20 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Bottom

Asus G-Series Notebooks Thread V9, ASUS Welcomes GTX 880M~

TSholloway
post Jul 14 2013, 12:21 PM

123 posts

QUOTE(tonberry_ax @ Jul 14 2013, 11:49 AM)
yeah, i think so.

whats is ur OC setting that u r using anyway?
+135 +350

no point having higher memory OC =.=" just will have more artifact although i've gone higher but that is what i consider safe OC

QUOTE(Unseen83 @ Jul 14 2013, 12:06 PM)
ah now is always on OC mode after i increase Core clock +135MHZ and MEMory +1,000Mhz and is idle temp 40C...  usually is 37-39C... should i be worried lol [attachmentid=3534301]
Edit: why can't i upload pic BMP file on here size 5.5mb... try try again keep  getting fail...?  wanna upload gaming FPS after i capture with FRAPS
nope not at all.. If u're worried about that temp then don't OC smile.gif well that is already considered safe OC since nvidia has limitation to what we can OC (the core)

try PNG files or JPG files have it smaller than 1mb.. 5.5mb is too big actually and we don't really need a very detail picture just to see fps smile.gif not that we want to see pixel by pixel on that pic~ lol

This post has been edited by holloway: Jul 14 2013, 12:22 PM
TSholloway
post Jul 14 2013, 08:39 PM

123 posts

QUOTE(Unseen83 @ Jul 14 2013, 06:45 PM)
lol i just rename bmp file to JPG file and reduce the size with ms paint...  done into black blank screen lol [attachmentid=3534873]
good effort. too bad it fail~ smile.gif

QUOTE(Unseen83 @ Jul 14 2013, 06:50 PM)
wow so many words.. tired reading it.. tongue.gif lol but thx full version MR.david klein!
yeah no prob.. i'll keep it short next time.. hopefully u would understand alot easier if its shorter~

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Jul 14 2013, 08:13 PM)
Just use the MSI Afterburner to capture screenshot.
smile.gif yeah tonnes of ways to capture SS .. those elementary kids with decent computer knowledge should be able to do it also

This post has been edited by holloway: Jul 14 2013, 09:11 PM
TSholloway
post Jul 14 2013, 10:30 PM

123 posts

QUOTE(Azfar J @ Jul 14 2013, 09:45 PM)
Guys,

Am goin to aussie for my degree so Im looking for decent gaming laptop.... Prefer to buy here as the price is cheaper than aussie.... Currently the G750 got my attention... Except its not bundled with ssd... So my budget is around 7k max... Any suggestion on any other brands and where to buy it???

Appreciate alot if u guys can help
if ur budget is around 7k and the g750 has caught ur attention.. then no problem actually. since u can buy SSD replace the HDD easily smile.gif

But do take note the g750 has soldered CPU and GPU which means no upgrading CPU and GPU. and the ones in malaysia doesn't come with 3D although it's 3D ready (need external 3D monitor to enable it).

other brand u might want to look at.. maybe alienware, sager, clevo, illegear, msi or lenovo smile.gif

u can look at lowyat plaza or scout our forum.lowyat . alot of good sellers here offering good prices smile.gif
TSholloway
post Jul 15 2013, 11:30 AM

123 posts

QUOTE(cybermick @ Jul 15 2013, 10:40 AM)
Bought an ASUS G750, findings

Playing SC2 on 1920x1080, but FPS is crappy, around 10-20fps. Is this normal for the latest high end gaming laptop? Tried upgrade the Nvidia driver but to no avail. Considering I am also using a 2nd generation Intel i7 on my desktop with GTX560, it performs much better than the G750 which comes with Haswell CPU and GTX770M GPU.

Any tips? Thanks.
Well it shouldn't do that. Since GTX770M supposedly to run SC2 without any hard effort.

What i'm guessing is the GTX 770M is a very graphic so the drivers aren't matured yet. Since even our GTX 660M still have updates with each updates has significant improvement towards FPS for certain games, for example Battlefield 3, tomb raider and such.

The thing with nvidia nowadays is seems like they are either slacking or they had produce too many graphic cards and can't keep up with the updates. Probably need to wait abit more for the drivers to mature.

I'm pretty sure the temperature should be fine. And to be sure it's not on 3D mode isn't it
TSholloway
post Jul 15 2013, 12:24 PM

123 posts

QUOTE(cybermick @ Jul 15 2013, 12:10 PM)
Thanks bro. The latest G750 that I bought is RM5499, there is no 3D like the first batch. Everything works perfectly fine, except the graphic.
Nice price u got there smile.gif

Ah i don't think its about first batch or not.. which model is this? g750 jx? jh?

i'll do some reading and let u know smile.gif

btw have u tested any other games? does it have lags as well. hoping for the best that it's because of the new graphic and no drivers mature enough to bring out the juice ~ lol

just in case. probably check maybe ur battery setting is not on high performance. Let's take any pre-cautions lol.
TSholloway
post Jul 15 2013, 04:34 PM

123 posts

QUOTE(s15charlie @ Jul 15 2013, 03:39 PM)
Yea...i just got my g750 about a week ago and SC2 fps dropping to single digits during battles for 4v4s

Also tried dling the latest driver from nvidia but for some reason can't install it...dunno why.  Any sifus out there can help?
Welcome to the club smile.gif

Try clean install.

1) Remove completely old graphic card driver
2) restart laptop
3) install new graphic card

hopefully it works smile.gif hopefully

P/S: anyone that has G750 do pm me your full model detail smile.gif i'll add on the owners list smile.gif thanks!
TSholloway
post Jul 15 2013, 06:23 PM

123 posts

QUOTE(Azfar J @ Jul 15 2013, 06:02 PM)
Thnx bro for ur reply,
Currently at lowyat plaza...
The only brand i see is msi gx70... Looks tempting but doubt the cpu....
Lenovo also on doubtful... Seen one displayed with 2 gpu but only gtx750m...
Alienware is a bit pricey but the delivery time sucks... Need ASAP as i will be flying to aussie this thursday.

Haiz... Dunno wat to buy....
GX70 is actually good.. the only drawback is the processor. You could read more about how the processor bottlenecks the awesome 8970 smile.gif you are right about doubting the CPU actually. Only alienware variant comes with intel cpu and amd gpu. But yeah you have to wait for that.

Lenovo: its GT750M SLI, u need to be aware of the temp. but i'm guessing aussie should have nice temp unlike malaysia which sits on the equator. A single GT750 is close to GT670M .. SLI GT750 will be quite similar or comparable to a single GTX 675MX and slightly slower than a single GTX 770M(do re-check again as i type this base on what i remember)

p/s: for SLI graphic card, there are several things u need take note.
1) at lower FPS game might stutter because the 2 graphic card might be out of sync between each other
2) newer games won't support SLI out of the box, or to be more precise you need to wait for the nvidia to release a drivers that can be considered stable/mature or even the driver supports the game to run on SLI
3) thats all i could think of so far~

G750 is quite decent if you really need it urgently. I'm not so sure whether it still has good cooling as our previous G-series but i'm still betting on asus cooling system smile.gif which is superior by far compared to other gaming laptops
TSholloway
post Jul 17 2013, 09:11 AM

123 posts

QUOTE(Azfar J @ Jul 16 2013, 04:50 PM)
Guys,

So i just purchased the g750 at techhypermart...
Now waiting for the item to come...
So i plan to switch the main hd to ssd.

So how will i proceed??
welcome to the club bro smile.gif awesome purchase

1) pick ur desired SSD (SSD according to my preferences: samsung, plextor, intel)
2) switch the HDD and the SSD
3) re-install windows 8 (i think it should retrieve the windows 8 key automatically from somewhere but it will and should)
4) U're done~

Good luck
TSholloway
post Jul 17 2013, 09:32 AM

123 posts

QUOTE(tonberry_ax @ Jul 17 2013, 09:27 AM)
Looks like G750 also has victim of  overheat. G750 new user, i encourage you to do some stress test to make sure your new laptop is not a faulty one, Asus nowadays...  doh.gif  doh.gif
Blame their QA&QC how is it a faulty unit pass by them~.. lol

p/s: now i think their temp is around our temp also.. coz it's summer.. wait til winter~ no complains from then~ lol back to summer and yeah the problem comes again lol

This post has been edited by holloway: Jul 17 2013, 09:36 AM
TSholloway
post Jul 17 2013, 09:39 AM

123 posts

QUOTE(tonberry_ax @ Jul 17 2013, 09:35 AM)
janji boleh on then sell la, money come 1st wat  doh.gif
haha they seem so desperate ~ lol..
TSholloway
post Jul 17 2013, 11:38 AM

123 posts

QUOTE(ykgen @ Jul 17 2013, 10:07 AM)
this is like lying to yourself! hahaha summer is the best time to test your temperature.  rclxms.gif
haha.. they want it or not.. it's to their advantage actually.. winter autumn spring has nice temp.. only summer they will suffer~ lol..
TSholloway
post Jul 18 2013, 01:44 AM

123 posts

not that i don't want to have a gathering.. but i myself is damn busy .. lol.. infact today 18 til 22 of july will not be in the country =.="..

it's actually good to have gathering but i myself never arrange one (no experience at all) was thinking a gathering should be quite decent if we we're to bring our laptops along. smile.gif

but yeah it's never wrong to plan ahead
TSholloway
post Jul 23 2013, 02:34 AM

123 posts

QUOTE(Unseen83 @ Jul 21 2013, 09:39 PM)
yea... i forget have to near dismantle g750 just to clean vent...  lol well ... i am still interested G750JH biggrin.gif

edit: asus G750 series is not targeted for modders, but for those who require a device that works out the box gaming notebook..
all laptops works without the need whether to mod or not~ lol no such thing as other gaming laptop have to assemble once u receive the item~ well that's as far as i know la. Coz never heard stories of laptop have to be assembled (from scratch) when we buy it.. not even HDD needs to be plugged in.. all out of box straight working

p/s: just came back~ hello all~ lol
TSholloway
post Jul 23 2013, 09:49 AM

123 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Jul 23 2013, 03:16 AM)
since you updated your drivers, there was a chance that it's reset to defaults. first of all you should check in device manager that the wifi's power management is disabled (uncheck the option that allows computer to turn the device off to save power). then in power plan options, make sure it's at max performance.
wo .. how's the place? nice or not?
The hotel i was staying (cheap2 one) has really good internet actually.. 25-30mbps lol.. the 3G prepaid internet also is quite nice almost all place is either HSDPA or 3G and less congestion so very fast

the place also very nice, very friendly community, girls so easy to smile~ very soothing.. alot of interesting place to visit. but don't compare infrastructure to malaysia they are way behind, that is known of course.

QUOTE(tonberry_ax @ Jul 23 2013, 09:12 AM)
Welcome back bro.

Btw here's the detail review for the new G750JW. I think you may put on front page. Just make sure it translate from German to English  thumbup.gif
thanks! smile.gif

no NBcheck in english? coz translating will always have some funny translation smile.gif sure i'll update the front page within this week make it look nicer
TSholloway
post Jul 23 2013, 10:25 AM

123 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Jul 23 2013, 10:14 AM)
Whoah.. No kidding! I wanna go also haha!

Good la.. No infra means got business lol! No wonder samsung fast fast go there!
damn fast samsung! lol.. at the airport all the TV's are samsung brand~ lol.. i'm already thinking there is more to that coz i didn't go to the shopping mall (for what right) yeah i think there is alot of business opportunity coz everywhere building is rising up. It's a fast growing city (saigon city aka ho chi minh city)
TSholloway
post Jul 23 2013, 01:46 PM

123 posts

QUOTE(dannygeni @ Jul 23 2013, 01:17 PM)
just wandering..many using plextor ssd..how about intel520 series ssd? good?
very good indeed smile.gif i'm using it, hasn't failed me even once. Been using it for months already.

plextor is cheaper tho, but intel 520 is an all rounder actually
TSholloway
post Jul 23 2013, 02:28 PM

123 posts

QUOTE(dannygeni @ Jul 23 2013, 02:00 PM)
check low yat price 128gb plextor and intel 520 also rm300-400. i may go for intel than. thanks
cool smile.gif but do check review regarding intel 520 and plextor.. coz plextor has newer release
TSholloway
post Jul 24 2013, 12:58 AM

123 posts

haha..

AW = can be customized damn well
MSI = super raid 2
lenovo = ultra bay
asus = just 2 fans to boast? err not so fascinating
TSholloway
post Jul 24 2013, 01:24 AM

123 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Jul 24 2013, 01:04 AM)
MSI, killer lan, steelseries, dynaudio, and later on 3K display laugh.gif
haha don't put it that way~ it hurts asus too much lol..
TSholloway
post Jul 24 2013, 02:00 AM

123 posts

QUOTE(raymondtong94 @ Jul 24 2013, 01:55 AM)
but keep in mind that MSI uses single fan solution, which is quite a temperature issue.
ASUS had been hurt in a lot of way. from bad after sales service to customizations.
yeah thats the only thing smile.gif but there is always a solution for that simple temp issues

1) aircond
2) put big fan on it
3) be sure to repaste with good thermal paste

on the other hand Asus should really do something not just about after sales but their marketing skills too.. can't be too rigid and trying to earn easy moneh all the time~

20 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Top

0.0464sec    0.52    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 01:57 AM