the volume up on Sony and Microsoft. Soon, you are going to be able to play a console-quality game on your iPhone or iPad with a game controller, and you’re going to be able to see it on your big screen television without any effort. This is game-changing!

This post has been edited by mydragoon: Jun 21 2013, 09:18 AM
lowyard
post Jun 21 2013, 09:21 AM

Nexus 4, 4 Nexers.
2,056 posts

QUOTE(PainHacker @ Jun 21 2013, 08:52 AM)
agree with you. i think the performance is already "enough" or maybe overenough to run most of the aps and game. I much prefer a smartphone with best performance plus with a good camera. Because i dont want to buy a handphone then need to buy another digital camera just to get the functionality of itHonestly i never see a good android camera like iphone. Not try being fanboys but we need to be open minded and accept the facts and truth.
i c.. but to me the camera on the s4 is on par if not better than the iphone. my bro bought an s4 a month ago n my sis got the white iphone 5 for free (as telco employee) 6 months ago so yes, i've compared between the 2.

n all android needs is a better battery like what the motorola razr maxx n razr maxx hd is enjoying..

btw,the jump from dual to quad core n 1gb to 2gb of ram made a very huge difference to me. it's just too visible.

especially when compared between Gnex n N4 with both running the same version.
MPIK
post Jun 21 2013, 09:25 AM

1,838 posts

QUOTE(lowyard @ Jun 21 2013, 09:21 AM)
i c.. but to me the camera on the s4 is on par if not better than the iphone. my bro bought an s4 a month ago n my sis got the white iphone 5 for free (as telco employee) 6 months ago so yes, i've compared between the 2.

n all android needs is a better battery like what the motorola razr maxx n razr maxx hd is enjoying..

btw,the jump from dual to quad core n 1gb to 2gb of ram made a very huge difference to me. it's just too visible.

especially when compared between Gnex n N4 with both running the same version.
For better battery life, can opt for butterfly s.
joytest
post Jun 21 2013, 09:31 AM

13,188 posts

I believe the same goes for iphone. The improvement u mention is an accessory and not the phone. It's just going to be bigger screen (maybe?) faster cpu more RAM and more copying of android features.
lowyard
post Jun 21 2013, 09:33 AM

Nexus 4, 4 Nexers.
2,056 posts

QUOTE(MPIK @ Jun 21 2013, 09:25 AM)
For better battery life, can opt for butterfly s.
ok maybe i should say:

I want a Nexus with great camera n battery. n considering 1080p display is the norm now, why not? ram 2gb n quad core is also enough to run ubuntu in the future.
PeeEl
post Jun 21 2013, 09:35 AM

3,612 posts

Technology is very dynamic, ever evolving, if you will. It is not a fad but a trend that somehow new features and functions will find their way into new advent of gadgets. Speaking for myself and though I am no tech wizard I believe that is true albeit not as major.
lowyard
post Jun 21 2013, 09:38 AM

Nexus 4, 4 Nexers.
2,056 posts

QUOTE(PeeEl @ Jun 21 2013, 09:35 AM)
Technology is very dynamic, ever evolving, if you will. It is not a fad but a trend that somehow new features and functions will find their way into new advent of gadgets. Speaking for myself and though I am no tech wizard I believe that is true albeit not as major.
yup, n it just happens that i'm that someone who will be using the device to its limits. i'll use for everything it can do. fully utilize it. so when it hit the bottleneck, that's when i realize i needed more.. sweat.gif

it's not because i can, but its because i needed it to do so.. to help me in my daily life/work.
geforce88
post Jun 21 2013, 09:46 AM

2,841 posts

QUOTE(joytest @ Jun 21 2013, 09:03 AM)
It will become like the pc market.
i imagining we go to phone shop, self-select parts like processor, ram, memory, screen etc etc, pay and bring back home to assemble, just like custom desktop PC drool.gif
lowyard
post Jun 21 2013, 09:49 AM

Nexus 4, 4 Nexers.
2,056 posts

QUOTE(geforce88 @ Jun 21 2013, 09:46 AM)
i imagining we go to phone shop, self-select parts like processor, ram, memory, screen etc etc, pay and bring back home to assemble, just like custom desktop PC  drool.gif
n i wonder how big the phone'll be..
slaveone
post Jun 21 2013, 09:51 AM

1,231 posts

The thing i look forward next is a tablet with full hd display and lte
PeeEl
post Jun 21 2013, 09:52 AM

3,612 posts

QUOTE(lowyard @ Jun 21 2013, 09:38 AM)
yup, n it just happens that i'm that someone who will be using the device to its limits. i'll use for everything it can do. fully utilize it. so when it hit the bottleneck, that's when i realize i needed more..  sweat.gif

it's not because i can, but its because i needed it to do so.. to help me in my daily life/work.
Then you would have to wait for it to evolve and pray for it to move faster. whistling.gif
joytest
post Jun 21 2013, 09:53 AM

13,188 posts

i imagining we go to phone shop, self-select parts like processor, ram, memory, screen etc etc, pay and bring back home to assemble, just like custom desktop PC  drool.gif
Oh well I fantasise for that day too but it will never come. I suppose it will bemore ccorrectly stated as the notebook market where u get prepackaged incremental change. So that's what the smartphone will become. I mean you have to look at it as a computer with phone and camera functions.
PeeEl
post Jun 21 2013, 09:54 AM

3,612 posts

QUOTE(slaveone @ Jun 21 2013, 09:51 AM)
Isn't it already available in the Sony XZ tablet? Please correct me if I am wrong.
Cynox
post Jun 21 2013, 09:56 AM

Back to AMD camp!!!
5,362 posts

QUOTE(PeeEl @ Jun 21 2013, 09:54 AM)
Isn't it already available in the Sony XZ tablet? Please correct me if I am wrong.
yes, it is already here what. No need to dream, just get ready RM2k and go Sony Centre buy. biggrin.gif
PeeEl

3,612 posts

QUOTE(joytest @ Jun 21 2013, 09:53 AM)
Oh well I fantasise for that day too but it will never come. I suppose it will bemore ccorrectly stated as the notebook market where u get prepackaged incremental change. So that's what the smartphone will become. I mean you have to look at it as a computer with phone and camera functions.
It is plausible but not feasible.
mr.noone

349 posts

pioneer k80w or something, not the spec, but the robustness of the body.
slaveone

1,231 posts

Yep, just looking for what the others are going to offer as well.
Bujal.x
post Jun 21 2013, 10:33 AM

PUNGGUNG ITU~~~
2,387 posts

QUOTE(slaveone @ Jun 21 2013, 09:51 AM)
lol~for a full hd tablet,theres a lot actually.acer 700,701,huawei mediapad fhd,nexus 10 but so far with lte i think xperia tablet z~
ajay67
post Jun 21 2013, 10:40 AM

2,960 posts

i am still excited & look fwd to good performance dual sim fon. til now, single sim fon are too far ahead.
teckyang97
post Jun 21 2013, 10:56 AM

RIP NEXUS 2010-2016
3,516 posts

QUOTE(PainHacker @ Jun 21 2013, 08:52 AM)
I totally disagree,I have use many android devices and some camera are even comparable to iPhone ones such as xperia acro s and huawei ascend d1 quad,please take note that I really compare both camera face to face

This post has been edited by teckyang97: Jun 21 2013, 10:57 AM
dembaba9000
post Jun 21 2013, 10:59 AM

2,748 posts

why are we even using iphone cam as a benchmark in the first place?? blink.gif

iphone's picture might look better on the device.

put onto the comp and compare face off, iphone lose gao gao to many android devices, not to mention nokia's lumia series n 808.
Ah hao
post Jun 21 2013, 11:19 AM

1,619 posts

The whole iphone and android phone thing is just like a product cycle. Now is the maturity stage, and it will start falling, and then some new product that will replace iphone and android will start emerging and we all will switch to that.

Just like the whole nokia incident all over again.
mudkipryan94
post Jun 21 2013, 12:55 PM

someone need a sarcasm meter?
12,000 posts

LOL laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
1 word, nothing can replace PC smile.gif

http://bgr.com/2013/06/20/apple-gaming-str...y-analysis-ios/ <- haha... funny
mudkipryan94
post Jun 21 2013, 12:57 PM

12,000 posts

QUOTE(teckyang97 @ Jun 21 2013, 10:56 AM)
I totally disagree,I have use many android devices and some camera are even comparable to iPhone ones such as xperia acro s and huawei ascend d1 quad,please take note that I really compare both camera face to face
not sure he ifags or just coming for fanboyism...!
and i agree with your opinion...
Even iPhone 5 vs Xperia Z at HDR mode shooting will claimed by XZ
icon_rolleyes.gif
geforce88
post Jun 21 2013, 01:26 PM

2,841 posts

QUOTE(mudkipryan94 @ Jun 21 2013, 12:55 PM)
LOL  laugh.gif  laugh.gif  laugh.gif
1 word, nothing can replace PC smile.gif

http://bgr.com/2013/06/20/apple-gaming-str...y-analysis-ios/ <- haha... funny
yup, PC is PC, phone is phone, no matter how smart is a smartphone, certain task still must rely on PC to complete
TSmydragoon
post Jun 21 2013, 01:58 PM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(geforce88 @ Jun 21 2013, 01:26 PM)
yup, PC is PC, phone is phone, no matter how smart is a smartphone, certain task still must rely on PC to complete
errr... what is you use smartphone to access a virtual desktop... counted as using PC or smartphone or...? biggrin.gif
eone
post Jun 21 2013, 02:30 PM

Prime
2,678 posts

QUOTE(geforce88 @ Jun 21 2013, 01:26 PM)
The hardware is there, just the software, its up for developer.. a bonus for developers who can create what ever tools they want.
PainHacker
post Jun 21 2013, 02:35 PM

235 posts

QUOTE(teckyang97 @ Jun 21 2013, 10:56 AM)
every phone has its own engine so the image that we see maybe look "nicer" for our eyes especially sony which are using bravia engine. To determine its true quality, we need to transfer the taken picture into deskstop and then we can compare it.

This post has been edited by PainHacker: Jun 21 2013, 02:36 PM
geforce88
post Jun 21 2013, 02:40 PM

2,841 posts

QUOTE(eone @ Jun 21 2013, 02:30 PM)
The hardware is there, just the software, its up for developer.. a bonus for developers who can create what ever tools they want.
i cannot imagine using phones to do 3D Max heavy rendering sweat.gif
tongaz86
post Jun 21 2013, 03:11 PM

1,750 posts

After using my SGS for 2 year it still can handle most of the task i throw at it.Although it needed some tweaking to run smoothly. Root , custom rom , custom kernel , overclocking , swapper for root , greenify and many more.

One thing i can't tweak is the ageing GPU.That why my
next phone will focus on GPU performance. Most of the app now a dual core can handle already.Only some of the high end game on android take advantage on the quad core.But the burden is still mainly on the GPU.(One of the reason Apple products run smoothly even in dual core).

That being said tech move very fast.Having a future hardware spec may turn in your favor or may not in the future. Right now most developer are to lazy to take advantage of the extra core because of the headache to built and debug.Even the quad core on desktop and laptop haven't really push to the limit yet by developer.

What would be most exciting spec i want is BATTERY!!!
iamkent
post Jun 21 2013, 03:16 PM

i shoot you <3
3,073 posts

Why suddenly everyone was comparing camera pulak But seriously now day phone can do more then enough. If for better improve, just like previous member say. Use phone as wallet for purchasing. Guess everyone not real wanted bring cashy around...
kopiPeng
post Jun 21 2013, 03:21 PM

★ Xiaomi VIP ★
2,548 posts

Next Gadget trend prolly in next year -> Flexible displays! Time for new phone! rclxms.gif

http://news.cnet.com/8301-1035_3-57590173-...or-smartphones/
eone
post Jun 21 2013, 03:33 PM

Prime
2,678 posts

QUOTE(geforce88 @ Jun 21 2013, 02:40 PM)
i cannot imagine using phones to do 3D Max heavy rendering  sweat.gif
They (autodesk) are testing waters now with some of their mobile tools, I really want to create models and animations on my ipad, tablet or phone on the go, current Sculpt very limited but at least now can export the models out.

This post has been edited by eone: Jun 21 2013, 03:35 PM
monocle
post Jun 21 2013, 03:34 PM

2,645 posts

I'm always excited on new Android version..
eone
post Jun 21 2013, 03:38 PM

Prime
2,678 posts

The best thing now for android is Glass, I have some ideas later to create apps for it..

This post has been edited by eone: Jun 21 2013, 04:23 PM
NightFelix
post Jun 21 2013, 03:39 PM

Samsung Exynos
17,467 posts

Waiting for Sony+Samsung+HTC combine all their feature into one superduper smartphone.
ramz
post Jun 21 2013, 04:17 PM

21,327 posts

Google glass. Use at work. Look at something and glass give u meta data on what u looking to make your work more effective. Google glass integrated with Google now equals wow
MsiaqweR
post Jun 21 2013, 04:22 PM

642 posts

QUOTE(NightFelix @ Jun 21 2013, 03:39 PM)
Waiting for Sony+Samsung+HTC combine all their feature into one superduper smartphone.
This will only happens when HTC acquires Samsung and Sony.
TSmydragoon
post Jun 21 2013, 05:04 PM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(ramz @ Jun 21 2013, 04:17 PM)
Google glass. Use at work. Look at something and glass give u meta data on what u looking to make your work more effective. Google glass integrated with Google now equals wow
ok, ya... i guess i missed out this one. Glass is Android, right?

ya, i guess this is probably the only Android thing i'm really looking forward to though from what i have read... seems this may not take off... plus, usd1500 for the pioneer set. if it goes mass production, how much lower, i wonder...

consoles based on android... personally... i think gaming trend moving towards mobile gaming.
mtxx
post Jun 21 2013, 06:46 PM

5,011 posts

Android OS as a whole is still lacking a lot of simple fundamental things.
And I'm waiting for them to fix some flaws.

Firstly the browser. Previous aosp browser is so much faster. Why take a step back and use chrome as default? It's so laggy.

The camera, 4.2 camera is buggy. When viewing pictures, when u swipe to last recent picture and swipe again, it auto launch the camera. How stupid is that. The biggest flaw in the camera is the cropped view finder and the stupid auto rotate when changing orientation.

Change delay for screenshot. In iOS screenshot is instant when u press the button combo, why android delay 2 seconds, hard to get accurate screenshot for moving things!

Some simple but great to have features available in aokp and cyanogen mod. After so many android iteration, why don't google put them in stock android? Such as vibrate when call connected/ended, volume rocker music control, kill all button in recent apps, nfc polling mode, nav bar and nav ring customization, led color control, and for god sake change android beam to use wifi direct like Samsung s beam, wifi speed powns Bluetooth speed. Customizable quick toggles. iOS7 control center is so much more functional than stock android useless default quick toggles.

All the above are so important. But from 4.1-4.2,
Google added completely useless feature like daydream and Mira cast. They really could do better by adding some of the above mention feature but they didn't.

Nothing to expect from android anymore? Not true.
I'm expecting lots of fixes in coming version.
Noobi3
post Jun 21 2013, 06:48 PM

4,984 posts

It is . Sharp coming out with another soon but only for Japan market . But hey , it's LYN , getting DoCoMo phones is not a problem

Forgot to add , not sure if the LTE work for us
http://www.engadget.com/2013/05/15/aquos-p...snapdragon-600/

This post has been edited by Noobi3: Jun 21 2013, 06:50 PM
joytest
post Jun 21 2013, 06:49 PM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(mtxx @ Jun 21 2013, 06:46 PM)
Android OS as a whole is still lacking a lot of simple fundamental things.
And I'm waiting for them to fix some flaws.

Firstly the browser. Previous aosp browser is so much faster. Why take a step back and use chrome as default? It's so laggy.

The camera, 4.2 camera is buggy. When viewing pictures, when u swipe to last recent picture and swipe again, it auto launch the camera. How stupid is that. The biggest flaw in the camera is the cropped view finder and the stupid auto rotate when changing orientation.

Change delay for screenshot. In iOS screenshot is instant when u press the button combo, why android delay 2 seconds, hard to get accurate screenshot for moving things!

Some simple but great to have features available in aokp and cyanogen mod. After so many android iteration, why don't google put them in stock android? Such as vibrate when call connected/ended, volume rocker music control, kill all button in recent apps, nfc polling mode, nav bar and nav ring customization, led color control, and for god sake change android beam to use wifi direct like Samsung s beam, wifi speed powns Bluetooth speed. Customizable quick toggles. iOS7 control center is so much more functional than stock android useless default quick toggles.
All the above are so important. But from 4.1-4.2,
Google added completely useless feature like daydream and Mira cast. They really could do better by adding some of the above mention feature but they didn't.

Nothing to expect from android anymore? Not true.
I'm expecting lots of fixes in coming version.
I would like to say that Miracast will actually be a useful feature to turn your Android into a full blown media center. I got the Samsung AllShare and it has DRM that locks you down to stock kernel and stock ROM so it's a bummer for flashoholics. Hopefully Miracast will not have this level of lockdown.
mtxx
post Jun 21 2013, 06:58 PM

5,011 posts

QUOTE(joytest @ Jun 21 2013, 06:49 PM)
I would like to say that Miracast will actually be a useful feature to turn your Android into a full blown media center. I got the Samsung AllShare and it has DRM that locks you down to stock kernel and stock ROM so it's a bummer for flashoholics. Hopefully Miracast will not have this level of lockdown.
Mhl cable is a lot cheaper than Mira cast adapter, or a new tv with Mira cast.
Really no point.

Wonder why google never make something like Apple TV that can easily share to tv.
The nexus q suppose to do that maybe but it was cancelled. Such a shame.

Anyhow, Mira cast is practically useless. I doubt any one in malaysia is using it.
Heck I think not many people even know about it
arturn
post Jun 21 2013, 07:02 PM

1,239 posts

QUOTE(mtxx @ Jun 21 2013, 06:58 PM)
Really no point.

Wonder why google never make something like Apple TV that can easily share to tv.

Anyhow, Mira cast is practically useless. I doubt any one in malaysia is using it.
true true i dun even know about it until i browse this thread
PeeEl
post Jun 21 2013, 07:31 PM

3,612 posts

QUOTE(MsiaqweR @ Jun 21 2013, 04:22 PM)
This will only happens when HTC acquires Samsung and Sony.
HTC is the smallest of the 3 companies. What makes you say that?
joytest
post Jun 21 2013, 07:45 PM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(mtxx @ Jun 21 2013, 06:58 PM)
Really no point.

Miracast is a collaborative standard with Intel and it allows ANY manufacturer to make a Miracast adapter to turn your device into something LIKE Apple TV. There are several adapters by 2 or 3 Taiwanese companies right now.

I welcome this since you don't need a cable to plug into your phone which gets in the way when you want to wiggle your phone around playing games.
mtxx
post Jun 21 2013, 08:30 PM

5,011 posts

QUOTE(joytest @ Jun 21 2013, 07:45 PM)
Miracast is a collaborative standard with Intel and it allows ANY manufacturer to make a Miracast adapter to turn your device into something LIKE Apple TV. There are several adapters by 2 or 3 Taiwanese companies right now.

I welcome this since you don't need a cable to plug into your phone which gets in the way when you want to wiggle your phone around playing games.
Have you actually used it before?

I'm running s3 aokp 4.2.2
I cannot find Mira cast option. Is it only for nexus device?
Back when I was using nexus 7, I think I saw in under settings, more.

joytest
post Jun 21 2013, 08:33 PM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(mtxx @ Jun 21 2013, 08:30 PM)
Have you actually used it before?

I'm running s3 aokp 4.2.2
I cannot find Mira cast option. Is it only for nexus device?
Back when I was using nexus 7, I think I saw in under settings, more.
I used allshare on stock rom and its pretty cool. Go Wikipedia and check themiracast entry tthere's a link to certified devices but s3 only the Z model is supported.
mtxx
post Jun 22 2013, 12:18 AM

5,011 posts

QUOTE(joytest @ Jun 21 2013, 08:33 PM)
I used allshare on stock rom and its pretty cool. Go Wikipedia and check themiracast entry tthere's a link to certified devices but s3 only the Z model is supported.
Did some digging on miracast.

It's more useless than I thought.
Even if you have a miracast enabled TV or adapter,
Only nexus 4 have this feature enabled
http://www.androidpolice.com/2012/11/16/so...it-work-anyway/

Miracast is picking up even slower than nfc.

Right now google don't even have the hardware and software to make things work.
Nexus Q cancelled, google tv not on sale worldwide, and miracast don't work on all android. doh.gif

So far there isn't real simple and cheap solution for wireless display in android.
Samsung allshare works great but need compatible tv and touch wiz rom.

Sometimes I feel Samsung innovate even better than google.
Best practical example is s beam and allshare
joytest
post Jun 22 2013, 12:20 AM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(mtxx @ Jun 22 2013, 12:18 AM)
Did some digging on miracast.

It's more useless than I thought.
Even if you have a miracast enabled TV or adapter,
Only nexus 4 have this feature enabled
http://www.androidpolice.com/2012/11/16/so...it-work-anyway/

Miracast is picking up even slower than nfc.
Right now google don't even have the hardware and software to make things work.
Nexus Q cancelled, google tv not on sale worldwide, and miracast don't work on all android. doh.gif
So far there isn't real simple and cheap solution for wireless display in android.
Samsung allshare works great but need compatible tv and touch wiz rom.

Sometimes I feel Samsung innovate even better than google.
Best practical example is s beam and allshare
Allshare just needs a dongle if you don't have a Samsung SmartTV, plus a Samsung phone with Allshare Cast software.

I did read some sporadic reports of people getting miracast working with various smartphones, but yes i agree there has not been any focus to promote it to date.
danielcmugen
post Jun 22 2013, 12:24 AM

5,538 posts

Still can look forward for better camera and battery life.
arturn
post Jun 22 2013, 12:34 AM

1,239 posts

QUOTE(danielcmugen @ Jun 22 2013, 12:24 AM)
Still can look forward for better camera and battery life.
personally i felt that since the launch of s4 n htc one their battery life is way better then those previous android devices

for sure it is better than my ip5.lol
LiMi
post Jun 22 2013, 01:47 AM

735 posts

i have high hopes for google glass. that is such a game changer, with so much untapped potential.
geforce88
post Jun 22 2013, 10:51 AM

2,841 posts

QUOTE(tongaz86 @ Jun 21 2013, 03:11 PM)

What would be most exciting spec i want is BATTERY!!!
now Huawei already breaking the 4000mAh barrier, i believe we should be able to see more and more phones equipped with crazy high capacity battery soon
tjayy09
post Jun 22 2013, 11:17 AM

391 posts

google X!
joytest
post Jun 22 2013, 11:18 AM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(tjayy09 @ Jun 22 2013, 11:17 AM)
google X!
Any specific reason(s) ?
Noobi3
post Jun 22 2013, 03:15 PM

4,984 posts

QUOTE(geforce88 @ Jun 22 2013, 10:51 AM)
now Huawei already breaking the 4000mAh barrier, i believe we should be able to see more and more phones equipped with crazy high capacity battery soon
No point having 4000mah or even 5000mah if they cant get software and hardware working perfectly . Take for eg SGS3 and Note 2 . Sgs3 with extended Samsung battery of 3000 mah is no where near the battery life of Note2 at 3100mah .
-Aktan-
post Jun 23 2013, 01:18 AM

2.6b dah masuk bro
873 posts

QUOTE(Noobi3 @ Jun 22 2013, 03:15 PM)
No point having 4000mah or even 5000mah if they cant get software and hardware working perfectly . Take for eg SGS3 and Note 2 . Sgs3 with extended Samsung battery of 3000 mah is no where near the battery life of Note2 at 3100mah .
Things they need to do now is software optimizing.. But not keep improving hardware (although it is still necessary )

Do until the point where phone is really "good out of the box" and not relying custom roms to fix stuff while manufacturer sleep at home..

Seeing some s4 vid that it cant even load its clock widget when going on homescreen is pathetic

This post has been edited by -Aktan-: Jun 23 2013, 01:19 AM
tjayy09
post Jun 23 2013, 02:13 PM

391 posts

QUOTE(joytest @ Jun 22 2013, 11:18 AM)
Any specific reason(s) ?
oh come on it's google we're talking about here. been a huge fan of google's work and the nexus line, especially the gnex. And its time for google's very own product, it's gonna be good. Eventho the specs aren't the top of the line, they know what their stuff, and can't wait to see what they have in-store. And a moto fan too, v3 was awesome at that time.

Plus tough phones -which doesn't look like crap- are still growing in the market, besides the xperia z. So would love to see google taking a bite on this design. Pretty sure that crappy image leak was only a bumper or a casing. And a new camera technology is always welcomed.
TSmydragoon
post Jun 24 2013, 09:26 AM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(tjayy09 @ Jun 23 2013, 02:13 PM)
oh  come on it's google we're talking about here. been a huge fan of google's work and the nexus line, especially the gnex. And its time for google's very own product, it's gonna be good. Eventho the specs aren't the top of the line, they know what their stuff, and can't wait to see what they have in-store. And a moto fan too, v3 was awesome at that time.

Plus tough phones -which doesn't look like crap- are still growing in the market, besides the xperia z. So would love to see google taking a bite on this design. Pretty sure that crappy image leak was only a bumper or a casing. And a new camera technology is always welcomed.
back to the point of this topic... i mean... seriously... based on what we've heard about this X Phone (some say its a brand for a series of new Android phones), there's nothing really ground-breaking about the phone. better battery (unless you say one charge can last 73 hours with 24-7 3g connection, heavy gaming and etc), cheaper pricing... it's not really anything seriously new for me. ya, no doubt they are still improvements, but i mean... it's really nothing BIG and exciting.

which is why this topic got started... i feel like there are many who feel the same... Android seems to have reached a peak... android on smartphone and tablets anyway. Google Glass is something new and exciting... and something that i was reminded of by another reply here... yes, this is what i mean by exciting... it's something new. phones... we just get bigger screen, more ram, faster processor... but it still feels old. if you get what i mean.. biggrin.gif
darth5zaft
post Jun 24 2013, 09:30 AM

901 posts

I would say I'm excited about moto X, but I have no idea what it would be. So mostly Im excited with that anything can be used as stylus on the Sony togari phablet as well as cybershot lenses with walkman audio chip in hanomi. Tremuounius display??

As for the software, I just want a full playstore here in Malaysia. I won't buy a lot of media but I appreciate the ability to actually buy it. I also want google maps navigation as well as Google voice and wallet, a serious full features productivity Suite, a rework notification that look like HTC blinkfeed and generally much better transition animation like winpho.

I assume Sony will need to challenge Xbox winpho combo with android usage on the PS4 to do some cool thing, they did show using XZ to draw up an avatars and play it with PS4 eyes. Please do port PlayStation home as well as some vita apps and remoteplay.

Microsoft too need to supply android with more apps to play nice with their ecosystem.

ramz
post Jun 24 2013, 10:56 AM

21,327 posts

QUOTE(mydragoon @ Jun 21 2013, 05:04 PM)
ok, ya... i guess i missed out this one. Glass is Android, right?

ya, i guess this is probably the only Android thing i'm really looking forward to though from what i have read... seems this may not take off... plus, usd1500 for the pioneer set. if it goes mass production, how much lower, i wonder...

consoles based on android... personally... i think gaming trend moving towards mobile gaming.
Well google glass is google. but i heard its based on android, but of course a different branch of android. and it's meant to work with android and iOS, not just android. So in the future u can have glass working with your iphone/ipad.

glass will be another positive disruption to smartphones. do u notice smartphones have reached a point that they become very annoying? My phone interrupts me so often in one day, i am counting 20-30 times in a day. and u notice its a real hassle getting your phone from your pocket to your eyes. it take a whole 5 secs to do just that. imagine u doing that 20-30 times a day and u know what i mean. and when i take a video of my daugther's play, i am watching the phone and not the play. it feels like i did not attend her play, i only attended the video of her play. and my phone interrupts me during driving almost to a point it gets really dangerous. using gps is really dangerous if u haven't notice.
airspeeder
post Jun 24 2013, 02:06 PM

314 posts

it's not just android.. everything when it's become too common. the excitement is gone already.
sordanny
post Jun 24 2013, 03:18 PM

3,009 posts

frankly i'm bored of android ui
hopefully key lime pine or the manufacturers will bring a complete overhaul to the os side.....
this will keep things interesting smile.gif

other than that, i don't mind how many cores in the phone but would like better camera and huge 4000 mah battery
tjayy09
post Jun 26 2013, 03:06 AM

391 posts

QUOTE(sordanny @ Jun 24 2013, 03:18 PM)
frankly i'm bored of android ui
hopefully key lime pine or the manufacturers will bring a complete overhaul to the os side.....
this will keep things interesting smile.gif

other than that, i don't mind how many cores in the phone but would like better camera and huge 4000 mah battery
bored with android ui? that's a lot coming from an android user. with a lil tweak here and there, can almost completely change what. not an rooting guru but the possibilities are endless. That said, it's true if you're a vanilla android person like me. but comparing with ios7, windows phone, excluding bbm because it sucks, google seem to be innovating the most!
tjayy09
post Jun 26 2013, 03:26 AM

391 posts

QUOTE(mydragoon @ Jun 24 2013, 09:26 AM)
back to the point of this topic... i mean... seriously... based on what we've heard about this X Phone (some say its a brand for a series of new Android phones), there's nothing really ground-breaking about the phone. better battery (unless you say one charge can last 73 hours with 24-7 3g connection, heavy gaming and etc), cheaper pricing... it's not really anything seriously new for me. ya, no doubt they are still improvements, but i mean... it's really nothing BIG and exciting.

which is why this topic got started... i feel like there are many who feel the same... Android seems to have reached a peak... android on smartphone and tablets anyway. Google Glass is something new and exciting... and something that i was reminded of by another reply here... yes, this is what i mean by exciting... it's something new. phones... we just get bigger screen, more ram, faster processor... but it still feels old. if you get what i mean.. biggrin.gif
haha totally get that sometimes. it did reach a peak, well sort of almost. And don't think the pricing will be a key here, fingers crossed. But also we don't want something crazy bad like ios7 do we? incredibly different looking, turned out to be another version of crappiness, no offence i liked the older one. LOL 73 hours sounds awesome drool.gif And yeap the specs are, tbt terrible for a 2013 product, even for a mid tier. But the fact its google, and "google x" team been working with this even before moto was bought, you know they have something up their sleeve. Totally get the dual core=save battery but there's still room for the others. And rumors, sensors are a big part in this phone, maybe more than the usual. Still can't really say anything w/o the device itself.

thumbup.gif Countdown : 36 days left! thumbup.gif

Ps; anyone seeing google glasses in malaysia?
sordanny
post Jun 26 2013, 08:13 PM

3,009 posts

QUOTE(tjayy09 @ Jun 26 2013, 03:06 AM)
bored with android ui? that's a lot coming from an android user. with a lil tweak here and there, can almost completely change what. not an rooting guru but the possibilities are endless. That said, it's true if you're a vanilla android person like me. but comparing with ios7, windows phone, excluding bbm because it sucks, google seem to be innovating the most!
yup bored. Have a nexus and used to flash different roms, launchers and try out different things
but now it gets kinda boring..
most manufacturer is kinda profiting off the same old wine in a different bottle..... It seems the days of revolutionary exciting things in product launch is dead

look at iphone 4 to 4s to 5 -> same old lame design, even call new connector a "feature"???? doh.gif
galaxy nexus to nexus 4 -> almost identical from the front
samsung galaxy s3 to s4 -> slightly upgraded software + loads of marketing money to "differentiate" (personally i think sammy could had hold up the new product and give s3 the current s4 software.. poor s3 users)

the only exception i can think of currently is htc with the new blinkfeed, sony with the new water/dust proof Z series and bb coming up with entirely new os

i genuinely hope all platform can come up with something revolutionary and radically different
i don't mind the "bloat" from manufacturers as long the phone runs smooth
i don't mind the screen technology is LED or LCD as long as it's a big screen with no pixelation
i don't mind it's 2/4/8 cores as long as the phone doesn't lag in day to day use
i want the camera on the phone to take good low light photos
and i want the battery to be 4,000 mah or bigger which can last me for 2 days

benny888
post Jun 26 2013, 08:18 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

Motorola new way to advertise their coming change :

kingsora
post Jun 26 2013, 08:21 PM

Louis Litttt
1,407 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Jun 26 2013, 08:18 PM)
Motorola new way to advertise their coming change :

http://www.engadget.com/2013/06/26/motorol...ne-leak-sprint/

This should be the rumored moto x right? hmm.gif
joytest
post Jun 26 2013, 08:43 PM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(sordanny @ Jun 26 2013, 08:13 PM)
yup bored. Have a nexus and used to flash different roms, launchers and try out different things
most manufacturer is kinda profiting off the same old wine in a different bottle..... It seems the days of revolutionary exciting things in product launch is dead

look at iphone 4 to 4s to 5 -> same old lame design, even call new connector a "feature"????  doh.gif
samsung galaxy s3 to s4 -> slightly upgraded software + loads of marketing money to "differentiate" (personally i think sammy could had hold up the new product and give s3 the current s4 software.. poor s3 users)

the only exception i can think of currently is htc with the new blinkfeed, sony with the new water/dust proof Z series and bb coming up with entirely new os

i genuinely hope all platform can come up with something revolutionary and radically different
i don't mind the screen technology is LED or LCD as long as it's a big screen with no pixelation
i don't mind it's 2/4/8 cores as long as the phone doesn't lag in day to day use
Personally, it's a glass slab with a bezel. I prefer slim bezels, and some heft to the device without anorexia so it can get a hefty battery.

You want change like XP to Vista, or Win 7 to Win 8, or Office 2003 to Office 2007? Change for the sake of change is ridiculous. Blinkfeed etc are simply apps baked in by the manufacturer. You can likely get any app to replace its functionality or even have greater functionality than the stock app.

People have to start thinking of the device as a computer first which is CUSTOMISABLE instead of a locked down manufacturer-knows-best-choose-my-apps-or-leave-it phone.

Smartphones deserve users that should be smart enough to take advantage of all the platform has to offer, and accept the fact that it is all evolution from here on until 3D projection and Google Glass-like stuff take off.
tjayy09
post Jun 27 2013, 12:18 AM

391 posts

something revolutionary and radically different Sounds like google to me. thumbup.gif
(Idk i'm just a few years into this tech industry, but from what i know and see, google's seems to be the best at what they do, when tho the specs sucks ass, it's gonna be better that it looks, plus I hope the fugly M logo goes away shocking.gif And i don't work for google. biggrin.gif )

And yes companies are making big bucks with the same wine, because the average joe couldn't careless. And the average joe is pretty big in this case. But that is indeed changing. 5 years ago i didn't give a f about my phone's specs, if it had 3g and a camera it was already awesome. More and more people are starting to actually look deep into their device, which is a good thing, sort of , but its just not enough yet. Samsung on the other hand took advantage of this and made a bank out of it. doh.gif

But yes, tech revolution is freaking slow now, well ever, but isn't it also for the better?
Sure Gnex looks like nexus 4 but cmon, if you even know this phone exist, you know it's not the same, and not always about the design lah. Still nexus 4 was a huge let down. Samsung, freaking good moneymaker and they know they could afford to fail. Agrees on that with the galaxy line up, hated it since the very beginning, except the first note that was something new. But they're still the brave one to try crazy new things because they simply have the money. And their new activ Q, another bold-smart move for the better, dual boot thingy on a tablet, something new?

Htc blinkfeed? As a early flipboard fan, it just feels like a flipboard ripoff. Never used the One before tho, but like that they're trying something totally new with the htc one, and seems to be working? idk. Sony damn smart but just a lil too late in my opinion. Something new with the ZU, one of the best looking displays i've seen through pics that is. And a whole new meaning to good-looking phablet right? Revolutions like this are little but significant.

And I'm pretty sure that you won't be let down with this x phone thingy. Well not so much, compared to the others. LOL

TSmydragoon
post Aug 28 2013, 10:31 AM

7,044 posts

would a 'smart watch' excite you?

i know we've had plenty of 'smart watch' recently...

and here's one from Samsung/ Android: Galaxy Gear.
note: image is possibly just artist impression/ rendition.

but Galaxy Gear is for sure to be coming soon... real soon.

Samsung Exec Confirms Galaxy Gear Smartwatch Aimed At Younger, Hip Buyers Coming Sept. 4
http://techcrunch.com/2013/08/27/samsung-e...-coming-sept-4/

Samsung’s Galaxy Gear smartwatch is poised to be the next big news in wearable tech, and it’s also rapidly becoming one of the worst kept secrets of the tech world. Today, Samsung Executive Vice President of Mobile Lee Young-hee told The Korea Times that the Galaxy Gear would indeed be unveiled in Berlin on Sept. 4 two days ahead of the IFA conference opening, and that the new smartwatch would be powered by Android, and would not feature Samsung’s fledgling flexible display tech.

The Galaxy Gear will be a device to “enhance” and “enrich” the smart phone experience, according to Lee, which makes sense given the recent reports that it would be more of an accessory device than something that stands separate from a smartphone and is capable of making its own calls.

Lee also characterized the Galaxy Gear as a “wearable concept device,” saying that Samsung has been working on the smartwatch category for a long time now, and noting that is aimed primarily at “young trendsetters” in the interview with the Korea Times. All of which combines to make it sound like Samsung is designing this not only as something that’s aimed at early adopters, but also as something of a fashion accessory.

Earlier, GigaOM reported that the Galaxy Gear would have a 2.5-inch display, with 320 x 320 resolution, and a dual core processor. It’s designed to pair up to devices with Bluetooth 4.0, and will likely require an app provided through the Samsung dedicated app marketplace in order to work, making it likely an accessory exclusive to Samsung’s own smartphones.

Samsung Galaxy Gear smartwatch launch date revealed
http://www.telegraph.co.uk/technology/news...e-revealed.html

Patent filings unearthed by a South Korean news site earlier this month suggested the smartwatch would feature a screen controlled by a small panel with keys like those featured on the company’s Galaxy Android handset.

The plans also suggested the watch would be able to make and receive phone calls, send emails and texts, store information and access the internet.

Documents on the Moveplayer news site showed then that the company has registered the names Samsung Galaxy Gear for the US market and Samsung Gear for South Korea.
mudkipryan94
post Aug 28 2013, 12:39 PM

12,000 posts

QUOTE(sordannry @ Jun 26 2013, 08:13 PM)

look at iphone 4 to 4s to 5 -> same old lame design, even call new connector a "feature"????  doh.gif

nuff say, i agree w other point but UI, doesn't matter or what..
and i would say if android mixes the UI w Windows Phone.. , that want was perfectly done also.. tongue.gif
nx7010
post Aug 28 2013, 12:59 PM

148 posts

Isn't this a pattern to show us, that we humans are just merely sucked into this consumerism pattern?

We are always wanting for more... Some people called that improvement.

I think Android have improved the most over the last few years and with every major software update, you have got improvements which can be seen or felt.. So now if the phones have reach to a point where you feel bored with it, then good it have become a part of your daily life... Are you bored of toothpaste?? Why didn't they invent toothpaste that auto generate with the toothbrush?? Are you bored with a rectangular fridge?? Why didn't they do a round one?? Why don't they put in an oven and fridge two in one? Don't need to take items out from fridge put into oven. Because we have accepted it and have been using these appliance as it is. Maybe, what Google intended is that the smartphone is just an appliance. And it have reached a level which is just good enough for most things you would use a smartphone for. And maybe Google thinks that as close a smartphone could connect you with another person, the experience of connecting with someone in real life will not be replaceable with technology. And maybe Google thinks that we humans should not bust our ass to chase some technology gadget and making our lives harder in the process of owning one. Hence the awesome pricing of the Nexus 7, 4 line of products.

Seriously does anyone need anything more than a Nexus 4 for a phone?? And the good news?? This amazing cheap phone is gonna get cheaper. USD199 for 8GB and USD249 for 16GB. This is exciting news in Android no?? I believe that a good company will not charge an arm or leg for a good product because they probably understand that there is much more to life than the products they sell. Sadly, most companies see us the people, the consumer as cash cows.

TSmydragoon
post Sep 2 2013, 08:59 AM

7,044 posts

wearable gadgets seems to be the IN thing...

Google quietly bought smartwatch maker WIMM last year – Nexus watch almost certain
http://phandroid.com/2013/08/30/google-buy...xus-smartwatch/

Rumors of a Google-made “Nexus smartwatch” have been buzzing around the rumor mill for awhile now. It was back in March a source from The Financial Times allegedly confirmed the existence of such a smartwatch, one that could be released by end of this year.

You may remember back in August of 2011 a small company by the name of WIMM tried making a name for itself with a modular smartwatch product called the WIMM One. Barely a year later, it was during the summer of last year that WIMM mysteriously stopped selling the pre-release developer kit, announcing publicly that they had entered an “exclusive, private relationship” with an unnamed company. It’s only now we’re learning who that company was…

Originally speculated that it could have been Apple who bought up WIMM, but in a scoop picked up by GigaOM, it appears that “private relationship” was with none other than our friends at Google. Apparently a few of the original WIMM team actually stayed on to help Google with the project, with some of their LinkedIn profiles updated to reflect the change in employment. As an added bonus of the acquisition, Google now owns the domain: smartwatch.com.

We mentioned in a previous post that the smartwatch market is about to explode. With OEM’s like Samsung, Sony, LG, and Motorola making their own smartwatches based on Google’s mobile operating system, it only makes sense that Google steps in and shows manufacturer’s how apps and services should work on the small — very small — screen. While it’s still too early to say, we’re expecting a UI similar to what we’ve already seen on Glass (picture above) with a heavy focus on quick access to Google Now, and acting a smartphone companion — not a replacement.

With Google now entering into the fray, will you jump on offerings from other OEMs, or wait around for Google to release their “Nexus” smartwatch?

if this watch can be smart on its own without the need to pair to a phone, it'll be interesting...

if the above is accurate, we can expect a Nexus watch this year end. it might just get me to start wearing a watch again -- i stopped wearing one since 12, i think... tongue.gif
yoyoan
post Sep 2 2013, 05:26 PM

1,209 posts

QUOTE(Voltaic @ Sep 2 2013, 03:22 PM)
almost all important IT innovations for the past few years had been done by Apple.
like touchscreen (capacitive, Retina), super stable, easy and safe environment  (iOS), content distribution (iTunes and App Store) etc.

the others include android, windows phone, BB10 are all copycats and followers.
especially to sell androids, u must appeal to 2 crowds only
1) the geeks and nerds...impressive but useless specs, modding, etc.
2) the poor and ppl who couldn't care less...cheap

to me, google glass is a failure. only ppl with eyesight problems need glasses.
I think the ggole glass might be revolutionised to be something like cyclops in the x-men or the star trek movies thumbup.gif
l4nunm4l4y4
post Sep 2 2013, 05:27 PM

749 posts

Samsung currently floods the market with their mass Android regurgitations
yoyoan
post Sep 2 2013, 05:30 PM

1,209 posts

Besides testing the market, i think it's good for us customers. Mpre choices to try out. biggrin.gif

TSmydragoon
post Sep 3 2013, 09:10 AM

7,044 posts

well, its not a phone... but definitely Android...

Smarten up your TV
The Rikomagic MK802 is a small computer thats a little bigger than a USB flash drive, it connects to your TV via its HDMI connector and has wireless connectivity to allow connection to the internet and other wireless devices.

The Rikomagic MK802 runs the latest version of Google Android™ (Jelly Bean) which gives you access to a huge selection of apps, its a bit like turning your TV into a giant Android™ tablet!

Rikomagic can be used as a media center to play HD films on a large display, it can also be used as a games console by connecting a compatible controller and as there are literally 1000's of Applications available from the Google Play Store you are only limited by your imagination!

Rikomagic is controlled by a wireless controller, simply plug in a wireless mouse/keyboard and you can browse the web, check emails, blast some zombies, listen to music or download a movie right from the comfort of your arm chair.

Quad Core Graphics
Fancy gaming? The MK802IV features a Quad Core Mali Graphics Proccessor which means its finally possible to bring the most complex and graphically rich games to the big screen!

The MK802IV Quad Core is one of the fastest Android devices around, the combined power of the RK3188 SOC and Mali Graphics allow stunning performance in full HD resolutions.

The onboard hardware video decoder, DLNA and Miracast support make it easier than ever to stream just about anything to the device.

Get Connected
The MK802IV features 1 x Full Size USB Host, 1 x Micro USB (for power) and 1 x Micro USB Host (OTG).

Theres a Micro SD card slot for expanding the storage on the device. You can also plug in any removable media.

The MK802IV comes with built in WIFI, Bluetooth and 8GB of storage space.

ya, i guess these weird little things make Android still interesting...

a colleague of mine just got it... for slightly over rm300+, i believe. gonna bug him for more details later.
soulseeker6187
post Sep 3 2013, 09:15 AM

2,774 posts

QUOTE(mydragoon @ Sep 3 2013, 09:10 AM)
well, its not a phone... but definitely Android...

ya, i guess these weird little things make Android still interesting...

a colleague of mine just got it... for slightly over rm300+, i believe. gonna bug him for more details later.
This android tv stick u can get even cheaper direct import from china.

My fren got a mk908 quad core model for just RM180 few weeks ago.
Very smooth.
jerm
post Sep 5 2013, 01:57 PM

651 posts

as far as wearables go, it's probably going to be the next big thing

check out these 2 wearables, which blow the current crop of smartwatches out of the water

Omate TrueSmart: http://www.kickstarter.com/projects/omate/...ndalone-smartwa

Neptune Pine: http://www.neptunepine.com/index.html

Both (and more if you search, including the WIMM, Plus+, and SimValley) are pretty good contenders for upcoming wearables
jackerz
post Sep 5 2013, 03:08 PM

54 posts

sony QX-100
rsrie
post Sep 5 2013, 03:17 PM

832 posts

so many android gadgets to explore, nice post.
TSmydragoon
post Aug 22 2014, 10:19 AM

7,044 posts

the rage with Android phone is now... * cheap android phones with high-end specs. like XiaoMi, etc. but in terms of innovation, nothing really new.

OUYA, the Android console, came and went... its kinda good deal as a media player. but then again, many media player out there also getting cheaper.

wearables... not only watches now. we have bracelets. google glass was open to public, but not sure how many got enough $$$ to grab one.

but...

back to the topic. anything from Android that you're really excited about? for me, nothing new for phones. seems like its the same old, same old stuff and specs.

moto360 is interesting, but i don't wear any watches and no plans to get.
mudkipryan94
post Aug 22 2014, 12:27 PM

12,000 posts

lolz..inb4 no stock for DIY biggrin.gif...

anyway.. I'm excited with LG G3 Pro / Incoming of Nexus 8
mudkipryan94
post Aug 22 2014, 12:29 PM

12,000 posts

QUOTE(mydragoon @ Aug 22 2014, 10:19 AM)
the rage with Android phone is now... * cheap android phones with high-end specs. like XiaoMi, etc. but in terms of innovation, nothing really new.

OUYA, the Android console, came and went... its kinda good deal as a media player. but then again, many media player out there also getting cheaper.

wearables... not only watches now. we have bracelets. google glass was open to public, but not sure how many got enough $$$ to grab one.

but...

back to the topic. anything from Android that you're really excited about? for me, nothing new for phones. seems like its the same old, same old stuff and specs.

moto360 is interesting, but i don't wear any watches and no plans to get.
Ouya... drool.gif my dream toys bang...

Moto 360 - looks cool
but I'm still Prefer G watch 2 biggrin.gif
TSmydragoon
post Aug 22 2014, 02:04 PM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(mudkipryan94 @ Aug 22 2014, 12:29 PM)
Ouya... drool.gif my dream toys bang...

Moto 360 - looks cool
but I'm still Prefer G watch 2 biggrin.gif
ouya... now my media player. its superb... can plug in external harddisk... and play from MX Player.

then there's also XBMC on it.
briantwj
post Aug 22 2014, 02:13 PM

Pierluigi Collina
3,968 posts

brace urself. Sept we'll see more Android Wears and new device.

Asus, Motorola, HTC, Samsung, Huawei all got event on coming Sept. And also got IFA in Berlin coming September, to show case more new device.

What to expect?

Sony Xperia Z3, Sony Xperia Z3 Compact, Sony SmartWatch 3, LG G3 Stylus, LG G Flex 2, Samsung Galaxy Note 4, Samsung Gear Solo, Motorola Moto G2, Motorola Moto X+1, Motorola Moto 360.

sos

Btw, the Nvidia Shield Tablet looks damn nice. Powered by Nvidia's K1 processor, running on stock android, gaming device. drool.gif If Nexus 8 is not out, can consider Nvidia Shield Tablet. It looks more like a gaming version of Nexus 8. drool.gif

And also Asus is said to unveil cheaper Android Wear, they claim they will have cheaper version of smartwatch compared to current smartwatches. Anxious to see what does Asus have for us in smartwatch department. rclxm9.gif

This post has been edited by briantwj: Aug 22 2014, 02:15 PM
TSmydragoon
post Aug 22 2014, 02:19 PM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(briantwj @ Aug 22 2014, 02:13 PM)

Asus, Motorola, HTC, Samsung, Huawei all got event on coming Sept. And also got IFA in Berlin coming September, to show case more new device.

What to expect?

Sony Xperia Z3, Sony Xperia Z3 Compact, Sony SmartWatch 3, LG G3 Stylus, LG G Flex 2, Samsung Galaxy Note 4, Samsung Gear Solo, Motorola Moto G2, Motorola Moto X+1, Motorola Moto 360.

sos

Btw, the Nvidia Shield Tablet looks damn nice. Powered by Nvidia's K1 processor, running on stock android, gaming device. drool.gif If Nexus 8 is not out, can consider Nvidia Shield Tablet. It looks more like a gaming version of Nexus 8. drool.gif

And also Asus is said to unveil cheaper Android Wear, they claim they will have cheaper version of smartwatch compared to current smartwatches. Anxious to see what does Asus have for us in smartwatch department.  rclxm9.gif
asus has somehow been able to intrigue me with unique stuff like the Transformer series. i still regard them as the best hybrid.

nVidia Shield Tablet... ya, a few review/ preview articles are calling it Nexus 8.
briantwj
post Aug 22 2014, 02:26 PM

Pierluigi Collina
3,968 posts

QUOTE(mydragoon @ Aug 22 2014, 02:19 PM)
asus has somehow been able to intrigue me with unique stuff like the Transformer series. i still regard them as the best hybrid.

nVidia Shield Tablet... ya, a few review/ preview articles are calling it Nexus 8.
Due to Zenfone's success recently. I'm guessing Asus will name their smartwatch series as Zenwatch. laugh.gif

For now, yea, it's a boring period. Need to wait til Sept for some announcement and gadget reveal. Now mostly just like leak news of Moto X+1 etc. Some more if wanna wait til those device to reach Malaysia. Expect around Oct to Nov to reach our shore. doh.gif
mudkipryan94
post Aug 22 2014, 02:29 PM

12,000 posts

QUOTE(briantwj @ Aug 22 2014, 02:13 PM)

What to expect?

sos

And also Asus is said to unveil cheaper Android Wear, they claim they will have cheaper version of smartwatch compared to current smartwatches. Anxious to see what does Asus have for us in smartwatch department.  rclxm9.gif
laugh.gif tons of smartwatch war biggrin.gif
briantwj
post Aug 22 2014, 02:32 PM

Pierluigi Collina
3,968 posts

QUOTE(mudkipryan94 @ Aug 22 2014, 02:29 PM)
laugh.gif tons of smartwatch war biggrin.gif
yea. Now onli got 3 smartwatch using Android Wear OS. More models on Android Wear OS is gud, give us more choice. brows.gif

so u've made up ur mind? Wait for G Watch 2? or Moto 360? brows.gif
joytest
post Aug 22 2014, 03:04 PM

13,188 posts

No real innovation in most gadgets anymore. No must haves. On a slightly unrelated note but in the same vein, even solar has failed to take off despite 3 decades or more. We're all still stuck with non renewable fossil fuels.
sugardaddy
post Aug 22 2014, 03:25 PM

70 posts

smartwatch? is it water resist as g-shock or as most watch.
briantwj
post Aug 22 2014, 08:36 PM

Pierluigi Collina
3,968 posts

QUOTE(sugardaddy @ Aug 22 2014, 03:25 PM)
smartwatch? is it water resist as g-shock or as most watch.
Iinm, the Android Wears (Moto 360, G Watch and Gear Live) are all IP certified to be water resistant. hmm.gif
batman1172
post Aug 24 2014, 11:45 AM

1,362 posts

Smartphones as reached a saturation point where it is good enough.

the days where I jump from single core to dual core was wow! then from dual to quad was double wow. now when I jump from quad 1.7 to quad 2.3 as no wow, yeah... the speed was great but small difference. same like ram or megapixels.

What I want is integration. First is hardware to my TV, aircond, computer, etc... now it is just basic integration hopefully much better in the future. Second is integration with software where a good ecosystem can be built. Sound like apple ?

smartwatch? no way... google glass, yes if the price is good.

ramz
post Aug 24 2014, 12:29 PM

21,327 posts

Personal digital assistant has been the buzz word since the palm pilot. But smart phones has just scrapped the surface on personal digital assistant. Coz a true smartphone is a personal assistant that has human intelligence and sensors. That will be the next disruption since 2007. My smartphone, whether android, wp or ios are all still pretty dumb. Coz i don't feel it's intelligent, and it's always sleeping on the job. For example if I'm emailing someone about a meeting tomorrow it should record automatically into my calendar. Or if I'm driving it should know that without me telling it and start reading my notifications. Or what the hell is is about fingerprint security?, don't you know it's me? Even my 5 year old know it's me and he don't need to check my finger print. You know, just like an average intelligent human.

This post has been edited by ramz: Aug 24 2014, 12:38 PM
TSmydragoon
post Aug 28 2014, 10:33 AM

7,044 posts

i guess i forgot about smart TVs... specifically... MiTV. i think it should be running Android.

there's also talk about OUYA being integrated with MiTV.

0.0571sec    0.21    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 09:05 PM