STOCK MARKET DISCUSSION V132, Everyone Huat!

ngaisteve1
post Jun 25 2013, 12:32 PM

Software Engineer
6,779 posts

QUOTE(yhtan @ Jun 25 2013, 01:31 PM)
A lot of bad news circulating around, fear is back laugh.gif

Maybe u are right, the whole world going to digest this fear factor for quite some time hmm.gif
Where is the fear barometer website? Need to check the level now. biggrin.gif
ngaisteve1
post Jun 25 2013, 12:51 PM

Software Engineer
6,779 posts

QUOTE(gark @ Jun 25 2013, 01:49 PM)
The last crisis.. went to 1,6XX only.. I am buying into china now... 1st dip done at 2,000, next at 1,900 tongue.gif
Your bullet also pretty a lot biggrin.gif
ngaisteve1
post Jun 25 2013, 12:53 PM

Software Engineer
6,779 posts

QUOTE(davidcch07 @ Jun 25 2013, 01:51 PM)
ok... no more property share on hand smile.gif
Property share kena tembak a lot lately. Due to bank negara plan to get rid of DIBS?
ngaisteve1
post Jun 25 2013, 02:07 PM

Software Engineer
6,779 posts

market sentiment still drag by this china stock market ya.
ngaisteve1
post Jun 25 2013, 02:13 PM

Software Engineer
6,779 posts

QUOTE(simplesmile @ Jun 25 2013, 03:10 PM)
I got margin call icon_question.gif
how you got it? when paper loss reach certain %? I never try margin account.
ngaisteve1
post Jun 25 2013, 02:26 PM

Software Engineer
6,779 posts

QUOTE(simplesmile @ Jun 25 2013, 03:21 PM)
I get margin call when I breach the approved margin.
My approved margin is 60%.
Example my share margin is 100k. And total portfolio is 200k. So the margin is 100/200 = 50%. When the stock price goes lower and lower, this means the value of the portfolio becomes lower.  Example, 100/170 = 58.8%. So I am still safe.
If the price goes even lower, then I'll get margin call. Example, 100/160 = 62.5%
The margin limit they gave is usually 2-3x of your cash value right? If kena margin call, so which share they will pick up for force selling at 4pm?
ngaisteve1
post Jun 25 2013, 02:36 PM

Software Engineer
6,779 posts

QUOTE(holybo @ Jun 25 2013, 03:33 PM)
suddenly rebound again.. what a swing...
Swing up and down but it just getting lower little by little at the end biggrin.gif
ngaisteve1
post Jun 25 2013, 03:01 PM

Software Engineer
6,779 posts

QUOTE(mopster @ Jun 25 2013, 03:58 PM)
SSEC recover to almost green liao..
thats an intraday 5% swing... laugh.gif roller coaster
Rebounded banyak so fast
ngaisteve1
post Jun 25 2013, 03:07 PM

Software Engineer
6,779 posts

QUOTE(simplesmile @ Jun 25 2013, 04:01 PM)
No. The share financing or margin financing is not 2-3x of cash value. The financier will give you an approved limit. Example, 100k. You cannot borrow more than 100k. But at the same time, you don't need to use all the 100k. you can use 0, 20k, 45k.... up to you. It's like an overdraft ready for you to use.

They have certain rules like earlier example, the margin must not be more than 60% of the portfolio, or collateral. So, if you deposit 10k and buy 50k of stock, this means you borrow 40k margin. Then 40/50 = 80%... above the 60% limit. Financier will ask you to top up the collateral with cash or sell.
If you deposit 10k and buy 15k stock, this means you borrow 5k. So 5/15 = 33%. This is below the approved limit so there is no margin call. Is considered the bank loan you money to buy share. This amount will charge you interest.

Beware also that not all the stocks is valued at 100%. For example, I buy ABC share and bank only take 80% of it's value as collateral. So if market price for my ABC stock is 50k, bank will only assume it is worth 40k when calculating whether I have breached the margin limit or not.
I see, another word, the limit is about extra 50% of your cash. They charge the interest based on daily basis?
ngaisteve1
post Jun 25 2013, 04:02 PM

Software Engineer
6,779 posts

Anyone got the account to short shares?

I think short shares play differently. Need to settle on T+3 is it?

This post has been edited by ngaisteve1: Jun 25 2013, 04:03 PM
ngaisteve1
post Jun 25 2013, 04:17 PM

Software Engineer
6,779 posts

QUOTE(dflyz @ Jun 25 2013, 05:16 PM)
If I'm not mistaken, I think short shares means to sell shares that we actually don't have, right? I think it is not allowed in M'sia.
Ya but there is a special account to short shares one. Normal account cannot.
ngaisteve1
post Jun 25 2013, 04:56 PM

Software Engineer
6,779 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Jun 25 2013, 05:54 PM)
You need to make arrangement with investment banks, aka borrow shares from investment before can short sell.

It is called regulated short selling, only certain stock can be shorted that are listed in RSS.

You cannot simply short sell without any arranged borrowed shares from investment banks.
Yeah, i think only those blue chips stock can short sell, right?

This post has been edited by ngaisteve1: Jun 25 2013, 04:56 PM
ngaisteve1
post Jun 26 2013, 09:51 AM

Software Engineer
6,779 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Jun 26 2013, 10:43 AM)
Order History shows - RM4.20
Portfolio Summary shows - RM4.18

rclxub.gif
I saw that before. I think the price which comes after that will combine together in one batch as one price.
ngaisteve1
post Jun 26 2013, 09:57 AM

Software Engineer
6,779 posts

Shanghai still down at 1% le
ngaisteve1
post Jun 26 2013, 11:00 AM

Software Engineer
6,779 posts

QUOTE(jerrychoo2004 @ Jun 26 2013, 11:26 AM)
today luster dropping like flies....very the action
burn many ppl including drc biggrin.gif

6 Pages « < 4 5 6Top

0.0353sec    0.41    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 10:27 AM