News Y510p FHD 4700MQ GT755m@3399; i7 GT755X2 W8.1@3999, Y510p/Y410p add on gpu GT755M5/GT755M4 ^

ghyeng
post Dec 7 2013, 09:34 PM

178 posts

Anyone know which store in lowyat / digital mall / any areas nearby Petaling jaya (easy to reach with lrt) or seremban that has the new y510p gt755m single GPU in stock? Went to PC fair today and there's only old 750m model (and they don't even know about the 755m model at all).......
ghyeng
post Dec 7 2013, 09:46 PM

178 posts

QUOTE(ErgoProxi @ Dec 7 2013, 09:40 PM)
out of curiousity.
r they sell @ old prices too ?
They are selling at about 3299 (and stating the rrp is 3399).
ghyeng
post Dec 7 2013, 10:14 PM

178 posts

QUOTE(ErgoProxi @ Dec 7 2013, 09:53 PM)
y510p with single gt750m? shakehead.gif
Yep. That was the price they offered before bargaining though, but I didn't bargain as I feel the final result would be pretty much a rip off too.
Now I'm thinking that if I were to wait would it be better for me to wait for Maxwell GPU (8xx series) as it was rumored that there would be a major performance boost and is coming in q1.
ghyeng
post Dec 8 2013, 05:53 PM

178 posts

QUOTE(yeokz @ Dec 8 2013, 02:26 PM)
hi,im planning on getting a y510p this month,so id like to know,is the one with single gpu gt750m 3399 or 3099??or is it 3399 now and will drop to 3099 soon? i read the first page,i might be buying from IT ONE Superstore at 1utama,(cuz i work at 1u oso so might be convinient if anything happen) but they still selling gt750m at 3399
From what I know, the model with 755m is the latest batch that will replace the 750m and will be priced at 3399.
The model with 750m will be phased out eventually and will drop in price, to 3099 or somewhere around that.

Currently only a handful stores have ready stock of y510p 755m, and some stores let you order them too (different stores different story, some stores says will arrive in 1 week, some stores says next year *which is stupid*).
I'm looking for ready stock of 755m model of y510p too. sad.gif
ghyeng
post Dec 8 2013, 06:20 PM

178 posts

QUOTE(themarksman @ Dec 8 2013, 06:04 PM)
hi guys, i bought a y400 a few months ago that came with a 500gb hard disk and a removable optical drive. im planning on migrating to SSD but im not sure how i can replace the optical drive with a hard disk. is there any kind of bay im supposed to purchase for this? cheers
Y400 should have a msata slot if I'm not wrong. You can use a msata SSD.
ghyeng
post Dec 8 2013, 06:25 PM

178 posts

QUOTE(yeokz @ Dec 8 2013, 06:20 PM)
they so smart man,i call them up to ask,when they will get the gt755m batch,they telling me,it doesnt exist,and never will have gt755,only 750.not that they will never have it,they saying it will never exist.WOW.
Exactly what happened to me with the "part-time" salesmen in PC fair and some other stores. doh.gif
A guy in All IT @ Digital Mall even tells me that the 755m batch will be priced at "3 thousand 4 hundred or 5 hundred plus (and the old 750m will remain 3399).
ghyeng
post Dec 8 2013, 06:30 PM

178 posts

QUOTE(yeokz @ Dec 8 2013, 06:27 PM)
i feel like printing all the info and shit from google and slap his face with it.now,roughly when you guys think gt755m will reach most of the stores in MY?
2 weeks I assume, that's what most stores tell me. hmm.gif
ghyeng
post Dec 8 2013, 07:36 PM

178 posts

QUOTE(haziq259 @ Dec 8 2013, 07:33 PM)
bro have stock for Y510p(59-394411) i7-4700MQ + GT755m(GDDR5)/Intel HD4600 + (1920x1080)@RM3399[2.7kg], 8GB, 1TB, W8.1, red backlit, swappable ODD, 120w psu, 2 yrs reach malaysia???
do you accept trade in with lenovo y580???
This is not a selling thread. mega_shok.gif
ghyeng
post Dec 8 2013, 08:37 PM

178 posts

QUOTE(haziq259 @ Dec 8 2013, 07:46 PM)
really sorry bro...juz want to ask if the stock have reach malaysia....
Some of them should have arrived already, as some stores already have ready stocks.

QUOTE(motherker @ Dec 8 2013, 08:07 PM)
guys, does the y510p single gpu come with bundled dvd drive?
QUOTE(motherker @ Dec 8 2013, 08:07 PM)
any stores that are selling y510p for 2999 as claimed in lenovos latest brochure?
The Single GPU model comes with an optical dvd drive installed in the ultrabay slot. It can be removed and be replaced by other components like second GPU (for SLI), HDD etc if you want to upgrade in the future.

And where did you see the latest brochure saying y510p for 2999? blink.gif
ghyeng
post Dec 8 2013, 08:57 PM

178 posts

QUOTE(motherker @ Dec 8 2013, 08:52 PM)
on the first page, brochure from ALL IT.
its the 750gt version.
That is a very old flyer even before Y510P's price hiking up to 3399.
ghyeng
post Dec 8 2013, 10:23 PM

178 posts

QUOTE(motherker @ Dec 8 2013, 10:05 PM)
ic. oh man sad.gif
one more thg, can i fix a msata ssd into msian set which does not originally come with ssd ?

some ppl claim that theres no msata slot on certain models.
You can't fit a msata HDD/SDD in either of Y410P or Y510P.
Y410P has a NGFF (or also called M2) port as claimed by the lenovo resellers. You can put the suitable 42mm NGFF SSD in it. However it is still a new factor and not many 42mm NGFF SSD are out there in market as of now. They will become more and more popular in future I guess, as their speed is better than sata.
Y510P do not have any additional port. You can only put your SSD in the sata slot that the original HDD is using, and put the HDD in the ultrabay (requires a caddy bay, replacing the optical dvd drive).

In short, for local set
Y410P : 1 SATA (occupied with original HDD) + 1 NGFF
Y510P : 1 SATA (occupied with original HDD)

Correct me if I'm wrong as these are the info found from web and resellers and not self checking.
ghyeng
post Dec 8 2013, 11:07 PM

178 posts

QUOTE(Nxxbkiller @ Dec 8 2013, 10:47 PM)
Wow, price between 750m and 755m pretty big different (RM300)..
How about the performance?
Well I do my comparison based on notebookcheck review for these two GPUs.
http://www.notebookcheck.net/NVIDIA-GeForc...0M.90245.0.html
http://www.notebookcheck.net/NVIDIA-GeForc...M.102020.0.html

There should to be a minor to moderate FPS improvement.
You can always overclock a 750m to a 755m, however.

In the 755m review the laptop model used is a Y510P with 755m GPU anyway, which should be with very similar if not the same specification with the latest batch of local set.

This post has been edited by ghyeng: Dec 8 2013, 11:10 PM
ghyeng
post Dec 8 2013, 11:21 PM

178 posts

QUOTE(Nxxbkiller @ Dec 8 2013, 11:17 PM)
Damn, I can't decide whether should I take 750m or 755m?
If it is around RM3100, I sure take 755m
Well I'm expecting the best price for 755m and 750m should be around 3200 and 3000 respectively. (750 price should be dropping constantly when 755m released i think)
If I find a good offer of 750m below 2900 then I would take it lol, or to see if Illegear offers good christmas promotion haha. rclxms.gif

If you plan on getting an ultrabay to upgrade in future I would suggest getting 755m as the reseller tells me that 750m ultrabay addon will be phased out.

This post has been edited by ghyeng: Dec 8 2013, 11:22 PM
ghyeng
post Dec 10 2013, 03:26 PM

178 posts

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Dec 10 2013, 03:05 PM)
Ehh no la, I haven't bought any laptop yet, now still hunting for one tongue.gif

And yes, definitely will get an SSD for it smile.gif
go big and get a samsung evo 840 1tb brows.gif
ghyeng
post Dec 10 2013, 04:41 PM

178 posts

QUOTE(Gabbidon @ Dec 10 2013, 03:32 PM)
The problem is SSD disk space is always not enough  sweat.gif  sweat.gif

I would prefer able to run slow + fast SSD at the same time... doh.gif
You can always choose alternatives such as Toshiba's or Seagate's hybrid SSHD or WD black square HDD+SSD dual drive.
Or go for an expensive 500gb/1tb samsung 840 evo.

And well, the lack of msata/NGFF factor in local set Y510p is still making me hesitate for it.
Maybe will wait for next Y series instead lol and hope there'll be ngff connector in it.

This post has been edited by ghyeng: Dec 10 2013, 04:43 PM
ghyeng
post Dec 10 2013, 05:26 PM

178 posts

QUOTE(Halo_2012 @ Dec 10 2013, 05:22 PM)
that is rumor that the new y510p (gt755) does come with NGFF port.
i am still not sure blush.gif
Edit: nvm
Really? Then it would be great...

This post has been edited by ghyeng: Dec 10 2013, 05:28 PM
ghyeng
post Dec 10 2013, 09:27 PM

178 posts

QUOTE(wengjoe @ Dec 10 2013, 08:48 PM)
you could use SSD for OS, software & games,

add another caddy bay with a 1TB or 2TB, there you go.
not an alternative for SLI model though.
ghyeng
post Dec 12 2013, 09:20 PM

178 posts

QUOTE(khairullz @ Dec 12 2013, 01:48 PM)
guys, the ssd will really boost the performance?

i'm using y500 btw, playing bf4 is acceptable but not satisying enough.

so the ssd as the storage of the game? or OS?
ssd mostly boost your startup/shutdown time, softwares and games loading time (like opening microsoft office, loading a game map etc.
it wont have much effect for game graphic performance
ghyeng
post Jan 22 2014, 02:13 PM

178 posts

QUOTE(navysealsniper @ Jan 22 2014, 11:15 AM)
yea, i tried Y410P US set before with 1600x900 resolution (matte screen), looks much better than my local set Y410P 1366x768 resolution, even when watching full hd movie or gaming, much greater viewing experience  laugh.gif

too bad it is only available for US set haha  cool2.gif
wait for next generation Y40 lor, 1920x1080 FHD, haha

0.0568sec    0.60    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 09:20 PM