QUOTE(kylie @ May 5 2006, 04:56 AM)
I had a problem with my IBook G3 dual usb machine. After long period of diagnosing the machine i found out that it's a faulty logic board problem..May I know had anyone encountered with this problem before? I would like to ask where can I seek help regarding this issue?
oh no...
How does Apple define a "component failure" for this program? The Expanded iBook Logic Board Repair Extension Program covers iBooks that have a specific component failure on the logic board, resulting in the computer starting up but the built-in and attached external displays exhibiting one or more of the following symptoms:
Scrambled or distorted video
Appearance of unexpected lines on the screen
Intermittent video image
Video freeze
Computer starts up to blank screen
.... serial numbers in the following range:
UV117XXXXXX to UV342XXXXXX , mine is in between
after 3 years ++ (actually almost 4years) my ibook also starting these types of problesm.. the most serious one is video freeze.. whatever video is .avi or .wmv (wmv3), the window of the movie will like hang hang

then recently,

actually just few days ago.. when i was in the middle of surfing the net, suddenly my iBook, "pop" --> shut down.. eventually, my iBook didnt shut down properly, it just like suddenly you plug out your battery and adapter from your iBook immediately when your iBook still ON.. so, i went to apple centre, they teach me, by pressing "option+ctrl+shift+power".. so the conclusion from them were, the battery-power managemnt got problem (im not sure whether is battery-power management, which means the battery that attached one the motherboard ones has already 'death', but im quite sure is dealing with power ones

they said, if i wanna change, can! but need to change the whole motherboards, cos the battery is firmly welded on the motherboard, so its impossible to detach it.. ). So, now every time if i shut down and restart my computer, my iBook's date will go back to 1970, 1:30am... dont know why it choose 1:30am

now, mostly i leave it to "sleep"..
and, guys, what do you think this means? is it really the "power-management" problem or other types?
QUOTE(wei @ May 5 2006, 08:43 AM)
take a look here and see if your ibook are affected:
http://www.apple.com/support/ibook/faq/if yes, you can send ur ibook in as long as Apple havnt terminate the repair program.
wei, changing the logic book will cost me? i need to pay? or what? if yes, how much?
my pocket will got one lobang again... last time adapter spoiled. now the iBook body itself got problem.. getting older already my iBook, i think...
any suggestion from the other side?
This post has been edited by uchan: May 5 2006, 11:17 PM