4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

STOCK MARKET DISCUSSION V132, Everyone Huat!

foofoosasa
post Jun 12 2013, 11:11 AM

3,482 posts

QUOTE(gark @ Jun 12 2013, 11:05 AM)
No risk no gain mah.. we are all gamblers in this thread anyway... whistling.gif

And very less likely the stock will drop to zero right.  blush.gif
I also using this method. But the gap between double up must be big enough. Well said, no risk no gain.
foofoosasa
post Jun 12 2013, 05:59 PM

3,482 posts

QUOTE(yok70 @ Jun 12 2013, 05:51 PM)
average up is much harder to judge than average down.
down is easy, since it's simply getting cheaper and cheaper. buy lah.
up is opposite, that's difficult.
hmm.gif
if going down to average down, it is all about your money / cost management, how much extra $$ you want to put vs your capital.
If too little, if rebounds or bearish mode is over even crash is recovering, not much effecf to one's total wealth.

if too much, some people may experience sleepless day because or over commitment.

And I agree average up is harder, and personally think I will stay away from average up. Normally average up will be caught by short term rebound....if people do it too frequent, the person more likely to play timing the market, end up cut down loss when downturn. When going up, sell too early.

foofoosasa
post Jun 12 2013, 07:58 PM

3,482 posts

QUOTE(Boon3 @ Jun 12 2013, 06:58 PM)
Think of the simplest reasons.

When you buy a stock and the stock price goes down, what essentially has happened?

Answer: You either buy the wrong stock or you buy at the wrong price.
Either answer, your buying action was wrong and this is why the stock price moved down.

Of course, one will say, I bought the correct stock.
That stock is fundamentally strong.
It fell cos..... err .... no luck.

Maybe. tongue.gif

But no matter what, you were wrong.
Averaging down means you are buying more of your original mistake.
Would you agree?

Averaging up.
You buy the stock, it goes up.
Why? tongue.gif
Right stock or the stock was bought at the right price.

Or just plain lucky? tongue.gif  laugh.gif

But no matter what, you did something right.
Averaging up means you are buying more of your original correct decision.

But MANY would argue that they tend to lose money when they average up.
Why?
How come doing more (buying more) of a correct decision end up failing?
Is this tactic wrong?

How about asking if one was averaging up correctly?
Simply adding up to a winning position and simply adding at any price is reckless and usually would fail.

Me?
I am a fan of averaging up.
When I bought the stock, if the price going down, it doesn't matter if I saw the value at least will be times 5 of the current price after a decade.
For some, it could be interpret it is a wrong move, but for some it is opportunity. Different people see different thing, so I am not trying to argue which way is better.
Timing no doubt is quite important, can improve one's performance, but the confidence, and the faith will to hold through bad situation is something I believed will deliver the return in the long run ( From investor perspective).
I were wrong in short term, but I know I will be rich in long term. But one can say, what happen you also wrong in the long run...for example holding MAS share 10 years ago? This totally depends on the investor business foresight and the only one he can blame is himself.

I know you're a trader, maybe a very outstanding trader. Averaging up is a really good tool for trend trading purpose.
Myself is an average investor and probably very bad trader, I know I am a bad trend reader / Technical Reader, that's why I only stick to my game.
For you, averaging up is feel more safer because that's your game plan, while mine different, I am comfortable with averaging down here.
icon_rolleyes.gif
Nothing wrong or right here, wink.gif

This post has been edited by foofoosasa: Jun 12 2013, 08:00 PM
foofoosasa
post Jun 12 2013, 10:22 PM

3,482 posts

QUOTE(Boon3 @ Jun 12 2013, 09:17 PM)
Like I said to gark,  I am just sharing some opinions, that's all and what I am not here to argue what is right or wrong.

Anyway, do you know that even a famous investor like Warren Buffet had averaged up on one of his best investments, Coke?

And also for your info, I am not a market timer either.
How to earn money if not focus on timing / trend by averaging up? assume solely from trader perspective.

notworthy.gif
foofoosasa
post Jun 13 2013, 06:15 PM

3,482 posts

Apollo worth to pick some now?
foofoosasa
post Jun 13 2013, 06:19 PM

3,482 posts

QUOTE(gark @ Jun 13 2013, 06:17 PM)
Only drop 2.6% to 4.19

Previously rise from 3.2X... sweat.gif
Ok noted. Uncle gark, You hold 90% of cash now too?
foofoosasa
post Jun 13 2013, 06:27 PM

3,482 posts

QUOTE(vccy118 @ Jun 13 2013, 02:37 PM)
My wallet damn pain!!!!!!!

Never thought will start so soon... feng shui chart said end of july only will kaboom ler
if everyone have similar thought, must act 3 step faster than other ma brows.gif
foofoosasa
post Jun 14 2013, 12:24 AM

3,482 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Jun 13 2013, 10:48 PM)
Barcelona goalkeeper can often have a high tea at his goalpost whistling.gif
that why kena goreng by Bayern munich. The mentality of thought sure win laugh.gif .
foofoosasa
post Jun 14 2013, 12:25 AM

3,482 posts

QUOTE(vccy118 @ Jun 13 2013, 10:54 PM)
Hm... US index all green and climbing slowly but steadily
If tml 8.30am Nikkei open green, KLCI high chance to recover?
wah, so nervous . looking for green everyday? you seems like really care about market will open green everyday. hmm.gif
foofoosasa
post Jun 14 2013, 12:33 AM

3,482 posts

QUOTE(SKY 1809 @ Jun 13 2013, 09:09 PM)
walau

Treasury Yields Will Spike to 5%: Societe Generale
Wah if this happen many correction for commodity market and stock market rclxms.gif

but think again, I don't quite believe it will happen. another bullshit laugh.gif

This post has been edited by foofoosasa: Jun 14 2013, 12:36 AM
foofoosasa
post Jun 14 2013, 12:37 AM

3,482 posts

QUOTE(vccy118 @ Jun 14 2013, 12:31 AM)
Hahaha, that obvious ke?  blush.gif  blush.gif
I got buy into FKLI futures, too, that's why...
For me it is better than contra on rumours
I see. Good luck then. I am not a fan of contra and futures playing .
foofoosasa
post Jun 16 2013, 07:10 PM

3,482 posts

QUOTE(lynetnonyma @ Jun 16 2013, 06:59 PM)
Thanks for the link.

Does this mean that most of you in this thread here are mostly long term investors? I ask because from reading many previous posts on this thread, I have seen members talking about penny stocks such as LUSTER , DVM etc. Some of these seem to be the pump and dump game (or shark attack or goreng or whatever you want to call it). I thought many here were also short term traders.
We have many type of investor here.
Some are super long term, for example our mod cherroy rclxms.gif
Some choose a stock based on yield. pana jie rclxms.gif
Some value investor like gark rclxms.gif
Some value investor + speculator Sky1809 tongue.gif
Some trader like Bone, Boon , Ultra man , keuwteoloew etc.. rclxms.gif
Some are timing trender, only will come out during bull nod.gif
Some only will come out during bear market icon_idea.gif
and of course some punter tongue.gif rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by foofoosasa: Jun 16 2013, 07:11 PM
foofoosasa
post Jun 16 2013, 07:22 PM

3,482 posts

QUOTE(SKY 1809 @ Jun 16 2013, 07:18 PM)

I notice some good traders here do not just trade purely on charts alone,  they do pre select some good companies ( better quality ones ) to trade.

Maybe Some theme plays or some newsflow to go along.

Just my observations only.
Yea, I didn't say that trader must be fully trading based on chart.Some of the trader only trade very few of the stocks within a range of period for example 1 -2 years before the moving another few selection.

I just help this forum to classify the type of investor here, but the trader side too generalise already biggrin.gif . Sorry didn't mention some of you, because there are too many people to recall rclxub.gif
foofoosasa
post Jun 16 2013, 07:39 PM

3,482 posts

QUOTE(SKY 1809 @ Jun 16 2013, 07:28 PM)
No , I agree with what you say.

I just mean People  these days do not just trade purely on charts n charts only. Somehow, Fed Ben name could appear in pro chart analysis  report ones.

So What  Fed Ben has to do with charts  hmm.gif
laugh.gif ,
maybe people trying to be creative infuse the important news into chart? Chartist here may able to answer you hmm.gif
foofoosasa
post Jun 17 2013, 09:27 PM

3,482 posts

QUOTE(river.sand @ Jun 17 2013, 08:47 PM)
Thanks for the link, I do need some idea for small cap selection. Yeelee probably won't be a bad choice.
foofoosasa
post Jun 17 2013, 09:34 PM

3,482 posts

QUOTE(ham_revilo @ Jun 17 2013, 09:33 PM)
this shows, even without QE local funds can support and push up the index tongue.gif

no QE, no abernomics, no problem  flex.gif
We got Tabung Haji, EPF & PNB. No problem man rclxms.gif .
foofoosasa
post Jun 18 2013, 12:58 PM

3,482 posts

QUOTE(yok70 @ Jun 18 2013, 07:38 AM)
Interesting writing from Alex. Interest rate up, properties price drop.
http://nexttrade.blogspot.com/2013/06/more...erest-rate.html

If next year or so, interest rate will start moving up, then why properties sector is top picks by ALL IBs?

I still remember 2 to 3 years ago, many IBs put properties stocks as top picks and put high TPs (still much lower than current TPs though). And then after just 1 year, they all downgrade it and cut TPs by 30-40%.
Just wondering, 2 years later, or maybe as soon as next year if we really see interest rate up by 0.5%. Maybe these IBs all will get panic and fast fast cut TPs by 30-40% saying properties price may have peaked. Before "real workers" filling up Iskandar or Big KL or whatever gorgeous names, many of the bought houses will still be empty, that will help to create the panic selldown and overhang of house price.
Today, we already seeing oversupply of office space and retail malls. Where are all the "new people" coming into Malaysia to fill them up? Or should ask, when?
hmm.gif
The "new people" coming from East malaysian. I can definitely sure about it without even looking at any statistic data,
foofoosasa
post Jun 18 2013, 01:21 PM

3,482 posts

QUOTE(KVReninem @ Jun 18 2013, 01:09 PM)
what if they dont? wink.gif
???? I don't get what you mean. Sorry for my stupidity.
foofoosasa
post Jun 18 2013, 10:29 PM

3,482 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Jun 18 2013, 09:30 PM)

10 - 20 % of correction is a big deal for many people tongue.gif

foofoosasa
post Jun 19 2013, 01:23 PM

3,482 posts

QUOTE(StupidGuyPlayComp @ Jun 19 2013, 01:14 PM)
wub.gif Regardless of TA or FA, as long can make money is good A

usually
TA good in bullish market
FA nice in bearish market
share your "kung fu" book to us notworthy.gif

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0459sec    0.28    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 01:33 AM