124 Pages « < 35 36 37 38 39 > » Bottom

Travel Travel To Japan V3, Info on pg1

mat sputnik
post Sep 5 2013, 01:58 PM

13 posts

RT @typhoonfury: What a week for Japan! Numerous tornadoes, a strong earthquake, Sakurajima volcano smashing car windows & severe tropical storm Toraji!
susruk
post Sep 5 2013, 02:45 PM

QUOTE(GravityFi3ld @ Sep 5 2013, 12:32 PM)
Is the Tokyo Auto Show the same as Tokyo Motor Show?  blush.gif
Cause according to this link here, Tokyo Motor Show,  the event is 22 Nov 2013 to December 2013. I guess you'll only know the 2014 event date after the 2013 one is over? hmm.gif
No, TAS n TMS is two different event.. TAS is more to modified cars n that's what im looking for brows.gif cool2.gif
btw thanks for the research biggrin.gif
mihawk
post Sep 5 2013, 08:06 PM

302 posts

QUOTE(mat sputnik @ Sep 5 2013, 01:58 PM)
RT @typhoonfury: What a week for Japan! Numerous tornadoes, a strong earthquake, Sakurajima volcano smashing car windows & severe tropical storm Toraji!
Fuh, lucky, I just got back 2 days ago notworthy.gif
Brandonn
post Sep 5 2013, 09:33 PM

715 posts

Spread of Radioactivity
Brandonn
post Sep 5 2013, 09:51 PM

715 posts

Iodine-131, for example, can be ingested into the thyroid, where it emits beta particles (electrons) that damage tissue. A plague of damaged thyroids has already been reported among as many as 40 percent of the children in the Fukushima area. That percentage can only go higher. In developing youngsters, it can stunt both physical and mental growth. Among adults it causes a very wide range of ancillary ailments, including cancer.

Cesium-137 from Fukushima has been found in fish caught as far away as California. It spreads throughout the body, but tends to accumulate in the muscles. [Half life of Cesiun is about 30 years].

Strontium-90’s half-life is around 29 years. It mimics calcium and goes to our bones.

Read the Whole Text Here

Half life refers to the amount of time needed for the radioactive materials to halve their radioactivity. That is to say, even after 30 years (for Strontium or Cesium), the remaining radioactive material which has halved in its radioactivity is still strong enough to affect health.

The effects of radiation will create effects which cannot be seen or detected in the short term, unless the exposure is extremely intense. Most people will not even know it, and you will see the effects years later surfacing as cancer and malfunctioning or organs.

In my view, Japan is no more safe in our lifetime. It is a real pity as it is a beautiful country.

Japan will not be issuing free visas so easily to Malaysians and Thais if it is not trying to save its dying tourism. Years ago, in its heydays, Japan does not even want tourists from poor SEA countries, and opened up all bags of Msians at its immigration customs.

I will be offensive here: Only kampong folks who has not seen much of the world is jumping onto the seemingly cheap (japanese yen) touristic destination.

It is your life, you decide. I only mean well for my fellow Msians.

alan_kong84
post Sep 6 2013, 12:05 PM

96 posts

leaving malaysia to tokyo next month d. and my passport is new 1. since visa exemption liou... do i need to bring other documents?
hihihehe
post Sep 6 2013, 12:25 PM

13,786 posts

anyone can recommend me a nice hot spring that have a nice view like mt fuji view?

probably better that is a hotel with hot spring outside the room
RegentCid
post Sep 6 2013, 02:44 PM

グローバル防衛構想
4,060 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Sep 6 2013, 11:25 AM)
anyone can recommend me a nice hot spring that have a nice view like mt fuji view?

probably better that is a hotel with hot spring outside the room
Search for your self .....Do the homework
cloudwan0
post Sep 6 2013, 03:20 PM

236 posts

hi, planing to go japan on next year april, which day in april is best for sakura?
from osaka - tokyo - osaka better or tokyo - osaka - tokyo?

i will be visit tokyo - hakone - nagoya - kyoto - osaka, izzit 10 days enough to visit those place? any attractions must go/recommend?
lowyatter
post Sep 6 2013, 05:07 PM

70 posts

QUOTE(Brandonn @ Sep 5 2013, 09:51 PM)
Iodine-131, for example, can be ingested into the thyroid, where it emits beta particles (electrons) that damage tissue. A plague of damaged thyroids has already been reported among as many as 40 percent of the children in the Fukushima area. That percentage can only go higher. In developing youngsters, it can stunt both physical and mental growth. Among adults it causes a very wide range of ancillary ailments, including cancer.

Cesium-137 from Fukushima has been found in fish caught as far away as California. It spreads throughout the body, but tends to accumulate in the muscles.  [Half life of Cesiun is about 30 years].

Strontium-90’s half-life is around 29 years. It mimics calcium and goes to our bones.

Read the Whole Text Here

Half life refers to the amount of time needed for the radioactive materials to halve their radioactivity.  That is to say, even after 30 years (for Strontium or Cesium), the remaining radioactive material which has halved in its radioactivity is still strong enough to affect health.

The effects of radiation will create effects which cannot be seen or detected in the short term, unless the exposure is extremely intense. Most people will not even know it, and you will see the effects years later surfacing as cancer and malfunctioning or organs. 

In my view, Japan is no more safe in our lifetime.  It is a real pity as it is a beautiful country.

Japan will not be issuing free visas so easily to Malaysians and Thais if it is not trying to save its dying tourism. Years ago, in its heydays, Japan does not even want tourists from poor SEA countries, and opened up all bags of Msians at its immigration customs.

I will be offensive here: Only kampong folks who has not seen much of the world is jumping onto the seemingly cheap (japanese yen) touristic destination.

It is your life, you decide.  I only mean well for my fellow Msians.
Do more research. This image has already been proven to have no substance.

http://www.snopes.com/photos/technology/fukushima.asp

http://blogs.scientificamerican.com/observ...ma-death-study/

Don't believe me? Find me a report from a reputable news site carrying this story. www.commondreams.org? WTF is that?

For those who are still worried about radiation, take a look at this article.

http://www.pbs.org/wnet/need-to-know/the-d...ndy-guide/8124/

If you stand next to Fukushima Daiichi, yes, you will die, very horribly. But even spending a couple of days near Fukushima will still not expose you to a huge amount of radiation.

I will be offensive here, only kampung folk like you who are ignorant and afraid of everything will go around fear-mongering and spouting nonsense.

This post has been edited by lowyatter: Sep 6 2013, 05:21 PM
RegentCid
post Sep 6 2013, 05:56 PM

グローバル防衛構想
4,060 posts

Important news here:

Today officially govt ban all seafood from Aomori, Morioka, Sendai, Fukushima, Ibaraki and Chiba.

Due to seriously leak radiation water into sea.

So far no effect on sea which near to Tokyo & Hokkaido

This post has been edited by RegentCid: Sep 6 2013, 05:59 PM
lucaswjk
post Sep 6 2013, 06:19 PM

~im coming~
3,817 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Sep 6 2013, 05:56 PM)
Important news here:

Today officially govt ban all seafood from Aomori, Morioka, Sendai, Fukushima, Ibaraki and Chiba.

Due to seriously leak radiation water into sea.
So far no effect on sea which near to Tokyo & Hokkaido
good news... icon_rolleyes.gif
but as precaution, im still going to avoid all sushi
ky_khor
post Sep 6 2013, 09:40 PM

No.22
894 posts

Please refrain from leaving your house as the chances of you getting hit by a car in Malaysia is still higher than getting harm by radiation in Japan.

I'll keep you informed if any of my Japanese friends, or any of the thousands Malaysians studying/working there start glowing.
BlueTicket
post Sep 6 2013, 09:48 PM

74 posts

QUOTE(ky_khor @ Sep 6 2013, 09:40 PM)
Please refrain from leaving your house as the chances of you getting hit by a car in Malaysia is still higher than getting harm by radiation in Japan.

I'll keep you informed if any of my Japanese friends, or any of the thousands Malaysians studying/working there start glowing.
it's not about glowing but there's a rumor that people cannot have babies for 2 years after visiting Japan. Not sure how true it is but I hope it's not true bcoz i have booked flight ticket to Japan. Still considering to cancel it or not. Anyway, I'm thinking ppl keep saying dunwan go japan but they seem like say so bcoz it happened in Japan. Let's say if it happened in Penang, they refuse to go to Johor although it's miles away but ok going to Thailand although sum places are nearer to Penang.
zstan
post Sep 6 2013, 10:07 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(BlueTicket @ Sep 6 2013, 09:48 PM)
it's not about glowing but there's a rumor that people cannot have babies for 2 years after visiting Japan. Not sure how true it is but I hope it's not true bcoz i have booked flight ticket to Japan. Still considering to cancel it or not. Anyway, I'm thinking ppl keep saying dunwan go japan but they seem like say so bcoz it happened in Japan. Let's say if it happened in Penang, they refuse to go to Johor although it's miles away but ok going to Thailand although sum places are nearer to Penang.
Cancel la. the rumour is true. Go there come back will become wolverine.
mat sputnik
post Sep 6 2013, 10:20 PM

13 posts

Maybe go Japan come back get mutant baby, good, no?
lucaswjk
post Sep 6 2013, 10:24 PM

~im coming~
3,817 posts

seriously if this happen in 2011...
i will advise ppl to skip japan. totally 100% support it.

but now... i think it very hard to argue wit ppl with cockroach brain...
those ppl oni read few headline without understand the content and behave like midage aunty... trying to gossip and create rumors... and advice ppl to skip japan sweat.gif doh.gif sweat.gif doh.gif sweat.gif doh.gif

pls la show me ur proof, b4 u said u support da rumors
otherwise u r just butthurt
investor77
post Sep 6 2013, 11:46 PM

Lestary 1987.- No of days to spend at the cities depends on what you want to see and do, and whether you want to move around with your lugguage after you checked out. Check out time is mostly 11 am the most.

Our group chose 4 nights in Tokyo, staying in Shinjuku, near to JR station, and 4 nights in Osaka, Ark Hotel, Shinsaibashi, where from Shin Osaka, take the Midosuji line straight to Shinsaibashi Station, then use underground Crystal Nagahori shopping walkway, and walk to Nagahori side, exit 4, and you will be at the Hotel's door !! The buffet breakfast at 1000 Yen is really worth it.

In Osaka, we spent 1 day in Kyoto, 1 day in Hiroshima and the rest in Osaka On hindsight, should have spent 1 day in Kobe since it is a good shopping area, nice cheap beef and it is covered by JR Pass. Arashiyama in Kyoto is a must , including eating green tea ice cream, and the bamboo grove. Osaka cast le is the most impressive whereas the Kyoto castle, you have to do lots of walking around the building. Summer is definitely hot and humid.

To me JR Pass is useful as we saved valuable time, walk thru the manned counter and just show the pass, and they let you pass. With the Pass, can even go to Gifu, Nagoya, Nara, KYushu, etc. It is worth the amount paid since you can use the JR Osaka loop and from Tennoji connect to Kansai Airport.

About Radiation from Fukushima, we travel only to Tokyo and moved south, moreover none of our members are pregnant, so not an issue.

For food, breakfast will normally cost around 500 Yen for bread with tuna, etc and coffee latte at Doutour. Lunch and dinner is also not expensive, around 1000 Yen per person for a set. We normally order the set, and then share it for the two of us, one eat the rice, another the ramen. Eating is never a problem as most train stations have lots of restaurants for you to choose. Avoid Chinese restaurant at Tennoji Station, as I felt the price is more expensive than normal. Dinner set - Chanko is also on the high price side.

At peak season, better to reserve your seat on the hikari, otherwise no need to reserve as they have non reserved coach also. Should you go to Tokyo, then experience Toyota Web at Odaiba. If you go to Tsukiji market, use the Shiodome exit, use underground passage to reach it , and Panasonic showroom is also nearby.
hihihehe
post Sep 7 2013, 07:32 AM

13,786 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Sep 6 2013, 04:44 PM)
Search for your self .....Do the homework
Ok nice. So is it wrong to ask for the recommendation of the resort that some people might have been there before?

What is the point of this thread then? Just don't reply if you don't bother to help.
Red cherry
post Sep 7 2013, 08:45 AM

QUOTE(Red cherry @ Sep 4 2013, 09:40 PM)
what do you think about this:

4TH OCTOBER 2013, FRIDAY
ODAIBA
Transportation: Shinagawa -> Oimachi Station -> Rinkai Line
REFER TO ODAIBA ATTACHMENT

FUJI TV AREA:-
*Decks Tokyo Beach – indoor theme parks: Legoland Discovery Centre, Madam Tussauds Wax Museum, Trick Art Museum
*Aquacity Odiaba – Shopping Mall : 5th Floor=Ramen theme Food court, nice view of Rainbow Bridge from the wooden deck in front of Aquacity.
*Divercity Tokyo Plaza – unique attraction=Life Sized Gundam statue, 2nd floor=THE DAIBA – rare Giant Rainbow Pocky + several limited Glico items
*Museum of Maritime Science –

PALETTE TOWN:-
Venus Fort – Shopping Mall: 1st floor=Hello Kitty Kawaii Paradise
*Daikanransha Ferris Wheel  ¥900
5TH OCTOBER 2013, SATURDAY

SHIBUYA
Transportation: Shinagawa -> Shibuya (Shinjuku Line/JR Yamanote Line)
REFER TO SHIBUYA  ATTACHMENT

SHOPPING:-
*Shibuya 109 / Ichi Maru Kyu – trend setting complex
Tokyu Hands – Creative Life Store (like Daiso) – 8 floors – famous for souvenirs
Loft – similar to Daiso & Tokyu Hands
Parco – Fashion Shopping
*Hachiko Statue – Shibuya Station
6TH OCTOBER 2013, SUNDAY

HARAJUKU
Transportation: Shinagawa -> Harajuku (Shinjuku Line/JR Yamanote Line)
REFER TO HARAJUKU ATTACHMENT

*Takeshi Dori – 400m long street lined with shops, boutiques, cafes, fast food outlets.. Angel Heart & Marion Crepe *YUM*
Omotesando  - main approach to Meiji Shrine , leading fashion stores along the road.
LaForet Harajuku – fashion shopping
Daiso Harajuku – 100 Yen Shop
*Oriental Bazaar – Tokyo’s largest souvenir shop (popular)
Kiddy Land – Hello Kitty Shop
*Meiji Shrine – dedicated to Emporer Meiji n Empress Shoken
Togo Shrine -
7TH OCTOBER 2013, MONDAY

ASAKUSA
Transportation: Shinagawa –> Sengakuji (Keikyu LINE -> Asakusa Line)->Asakusa

Kaminarimon Gate – Gate leading to Sensoji Temple
Nakamise Dori – lane of shops before temple
Sensoji Temple – Tokyo most Famous and popular Temple
Shin Nakamise Shopping Street

GINZA
Transportation: Asakusa –>Kuramae (Asakusa LINE -> O-Edo Line)->Tsukiji Shijio

Tsukiji Fish Market - lunch
Urakucho Gado-shita Dining – one of Tokyo’s most interesting dining district located beneath the elevated train tracks
Mitsukoshi Dept Store
Printemps Dept Store
*dept store has good food?
Chuo Dori Street
8TH OCTOBER 2013, TUESDAY

TOKYO
Imperial Palace – not open on Monday
Imperial East Garden (90 minutes)
Walk from Tokyo Station to the Imperial Palace. Enter through the Otemon Gate and explore the Imperial East Gardens, checking out both the area around the former castle keep and the Ninomaru Garden.
Outer Park (45 minutes)
Exit the Imperial East Gardens via the Otemon Gate and head south past Nijubashi Bridge through the outer grounds to the Sakuradamon Gate. Cross the street and continue walking down the street to Hibiya Park. Pass through the park and continue southwest toward Ginza
Transportation: Shinagawa  –>Hamamatsucho (KEIKYU Mainline) 15 mins walk
Transportation: Shinagawa  –> Hamamatsucho  (KEIKYU Mainline)  -> (O-Edo Mainline)-> Akabanebashi  5 mins walk

Tokyo Tower ¥820
Zojiji Temple
do you think i should put harajuku & shibuya in one day and go for mt.fuji day trip?
No one has any comments?

124 Pages « < 35 36 37 38 39 > » Top

0.0242sec    0.32    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 06:58 AM