Pet Help How much to maintain a German Shepherd?, Cost of maintaining a German Shepherd.

TSbasilpaschal
post Jun 17 2013, 03:59 PM, updated 12y ago

178 posts

I am thinking of getting a german shepherd puppy. What should I expect in terms of cost? What are the future costs when the dog is older? Please help me. I love to have this dog and it is one of my dreams in life.
TSbasilpaschal
post Jun 18 2013, 10:50 AM

178 posts

QUOTE(vincentwee @ Jun 18 2013, 08:22 AM)
Frankly speaking , maintain a GSD is cheaper than rabbit smile.gif
My current cost for adult GSD is btw RM $80 a month. Adult only eat once a day, 1 cup. Brand Eukanuba Lamb. 15 kg dry food can lasts 2 month. Once a month I feed it HeartGard (a recommend pill for dogs by vet).

As for vaccine, once a year for adult - around $80. For puppy, need check with vet. If not mistaken, during the 2 years of puppyhood, it must be taken vaccine for at least 5-6 times.

Get MKA cert puppy GSD. It will reduce the risk of getting bad genes GSD.

I didn't give treats to my dog anymore (used to do it during obedience training). However, I try feed it once a week (if possible), pig bone (leg part) $2 a piece from pasar. Dog love to chew pig bone but make sure it is cook.

Puppy Cost  = Average $150 - $200 (month), Average $5 (a day)
Adult Cost    = Average $80 - $150, Average $2.6 (a day)
Own a GSD ultimate challenge is not about the cost but exercise them everyday. Everyday I cycle with my dog and make sure it release its energy. It do the normal routine where it will mark its territory by urine at the park. You need to spend times exercise your GSD everyday if possible.

Try watch Caesar Millan Dog Whisper from Astro 553 , Wed night before you get a dog. I never experience own a dog and my first dog is a GSD. I used Dog Whisper methods.
Dear vincentwee,
Thank you so much for the info.
Now I am more confident in owning a GSD.
TSbasilpaschal
post Jun 21 2013, 08:29 AM

178 posts

Please help I need more opinions.
TSbasilpaschal
post Jun 21 2013, 11:23 AM

178 posts

QUOTE(dishwasher @ Jun 21 2013, 09:59 AM)
http://www.reddit.com/r/puppy101

Look at the right side, under "BEFORE YOU POST A QUESTION". Before you even think about getting a GSD, think about whether you can handle a puppy. Can you socialize it? Can you afford it? Are you going to wake up nightly and let it out to do it's business? Keep in mind that cost isn't just food and vaccination. What if the dog gets sick? Can you spare 2000 ringgit for an emergency vet visit?

Also, have you read up about the GSD as a breed itself? All health problems, including the hip problems plaguing the breed? How about its energy requirements? Can you afford the time to play with it and tire it out? Keep it occupied? the GSD is a working dog, and it will need much more exercise than a little toy dog.

Also, note that male GSDs are supposed to weigh 35–43 kilograms, according to standards. This may vary, but 27 kgs really strikes me as underweight. Even my old Jack Russell ate more than a cup of kibbles a day, and that's a breed that's a quarter the size of a GSD, so take the cost with a pinch of salt. It'll be close to 200 a month if you feed it quality kibbles, and 300 if you go for the top end.

p.s. Please don't feed cooked bones to dogs. Cooked bones are prone to splintering, and if a dog swallows a piece, its gonna pierce its guts and then you're in trouble. Raw bones are always better, and even then only certain pieces.
Thanks for the info.
1. What does "socialize" mean?
2. Could you name the common health problems.
3. Please elaborate on the 'hip problem".
4. What exercise and how long does the GSD need.
5. What do you feed a GSD, the frequency per day?
6. What type of bones and what quantity for GSD?

Awaiting your informative reply.
TSbasilpaschal
post Jun 21 2013, 03:08 PM

178 posts

QUOTE(xecton @ Jun 21 2013, 01:54 PM)
Don't keep a dog, or any other pets (except pet rock).
You can google up all those questions that you are asking, but you expect people to spoonfeed you the answers.
It shows that you have a low interest level in the dog. It shows that you don't have the drive to learn more.
Soon you'll be asking why your dog is not active like last time, but won't bring it to the vet for whatever reasons.
I thought you would be helpful.
Well I guess not.
Good-bye.
TSbasilpaschal
post Jun 21 2013, 03:10 PM

178 posts

Are there actual owners of a German Sheperd who could provide me more info on what to expect in having a GSD as a pet...really appreciate the info.
TSbasilpaschal
post Jun 21 2013, 04:03 PM

178 posts

QUOTE(dishwasher @ Jun 21 2013, 03:53 PM)
Xecton has a point you know... I already provided you a link with information on taking care of puppies. There's a link right there about socialization and why its important, did you read that?

Rather than just being hell bent on getting a GSD, you seriously need to read up about puppies, then you can consider whether you actually have the commitment to take care of one. If you can't even google basic information or read provided links, why would anyone have confidence in your ability to have a pet dog?
I value experience more than theory. The questions are straight forward. If you have an answer please reply.Otherwise, please don't waste your time and mine.
TSbasilpaschal
post Jun 25 2013, 01:34 PM

178 posts

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Jun 23 2013, 02:44 PM)
You clearly have an attitude problem. You are rude and disrespectful, yet expect to be spoonfed like a King.

When one is seeking for help, one must be nice to others, not the other way round.
Why would you waste your time. If you want to help, answer my questions. Otherwise, keep minding your own business.
TSbasilpaschal
post Jun 27 2013, 08:54 PM

178 posts

QUOTE(vincentwee @ Jun 27 2013, 07:47 PM)
Fresh pic, just took it while I cycle with him at BU park. He is 2 years old.
What a beautiful GSD. Congratulations, you must love him very much.
TSbasilpaschal
post Jun 28 2013, 02:29 PM

178 posts

QUOTE(vincentwee @ Jun 28 2013, 08:50 AM)
Based from kian26, i fall under i) & ii). when i wan to get my 1st dog 2 years ago, the petshop recommend me a MKA cert GSD straight away ..initially i wanted to get Rottie....he said GSD is smart and loyal...1st time owner will have less difficult... if i don watch Caesar Millan shows that time, i will not dare to get a GSD... while 1st time own a dog, i begin to implement Caesar teaching (Astro 553)... of course, i also enroll my puppy for Basic Obedience class where learn the basic command and understand more about dogs from trainer.. that is a bit of investment...i socialize my dog by bringing him to 1Utama Central Park to met other breeds... even at his age 2, whatever breed he meet, he is friendly
You are my guru vincentwee. You have given me the confidence with your knowledge and experience. You are a true guru my friend.
TSbasilpaschal
post Nov 4 2014, 02:09 PM

178 posts

QUOTE(daylight_dancer @ Nov 3 2014, 12:25 AM)
While I realise this thread is old, I've got a couple of things I'd like to add:

1) do not buy a puppy from he petshop. even with the MKA cert, it could come from bad genes. I'm sorry vincent, you do not know what you're saying.
2) Find a reputable breeder. Means one who gets their dogs genes tested for things like hip dylapsia. I didn't do this. My Golden retriever (MKA certified) was born with an ectopic ureter. genetic defect. I spend 2k on surgery because I love her and she's perfect to me in every other way. Just that she leaked urine and it cause her to smell and get urine burns. She's 7 now. Still has a weaker bladder but no longer leaks like a broken faucet.
3) DO NOT EVER GIVE YOUR DOG COOKED BONES. Once again, vince, I'm looking at you. RAW bones only. Dogs have a very acidic stomach. This isn't a problem. COOKED BONES CAUSE CHOKING. Raw bones (hard ones) clean teeth. My dog gets pig bone marrow once a week (very cheap, RM6-7 for a HUGE pc). Her teeth get a good cleaning that way.
4) Grooming. Now for a GSD, I suppose because their fur isn't too long, daily brushing is good enough. Trim his nails weekly. You'll be glad you did, but please, be careful. Don't cut it too short and make him bleed (happened to me before, too, I use coffee powder to stop the bleeding)
5) Socialise. I've seen GSD pups who are very nervous. They're smart dogs, but they need to be socialised when they're young. Meaning, if you've a friend who has big breed dogs (around the same age, preferably), get them to meet you outside, on neutral ground. Introduce the dogs slowly. Keep a close watch. Otherwise, you can even take him for obedience class.
6) He's going to be a little destructive for a while, but be patient. Be stern and patient. Don't hit him, don't yell at him. It's hard, I know, I sometime sell at my Golden girl too. Usually just a 'who did it' in a stern voice gets her hiding.
8) Also someone suggest that yearly heart worm prevention- check with your vet. It's a good idea actually.
9) Year booster shots once the pup reaches 1.
10) No human food. High premium kibble, and sometimes raw meat (beef, lamb, chicken), raw liver, boiled carrots and potatoes. (trust me, this is good food, their fur will be awesome)
10) Brewers yeast tablet. THESE ARE AMAZING. Somehow they prevent ticks, and also the dog's fur will be nice and glossy. You should see my girl's fur. So thick, so fluffy.
These are things I can think of from the top of my head. I've had dogs for more than 20 years. smile.gif
Thank you so much.

0.0204sec    0.62    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 11:51 AM