7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Dog Lover Kopitiam, A place for dog lovers to yam cha!

Pennywise
post Jan 14 2007, 11:23 PM

5,796 posts

I think I am going to change my dog food from Pro Plan to Nutri Sauce, just came back from a Pet Store, they told me that Pro Plan and many other brands use the internals of the chicken and etc to grind into these dogs biscuits meanwhile Nutri Source is pure meat only, no intestine, liver or internals or chicken / beef / lamb. Super premium.
Pennywise
post Jan 16 2007, 12:36 AM

5,796 posts

Oh yea, by-product is the word for it. Thanks for clarifying.

I already connect 3 pieces of play pen to my cage for extension. Put papers there so he can pee and poo on it but he bite it on random and shred it to bits. Then he try his best not to pee or poo there because its still considered his home-ground... Tahan until come out, potty on the floor mat, AGAIN!

Frust!!
Pennywise
post Jan 16 2007, 02:13 PM

5,796 posts

QUOTE(wizardboy @ Jan 16 2007, 02:09 AM)
Pennywise,
i tried recently to go for soft therapy on my male maltese. it seems to work on him. i know it looks real silly to talk to a dog but he really understood me. he knows the word pee / poo. so i will bring him to the newspaper n tell him to pee n poo there. he could easily recognise the place in smaller area say a size of a room but once in hall, he'll get excited and since he's still a pup, he could not hold on to his bladder. when u praise him that he did good job on newspaper, he will be really happy n give we him treats. well, it works on me but my only problem, he still do his biz in toilet ! and guess what, my cat learns to pee and poo on newspaper from my maltese male ! can u imagine the smell ?!#@!
What is a soft therapy? I have no idea whats that man... But its amazing that your cat can follow after your maltese!! My puppy, Casper still have this mentality that the newspaper within the cage is 'his clean territory'. Still cannot register that newspaper are for peeing and pooing.

QUOTE(M2K2Land @ Jan 16 2007, 11:44 AM)
Sometime you need to try out which is best for your dog. However please choose those Holistic food brand smile.gif
Apa dia Holistic food brand? Tak faham...

QUOTE(MOUSEY @ Jan 16 2007, 11:59 AM)
Erm... remember that post where I recommend you to put a rubber mat on top of the newspaper ?

There are actually a few uses of it;

1) It's to prevent the furkid to reach onto the newspaper and tear it into bits.
2) The mat will not contain liquid hence all the pee would be drenched beneath to the newspaper
3) The mat can retain the smell of the poo/pee in which the pup would go back there for it's business again
4) If you do not have a scoop to scoop up the poo, you can lift the whole mat and empty it over the toilet bowl (Consider the fact that the stool is hard)

Of course you may need to rinse the mat from time to time if you are about to keep the mat indoor.

What's more, I am thinking of placing the mat over a container instead of a newspaper so that I wont need to change the newspaper. (Recycle mah)
I know, those plastics like non slip mat right? I will get one of those too. So after all that, when you set your puppy out, he knows how to get to the newspaper to do his biz?
Pennywise
post Jan 17 2007, 09:12 AM

5,796 posts

QUOTE(wizardboy @ Jan 16 2007, 09:37 PM)
pennywise,
that is a good sign that ur dog does not want to do his biz within his area of comfort. try to confine him at bigger space
caging might not always help. we never cage our dogs just confined them after meal and release after they do their biz in newspaper. then when they grow older especially when their bladder can hold it, like our June (female maltese abt 9 months old) she knows very well where is the place to do and the house area is really huge. only Trump we confined now. even in my gf's room he wont pee/poo. either on newspaper that is near to her door or if he really cannot hold to it he'll go to the washroom
I live in a double storey terrace so I dont have that much space to confine him now. I am currently looking for someone to buy my piano for cheaps, say around RM500 and then I will have more space for Casper. I will give him a runway within his play pen.

Couldnt find the time to accompany him yesterday, feel so sorry for him this morning. Poor thing but he still hasnt learn to potty on the newspaper yet. Hope he learns soon though.
Pennywise
post Jan 20 2007, 01:30 AM

5,796 posts

How long does it take for you to get your puppy to be obedient to you? Whenever I reach out to him, 60% of the time, he walks away from my palm. When I reach out to catch him, he runs. 40% or when he's tired, he will come to me and sleep with me.
Pennywise
post Jan 20 2007, 10:51 AM

5,796 posts

QUOTE(MOUSEY @ Jan 20 2007, 09:57 AM)
Well, here's the idea. Dogs are supposed to be like wolves; they are pack animals - animals that have hierarchy upon who is the boss, the second man and so forth. If there are cases where the pup actually barks back at you, snatches toy from you or doing something that is "disrespectful" icon_idea.gif then you should be careful. Cause at the end of the day, you may not be treated as the "boss" (aka pack leader) and as expected - your training would go onto dumb ears.  rclxub.gif

Love for your dog is one thing but getting them to respect you is another.  notworthy.gif  You should be able to give instructions to your pup and ensure that they are strictly adhering to it otherwise they will just think that you are not serious all of the time. Here's a phrase from the e-book I had read

"if you don't establish YOURSELF as the leader, your dog will feel compelled to assume the role himself. This is when you will start seeing all those rude and
disrespectful behaviors. Your dog, of course, isn't actually being rude or disrespectful. He is simply carrying out his role as pack leader. He figures that since YOU haven't assumed the role, HE has to do it."
Damn it, this is why I use the slipper to hit the floor when I train him on leash. Now he can follow me using leash liao. I only took 2 hours to intro him to the leash. But other stuff like Come and Sit command, he still wont. Sometimes Sit, we have to push his backside, so he sits, for 5 seconds he gets up. Thus can conclude its not really working.

When I ganas, I feel bad. When I nice, he becomes nasty. I use a plastic clothes hanger once, hit the floor one time, hancur kecai. I need to get something else like a baseball bat or something. The slipper I hit the floor also become senget liao... Sister slipper, kena scold! cry.gif
Pennywise
post Jan 21 2007, 01:54 AM

5,796 posts

Everytime I reach my hand out to Casper, he tries to bite it. When I try to pat his head as he approaches, he turn his neck to try to bite it still. Behtahan, I took his paw and I bite him back (gentle oni but he can feel my teeth la)... Hahaha...

Earlier this evening, he pee-d on the floor near my bicycle. Then he run away as I approach him. My gf tells me that he's challenging me. He knows he pee on the wrong spot, thats why he runs away. Kwai-lan with me... I think I am going to whallop him liao.

A dog trainer tell me that if cannot tahan, dont use anything hard to hit him. Dont use wood or etc thats mudah pecah, then he will eat the remains and die. He tell me that if he pee / poo on the floor again to test my patience, whack him with the leash. I have a small puppy leash, very short about 1m nia... Should I?

Lastly, please share with me how you teach your dog the COME command. Use treats? Come 100x = 100 treats?

This post has been edited by Pennywise: Jan 21 2007, 01:59 AM
Pennywise
post Jan 21 2007, 11:03 PM

5,796 posts

I got two questions...

1. My Westie's ear... one side up, one side down. Will the one down ever come up? Any precaution I have to take?

2. When shower puppy, can we shower the face? Or keep the water away from the face and shoulder/neck down only?
Pennywise
post Jan 22 2007, 12:12 AM

5,796 posts

Here is some picture of my Westie. Brought him home for 20 days liao and now only wanna post picture.

Casper, blur to the max as the first time he met Mr. Camera.

Sleepy?

That is his tongue.

The way he sit... Abnormal ke?

Editted for thumbnail posting.

This post has been edited by Pennywise: Jan 22 2007, 12:25 AM
Pennywise
post Jan 22 2007, 07:56 AM

5,796 posts

QUOTE(wizardboy @ Jan 22 2007, 01:19 AM)
pennywise,
finally you post picture of Casper. Handsome fella.
btw, my Trump was away on Saturday nite with my and my gf at my aunt's hse (we overnite and Trump too) guess what, he only missed once (pee and a poo) on the carpet. the rest he did it on newspaper.
well perhaps those rm20+ bottle of House Breaking might help.
give it a try smile.gif
all the best
I dont mind giving it a try... What brand is it or what is it called? Let me know. Thanks.
Pennywise
post Jan 22 2007, 10:40 AM

5,796 posts

QUOTE(MOUSEY @ Jan 22 2007, 08:25 AM)
My Whiskey had it's own ears going up one by one but we did help him a little by shaving the hair behind the ears as to reduce the weight to the ears while letting the veins grow. If you wish to do so, the groomer may be able to help. We did it ourselves by using my shaver's sideburn trimmer and trimming it bit by bit. Works though.  icon_idea.gif
Hahaha... maybe you want to bleach your dog after the trip outside tongue.gif
Casper's fur hair has already been trimmed by the breeder when I bought him,
Pennywise
post Jan 29 2007, 12:20 AM

5,796 posts

Ok I need some serious help.

1. I bought a non-slip mat from Giant for RM9. It has 6 pieces and when put together, its quite large. I put this in his play-pen so he wont shred the newspapers to bits. Now, I am worried that this non-slip mat smells different and he wont go poo / pee on it.

2. My dog isnt eating his dog biscuit recently. I wonder why. The portion I cut down a bit but then he only eat a bit, walk away to rest or begs to come out to play. Why wont he eat? The dog biscuit, he eat 1/3 of the whole big bag already but now he is so reluctant to finish. Put his bowl in his cage for 4 hours, STILL NOT FINISH! WHY? How do I resolve this?

3. Casper still pees on the floor and then he runs away. He 'probably' knows its wrong and was testing my patience so I walk after him quietly and caught him, take him to his pee spot and push him down, then I take a rolled-up newspaper and smack the ground and shouted NO! Then he would struggle. The next two times I hit on the ground, he struggled for his life like that rotating his neck left and right... I scared break. Any better advise?

4. My dog hardly ever sleeps. Whenever I go downstairs, I will see him awake. I come home, I will see him awake. Maybe he still feel unsafe at home. But whenever I hit the ground when he simply potty, later on, he will head-low-low come manja with me.

I feel bad, like I treat my puppy poorly. Teach him potty on newspaper but now worry that non-slip mat smells different, then he confused again. Then he pee, he cabut quickly when he see me turned around. So I had to walk after him and catch him, bring him to his pee spot, he struggle until like kamikaze like that, rather break his neck those type. I feel so heart broken...

Please advise!!
Pennywise
post Jan 29 2007, 07:56 AM

5,796 posts

Well, I don't quite get u..I mean how will the non-slip mat help in stopping Casper from shreding the newspapers..Mind to explain in more detail please?

Wow... thanks for the speedy reply. I place the non-slip mat over the newspaper. So the newspaper is under that piece of non-slip mat made out of rubber. The newspaper is beneath it. I just worry he get confused with the whole smell idea because newspaper smell probably covered by the rubber non-slip mat.

Then later he come out of the cage+play-pen-combined. He wont be able to sense that newspaper is potty area cause mat smell overpower newspaper.

Maybe Casper is bored with the taste..he'll continue like this for a few days..but don't worry he'll "appreciate" the food more when he's really hungry smile.gif

Today, I will be out to work. Nobody at home cause grandma has gone to aunt place. Sister will be back by 2pm after school to look after him. I hope he eats what I just fed him 10 minutes ago.

I think that's the best method u used..I used to train my dogs that way too..no need to pity her too much..like that she'll learn better and faster.

Yea that I know, no need pity so much but then he struggle until neck wanna patah. Now he goes to the newspaper not to potty, just to sit there and scratch his ears. I think he getting the whole idea wrongly.

Planning to take 1 week leave during CNY to house-break him.

Actually Casper does sleep..is just that everytime when u walk down the stairs or nearly reaching home, she already sensed u from far and get excited..that's why u always see her awake..it's actually u woke her up..so don't worry k smile.gif

Oic, so I woke him up... I see other ppl dog sleep like pig like that cannot wake up wan. Mine like so alert... like scared ppl come bunuh him like that. Haihhh... I'm probably not doing a good job la.

This post has been edited by Pennywise: Jan 29 2007, 07:57 AM
Pennywise
post Jan 29 2007, 11:52 PM

5,796 posts

Begging Strips... yellow packet for RM7. Original flavor seems to be many dogs favorite including my Westie and 4 of my other friends' Spitz, Cocker, Silky mixed Shih Tzu and pure Shih Tzu likes it.
Pennywise
post Jan 30 2007, 11:53 AM

5,796 posts

QUOTE(Syrian @ Jan 30 2007, 12:08 AM)
And then I dunno if it's normal or not .. My shih tzu's face stinks!! I jz sent him for basic grooming on saturday nite and now his face stinks already.  The smell is covering my entire room  doh.gif .  Got any solution to this ??  Can i get baby wipe to clean his face daily ??

Pennywise,
Carrefour or Jusco or Tesco got sell ??  Or it's only available at petshop ?
Yes, you can use baby-wipes to clean his face everyday like some of the Pugs owner I know. However, I doubt its the face but still, do wipe his mouth every time after he eats. Like many others who wrote, please check his ears.

I think you can get Beggin Strips almost any where. I am not sure about Jusco, Carrefour or Tesco but I think they should have it. Here's the URL of how it looks like, I'm sure you've seen it before.

http://www.begginstrips.com/getPage.aspx?ContentID=422

I feed my Westie the original Bacon flavor.

QUOTE(MOUSEY @ Jan 30 2007, 12:13 AM)
1) It's okay if your pup is still doing his business at the newspaper. The idea now is to improvise it by placing the mat over the SOILED newspaper. When you see your puppy is looking for a spot, try place it over the mat and it will eventually knows what to do. The idea here is for it to recognize his own spot for his business via the scene; which is the nature of dogs. At later stage, the non-slip mat would retain his scent and he will go back there for his business hence you can place the mat wherever you wish the pup to go for it's business (i.e. Toilet).

I can't promise you how fast the dog would be able to find back it's spot but it requires practice and easy access for him to it. An advise is not open a space that is too big for the pup to roam if you wish to housebreak him, it would go into confusion and may not be able to find back it's own spot when it needs to go blink.gif

Non-slip mats are good if you wish to have an easy cleaning session. The newspapers underneath it is to absorb the pee while you can lift the whole mat to dunk the poo or for an easy wash session if you feel like it.

To summarize it; here's my perception about non-slip mats;

a) Easy cleaning, lift the mat, dunk the poo and wash
b) Keep the pup away directly from the newspapers
c) More tidy, I can't bear seeing the pee and poo over the newspaper after coming back from work.
d) Prevent your pup from stepping over the pee as the pee would be drained underneath to the newspapers
e) Remote training, move the mat and you'll move the "toilet"

2) I think it's normal for dogs not to finish their food. If they had had enough then there is nothing much you can do apart from lifting the bowl away and keep the rest for the next session. I never leave food over for them to eat in a long duration as it will encourage them to think that they have the chance to finish it whenever they wish to (which may affect their potty timing as well)  blush.gif

3) When your pup does a mistake, be sure to clean up the mess with soap or some detergent. A mere wipe is not enough because they can sense their scent when they need to go again. We use DETTOL to wipe the floor and then another round of clean water to ensure that the floor is safe for the pup to run around  tongue.gif

4) Trust me, he WILL sleep. It's dog's nature to be alert. If you have a pup that sleeps when the whole house had been carted away by burglars then I think your pup may have a problem instead  laugh.gif
Hey thanks for your feedback on the advantages of the non-slip mat. I really appreciate this but I think recently, my Casper has stopped walking in circles. Thus, I cannot find any sign of him wanting to do his biz. This gets more difficult each time.

As for the food, I dont keep them for the next session as I mixed his doggy biscuits with milk powder and a little water, making it soggy. I doubt it can be kept for the next session. I believe it's going to be unhealthy for them.

I dont use DETTOL like you do. I use Febreze. I will try to use DETTOL when I run out. I do admit DETTOL is much cleaner but a bit dangerous if not cleaned properly.

He WILL sleep? But the problem is I never catch him with his eyes closed before... Not even once.
Pennywise
post Feb 9 2007, 10:50 AM

5,796 posts

QUOTE(Syrian @ Feb 7 2007, 10:53 PM)
How to trim the fur of my Lucky's private parts??  Do u actually cut it short OR use shaver to shave the whole area bald??  Coz my Lucky had his poops stuck on the fur and it's kinda hard to remove, that I had to bath him in order to wash away the dirt.

Wanna ask one more question.  Can  use Pantene for my doggie ar ??? Or must use doggie shampoo ??  Coz I think i saw one person posted before saying that he/she used pantene for his/her dog.
My vet has advised me not to trim the hair on his private part... the pee part cause it will cause unnecessary itchiness later on.
Pennywise
post Feb 10 2007, 12:18 AM

5,796 posts

Syrian,

The reason why you should not wash your puppy too frequently is so that his body has the time to build up what I would call puppy oil, sort of like baby oil, to protect their skin. The oil is good for their fur and skin so it's best that you only shower your dog NO MORE than twice a week.

If you are going to wash your puppy, make sure its luke warm water in the evening. If it's in the afternoon, cold water is fine. Advise is that do not let water get into their ears, will be extremely troublesome and smelly later on. Try to avoid the nose too. Many people say can shower the face but my gf and I, our dogs, we just wipe with wet clothes or tissue instead of splashing or showering their face.

I am guessing, maybe your dog smell come from the face, or rather more accurately the mouth? Does he have bad breath? He is not a Pug but a Shih-Tzu so you dont usually have to wipe his face everyday. Does he dive his face into his food? For example, I feed Casper his three meals with Nutri Sauce lamb based along with some milk powder for calcium. I will add plain water into it turning his dog biscuit soggy and the powder diluted in the water. He eat in his bowl and then his janggut all got the powder, so sometimes when dry up, you can still smell the powder smell - so just wipe it clean with wet clothe will solve the problem.

As for ear cleaning, use a cottonbud to clean it just like that. Do not clean too deep, only the parts where your eyes can see and then stop. You can push it in but sendiri agak-agak la - not until your dog become deaf. There is a blue solution where you just pour it into your dog's ear without having to apply it on cotton bud. Just a few drops and then your dog will hate it, shake it and you will see tiny dust and flakes come out. I do that for my puppy whenever I shower him.

As for why your Lucky's moustouch cannot grow is because it's not the time yet. Dog's look will take transformation when they are one year old. Be patient. That's also when their weight stabilise. My Westie dont look like a Westie at all.

As for the fur, my friend say got a solution to rub on him. My girlfriend feed her Spitz, Evening Primrose Oil and wipe his lotion that smells like coconut. It helps and the dog's fur is really outstanding. Then cut short, now the dog look like a lamb. Kekekeke...

I am waiting for his fur to be long and I will give him the Lion's Cut! When I got him about 5 weeks ago, he was 2.3kg, now he is 3.5kg. I am kind of worried about his weight so I am taking him out for walk tomorrow and Sunday. Then I can shower him on Sunday cause he had his last vaccination last Sunday.

This post has been edited by Pennywise: Feb 10 2007, 12:21 AM
Pennywise
post Feb 11 2007, 02:32 AM

5,796 posts

Now I have a serious house breaking problem of my own.

Today, I let my Casper out to play. So my sister sit with him. To my sister's right is the newspaper where he's supposed to potty. To my sister's left is a floor mat, for us humans to wipe our legs when we step in the living room.

Casper poo on the floor mat instead of the newspaper. So I caught him, roll up a newspaper and push him down to smell it. I smack the newspaper on the floor and kept telling him NO! He was afraid and struggled for his life. I didnt let go, I hit two more times, telling him NO! NO!

Then, I carried him to the newspaper and tell him, here "good boy, clever Casper, good paper"... Then he run off... climb up the stair case until one step, he stop. He pee on the step and lay down on his pee so scared, got all so dirty!!

Then, I have to make him smell, hit the floor again and say NO! NO! again. Brought him to the newspaper again and tell him good boy, good paper, clever Casper. Since he laid on the pee, I had to shower him. That's in the evening around 4pm.

Then, I went to supper... When I come back, I see him quietly laying down on the newspaper that I placed at his playpen... I see him so good boy. Sekali I pick him up, he was actually laying down on his shit... All the shit stick to the stomach and I had to shower him a SECOND time for the day.

WTF?! I think maybe I hit the floor too ganas or my dog is a scaredy cat, so I will have to switch to positive training methods to teach him liao. I cant believe he lay on his own pee and poo! It's worse than before!!!

How many of you train your dog to do his business on newspaper? Recently, I read an article saying not all dogs know how to different floor and newspaper, so if you encourage him to do business indoor on the newspapers, it will makes it too easy for the dog to feel as if it can go elsewhere in the house. For some dogs it may work, but others will have trouble distinguishing the difference.

How many on toilet? Majority let your dog do their business outside? The reason why I dont want my doggy to go outside is I dont want him to get dirty on the mud at the garden or attract any ticks / fleas problem.

Any advise?

This post has been edited by Pennywise: Feb 11 2007, 03:10 AM
Pennywise
post Feb 11 2007, 03:02 PM

5,796 posts

Hun,

What do you use to groom your dog? Scissors or electric-charged shavers? Mind telling me and share where you buy and price?
Pennywise
post Feb 26 2007, 10:50 AM

5,796 posts

I know this may sound a bit crazy but are there places that sell dog's shoe?

I bring my Westie out for evening walks every alternate days. When I bring him back, I would wash his feet before letting him in the house. Yesterday, I noticed how black his nails were and I cant seem to clean it off.

So, right now I am looking for a solution - either a shoe or a shampoo / cleaning liquid that's strong enough to remove the stain but yet not hurt him.

Any suggestions?

7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0221sec    0.39    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 07:52 AM