QUOTE(Syrian @ Jun 24 2007, 10:45 AM)
hahha my lui lui love nylon bone and Pretty love chewing bone .i like nylon bone oso..can last very long..Hahahha and clean
Dog Lover Kopitiam, A place for dog lovers to yam cha!
Jun 24 2007, 10:57 AM
7,578 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Taman Segar Perdana, Cheras |
Jun 24 2007, 11:00 AM
2,761 posts Joined: Dec 2006 |
from wud i read here, nylon bone is economical and is a good source of entertainment for dogs .. hehehe. Will get one when I go out again.
Jun 24 2007, 12:56 PM
185 posts Joined: Oct 2006 From: Nang Bay, Krabi, Thailand |
hi all, i have a problem with dogs. my neighbour's dogs always bark at me when i return from work. how do i make them quiet? thanks.
Jun 24 2007, 03:08 PM
4,105 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: eE-pOh | KL |
LOL your neighbour should teach them how to keep quiet
Jun 24 2007, 04:52 PM
they bark at u coz they're trained to bark at strangers?
Jun 24 2007, 04:56 PM
Jun 24 2007, 07:20 PM
5,796 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
How do you shower your dog's face? My groomer tells me its ok to shower the face because often when dogs go swimming, they will just jump into the water with everything wet. On the contrary, I am worried Casper's ears get infection.
So, how exactly do you guys do it? I just hold his fur around the jaw tight tight, put in cotton balls to the ears, cover one, spray one side. Then I let go of that ear and cover the other ear, spray the other side but really I dont have that many hands to scrub or anything and his fur around his face is turning yellow. So how exactly should we do it? Any guidelines, advice on the proper way? |
Jun 24 2007, 08:17 PM
12,047 posts Joined: Nov 2005 From: Setapak |
QUOTE(Pennywise @ Jun 24 2007, 07:20 PM) How do you shower your dog's face? My groomer tells me its ok to shower the face because often when dogs go swimming, they will just jump into the water with everything wet. On the contrary, I am worried Casper's ears get infection. You can wash the face but as for showering, you would need to lower your dog's head so the water doesn't get into the nose. Dogs hate it when water gets into their nose. Firstly, washing the face is easy if you use baby tearless shampoo. It is safer, tearless means it won't irritate the eyes. Just use your fingers to scrub. Don't worry about shampoo getting into the eyes, baby shampoo is very safe since it won't cause harm to babies. For me, I'll hold my dog's muzzle and lower her head in an angle so that when I shower, the water drips downwards and won't enter her nose. Another way is getting a bucket of water and a small cup to pour the water slowly at the areas you wanna wash out the shampoo. Some people would use wet cloths but it won't 100% get rid of all shampoo residue.So, how exactly do you guys do it? I just hold his fur around the jaw tight tight, put in cotton balls to the ears, cover one, spray one side. Then I let go of that ear and cover the other ear, spray the other side but really I dont have that many hands to scrub or anything and his fur around his face is turning yellow. So how exactly should we do it? Any guidelines, advice on the proper way? If you want to whiten the face, you can get hold of BioGroom's whitening shampoo, it is tearless. Not all of BioGroom's shampoo are tearless.... so far only a few and one of them is the whitening one. |
Jun 24 2007, 11:42 PM
Last time i read somewhere saying that you can apply corn starch (i think) on the face to reduce tear stain. Or u can apply it to the moustache to keep it dry, clean and white. I'm not sure if it's corn starch or some other flour (forgotten). Try and ask white palace. I think i read it in his maltese thread (forgotten)
Jun 24 2007, 11:46 PM
QUOTE(crazymouse_yyh @ Jun 24 2007, 08:17 PM) You can wash the face but as for showering, you would need to lower your dog's head so the water doesn't get into the nose. Dogs hate it when water gets into their nose. Firstly, washing the face is easy if you use baby tearless shampoo. It is safer, tearless means it won't irritate the eyes. Just use your fingers to scrub. Don't worry about shampoo getting into the eyes, baby shampoo is very safe since it won't cause harm to babies. For me, I'll hold my dog's muzzle and lower her head in an angle so that when I shower, the water drips downwards and won't enter her nose. Another way is getting a bucket of water and a small cup to pour the water slowly at the areas you wanna wash out the shampoo. Some people would use wet cloths but it won't 100% get rid of all shampoo residue. I am using All Systems and I think I will be using this for a long time. Seapark Pet Supplies aunty tells me that this shampoo got no chemicals so its safe to wash the dog's face with it but then it was not stated on the bottle to be tearless. I am quite doubtful but I make sure it doesnt get into the eyes.If you want to whiten the face, you can get hold of BioGroom's whitening shampoo, it is tearless. Not all of BioGroom's shampoo are tearless.... so far only a few and one of them is the whitening one. By baby shampoo, do you mean human's? I am worried about the ears only because Casper ears is sharp and pointy so if wash the head (near the brains there) between the ears, the water can go in quite easily if he starts to struggle. I know dogs hate it when it enters the nose thats why I also try to bend his head lower and wash it but sometimes the water flow down, near the ear, I panic. Then near the nose, he dont like. Sheeessshh!! This is really quite hard. Oh yea, a side note about scrubbing / rubbing / massaging the dog in the shower. I used to use hands and scratch his back but it was not really effective. Now, I use a rubber brush. Fuiyoh!!! The difference is amazing. He seems to love it, like boss kena massage by the slave, me! Then just sit there with his back facing me while I do my job! Added on June 24, 2007, 11:48 pm QUOTE(chocolatepallette @ Jun 24 2007, 12:56 PM) hi all, i have a problem with dogs. my neighbour's dogs always bark at me when i return from work. how do i make them quiet? thanks. I told my friend the same thing today about the dogs in the opposite bungalow barking at me whenever I park my car opposite side of the road. 3 dogs, really quite fierce but I know is scary cats cause I tried to chase them before.My friend tell me simple only, just buy a bar of chocolate, break them and throw it in the house. Hahahaha... I wish I could do it but I worry when I die, go to Hell, Hades will ask these dogs to scratch out my livers!!!!!!!!! This post has been edited by Pennywise: Jun 24 2007, 11:48 PM |
Jun 24 2007, 11:48 PM
QUOTE(Pennywise @ Jun 24 2007, 11:46 PM) Oh yea, a side note about scrubbing / rubbing / massaging the dog in the shower. I used to use hands and scratch his back but it was not really effective. Now, I use a rubber brush. Fuiyoh!!! The difference is amazing. He seems to love it, like boss kena massage by the slave, me! Then just sit there with his back facing me while I do my job! hahahha like a boss let ppl help it massage..seem ur westie is so comfortable with the rubber crush wor. Hahahaha...Cute... |
Jun 24 2007, 11:49 PM
rubber scrub? Wud is that? Can u kindly post a picture of a rubber scrub?
Jun 24 2007, 11:56 PM
QUOTE(Digitral @ Jun 24 2007, 11:48 PM) hahahha like a boss let ppl help it massage..seem ur westie is so comfortable with the rubber crush wor. Hahahaha...Cute... Yea he is the taikor now. Just that when comes to wash face, I become the taikor while he becomes crazy running around the toilet. Doing the shake shake thing to splash all the water onto me.QUOTE(Syrian @ Jun 24 2007, 11:49 PM) Here you go, this is the kind of brush I am using when I bath him. I also feel that this kind of brush is good in the sense it doesnt hurt him, its easy for me to wear because there is a band attached on the brush.I sort of can scrub off his dead fur, sort of like human la, scrub off the dead cells on your face when you do facial scrubs. Hahahaha... Anyway, that's just a silly thought but I really do find it helpful rather than after shower, he come out all wirey, now he come out straight and hansem. ![]() |
Jun 25 2007, 12:49 AM
Oooooo ... can find in watson ?
Oh ya .. Hepy shakes all the time lar when I bath him. It's as if i'm bathing together with him This post has been edited by Syrian: Jun 25 2007, 12:56 AM |
Jun 25 2007, 12:51 AM
3,260 posts Joined: Jul 2006 |
lucky jack-jack oni shakes when i ask him 2 shake..
haha.. |
Jun 25 2007, 12:54 AM
2,309 posts Joined: May 2006 From: Kepong, Kuala Lumpur |
wow, good idea of the rubber scrub thingy, thanks for sharing.
Jun 25 2007, 01:00 AM
12,047 posts Joined: Nov 2005 From: Setapak |
Watson? That's a rubber brush.... petshop lah... the ones for humans is plastic and rounded, not flat so its not very effective on dogs.
Added on June 25, 2007, 1:04 am QUOTE(Syrian @ Jun 24 2007, 11:42 PM) Last time i read somewhere saying that you can apply corn starch (i think) on the face to reduce tear stain. Or u can apply it to the moustache to keep it dry, clean and white. I'm not sure if it's corn starch or some other flour (forgotten). Try and ask white palace. I think i read it in his maltese thread (forgotten) I don't think tear stain.... Corn starch absorbs water, doesn't deodorize or cleans.... it is normally applied to the mustache and beard to soak up moisture and dirt, then brushed out to clean the residue.... cannot use on tear stains coz near eyes.... if corn starch get into your eyes, it becomes irritated, so same with dogs as well.This post has been edited by crazymouse_yyh: Jun 25 2007, 01:04 AM |
Jun 25 2007, 01:16 AM
the rubber scrub thing roughly how much , seem nice to use ..hope my 2 furkids love it...
Jun 25 2007, 09:38 AM
QUOTE(Syrian @ Jun 25 2007, 12:49 AM) Oooooo ... can find in watson ? I doubt you can find it at Watson. Try any pet store, they should have it and its only about RM6.90 or RM5.90 only. Oh ya .. Hepy shakes all the time lar when I bath him. It's as if i'm bathing together with him Casper wont shake until I am done with him. So as soon as I pour the last bit of water, I move away to the corner of the bathroom in order not to get wet but sometimes he will run to me and then shake. QUOTE(jaunty_niel @ Jun 25 2007, 12:51 AM) Wahhhh keng! How do you train him to do that? I thought this kind of thing is by instinct?QUOTE(White Palace @ Jun 25 2007, 12:54 AM) No problemo. It's easy for your hands too, no need scrub until all rough.QUOTE(Digitral @ Jun 25 2007, 01:16 AM) Its about RM5.90 or RM6.90 I got from Seapark Pet Supplies, SS2. |
Jun 25 2007, 11:07 AM
3,260 posts Joined: Jul 2006 |
| Change to: | 0.0247sec
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 08:08 AM |