Travel Travel To Japan V3, Info on pg1

torres09
post Nov 12 2013, 06:49 PM

577 posts

Damn altho I just came back from Seoul last month, I miss my 2008 Japan trip even more after seeing those pictures.
is really a beautiful country...
torres09
post Nov 20 2013, 04:31 PM

577 posts

Todaiji! The first place i saw snow in my life!
torres09
post Nov 21 2013, 07:09 AM

577 posts

QUOTE(babygrand123 @ Nov 21 2013, 03:06 AM)

backpack = flexible time but high-cost
Tour      = Rush but save cost
Er... u sure this is true? For me there are 3 types:
Backpack - flexible, low comfort, low cost
Free and easy - flexible, medium comfort, medium cost
Tour - not flexible, good comfort, high cost

i always go free and easy. Cos i like to hunt for cheap airfare (full service), and reasonable hotel (not hostel), experience local way of life (train, bus, and most importantly walking), eating at local places.
Not to mention i can customise my own itinerary smile.gif
Maybe u should try do some simple free and easy trip, like Bangkok where there are already tons of info available. Give it a try amd you may like it!
torres09
post Nov 21 2013, 11:15 AM

577 posts

QUOTE(little ice @ Nov 21 2013, 10:25 AM)
if you follow tour, you'll never get to see the way of life of the local people, which can be VERY rewarding.

i would also hunt for restaurant that's hidden and mostly only local patrons. they're mostly surprised to see gaijin waltz into their restaurant and you can see they're as nervous lol. and you'll get to enjoy food that's different than commercialized restaurants. i often find small restaurants serve food with better or unique taste. not to mention tours will not bring you to famous (and truly good) restaurants cause queuing the line is a big no no for tight schedule. biggrin.gif
Exactly... during my trip to Osaka, i had problem locating my hotel and i approached a lady selling pancakes at the train station.. with my limited Japanese and my hotel check in voucher (i forgot to print map doh.gif ) she manage to understand me and pointed the correct direction.. i was embarrased but she was more sorry in not able to converse to me in English!
torres09
post Nov 23 2013, 06:04 PM

577 posts

QUOTE(studentsurvey @ Nov 23 2013, 02:07 AM)
Hi Guys,
I would be staying first in osaka (near kyubashi station) for 2 days and then i thought of staying in kyoto for 2 days and back to osaka (daily trip to kobe) for another day before coming back.
One of the two days in kyoto, we will be going to mount hiei and nara with our kansai 3 days pass.
Since we have the pass, now i'm thinking of whether to stay in osaka straight for all 5 days and do daily trips to kyoto, mount hiei+nara, and kobe.

Is it far for mount hiei from kyobashi station?
My advice is if u have big luggage, dont bother switching hotels. I made osaka my base for 7 nights and travelled to kyoto nara and hiroshima. I had JR pass so just use the trains to the max.

torres09
post Nov 23 2013, 11:50 PM

577 posts

QUOTE(kwai222 @ Nov 23 2013, 08:38 PM)
I normally use courier service, namely, Yamato Ta Q Bin, to deliver my luggage from hotel to hotel. For example, from Kyoto, I would courier the bulk of my luggage to my hotel in Osaka and just only carry enough clothes for my in between trip to Shirakawago. The courier is very efficient and professional, they even wrapped my luggage bag fully in plastic to protect from rain.
Is it the one with the black cat symbol?
I have used it once during my biz trip, yes it ia very efficient. But since the question was from osaka to kyoto 2 days then back to osaka, my opinion is no need so troublesome as distance is not really far by train.
torres09
post Nov 26 2013, 02:02 PM

577 posts

QUOTE(noonies_naruto @ Nov 25 2013, 08:54 PM)
hi there japanese sifus!

yesterday was the airasia sale and i got myself a ticket to Osaka next year on December. Will be traveling for 17 days.

On the first week, I plan to go to places like Fukui, Fukuoka, and Tokyo and lastly back to Osaka.

Do u think i shud get the JR pass? its only going to be for one week, but I am unsure if i could better get by if i only purchase the per trip train ticket. I also realized that there is a normal and green pass. Is it that important for me to get the Green pass?

Someone also suggested me to take the bus. How feasible would that be?

Sorry but i really have no experience riding either long distance train nor buses. Last time i went to tokyo was 2 years ago, and it was only tokyo.
beauty of airasia. This year dec also haven't arrived, u bought tickets for next year dec.. haha
anyway, hope u got a great fare and enjoy the year long planning!

torres09
post Dec 6 2013, 09:49 AM

577 posts

QUOTE(haruu @ Dec 5 2013, 11:26 PM)
I'm planning to go to Nagoya during sakura season next year. My gf lives there and it'll be our first meeting. I've been searching for a flight to take and there's only two options I could find which is AA and Singapore Airlines. My gf works at the Chubu Centrair Airport (Nagoya) and I thought it's best to take a direct flight. Is there any Lyn members familiar with that place? I was thinking to take AA but then again I dislike seat with a small space like those domestic flights for a long journey. AA offers premium seat but I don't know how big the space is or how comfortable the seat is. I'd like to get a comfortable seats as I will be travelling alone, daydreaming before reaching there.  laugh.gif  Would be reaaaaally helpful if any seat sifu in here can give me some guide/help/knowledge.  laugh.gif
Took SQ to Centrair back in 2010, very comfortable flight.
if you are subscriber of CX special, they currently have promotion to Nagoya at rm1500, transit in HK. Not that bad at all.
hope it helps.
torres09
post Dec 28 2013, 10:07 AM

577 posts

QUOTE(kyenli @ Dec 28 2013, 03:48 AM)
Anyone celebrated New Year in Japan before? I will be there in Osaka for this coming new year. Read that there will be big sales...something like US' black Friday.
I celebrated new year with my gf (now wife) in Osaka 3 yrs ago. Didnt notice any particularly big sale event..
we just bought our bento dinner (like a New Year festive pack) and went back to hotel to enjoy. Cos everywhere was so packed with people.

0.0421sec    0.34    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 04:22 PM