7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Dog Lover Kopitiam, A place for dog lovers to yam cha!

Pennywise
post Feb 26 2007, 02:22 PM

5,796 posts

QUOTE(nairud @ Feb 26 2007, 11:47 AM)
Dog nails are black/white/brown. So are you sure your westie's nails are white b4 goin out?
Yea I am quite sure its dirt. Nevermind, I will leave it as it is now. Will cut cut later on when it grows a little bit more.

By the way, is there any minimal age before going for grooming? Casper is currently 4 months old and his eyes is covered by the fur already. I usually help cut a bit by bit over the weekend.
Pennywise
post Feb 26 2007, 11:09 PM

5,796 posts

QUOTE(aragorn2976 @ Feb 26 2007, 05:20 PM)
Hmmmm.. Bring your dog for shoe fitting. Make sure that your dog is used to shoes too. smile.gif

I bought shoes for my dog and she managed to take it all off once I got it all on.  rclxub.gif

No amount of treats/training was able to get her to stop taking off the shoes.  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif  shocking.gif
Okok... after reading all bout shoes, I guess I will drop the idea. THanks for the toothbrush idea. Much appreciated.
Pennywise
post Feb 28 2007, 01:58 AM

5,796 posts

What I'd like to know today is whether can dogs differentiate between licking and biting?

My Casper love to lick my fingers. I know human hands got bacteria and germs and I believe many of you will advise me against it. But when he wanna sleep time, I will let him lick my fingers whenever I am with him at night. He loves it.

Sometimes, he lick already, he will try to bite it (possibly to see whether its edible). Then I will grab his mouth, shake his head a bit and say NO BITING! Then, he will shock and then get up and try to put a distance between us. When I ask him to come again, he quietly come again.

So, can dogs differentiate between bite and lick? How to teach him not to bite? Usually I just force him bite his own paw but that does not seem to work.
Pennywise
post Mar 5 2007, 12:16 AM

5,796 posts

QUOTE(Jarsanki @ Mar 4 2007, 02:29 AM)
I have a doggie!!!!
is a mini pincher!!!!know o?i duno i got spell wrong or not ZZZ!!!
quite cute but very noisy when my fren or uncle aunty cum my house!!!!
Although its voice loud..but it still scare if u move infront to its.....it will move back den bark again!!!very funny!!haha

Added on March 4, 2007, 2:35 am

Can differentiate 1.ur dog quite listen to u wor!!but y shake his head leh ?=.="my dog if it bite me, i will say pain den it will stop liao!!actually not bite lah...pain?if not it wan play wif u only!!!mai let him bite a bit loh
haha!!
Oh I see... if can differentiate is good. Why shake his head? Because I read a book which says that if you tak sampai hati beat your dog, pull the leash shockingly or shake his head a bit like terkejut like that... then the dog will realize that everytime he does something wrong, in my case bite my finger, he will feel his head shaken which of course he dont like so he will bite less till none or his head will shake till rclxub.gif

Added on March 5, 2007, 12:18 amMy Westie, Casper back legs are not so strong, now at 4.5kg already.

He knows:
Sit - 2 hours
Up - 1 hour
Down - 30 minute
Hand - 30 minute

Roughly thats the time I spend to teach her because I dont have much time. However, still havent house break him. But when I take him out for car ride, if he wanna pee, he will make noise... So clever.

Next, I will teach him roll over and bang! (play dead)

This post has been edited by Pennywise: Mar 5 2007, 12:18 AM
Pennywise
post Mar 9 2007, 10:16 AM

5,796 posts

I feed Casper for 3 times a day.

8.00am
12.00pm
6.00pm

He is nearly 5 months old now. When I got him, he was only 2.3kg. Now he is 4.6kg. Double the weight. When do I know to stop feeding him so much?

I mean adult dogs eat only once or twice a day right? When should I start feeding him less?
Pennywise
post Mar 11 2007, 01:21 AM

5,796 posts

QUOTE(ihawk98 @ Mar 9 2007, 10:39 AM)
we got Sparky our Westie when he was 5 months and we already started feeding him twice a day at that point in time.
What time do you feed Sparky?
Pennywise
post Mar 12 2007, 10:09 PM

5,796 posts

ihawk98, White Palace and other dog lovers!

Dogs got how many set of teeth?

My Casper is 5 months old and his first teeth broke today. I dont even know how it become like this. Is this natural like human changing their first set of teeth?

It's danggling there and I want to pull it out for him but then scared he sakit. Asked my gf and she said nevermind, dont hurt him. I scared he eat it and cut his stomach inside (gigi taring)... So should I pull it out or leave it be?

ADVISE!!!
Pennywise
post Mar 13 2007, 09:15 PM

5,796 posts

QUOTE(ihawk98 @ Mar 13 2007, 07:17 PM)
i got him while i was living in thailand for RM2k.
So do your's come with a MKA cert? I bought mine at RM1.6k on Jan 2nd 2007.
Pennywise
post Mar 14 2007, 08:48 PM

5,796 posts

Yea my Westie also quite active... today so korlian, eat only twice a day. Usually get three times a day but today everybody out so he was left home alone.
Pennywise
post Mar 14 2007, 11:52 PM

5,796 posts

QUOTE(Digitral @ Mar 14 2007, 08:57 PM)
oh ? ur westie eat three times a day ? my furkid just eat twice a day . well i just follow back what my breeder to feed last time . and my furkid get used of it ... hehehehe... so good ar , ur westie can everyday eat three meal a day .
Yea starting tomorrow, Casper will be fed twice a day, large meals.

His teeth are all shakey, especially the lower jaw ones. I think he's growing up? A normal process, right?
Pennywise
post Mar 15 2007, 10:24 AM

5,796 posts

QUOTE(peimin @ Mar 15 2007, 01:24 AM)
actually.. i dont see the differences between pure breed dogs or mix breed dogs or even no breed kind of dogs.. is the same isnt it?

cos i have a friend.. who just adopted a new puppy.. doesnt have a proper breed or something.. she kept on complaining to me how stupid is her dog.. how difficult to train her dog up and so on.. she said her doggy was stupid/brainless cos its NOT a pure breed dog worr.. she wants to give it away *if im not mistaken*.. and buy a proper breed dog or something..

arent all dogs the same?
I have to agree with RedBox, your friend is stupid, not the dog. No matter what breed or how pariah the dog may be, it will pick up quickly if the owner applies a little patience while training.

Sad to see your friend brainless and judge the dog just because it does not come from a pure breed.

Added on March 15, 2007, 10:25 amGuys, what do you guys think about Nutri-Source dog food? I was told and then read the packaging behind, No By-Products... so it should be good right?

Usually I buy two packs, one chicken, one lamb - one normal bites, one small bites - then mix them together for my Westie to eat. Currently he is served twice a day (starting today) 8.30AM and 6.00PM.

Kindly comment about the brand stated above if you've tried before. Thanks.

This post has been edited by Pennywise: Mar 15 2007, 10:25 AM
Pennywise
post Mar 15 2007, 03:11 PM

5,796 posts

Wow, are you serious that Nutri SOurce is that bad?! Isnt that harmful for the dog's body then? I think I will stop feeding him Nutri Source then. Looking for other alternatives - perhaps Blackwood.

This post has been edited by Pennywise: Mar 15 2007, 03:12 PM
Pennywise
post Mar 16 2007, 09:28 PM

5,796 posts

QUOTE(crazymouse_yyh @ Mar 15 2007, 06:48 PM)
My dad and I thought it was good since we read the ingredients, it looked pretty ok.... but when the grass all started dying.... we quickly change back to California Natural.... so during CNY, our lawn was very ugly... it was covered in yellow patches.

I think it could be the food.... coz this kinda yellow grass thing came about when my dad fed the dogs with Tuffy(long time ago) and another brand of food.

Blackwood would be good.... or you can try Eaglepack...
I spoke to my gf who has a lot more experience than me in keeping dogs. She is also a pharmacist cum food scientist. According to her, the yellow stain pee is because Nutri Source has high content of Vitamin B but she do not know which Vit-B is in Nutri Source pack as there are many different types of Vit-B like B3, B6, B12, etc.

I believe it should be harmless because her dog, Japanese Spitz has been fed Nutri Source for a while. Maybe I will switch brand, maybe not but so far, my Westie has not been housebroken, he pee in the house, the pee not too yellow either. Plus, I give him lots of water to drink all day.

QUOTE(White Palace @ Mar 15 2007, 09:38 PM)
What dog do you plan to feed Blackwood? If it is long fur dog, just to share my experience. I had been feeding Blackwood for quite some time, used to be satisfied, but we noticed that the poo is very hard & dry, although we are pleased that it is very easy to clean up, no stain at all after pick up the poo, but when time passes, we noticed that our dog's fur become much dryer. So now we switched to "Orijen", although it is much more expensive than Blackwood, but luckily we able to get breeder price. So far so good, the poo can see slightly more watery but still easy to pick up, i believe this means the food not so dry.
I am planning on feeding my West Highland Blackwood but dont know if its good for him. I spoke to a petstore owner at Tmn Megah a few months back before I actually own the dog. He is a dunno what pet-degree holder (not vet), he recommends Blackwood because he said it packs a punch (maybe ur case is too much punch) that his stool usually come out dry and easy to clean.

I have not heard of Orijen and never thought about how it might affect the fur so perhaps I need to look at other alternatives or buy a small pack and let him try it out first.

QUOTE(peimin @ Mar 15 2007, 11:07 PM)
i knowww.. ive tried telling her many times that training a dog takes a period of time.. but she's kinda stubborn.. and still complains about her doggy all the time... i wish i could just tell her off straight to her face that she's just being stupid.. but she's still my friend..
I also dont have much patience but like ppl advise, no patience, then dont train. If your dog is stupid, it is the owner's problem - not the dog's. Tell your friend la, cannot kowtim dog, dont talk about having boyfriend, husband and kids.

QUOTE(RedBox @ Mar 16 2007, 03:05 AM)
My dog going to the vet today in about 2 hours. Seems to have diarrhea. sad.gif
RB
Seems like same case with my gf's Japanese Spitz, also diarrhea last night but give it a little rice, the stomach settle down already this morning. How is your doggy?

QUOTE(Escudo @ Mar 16 2007, 04:59 PM)
I am really a novice in rearing dog, and planning to own one soon.

Err.., how do u know when ur dog is having diarrhea?? Or how do u know ur dog is not feeling well?? Any sympton at all??

Thanx for enlightening
If you see the stool come out watery = diarrhea la.
If you smell the ears bad and got stain = infection
If you see your dog dont eat = no appetite = sick
Common sense generally. Dont worry about it and just go get it.
Pennywise
post Mar 17 2007, 10:15 PM

5,796 posts

http://www.adpost.com/my/pets/5390/

This is my breeder. I bought my Westie from him too and in this picture is a female Westie, who is my Casper's sister.

Added on March 17, 2007, 10:19 pm
QUOTE(terrorist @ Mar 17 2007, 09:23 PM)
hi guys , this is Shandy , my new puppy smile.gif , it's a PUG mix Spitz , only 3 months old , she is a damn naughty and fierce , but also clever doggy . She always wanna fight with my cousin beagle , her size so small but she damn fierce always wanna bite the beagle .. swt..  Every time when she wanna try to bite us when playing , i hit her butt softly , then she angry , she bark back at me, then when i wanna chase her , she run and hide underneath the car .. lol ..

i wanna ask , is PUG or Spitz a hyperactive dog ah ? why this puppy so active ? she wont gets tired .. keep on running and running and jumping , always wanna play .. lol.. and how to teach her to not try to bite us while playing ? i don think hitting her is a correct way right ..

Nice name. Pugs are more laid back, Spitz on the other hand loves attention. I dont think she wants to bite you, just nibble cause the teeth itchy. So I guess sometimes let him bite bite is OK wan, else when he bites, just grab his jaw and loudly, sternly say NO! A few times oni, Ok liao wan.

Like my doggy, he likes to nibble and lick. Let him out of the cage only, he will lick your feet / heels - some ppl who dont know him will think he is trying to bite our toes but he is actually not. Harmless creatures...

This post has been edited by Pennywise: Mar 17 2007, 10:19 PM
Pennywise
post Mar 18 2007, 10:48 PM

5,796 posts

Hohoho... Today, Casper finally can do the 'roll-over' trick!! Yayy!! After bout 1 week trying, not that often somemore ~average about 10 times a day... now he can roll!!

Can you guys advise me how to teach him "jump" and "play dead"?

Teach him so many tricks but havent housebreak him - that part susah cause it cannot be tempted with treats.
Pennywise
post Mar 23 2007, 12:31 AM

5,796 posts

Need help in training!

How do I teach my dog to stop biting / nibbling my palm? He loves to lick so sometimes, I will let him lick. I feel that is his way of showing me affection but my gf says that human hands are tasty to them.

Sometimes, he licks out of way and start nibbling and then will try to bite because one side of the finger is skin, another side is fingernails so he will try, very naughty...

How do I stop him?

Also, can anyone teach me how to train your dog to jump.. Example, if you hold your hand at knee high and then want him to jump over... possible?
Pennywise
post Mar 23 2007, 10:25 AM

5,796 posts

QUOTE(Cloudx @ Mar 23 2007, 09:25 AM)
My mum go and giv her low fat milk  doh.gif  doh.gif I told my mum its not good but she say its ok its ok.... sweat.gif

Btw how do i know when a dog want to 'make cake' Coz tis morning my puppy keep making wierd sound and keep pulling the chain like wanna go out, so my mum take her for a walk but the pup didnt do any 'cake' doh.gif  But after that my pup went back to sleep...  doh.gif  doh.gif  doh.gif

Wierd leh...

Btw i've taken her pic d.. but inside my hp memory card i'll upload at nite coz now working dun hv card reader  sweat.gif
Eh Cloudx, your doggy is the one on your avatar is it? What breed is that oh?

Are you the same Cloudx from lelong.com forum? Hehe...

Your dog make noise because he wants to come out ler, not poo-poo. If he wanna poo-poo, your mom take him out - he sure adventure until forget want to poo-poo wan... But doggies usually poo-poo in the morning so when you take him out, just stand there with him, dont layan him... for 30 - 60 min.
Pennywise
post Mar 23 2007, 10:28 PM

5,796 posts

I need to learn how to teach your dog to jump over an object?
Pennywise
post Mar 24 2007, 01:38 PM

5,796 posts

As far as I can remember, Casper never had a problem with showers. He enjoys it being rub and massage... Maybe cause too hot la so cold shower, he loves it.
Pennywise
post Mar 26 2007, 10:48 PM

5,796 posts

THe ball with bell inside can be found in any local pet store for RM2.50 each. The thing about this ball is that you cannot throw from high places or else it will break in two and the bell, your dog eat, your dog die. So if the ball pecah, throw away the little bell thats inside or just roll it on the ground, never throw the ball hard hard..

7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.1262sec    0.50    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 07:51 AM