32 Pages « < 22 23 24 25 26 > » Bottom

Can Avoid Astro or not?, Idea

klphang
post Mar 19 2014, 05:58 PM

143 posts

QUOTE(MasBoleh! @ Feb 28 2014, 02:12 AM)
I got local HuaHeeDai, but i want to let my parent to faster finish their super long-winded never ending taiwanese drama. lol
Taiwanese hokkien drama never end one lah. Haha. I recommend u download amo tv . Search it online and download the latest version. They have many source of taiwanese tv station. So u wont have problem of station offline. Try it. Avaliable in android and iphone/ipad (jail breaked).
MasBoleh!
post Mar 19 2014, 06:04 PM

3,599 posts

QUOTE(klphang @ Mar 19 2014, 05:58 PM)
Taiwanese hokkien drama never end one lah. Haha. I recommend u download amo tv . Search it online and download the latest version.  They have many source of taiwanese tv station. So u wont have problem of station offline. Try it. Avaliable in android and iphone/ipad (jail breaked).
Which mean i will able to watch Taiwanese TV station right??

I personally don't like to watch Taiwanese drama, boring plot and like you said never ending. Their graphic also looks outdated. Dunno why my parent so hook to it. sweat.gif

This post has been edited by MasBoleh!: Mar 19 2014, 06:04 PM
AVFAN
post Mar 19 2014, 09:54 PM

24,451 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Mar 19 2014, 04:26 PM)
Why wait, Just potong Astro and use the money to buy the above devices and upgrade to faster internet plan.
+100.

i potong 2 months ago. that alone paid for the cost of an adroidtv box!

seriously, if you have unifi or good broadband, astro is obsolete. there is a whole new world out there to explore.

at this time, there is already a lot to discover and enjoy. i expect a lot more to come in the near future. best to start now, whatever box or stick u like.
aeiou228
post Mar 19 2014, 10:55 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Mar 19 2014, 09:54 PM)
+100.

i potong 2 months ago. that alone paid for the cost of an adroidtv box!

seriously, if you have unifi or good broadband, astro is obsolete. there is a whole new world out there to explore.

at this time, there is already a lot to discover and enjoy. i expect a lot more to come in the near future. best to start now, whatever box or stick u like.
Enjoy the free contents now before internet service provider implement the FUP due to more awareness of such tv boxes by the public at large.
SKee7
post Mar 20 2014, 09:35 AM

I am new here.
WTA: Is there a way to watch China's CCTV4 without using Astro?
Thanks, Sifu-men.
klphang
post Mar 20 2014, 10:40 AM

143 posts

QUOTE(MasBoleh! @ Mar 19 2014, 06:04 PM)
Which mean i will able to watch Taiwanese TV station right??

I personally don't like to watch Taiwanese drama, boring plot and like you said never ending. Their graphic also looks outdated. Dunno why my parent so hook to it.  sweat.gif
Yup. U may watch almost all taiwanese channel whether its free to air or pay channel. Got some tw ch in hd quality.

Well. Most senior people like never ending story. The end means to much for them.
klphang
post Mar 20 2014, 10:44 AM

143 posts

QUOTE(SKee7 @ Mar 20 2014, 09:35 AM)
I am new here.
WTA: Is there a way to watch China's CCTV4 without using Astro?
Thanks, Sifu-men.
Many way to watch cctv china from ch 1 to 14 . Cloudtv. Amo tv . OTT box etc. U may also use free vpn to watch cctv at their official website.
MasBoleh!
post Mar 20 2014, 11:24 AM

3,599 posts

QUOTE(klphang @ Mar 20 2014, 10:40 AM)
Yup. U may watch almost all taiwanese channel whether its free to air or pay channel. Got some tw ch in hd quality.

Well. Most senior people like never ending story. The end means to much for them.
Noted. Thank you so much pal.

I tried to brain wash then so far not fruitful yet. sweat.gif even TVB also kinda boring for me.
Like a Bause
post Mar 20 2014, 01:51 PM

419 posts

hi guys.. im new to this media box.. just would like to know whats d difference between HiMedia and Minix android box ? i dun need function with 3D, just normal and HD will do.
yumchala
post Mar 25 2014, 07:01 PM

72 posts

Hi, any good vpn you guys can suggest? I have an android tv box but access to those china app, e.g. pps, youku is freaking slow/ blocked. heard that vpn can overcome this issue. and not sure can it be used in android box or not..
thoseeyes
post Mar 25 2014, 08:16 PM

365 posts

QUOTE(yumchala @ Mar 25 2014, 07:01 PM)
Hi, any good vpn you guys can suggest? I have an android tv box but access to those china app, e.g. pps, youku is freaking slow/ blocked. heard that vpn can overcome this issue. and not sure can it be used in android box or not..
ya...i like to know how to get the vpn also.....and good to see a lot of people already ditched astro...yeahhhhhh
AVFAN
post Mar 25 2014, 08:48 PM

24,451 posts

QUOTE(Like a Bause @ Mar 20 2014, 01:51 PM)
hi guys.. im new to this media box.. just would like to know whats d difference between HiMedia and Minix android box ? i dun need function with 3D, just normal and HD will do.
QUOTE(yumchala @ Mar 25 2014, 07:01 PM)
QUOTE(thoseeyes @ Mar 25 2014, 08:16 PM)
ya...i like to know how to get the vpn also.....and good to see a lot of people already ditched astro...yeahhhhhh
i'll share with u what i experienced in the last 3 months with himedia q5ii emmc on unifi 10mbps.

dumped astro a month ago, waiting for refund of partial month since they bill in advance.

with the latest 1.0.6 firmware, i am very satisfied:

.. comes with mangotv, a comprehensive china package with live tv stations, movies, tv series, some in hd. not everything work. i notice it works better in the day and after midnight, not so good in the evening.
.. comes with hitv - youku, vqq, qiyi, pptv, can install pps too. vqq, pptv, pps work good, the rest don't.
.. xbmc now works very well, 720, 1080 hd movies 24/7.
.. free content cloudtv is edgy - some channels get mixed up with others, some dun work. discovery hd world, fox sports work.

note1: i do not know the complexity of ip's, dns', proxies, vpn's.... i just google for tips and do what is recommended and viola! tongue.gif

note2: not advertising for any brand/model/seller - pls read the threads on whatever box is for sale and decide. i am only an enthusiastic user. biggrin.gif
aeiou228
post Mar 26 2014, 09:08 AM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Mar 25 2014, 08:48 PM)
i'll share with u what i experienced in the last 3 months with himedia q5ii emmc on unifi 10mbps.

dumped astro a month ago, waiting for refund of partial month since they bill in advance.

with the latest 1.0.6 firmware, i am very satisfied:

.. comes with mangotv, a comprehensive china package with live tv stations, movies, tv series, some in hd. not everything work. i notice it works better in the day and after midnight, not so good in the evening.
.. comes with hitv - youku, vqq, qiyi, pptv, can install pps too. vqq, pptv, pps work good, the rest don't.
.. xbmc now works very well, 720, 1080 hd movies 24/7.
.. free content cloudtv is edgy - some channels get mixed up with others, some dun work. discovery hd world, fox sports work.h
noteh1: i do not know the complexity of ip's, dns', proxiehhhs, vpn's.... i just google for ips and do what is recommended and viola! tongue.gif

note2: not advertising for any brand/model/seller - pls read the threads on whatever box is for sale and decide. i am only an enthusiastic user. biggrin.gif
How is unifi traffic to china sites? My Maxis fiber is slow.
Some contents cant load at all.
Discovery HD in cloudtv works.
Most Youku contents geo blocked and cant load.
I using MeLE with YunOS. Not android.
xngjn
post Mar 26 2014, 09:46 AM

1,239 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Mar 26 2014, 09:08 AM)
which mele u using? so far ok or not?
I just bought mele m9. not yet install apps.
venven81
post Mar 26 2014, 09:50 AM

375 posts

that's why free content doesn't provide you with stable connection to watch the live channels uninterrupted. it depends on what you want, free stuff and compromise on the viewing experience OR quality content with a small fee. there's always a choice. no right no wrong.
thoseeyes
post Mar 26 2014, 10:06 AM

365 posts

i wonder using a low end android player in comparing to high end player like Himedia q5II, will the low end player result bad connection and a lot of buffering and low quality when watching iptv channels especially those from china? Or the issues lies with the server of the provider has nothing to do with the device?

venven81
post Mar 26 2014, 10:22 AM

375 posts

QUOTE(thoseeyes @ Mar 26 2014, 10:06 AM)
i wonder using a low end android player in comparing to high end player like Himedia q5II, will the low end player result bad connection and a lot of buffering and low quality when watching iptv channels especially those from china? Or the issues lies with the server of the provider has nothing to do with the device?
having a better android box is definitely helping in terms of speed of downloading, switching channel etc but bad connection is mainly due to the server especially during peak hours when there are lots of ppl connecting to certain channels and that will certainly slow things down. therefore, connecting to better server/provider makes all the difference when watching iptv. you can ask around those who are happy with their free content and get their honest opinion on the connection stability and streaming smoothness
AVFAN
post Mar 26 2014, 11:18 AM

24,451 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Mar 26 2014, 09:08 AM)
youku for sure does not work well, whether built into firmware or separate apk. i gave up on it.
qiyi and a few others work sometimes
in my experience, vqq is best, work 95% of the time. but i have to say the built in version works better than separate apk, so cud be vpn at work...?
pptv and pps work well too, 90% of the time.
himedia also comes wit mangotv - the livetv channels work 50% of the time, streaming on demand 80% of the time, incl hd.
between those 4 sites, i have more than enough chinese stuff to watch.

cloudtv - i only watch a few of them - bloomberg, tlc, discovery hd, natgeo. the free contents are sometimes edgy but from the trials, i believe if u subscribe, the full package works well. but i don't need it as i prefer to stream on demand vs "live" like astro. also, i can get my fav channels foc elsewhere.

the mother of all of them is xbmc. this one offers a whole bunch of stuff for all in the family incl hd, a must to have working well. open source and foc. discussed in dedicated xbmc thread.

QUOTE(thoseeyes @ Mar 26 2014, 10:06 AM)
i dun think himedia q5ii considered high end... rm3xx isn't too costly given ac ryan veolo is rm7xx, astro monhtly charge rm1xx!
sure, it has great features - 3d, airplay, digital audio output, 3 usb ports - all very useful.

i think for a box/stick to work well, it is a combination of hardware, firmware, settings, broadband speed and the sites u access.
having tried couldtv premium, huluplus and nextflix, i can attest paid sites work better than free ones.
it is those free sites that you want working well too. that seems inconsistent across diff sticks, boxes and models.
i hv no idea what other free apps boxes/sticks come with, but himedia does a good job with mangtv and hitv chinese stuff - foc, which i think is the big benefit.
but if u dun care about chinese stuff, that wud not be appealing.

a fren of mine is looking a box can offers live tv channels from uk. not just bbc but the rest too. xbmc does not offer much.
anyone got a recommendation to look at?
xngjn
post Mar 26 2014, 11:50 AM

1,239 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Mar 26 2014, 11:18 AM)
youku for sure does not work well, whether built into firmware or separate apk. i gave up on it.
qiyi and a few others work sometimes
in my experience, vqq is best, work 95% of the time. but i have to say the built in version works better than separate apk, so cud be vpn at work...?
pptv and pps work well too, 90% of the time.
himedia also comes wit mangotv - the livetv channels work 50% of the time, streaming on demand 80% of the time, incl hd.
between those 4 sites, i have more than enough chinese stuff to watch.

cloudtv - i only watch a few of them - bloomberg, tlc, discovery hd, natgeo. the free contents are sometimes edgy but from the trials, i believe if u subscribe, the full package works well. but i don't need it as i prefer to stream on demand vs "live" like astro. also, i can get my fav channels foc elsewhere.

the mother of all of them is xbmc. this one offers a whole bunch of stuff for all in the family incl hd, a must to have working well. open source and foc. discussed in dedicated xbmc thread.
i dun think himedia q5ii considered high end... rm3xx isn't too costly given ac ryan veolo is rm7xx, astro monhtly charge rm1xx!
sure, it has great features - 3d, airplay, digital audio output, 3 usb ports - all very useful.

i think for a box/stick to work well, it is a combination of hardware, firmware, settings, broadband speed and the sites u access.
having tried couldtv premium, huluplus and nextflix, i can attest paid sites work better than free ones.
it is those free sites that you want working well too. that seems inconsistent across diff sticks, boxes and models.
i hv no idea what other free apps boxes/sticks come with, but himedia does a good job with mangtv and hitv chinese stuff - foc, which i think is the big benefit.
but if u dun care about chinese stuff, that wud not be appealing.

a fren of mine is looking a box can offers live tv channels from uk. not just bbc but the rest too. xbmc does not offer much.
anyone got a recommendation to look at?
Mango TV can install on others box?
thoseeyes
post Mar 26 2014, 11:50 AM

365 posts

i guess i need to upgrade my player then haha...thanks guys for sharing your experiences

32 Pages « < 22 23 24 25 26 > » Top

0.0330sec    0.49    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 05:34 PM