Model Kits Gundam & Mecha Modelling Thread V30, Excitement Embodied

ralph_d
post Jul 28 2013, 07:38 AM

847 posts

QUOTE(onnylam @ Jul 28 2013, 12:31 AM)
just wondering though; what if getting RG Strike with Skygrassper, and also HG Perfect Strike for the battery pack ONLY...
to create the Perfect RG Perfect Strike?  hmm.gif

but then, the next question is; can it be fitted to the RG? minor modding required maybe?  hmm.gif
won't fit, imo

ralph_d
post Jul 28 2013, 10:51 AM

847 posts

QUOTE(nazrul90 @ Jul 28 2013, 08:14 AM)
do you even know what battery pack is? doh.gif
not swapping Aile Pack but battery pack from HG perfect Strike

and someone already did it anyway
I know battery pack is only the white part, not the whole aile pack
I see, so someone did it already
I just started gunpla, sorry notworthy.gif
ralph_d
post Jul 29 2013, 01:17 PM

847 posts

you mean this?

ralph_d
post Jul 30 2013, 08:12 AM

847 posts

QUOTE(ralph_d @ Jul 29 2013, 01:17 PM)
you mean this?

i joked about doing that
and someone actually done it
bravo rclxms.gif

ralph_d
post Jul 30 2013, 10:04 AM

847 posts

QUOTE(sphiroth @ Jul 30 2013, 09:54 AM)
But then, it make a new gundam recognizable. I means that even at first glance, people can realized, 'hey, its new gundam', not transformers, SRW etc. Which is good for marketing. Its good for manufacturing also.
ralph_d
post Jul 30 2013, 12:20 PM

847 posts

QUOTE(TheAdmiral @ Jul 30 2013, 12:13 PM)
u dun need to slap on old design together to make it recognizable. What classified a gundam is just the head; v fin, mohawk, side vents, mouth piece, two-eyes, any combination of the 2 is enuf for ppl to recognize it.
wow you're right
like this fellow (actually one of my favourite biggrin.gif )
v-fin = checked
mohawk = checked
side vents = um... the gap between the mouth piece and mustache? checked biggrin.gif
mouth piece = checked
two eyes = checked
ralph_d
post Jul 30 2013, 07:20 PM

847 posts

QUOTE(sphiroth @ Jul 30 2013, 06:58 PM)
My RG Freedom and Justice has arrived.  rclxm9.gif

Now, which to assemble first.... sweat.gif Never bought more than one gunpla at one time laugh.gif
justice?
ralph_d
post Jul 31 2013, 09:52 AM

847 posts

out of curiousity, which one would you guys choose:
RG zeta or RG zeta-3?
ralph_d
post Aug 1 2013, 08:37 AM

847 posts

bought mark 2 titans yesterday
work in progress

nub marks, nub marks everywhere... does that indicate i need to change my cutter?
ralph_d
post Aug 1 2013, 09:45 AM

847 posts

QUOTE(rihuhs @ Aug 1 2013, 09:09 AM)
you might as well improve your nubmark-eliminating skills laugh.gif
maybe...
it's just that one thing that i can't help
see when you cut a plastic, particularly dark colored ones, part of it will turn white
my problem is, after i cut the part out, it turn to white color
i tried filing it with file, but that'll only make the plastic thinner, the white mark still there
when i cut the part out, i don't cut close to the part, i cut further down first, then i cut the rest later, just like how master Kawaguchi taught me biggrin.gif
ralph_d
post Aug 1 2013, 10:16 AM

847 posts

QUOTE(rihuhs @ Aug 1 2013, 10:03 AM)
I'm no master, what I usually do is;
- cut the part from the runner, leaving about a few mm of nub
- trim the nub with cutter, this time with a closer cut but not fully removing it out
- trim the remaining with a knife, making a clean cut
- touch it up with markers. for dark areas, grey sometimes works best

here's how it looks after being cut, before trimmed with a knife and touch-up:

and here's how it looks after being trimmed and touch-up:

QUOTE(HxiiiK @ Aug 1 2013, 10:05 AM)
it also helps to trim REAAALLLY slowly with a knife so your cut doesn't stress the plastic and make the area white... a sharp knife helps a lot too

mainly the white is due to the stress when you press against the part with the knife, due to the knife not being sharp enough or cutting too fast and pressing to hard on the ppart
i see, thanks for the advice, will try today with it's backpack and weapons
poor mk2, white patches all over biggrin.gif
and the rope thing at the leg keeps coming out
ralph_d
post Aug 1 2013, 03:02 PM

847 posts

QUOTE(rihuhs @ Aug 1 2013, 10:47 AM)
maybe you cut the mesh hose too short? hmm.gif
i cut exactly the length specified, use the ruler on the manual.
a question then, since i haven't assemble the backpack:
after everything is finished, is there any extra mesh hose left? i'm thinking of cutting it again.
otherwise maybe i'll just use a tape to tape both end of it... last time i see it looks like a flower on one end already biggrin.gif

ralph_d
post Aug 1 2013, 03:04 PM

847 posts

QUOTE(Agito666 @ Aug 1 2013, 11:04 AM)
too short or too long are not good. better cut exact length or spare 0.5-1mm only  unsure.gif

you can see AEUG one too long , TITAN one is a bit short, but thank god i got spare 0.5-1.5mm there tongue.gif

aeug indeed too long, but titans looks fine to me
ralph_d
post Aug 1 2013, 03:06 PM

847 posts

QUOTE(Agito666 @ Aug 1 2013, 03:04 PM)
left only around 5-10mm only.
just use glue on end of the hose, it doesn't affect one haha...if you read manual carefully.
i see
yea i know it doesn't affect, otherwise it'll be all over the place biggrin.gif
all RG have this kinda hose? or just mkII have?
saw Sharpie metallic marker just now, mkII got use or not?
ralph_d
post Aug 1 2013, 03:14 PM

847 posts

QUOTE(Agito666 @ Aug 1 2013, 03:12 PM)
Only MKII design for those la aiyo  laugh.gif

for my case i got paint some place on MKII, i sometimes didnt follow the manual to stick decal.
you compare your stock MKII and mine then you know where i paint extra place.
haha... i think if all RG got i pengsan already
thinking of collecting them all RGs

guess i'll borrow your pics for comparison then
ralph_d
post Aug 1 2013, 04:32 PM

847 posts

QUOTE(Agito666 @ Aug 1 2013, 04:20 PM)
suggest you buy 2 for 2 modes for display whistling.gif
thanks for sharing
ok i'll buy 2: zeta and zeta-3 rclxms.gif
ralph_d
post Aug 1 2013, 04:45 PM

847 posts

QUOTE(HxiiiK @ Aug 1 2013, 04:43 PM)
grrr.. u tempting me.. u sure ah best RG ever whistling.gif i had my eye on mkii for a while now, but thought wait for GP01 only la whistling.gif but hand itchy to assemble an RG now mad.gif GP01 faster come!
just get the mkii already, gp01 can wait biggrin.gif
ralph_d
post Aug 1 2013, 04:51 PM

847 posts

QUOTE(HxiiiK @ Aug 1 2013, 04:46 PM)
ihateyou.. and agito.. as i type this i am waiting for the seller to get back to me about the RG MKII
ralph_d
post Aug 2 2013, 09:20 AM

847 posts

MG Age-1 Titus @ RM98 worth it or not?
ralph_d
post Aug 2 2013, 02:27 PM

847 posts

QUOTE(Fairalien @ Aug 2 2013, 02:00 PM)