Travel Travel To Japan V3, Info on pg1

bijoumerchant
post Sep 11 2013, 12:33 AM

23 posts

Greetings to Japan masters,

post my itinerary below, pls advise...... icon_question.gif

Day 1
Arrive 22.25 pm - Sleepover Kansai Airport hotel - cause next morning need to collect 3 pass next morning, also staying in namba so i rather collect at Kansai airport than other station

Day 2
Kansai Airport - Osaka

Day 3
Osaka - Kanazawa

Day 4
Kanazawa - Shirakawago
Shirakawago - Kanazawa
Kanazawa - Osaka

Day 5
Osaka - Kinosakionsen

Day 6
Kinosakionsen - Osaka

Day 7
Osaka Namba - Nagashima Spa Land, Nabano No Sato
Nabana No Sato - Osaka Namba

Day 8
Osaka - KL

Spending 4 Night in Osaka so i do not have to lug my luggage around (keep at hotel)
Thinking of doing Takayama but felt it is a bit rush, so will leave it for my Tateyama alpine trip nexy round

any pointers or tips would be deeply appreciatted biggrin.gif
bijoumerchant
post Sep 12 2013, 12:18 AM

23 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Sep 11 2013, 09:01 AM)
Yeah......you are the first person here mention on Tateyama Alpine Route.    thumbup.gif 
Yeah......You also the first person here reach Osaka that didn't go Kyoto & Nara.  thumbup.gif 

Most the placed you visit are on Center part of Japan. If me I will set my Hotel and main point at Nagoya.
Since you reach Kanazawa.  Want go Fukui also?   Fukui got the best seafood of Japan Sea + Japan Best Pork Rice (Katsudon)
Thanks for the tip, will check out fukui... rclxms.gif

my partner likes to shop from cheap things to branded sweat.gif , so i think osaka as base will be better? is shopping in Nagoya good?

i am already planning my 2015 trip which covers Takayama, Toyama, Tateyama Alpine Route, Kamikochi, Matsumoto, Hirayu, Nagano, Jidokudani Monkey Park.....etc etc. maybe then i will station at nagoya

eh Master RegentCid can ask ah? fukui got dinosaur museum and Eiheiji Temple, is there any other attractions?

This post has been edited by bijoumerchant: Sep 12 2013, 12:36 AM
bijoumerchant
post Sep 12 2013, 12:22 AM

23 posts

QUOTE(mat sputnik @ Sep 11 2013, 09:13 AM)
You go Kanazawa? Very good, was there 2004. Historic place, go visit the Samurai quarter, also the big nice ancient garden.
you mean Kenrokuen and Nomura House, yep will definitely go thumbup.gif
bijoumerchant
post Sep 12 2013, 10:27 PM

23 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Sep 12 2013, 09:03 AM)
The best are Tojinbo cliffs, Cherry Tree Tunnel ( sakura blom season only), Asuwayama park, Echizen coast, ichijo falls.
Tateyama Alpine route closed from 1st of Dec to 1 April.    Best time visit Tateyama route are 5th of April.  Peak season but Snow wall also the best time.
Thank You biggrin.gif
bijoumerchant
post Sep 24 2013, 01:22 AM

23 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Sep 11 2013, 09:01 AM)
Yeah......you are the first person here mention on Tateyama Alpine Route.    thumbup.gif 
Yeah......You also the first person here reach Osaka that didn't go Kyoto & Nara.  thumbup.gif 

Most the placed you visit are on Center part of Japan. If me I will set my Hotel and main point at Nagoya.
Since you reach Kanazawa.  Want go Fukui also?   Fukui got the best seafood of Japan Sea + Japan Best Pork Rice (Katsudon)
Would like to ask all you master notworthy.gif some question on the Train pass.

Looking at my itinerary i plan to buy

1)Kintetsu Wide 5 Day Pass 5700yen - for one day train ride to Nagashima and back, also for the Nankai Airport Express to and fro (And No i am still not planning to stay in Nagoya cause short of time)

2)Kansai Wide Pass (4 Days) 7000yen - for to and fro halfway train ride Osaka to Tsuruga and buy ticket to Kanazawa from Tsuruga, also for to and fro Osaka to
Kinosakionsen

3)Osaka Unlimited Pass 1 day 2000yen - to travel to osaka aquarium, use on santa maria cruise, ferris wheel, umeda sky building, HEP ferris wheel and
dotonbori river cruise

Would appreciate any advice or suggestion icon_question.gif

This post has been edited by bijoumerchant: Sep 24 2013, 01:30 AM
bijoumerchant
post Sep 24 2013, 11:09 AM

23 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Sep 24 2013, 09:54 AM)

Emm....your Info are not complete.  
First Nagashima Station only can get thru from Nagoya Station. mean you have to Go Nagoya Station from Osaka City.  Ya...your Kintetshu Wide Pass are important.  You can ride Kintetsu Limited Express from Namba Station to Nagoya Station with this pass.

Note: Choose Wisely. Because Kintetsu Pass for Limited Express, You only can ride 3 times only.  So 2 times is for Namba > Nagoya > Namba.  SO to Nagashima Station you either choose limited express going or back to Nagoya.
Other Stuff.....is quite ok...
Kinosaki onsen more detail info:
From Shin-Osaka Station take JR kounotori Limited Express to Kinosaki Onsen Station.

Kanazawa Station Info:
Since you going Kanazawa. Your Starting point at Osaka Station.   No point going Tsuruga first. Because you from Osaka to Tsuraga also using Limited Exprss thunderbird.  This Thunderbird are going Kanzawa also...all the way to Toyama.  Ya JR kansai Wide Pass not cover all the way to Kanazawa.   But get down at Tsugara buy ticket to Kanazawa again by using Next Thunderbird train quite waste time.     Yes you save money  but you waste another 1 hour
Thanks for your quick response. pls let me clarify..

1) I am taking the kintetsu limited express from Osaka Namba station - Kuwana Station and from Nagashima Station - Kuwana Station - Osaka Namba, so i will be using the limited express 2 times only. In fact i am not stopping in Nagoya but before Nagoya. My destination is Nagashima Spa Land and Nabana No Sato light show.

2)I actually intend to take the JR rail to Kinosaki Onsen from Osaka Station. i am departing around 7 am from Namba Midosuji Subway - Umeda Station. Would it be hard i.e. jam packed with people, can't even get on the subway train? would walking to umeda be better?

3)I have actually checked at japan.guide.com, it seems that it is possible to just sit in the Thunderbird and pay the ticket inspector for the ticket from tsuruga to kanazawa (you also can pay at kanazawa station), so i do not have to go down the train, just want to double confirm with you because you are the master mah notworthy.gif . me first timer, don't know if everything check on the net updated or not so must ask master icon_question.gif

Thank you

This post has been edited by bijoumerchant: Sep 24 2013, 11:10 AM
bijoumerchant
post Sep 24 2013, 12:10 PM

23 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Sep 24 2013, 11:28 AM)
1) First Point are Limited Express from Namba Osaka to Nagoya no stop at Nagashima Station.  But it stop at Kuwana Station.  From Kuwana Station have to take Local train to Nagashima Station which one stop away from Kuwana Station.  using the limited express 2 times only....Namba to Kunawa back to Namba

2) Is Shin-Osaka Station not Osaka Station.  If you want to take JR kounotori Limited Express to Kinosaki Onsen Station. About People...You have to arrange what best suit u on that day.  Umeda & Namba Station are Key Station...Always Jam packed with people.

3)  Due to Seat Reservation problem.  You have to get down from Tsugara Station.  But there is one way to ask at Osaka JR ticket counter.  You tell them From Osaka to Tsugara will using Pass. I want to buy the ticket from Tsugara to Kanazawa.  Buy the ticket at Osaka instead buy at Tsugara Station.  If the ticket officer dunno any english then u are Fxxx
Thanks again rclxms.gif

2)eh i meant osaka umeda JR station, Shin-osaka is 3 more station away right? any suggestion on transport namba - umeda? should i depart earlier before 7 am, because i heard osaka peak hour starts at 7 am?
bijoumerchant
post Sep 24 2013, 02:13 PM

23 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Sep 24 2013, 12:22 PM)
Why make thing so complicated?    At Namba Station just take Midosuji Line (Subway) Line No1 Code M.  All the way to Shin-Osaka Station.  If alot people just wait until ur turn to get onboard.

Note: This line are Osaka Subway Line...not Cover by any JR pass.

This is the peak hour at Namba Station
Thank you biggrin.gif
bijoumerchant
post Sep 24 2013, 02:15 PM

23 posts

QUOTE(illegaldragon87 @ Sep 24 2013, 01:36 PM)
Hyperdia

try using above link to plan ur route... if u need help when u at japan, jus dl their apps... 30 days trial version... it helps a lot in saving time n money...  laugh.gif  laugh.gif  laugh.gif
thanks biggrin.gif
bijoumerchant
post Oct 13 2013, 11:07 AM

23 posts

Any master can help me out? icon_question.gif

looking for a hotel as near as possible to nagoya train station at a budget of 12-13k yen for twin room, any recomendation?

being studying tripadvisor, all the nearest hotel within my budget has so so review only rclxub.gif except Meitetsu New Grand Hotel which have no review.

Thank You

bijoumerchant
post Oct 13 2013, 10:24 PM

23 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Oct 13 2013, 11:59 AM)
Aim for those Toyoko Inn , Dormy Inn , APA nagoya Hotel.

each night 7000 - 10000 yen
thanks for your kind guidance, good chain hotels. rclxms.gif

It is just that i am looking for a little bit newer hotel to stay in like the Meitetsu New Grand Hotel or Daiwa Roynet Hotel Nagoya Shinkansenguchi.

Any one stay before?
bijoumerchant
post Oct 13 2013, 10:45 PM

23 posts

QUOTE(cloudwan0 @ Oct 13 2013, 12:47 PM)
Nah use this to filter the price and hotel available near Nagoya station  icon_rolleyes.gif
Hotel combined
Thank you too biggrin.gif
bijoumerchant
post Oct 17 2013, 12:14 PM

23 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Oct 17 2013, 11:41 AM)
Tokyo Disneyland sienz.....for kiddo only.

I more Prefer Nagoya Spaland.   From this thred since V1 to today V2....everyone just say Disnedland Disneland ....USJ USJ.....sienz....those all for Kiddo!!!

Real Stuff at Shizuoka Fuji Q & Nagoya Spaland.   This 2 are the real sh!t Theme park.   No one ask these 2 at all..... shakehead.gif  shakehead.gif

is Nagoya Spaland the same as Nagashima Spaland? thrilling rides, wonder if my heart can take it sweat.gif ,

It a theme park cum onsen spa hotel cum mitsui factory outlet and the famous nabana no sato (at least to the japanese) all in one place.

This post has been edited by bijoumerchant: Oct 17 2013, 12:16 PM
bijoumerchant
post Dec 20 2013, 01:11 AM

23 posts

Hi all Japan sifu notworthy.gif

Need to ask some question about shopping and the premium or factory outlet in around osaka japan :-

1) from what i gather from researching, the outlets in japan is not really cheap. Does this mean i can buy the same thing cheaper from i.e. Takashimaya or Isetan when the dept store is having sales?

2)If in osaka, are they any resources in the web, whether is there any sales on going by this dept store or big brands?

3)Are there any other good place to shop for bargains other than location that is listed in japan guide?

4)I read in some forums, that some tourist from taiwan or hong kong would order online certain products and send it to their hotels. what is good to buy online in japan?

Thank You

icon_question.gif

This post has been edited by bijoumerchant: Dec 20 2013, 01:16 AM
bijoumerchant
post Dec 20 2013, 10:03 AM

23 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Dec 20 2013, 08:00 AM)

As usual fast and efficient answer from the master notworthy.gif

can help a bit on second and third question, try "homework" on web since August but cannot find answer......... icon_question.gif

maybe i lack googling skill blush.gif

Thank you

0.0583sec    0.31    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 02:57 AM