204 Pages « < 184 185 186 187 188 > » Bottom

LYN Kia Cerato Owners CLub V1, 1.6 : Rm99,888, 2.0 : Rm118,888

vivi99
post Feb 9 2015, 05:20 PM

484 posts

Hi, ive owned a kia cerato 2.0 full spec for almost 5 months now.
my problem is, previously the car was very reaponsive, throttle and torque feels great and it is very light. It glides through highway and the steering feels light and steasy
For the past 2 month, the accelaration feels slow and heavy, it revs a bit and even the steering feels heavier even in comfort mode. I really miss my kia cerato drive from the 1st time 1 bought it..anyone know what is the problem and how to solve it?
The service done according to time using fully synthetic oil.
Chester77
post Feb 9 2015, 05:23 PM

483 posts

QUOTE(perror @ Feb 9 2015, 11:47 AM)

Beyond that, know your driving. Our car has a torque converter lock up clutch that links your engine physically to the gearbox under certain conditions, minimizing losses due to inefficiencies of the transmission's torque converter. Under some situations, it is preferable to have it lock up as much as possible, whilst at other times, lock up may not be desired. I'm still trying to best balance this bit. But basically if lock up occurs, you will find you can't glide too far, but if it does not lock up, you can glide slightly further, but at the expense of a small amount of fuel.

How do you tell you torque converter has locked up? Don't quote me on this, but this is what I noticed. Just drive along, say around 80...let go of your throttle. If:

1) you still see your current fuel consumption has a small bar indicating some petrol being used, it means it has not locked up

2) if after letting go the throttle, the RPM drops to a very odd number that's not representative of the speed you are at. I.e if you are going at 90, the RPM should be around 2.3-2.5K RPM. If the torque converter did not lock up, it can drop to 1.xK RPM.

If you can manipulate the lock up to your desired behavior, I'm guessing it can help save some fuel, depending on situation. I.e, if I am on a long stretch, i'd rather have it lock up rather than not as there would be no power loss from the engine to the wheels. It's directly linked.

Hope this helps smile.gif
notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
New things learned on the lockup issue. rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif Never did notice the rpm at 80kmh. Anyway reset the ECU i think might be possible as from the day i got my car with 23L/100km, drove down to 8.9L/100 after refill and from there increase to 9.1 -10L till now. I'll try to max out the start stop fuel efficient technic and see if i could hit 8L reading or not on my next tank. hmm.gif
perror
post Feb 9 2015, 07:17 PM

1,883 posts

Depending on your mileage, it could be your engine oil. In my case, I found that as I reached 7-8K KM (almost time for service), Helix "fully synthetic" engine oil (Helix Ultra) starts to feel somewhat sluggish. Engine response slows, fuel consumption goes up slightly.

Not sure why the steering feels heavy though..

QUOTE(vivi99 @ Feb 9 2015, 05:20 PM)
Hi, ive owned a kia cerato 2.0 full spec for almost 5 months now.
my problem is, previously the car was very reaponsive, throttle and torque feels great and it is very light. It glides through highway and the steering feels light and steasy
For the past 2 month, the accelaration feels slow and heavy, it revs a bit and even the steering feels heavier even in comfort mode. I really miss my kia cerato drive from the 1st time 1 bought it..anyone know what is the problem and how to solve it?
The service done according to time using fully synthetic oil.
perror
post Feb 9 2015, 07:20 PM

1,883 posts

Thanks man smile.gif Hopefully it will be of interesting use for fellow owners.

Here's some tricks I found regarding the lock up:

1) The lock up engages based on engine load. If you are putting a lot of demand at that moment on the engine, the lock up will not likely occur.

2) Likewise, when you are undergoing very light engine load, the torque converter will more likely lock up

Hence, I try to keep my feet light on the throttle unless necessary and most of the time the torque converter locks up.

However, here's also another trick to lock it up. If you find that it's no locked up, just tap the accelerator lightly, give it a short amount of distance with light foot. It should lock up biggrin.gif

QUOTE(izputra @ Feb 9 2015, 03:36 PM)
Very2 good point bro. The way u elaborate it, i strongly believe u surely a technical man..engineer perhaps  nod.gif

I also prefer it locked up when gliding as it saves fuel (Current FC - no bar). Sometime people still believe that gliding in free gear (Neutral mode) is a fuel saving act, but infact..it's the other way round...
kentcvs
post Feb 9 2015, 07:25 PM

QUOTE(perror @ Feb 9 2015, 07:20 PM)
Thanks man smile.gif Hopefully it will be of interesting use for fellow owners.

Here's some tricks I found regarding the lock up:

1) The lock up engages based on engine load. If you are putting a lot of demand at that moment on the engine, the lock up will not likely occur.

2) Likewise, when you are undergoing very light engine load, the torque converter will more likely lock up

Hence, I try to keep my feet light on the throttle unless necessary and most of the time the torque converter locks up.

However, here's also another trick to lock it up. If you find that it's no locked up, just tap the accelerator lightly, give it a short amount of distance with light foot. It should lock up biggrin.gif
rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

blur19755
post Feb 10 2015, 12:13 AM

309 posts

Hi is there anyone having issue playing songs from your phone via bluetooth?
When first got my car, i tested it fine. After that my friend pair the console with his phone via bluetooth, it did not able to play any song even paired successfully. Tried remove the device from the bluetooth list, unpair from my phone, but i only to use the bluetooth calling function just not the song playing function.

Tried to look for factory reset on the console but there's no such function, is there anyone have any idea on how to solve this?
nebousuke
post Feb 10 2015, 08:54 AM

BlahBlah
944 posts

QUOTE(blur19755 @ Feb 10 2015, 12:13 AM)
Hi is there anyone having issue playing songs from your phone via bluetooth?
When first got my car, i tested it fine. After that my friend pair the console with his phone via bluetooth, it did not able to play any song even paired successfully. Tried remove the device from the bluetooth list, unpair from my phone, but i only to use the bluetooth calling function just not the song playing function.

Tried to look for factory reset on the console but there's no such function, is there anyone have any idea on how to solve this?
Did you by any chance, go into Keypad mode and pressed Mobile Media button?
blur19755
post Feb 10 2015, 11:38 PM

309 posts

QUOTE(nebousuke @ Feb 10 2015, 08:54 AM)
Did you by any chance, go into Keypad mode and pressed Mobile Media button?
Thanks bro!!! rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
It works! Now only i realized how noob am i.
WEE2000
post Feb 11 2015, 01:23 AM

217 posts

QUOTE(Buydirect @ Feb 5 2015, 01:14 PM)
average of 6.1L/100km. Go jalan2 a bit, today go to work at KL, park at top floor and now I get as below. 225km with 3/4 tank remaining and average of 6.8L/100km.. No speeding, cruising 90-110km/h and naik turun bukit sikit2.
Sorry buydirect, i not wanna bias this thread, but i cant just remain quiet.
U wont get this fc(6.x) for normal drive. i drive 50% hiway, 50% city. fc is 7.6-8.4, to me, driving in hiway for 90-110km/h is somewhat uncomfortable. I've seen many ceratos in hiway, i always had a sharp focus on them if i saw one. the cerato that i saw on PLUS hiway(from opposite head to head direction) is always on 3rd(fastest) lane. So dont expect to drive that slow, its not practical(maybe for me only). So many lorries/buses now staying on middle lane, i bet the most comfortable drive with cerato is on the fast lane, which might also b applicable to me only....

Cut short, typical u will get 7.x or 8.x fc.
ikhwanaim
post Feb 11 2015, 09:34 AM

hi... I'm interested in cerato k3.
please pm me for the best deal. Tq happy.gif
Chester77
post Feb 11 2015, 02:32 PM

483 posts

QUOTE(WEE2000 @ Feb 11 2015, 01:23 AM)
U wont get this fc(6.x) for normal drive. i drive 50% hiway, 50% city. fc is 7.6-8.4, to me, driving in hiway for 90-110km/h is somewhat uncomfortable. I've seen many ceratos in hiway, i always had a sharp focus on them if i saw one. the cerato that i saw on PLUS hiway(from opposite head to head direction) is always on 3rd(fastest) lane. So dont expect to drive that slow, its not practical(maybe for me only). So many lorries/buses now staying on middle lane, i bet the most comfortable drive with cerato is on the fast lane, which might also b applicable to me only....

I would say everyone have diff driving habits. Like if i have to drive light on every stop which i have to take 10 sec to go up to 40km/h while blocking traffic and getting honks, i prefer to screw the FC and suit to my driving.

It's all about driving habit VS FC, if u consider FC major part then driving to achieve the FC, if speed and pickup is what u want, then FC should not be main concern. Btw, for me to achieve a 8L/100 i'll need to drive very light on stops and not bump into jams. As i just pump my 3rd tank and took it for drive on highway, got 7.8L and in a 10min plus jam. The reading went up from 7.8 to 8.4 after 10mins. Very sensitive FC i would say.

Basically i try to change my mental to accept a 9-10L rolleyes.gif
wong88kc
post Feb 11 2015, 02:40 PM

malaysia road is pretty bad. got minor rattle sound is acceptable.
have u drive swift before, like i driving a lorry 1 ton.
dino_rongak
post Feb 11 2015, 03:48 PM

108 posts

QUOTE(wong88kc @ Feb 11 2015, 02:40 PM)
malaysia road is pretty bad. got minor rattle sound is acceptable.
have u drive swift before, like i driving a lorry 1 ton.
Cerato got issue with rattling noise meh? hmm.gif
wong88kc
post Feb 11 2015, 05:17 PM

minor la....10k mileage
Buydirect
post Feb 11 2015, 05:29 PM

135 posts

QUOTE(WEE2000 @ Feb 11 2015, 01:23 AM)

Yup agreed, your reading is more of a typical FC in most units.
yorkhan
post Feb 12 2015, 11:10 AM

598 posts

I drive 80% highway and 20% city, but luckily my highway is Elite, so theres no jam normally. i drive around 100kph middle lane and to conserve fc and to be on cruise control, it is very difficult to keep to 1 lane. I can get around 5.8L/100km on good days, but averaging is 6L. City drive is 9L averaging from others in the forum due to stop and go. the cars gear ratio feels sluggish due to car weight hence we tend to accelerate more increasing the fc haha. biggrin.gif

I'm still weighing on the option of accelerating fast to reach the speed i want or accelerating slowly up to speed i want to save fuel. smile.gif

Rattling noise in cerato there are many especially if your road is bad like mine. but always check for loose item especially the sunglass area first. others like the steering buttons of calling or the arrow up/down and enter, tweeter cover,center arm rest holder,seat belt area, HU plastic rubbing,door inside,behind meter, steering,door hinge, A-Pillar. u can hear alot or hear better early mornings when ur ears are clear. car is also quiet if not for the road surface or hard tires hence the sounds.

This post has been edited by yorkhan: Feb 12 2015, 11:11 AM
AlfredLoke
post Feb 12 2015, 11:12 AM

QUOTE(Buydirect @ Feb 11 2015, 05:29 PM)
Yup agreed, your reading is more of a typical FC in most units.
I have noticed that many Cerato owners are very concerned and disturbed with the FC displayed on the HU which actually is the current average FC at that moment of drive. The FC varies from time to time according to the road conditions and your habit of driving.

The FC is worst when the car is not moving with engine idling, aircon on especially during hot weather. You can see the FC figure jumps up scaringly fast. My baby ever went more than 15.0 ltr/100km. Why? because the fuel is being consumed without any mileage covered.

Well, with my K3 I have achieved less that 6.0 ltr/100km during driving on the inter-states 2-way roads at around 90 km/h without much stopping at traffic light junctions. Best testing is during driving on the highways with cruise control on. Setting the speed at 110km/hr can easily achieve less than 7.0 ltr/100km while speed set at 120km/h the FC goes beyond 7.0 ltr/100km. Obviously the higher speed set the higher FC would be. When you want to test out with your babies, alway reset the FC to "---" (meaning "0")before you proceed.

We are driving with mixed road conditions and habbits changing depending on the situation everyday. So it is more important and meaningful to find out the overall average FC. That can be done by, first, top up your fuel tank (capacity 50 ltrs) and reset either of the trip couter A & B to read "0". Then drive with your usual mode for a certain milage (say 50, 100, 200 or more km), then top up your fuel tank again and check out from the station meter's reading or the receipt on how many litres have been pumped in (or litres consumed). So divide the mileage covered by the litres pumped in or consumed and you will get your actual FC in km/ltr. To get the FC in ltr/100km, just divide the numberof litres consumed by the mileage covered and multiply with 100.

If your friends, driving different brands of cars, want to compare with your baby's FC. just follow the method mentioned, e.i. start and top up fuel from the same gas station, set each other's trip counter to read "zero", drive through the same route trailing each other and then stop and top up at the a same station..... No point boosting or assuming each other's FC being the best without actually proving it. One fact, a bigger cc car will not save more fuel than a smaller cc car unless it has special technology break through.

In this case I believe, oddly Cerato's (c-segment) FC can be as good as Vious's(b-segment) because Cerato has 6-speed transmission and low drag coefficient. Vious has only 4-speed.

This is just my personal view, correct me if I am wrong.
homonculus
post Feb 12 2015, 11:18 AM

95 posts

hi guys,WTA something. my bro in law's cerato k3 got one weird problem..when driving on straight road,let say in 100m got traffic light..
and just before the light,got one small pothole..while u press the brake pedal and the car goes into the hole there's some weird noise heard..
like something fall down and dragged along beneath the car..until the car stopped completely..

after that, like nothing happen..happened to me twice while i drive his car..anyone facing the similar prob?
yorkhan
post Feb 12 2015, 12:55 PM

598 posts

QUOTE(homonculus @ Feb 12 2015, 11:18 AM)
hi guys,WTA something. my bro in law's cerato k3 got one weird problem..when driving on straight road,let say in 100m got traffic light..
and just before the light,got one small pothole..while u press the brake pedal and the car goes into the hole there's some weird noise heard..
like something fall down and dragged along beneath the car..until the car stopped completely..

after that, like nothing happen..happened to me twice while i drive his car..anyone facing the similar prob?
is it like a klok klok sound?
ledtechn
post Feb 12 2015, 01:00 PM

60 posts

QUOTE(homonculus @ Feb 12 2015, 11:18 AM)

ABS most probably. when u are braking on a pothole, the friction between tyre and road contact will become less due to different height of the surface area. easily happen when u are hitting the pothole at fast speed and applying high braking force.

204 Pages « < 184 185 186 187 188 > » Top

0.0325sec    0.48    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 09:31 PM