Mounting light to direct socket, how to do it?

TSmystvearn
post May 6 2006, 10:23 PM, updated 20y ago

6,639 posts

I want to place a light bulb from the power outlet directly and place a ON/OFF switch between it. The power connector will be ON all the time, but the light can turn ON/OFF. How to do this? What kind of switch?

PeowYong
post May 6 2006, 10:38 PM

PeowYong
2,263 posts

wut kind of bulb? and wut kind of switch u want?
there are quite a lot of switch to choose from...
those normal house light switch can?
TSmystvearn
post May 6 2006, 10:52 PM

6,639 posts

QUOTE(PeowYong @ May 6 2006, 10:38 PM)
wut kind of bulb? and wut kind of switch u want?
there are quite a lot of switch to choose from...
those normal house light switch can?
Normal switch, or door kind of switch, where you open the door and the bulb will light up. That normal mentol. The one you use at your gates/toilet/etc. So normal switch la. smile.gif
ianho
post May 6 2006, 11:41 PM

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

QUOTE(mystvearn @ May 6 2006, 10:52 PM)
Normal switch, or door kind of switch, where you open the door and the bulb will light up. That normal mentol. The one you use at your gates/toilet/etc. So normal switch la.  smile.gif
Whattttt??????? U wanna use a normal light bulb in ure case? Those bulbs run really hot. It's gonna heat up ure case temps n dont forget it consumes a lot of electricity too.
Gamer
post May 7 2006, 12:00 AM

Be Original
3,366 posts

those is AC bulb, dangerious ler, or u mean the led on/off switch.
SUSAllnGap
post May 7 2006, 12:44 AM

[ Modding with Passion(tm) ]
4,561 posts

wanna try custom made USB LED light ??? tongue.gif tongue.gif

just joking.....

actually, it's pretty simple.....but getting the rite components is hard.

This post has been edited by AllnGap: May 7 2006, 12:45 AM
empire23
post May 7 2006, 02:08 AM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

just buy a lightbulb socket and a simple 13A switch from pasar road, you can't go wrong.
bombman
post May 7 2006, 02:27 AM

Xtreme Modding™
991 posts

Get the switch (typical one used on walls in home, 2gether w/ da box), 3pin plug, bulb holder (depending on type) & wires.

Make sure u connect the rite wires to terminals yea smile.gif
silllver
post May 7 2006, 04:46 AM

1,298 posts

Not any switch, the switch must rated 230V. Also must get proper insulation.
Mavik
post May 7 2006, 04:42 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

If you are getting a bulb get a fluorescent light, save you power. Get one of those Phillips energy saver lights.

As for the switch, you can get them from any hardware store.
TSmystvearn
post May 7 2006, 08:22 PM

6,639 posts

QUOTE(ianho @ May 6 2006, 11:41 PM)
Whattttt??????? U wanna use a normal light bulb in ure case? Those bulbs run really hot. It's gonna heat up ure case temps n dont forget it consumes a lot of electricity too.
Maybe I have not tell anyone the whole story. I am planning to mount a light in the custom store, since "general discussion" is too general, and I think this is the best place to place the question. The last time I did place a CCFL in my case with that weird wiring which turned off the whole pc laugh.gif Since this is some kind of modding, I think its quite relevant...unless mods say no. Sorry bout that, but this project still requires drilling to walls, wood, sawing, making a switch-basic jobs of the CCFL mod plus much more.

QUOTE(Gamer @ May 7 2006, 12:00 AM)
those is AC bulb, dangerious ler, or u mean the led on/off switch.
So its not dangerous now la.

QUOTE(bombman @ May 7 2006, 02:27 AM)
Get the switch (typical one used on walls in home, 2gether w/ da box), 3pin plug, bulb holder (depending on type) & wires.
I think I know the switch, I am more clueless about the wires and wiring

Make sure u connect the rite wires to terminals yea  smile.gif
AC has right terminals?
zahri
post May 7 2006, 09:34 PM

Do You Feel LuCKY PunK ?
1,526 posts

QUOTE(mystvearn @ May 7 2006, 08:22 PM)
Maybe I have not tell anyone the whole story. I am planning to mount a light in the custom store, since "general discussion" is too general, and I think this is the best place to place the question. The last time I did place a CCFL in my case with that weird wiring which turned off the whole pc laugh.gif Since this is some kind of modding, I think its quite relevant...unless mods say no. Sorry bout that, but this project still requires drilling to walls, wood, sawing, making a switch-basic jobs of the CCFL mod plus much more.
So its not dangerous now la.
AC has right terminals?
What he meant with the terminals is,

connection the wires right.

EARTH wIND AND fIrE

EH WRONG...

Earth to earth, Live to Live , Neutral to Neutral biggrin.gif
TSmystvearn
post May 8 2006, 12:31 AM

6,639 posts

QUOTE(zahri @ May 7 2006, 09:34 PM)
What he meant with the terminals is,

connection the wires right.

EARTH wIND AND fIrE

EH WRONG...

Earth to earth, Live to Live , Neutral to Neutral biggrin.gif
just like that? I was thinking of something harder.

From the on/off socket, a 3 PIN PLUG, then the normal 3 WIRE E,N,L, then the SWITCH, then WIRE some more, THEN BULB?? just like this? i thought it was hard sweat.gif
TSmystvearn
post May 13 2006, 02:23 PM

6,639 posts

Here is a rough sketch. I talked to some pro, he ask me to do this kind of wiring. The Earth is connected to the light, but not to any source, just leave it there. Its some sort of precaution... I don't know why. He says its some kind of standard earthing.

The only thing which I am not sure is what wire. Since I am placing a switch, that normal grey wire will not work, I've seen the wire, someting called "3 lembar" Maybe 3 strands of wires? What kind of wire should I get. I am connecting this to the 240V now.
Also is there any difference between bulb and florecent lighting?
LanEVOchris
post May 13 2006, 10:49 PM

861 posts

i dun think so
TSmystvearn
post May 14 2006, 08:19 PM

6,639 posts

^ then give solutions
silllver
post May 14 2006, 11:47 PM

1,298 posts

The green (Earth) Connect to casing. If no casing just leave it.
TSmystvearn
post May 15 2006, 07:51 PM

6,639 posts

Yes just place it inside the casing, but not connected to any terminal
silllver
post May 17 2006, 02:37 AM

1,298 posts

QUOTE(mystvearn @ May 15 2006, 07:51 PM)
Yes just place it inside the casing, but not connected to any terminal
not place inside, connect it to casing doh.gif the metal/iron body.
bombman
post May 17 2006, 02:46 AM

Xtreme Modding™
991 posts

QUOTE(silllver @ May 17 2006, 02:37 AM)
not place inside, connect it to casing doh.gif the metal/iron body.
Yea, not just leave it so. Ground it

Bout the terminals, the top is Earth (E), left is Neutral (N) & right is Live

Normal color code : Green, Blue & Red/Brown respectively.

In case of any confusion, use the test pen. Only the Live terminal 'll light it

0.0182sec    0.49    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 05:57 PM