LYN Kia Cerato Owners CLub V1, 1.6 : Rm99,888, 2.0 : Rm118,888

3antz
post Sep 13 2014, 08:17 PM

206 posts

Hi there, just went to the showroom to checkout Cerato. still deciding between 1.6 and 2.0.
Does anyone know if the 5 years unlimited mileage maintenance includes both service, and oil? tq
3antz
post Sep 13 2014, 09:31 PM

206 posts

QUOTE(avenger242 @ Sep 13 2014, 09:30 PM)
As I know maintenance have to pay by owner.
You mean 5 years warranty?
yes that is correct. Example like Mazda offers free coverage for oil change, service fee ... etc. I was just wondering if it is the same

3antz
post Sep 17 2014, 11:15 AM

206 posts

hi all, do you think it is necessary to apply a paint coating when you first receive your new car? I'm surveying around but the prices seem to be very expensive.

Or can anyone suggest what should be done when you get your new cerato (apart from checking)?

3antz
post Sep 17 2014, 01:10 PM

206 posts

Thanks for your response perror. Perhaps it may be better just to resort to the usual clean and wax (Meguiars).

QUOTE(perror @ Sep 17 2014, 12:56 PM)
There are plus points and minus points of this bit. I believe most here have applied a coating, one way or another. The most important thing is to understand what the coating does and does not do for you and the potential limitations that may be imposed on you once it's applied.

I.e I have a friend driving a 3 year old Sonata that has Sierra Glow on it and it's got a 5 year warranty on the coating. He was complaining of water spots on his car and indeed his car looks like it's been hit with a severe case of chicken pox.

If it was an uncoated car, I offered to try the water spot remover from Meguiars. But since he's got a coating, he has to check what to do with the coating guys. Also there's no certainty that the coating is still there after so many years, and if none is left, the water spot may have etched the clear coat.

Coating is great in some ways, but could be a pain at other times. Just my 2 cents. I just don't fancy the fact that using a coating limits the potential products you can use to resolve defects or problems on your own, for example if you have a scratch, you can use ScratchX to remove it quite easily on any other car.
3antz
post Sep 18 2014, 08:47 AM

206 posts

QUOTE(mango27 @ Sep 18 2014, 03:42 AM)
Any recommendation where to install PPF?
Is it advisable to first polish/wax before doing PPF?
Since if dont do polish/wax/claying, the dirts be be stick underneath the PPF?
Normally PPF only install at front bumper? how about bonnet and side mirrors?
What's a PPF? Is that the plastic thingy they wrap the front bumper with?
3antz
post Sep 18 2014, 10:34 AM

206 posts

QUOTE(perror @ Sep 18 2014, 10:21 AM)
I did mine at G-Guard, Glenmarie. They have 2 options, xPel extreme and xPel ultimate which is the self healing film. The former is cheaper.

For me, the day I got my car, I straight away deposited it at their branch so I didn't do any polish or waxing before installing it. Perhaps if you've got some miles racked up, you may need to do some claying before installing or get them to do it for you at a price.

I installed mine on the bonnet, fenders, bumper, side mirrors, head lamps and fog lamps. You can tell them which area you want to install and which area you don't want.

Too bad they don't offer an A-pillar install otherwise I would have gone for that as well.
Hi Perror, can I know how much you paid for the PPF? sounds better than the coating
3antz
post Sep 18 2014, 02:03 PM

206 posts

QUOTE(perror @ Sep 18 2014, 10:55 AM)
The PPF came in at about RM3k which is quite pricy. Many say I could just respray the car once for that money.

I can't really comment on that because I don't have the price of a complete respray using proper paint and also with an oven baked clear coat, which is what the factory does. Also at least with the PPF, it protects against rust that normally accompanies a stone chip after a while.

Also the fact I don't need to skip a heartbeat whenever I happen to be behind a lorry or something and stuff comes flying to me. That makes it worth it.
Thanks perror. That's really useful info. Actually I might opt for that option too when I get my car.

Having read some reviews, I'm now contemplating between 1.6 and 2.0.
Is there a significant difference in FC between the 1.6 and 2.0 variants? I travel to Lumut quite a bit and the roads are filled with traffic lights. I wonder if 2.0 will be more efficient?

any advice?

3antz
post Sep 22 2014, 02:40 PM

206 posts

Hi all, does anyone know how long it usually takes for KIA to send the car from warehouse/production factory to the sales office? Waited for a week but no news from SA yet - kept telling me there's no confirmation yet.

Unfortunately i will be away for next few weeks hence would like to get it before I leave. Appreciate any advice.
3antz
post Sep 25 2014, 01:17 PM

206 posts

QUOTE(Buydirect @ Sep 25 2014, 01:08 PM)
What color did you book for from your SA? Usually, if there is stock, after paying the down payment and signing the bank agreement, you should be able to get the car within 2-3 working days. Yes, sometimes, the car is from the plant in Gurun, and the transportation via trailer may take time, especially if the number of vehicles designated for trailer is not full yet to begin the trip, for pure economic reason. Congrats anyway, and welcome to the K3 Club. Cheers.
Thanks for your message. Finally sorted out, car should be here tomorrow or early Sat. You're correct, the car is now ready but waiting for the transportation from Gurun. I hope it reaches on time. There're still more to be done after getting the car .... biggrin.gif
3antz
post Sep 25 2014, 05:19 PM

206 posts

QUOTE(donaldghtan @ Sep 25 2014, 03:37 PM)
Our new Cerato is installed with 3M tinting but we have difficulties going through Smart tag toll booths last night. Damn malu. Anyone out there have similar problems. Our old cars have no problem with VCool and CarCool tintings.
I also heard similar stories, apparently 3M film is thicker?!?

3antz
post Sep 26 2014, 09:24 PM

206 posts

Just got my 1.6 glittering metal ... it's a good car ...
3antz
post Sep 27 2014, 03:16 PM

206 posts

Does anyone know how I can change SpeedNavi to Papago? I was told by another SA that it can run Waze too?! :S
3antz
post Oct 13 2014, 04:43 PM

206 posts

does anyone know if it is possible to change the headlights of 1.6 to the same of 2.0? I like everything about my 1.6 but just the headlight.
3antz
post Oct 14 2014, 03:04 PM

206 posts

QUOTE(perror @ Oct 13 2014, 06:58 PM)
If you plan to change to HID, you're going to have to drill a hole in the headlamp housing as I recall. That might not be good for your warranty, but this is just what I've read so far.

Alternatively there's always the option to use those third party replacement halogen bulbs. I'm using Osram Night Breaker and it's great.
Thanks Perror, where did you get it fitted?
Silly me ... i thought i could just swap the headlamp with those of 2.0 ... haha
3antz
post Oct 14 2014, 03:37 PM

206 posts

Oh by the way, has anyone managed to fix the radio reception problem? I spoke to NZ galaxy at PJ and was told that it could be due to a cable issue. Swapping the cable from a 2.0 apparently fixes the issue. However they couldn't help me and divert me back to SC.

Called up Ipoh SC and they seem unaware of the problem :S bringing the car to SC again on Saturday to check.

Everything about the car is great except for the multimedia unit for being a pickle.
3antz
post Oct 24 2014, 02:01 PM

206 posts

I'm experiencing something similar as well but mine is more evident during the mornings. When I reverse the car from my porch, the suspension or 'something' gives out the exact sound. Hmm car is just a month old. I have nothing on my boot nor the anyone sitting on the back passenger seat.

On a separate note, which SC would you guys recommend?

I did my first service 1k at Glennmarie and was offered free wheel balancing. Unfortunately the wheel balancing was poorly done and when I accelerates to 100, the steering wheel starts to vibrate. Couldn't tahan as I travel a lot and went to a tyre shop to have it fixed. If you opt for the free wheel balancing, do consider thoroughly testing it smile.gif

QUOTE(dlwl @ Oct 24 2014, 04:32 AM)
Hi guys,

Been hearing some sounds lately from the back suspension, mainly from the left side of the back passenger seat. Usually I can hear it when the seat is occupied by someone, and when I go on bumps, i sometimes hear a knocking sound. At times when I the handbrake engaged, I can hear the "kruuk kruuk" sound as well.

Is it a normal issue or do I need to have it checked by SC?

*seldom have passengers at the back. I have a box in the boot, on the left side as well, but it isn't a very heavy box. Not sure if that is causing the suspension to have sounds sad.gif
3antz
post Apr 14 2015, 04:33 PM

206 posts

The battery issue will probably haunt us owners for quite a bit. K3 FB page is filled with complaints of batteries dying out and I noticed that many have not passed the 20k mileage and over/close to a year old.

My less than 6 months old (mileage >20k) cerato has been giving me mixed signals since the past few days. Strangely my driver side mirror refused to flip open after I start my car. I have to turn off the ignition and restart a couple of times before I could get it to work again. I tried the controls on the door panel and that didn't work. The passenger side mirror was working fine though. This happened twice on the same day. hmm.gif

And last night while I was driving home, I tried pressing the mute button on my steering but there was no response. The volume up and down button did not work either.

Could any of these be a sign that my battery is failing? Anyone encountered similar issues?

Along with some other persisting issues (moving driver seats and ngek ngek sound from fenders area) and now the possible battery issue, sometimes I just feel like giving up and get myself a new ride instead. But then I will lose out a lot and I really like the car ...

On a side note, some updates for members,

1. If you experience the ngek ngek (for the lack of a better word to describe) sound from the back when you go over bumps or while reversing, do consider sending your car to PJ red cube. They managed to fix mine but I have to leave the car there for a day. Same thing happened to another member previously and I followed his advice to bring it to PJ red cube. Ask them to check fenders too as well.

2. If you can afford the 2.0, please get the 2.0. I feel my 1.6 is a little sluggish especially when over taking.

3antz
post Apr 16 2015, 04:40 PM

206 posts

QUOTE(perror @ Apr 15 2015, 10:49 PM)
Congrats on your purchase. Wise choice indeed smile.gif

I think the battery issue is coming to a head as K3 starts to reach the 2 year mark in their lifespan. The issue plagues both 2013 and 2014 models, and I was concerned about it as well. Hence I had my battery checked during a recent service and got some inputs from the tech guys.

Basically as long you drive the car all the time, with some decent driving between starting and turning it off, the battery should last quite a while. During my 20K check, the battery was still relatively healthy. I do approx 40 -50 minutes of driving daily.
I think Perror is right... as long as you use the car daily or frequently it should be fine. As with most batteries, it needs to be recharged too.
3antz
post Apr 21 2015, 09:02 AM

206 posts

QUOTE(perror @ Apr 20 2015, 11:53 AM)
I was using the night breaker before this. It's quite good also although the Philips has a longer beam length.

Didn't go for Osram this time round due to it's relatively short life span (less than a year), which seems to be an issue with most Osram bulbs
Hi perror, can I know if bulbs are JPJ compliant? Thanks.

0.0679sec    0.91    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 07:05 AM