Radeon 9600 PRO Overclocking, A big problem...

uzairi
post May 4 2006, 12:56 AM

Team almostthere
6,744 posts

No extra marks after u unlocked it, flash it with another bios ? Weird, but i think u should use the 9600 unlocking method by using this application at --> http://downloads.guru3d.com/download.php?det=680
uzairi
post May 4 2006, 01:13 AM

Team almostthere
6,744 posts

QUOTE(Hackezkk @ May 4 2006, 01:06 AM)
LOL
i think radeon 9600 locked against OC
it will revert to normal speed

use ati TOOLS
http://downloads.guru3d.com/download.php?det=725
go to setting
misc
then tick at remove radeon 9200/9600 OC clock lock
ok
gud luck
Try to use this one. unsure.gif
uzairi
post May 10 2006, 11:55 PM

Team almostthere
6,744 posts

QUOTE(colinwong89 @ May 4 2006, 02:05 PM)
Now the words on my screen get blurry... It's not the drivers, monitor, or connection... anyone can help?  icon_question.gif I already defaulted the speeds, and it's still on. sad.gif
Cleartype on ? IIRC cleartype is used on lcd screens oni, i think maybe u enabled them somewhere.

QUOTE(Hiwatari @ May 5 2006, 01:26 AM)
chiezzz blink.gif ...higher than mine cry.gif
izzit core speed is more important than mem speed?
i oc mine 2 438/235 oso only got 3.2k sad.gif
Core speed is more important than memory speed. Try to clock the core to the highest with the mem speed set to default. Then u reset the core speed so that u can find the highest mem speed. That way u can find the highest speed for both. Then put the core speed to the maximum and slowly up the mem speed. Compare the marks. thumbup.gif
uzairi
post May 12 2006, 02:44 AM

Team almostthere
6,744 posts

Colin, any updates from your 9600 ?
uzairi
post May 12 2006, 04:57 PM

Team almostthere
6,744 posts

Not enough cooling i supposed. U can try Ati Silencer and see how it performs. My 9800XT is performing damn well when paired with Ati Silencer 1. Max oc 450mhz Core/ 412mhz Mem(824mhz effective).
uzairi
post May 12 2006, 09:58 PM

Team almostthere
6,744 posts

Doesnt get hot ? Maybe the cooling device not tounching the core nicely ?
uzairi
post May 13 2006, 03:21 AM

Team almostthere
6,744 posts

Which timing? Ram or the GC ? My D43 have a higher bandwidth at 3-4-4-10. Cas 2.5 wont give any improvement also. I think im hitting the wall already.
uzairi
post May 13 2006, 01:35 PM

Team almostthere
6,744 posts

Owh, lower Mem clock speeds with loose timing eh ? Nice, but its a bit tricky to do this also. If something happens, you need a pci card to help u.

Amedion : Changing the memory timings wont burn the card in any possible way.
uzairi
post May 13 2006, 10:12 PM

Team almostthere
6,744 posts

I think if u loosened it too much it would decrease the marks too. 9600 is a bit tricky to overclock but once u did it, its a relieve.

Got any success with AtiTool ? They got built in feature that disable the 9600 protection stuff.
uzairi
post May 14 2006, 08:58 AM

Team almostthere
6,744 posts

Owh, Anti Protection removed. Nice one, ensure u have a proper cooling before cranking the voltages. sweat.gif
uzairi
post May 17 2006, 08:22 PM

Team almostthere
6,744 posts

I try to help you guys whenever i can. Make sure u have the proper cooling before attempting any voltage mods tho. Get some ramsink for your TSOP rams yah colin ? You wouldnt want it to fry do you ?

OOT : multiplexer/demultiplexer ? Learned that but forget already. sweat.gif

uzairi
post May 19 2006, 11:40 PM

Team almostthere
6,744 posts

Google-ed already ? I think you can find it there. Here i attached some of it.

For Ati Reference Card
http://www.rojakpot.com/showarticle.aspx?artno=114&pgno=0

For Gecube, Gigabyte Card
http://www.rojakpot.com/showarticle.aspx?artno=116&pgno=0
uzairi
post May 22 2006, 05:33 PM

Team almostthere
6,744 posts

QUOTE(colinwong89 @ May 21 2006, 11:37 PM)
One thing I realised, when I penciled more on the voltage controller, it seemed that my memory overclocking went slightly higher. Any ideas on this? Perhaps it's linked together?
sweat.gif
QUOTE(Shah81 @ May 21 2006, 11:46 PM)
this is normal....it got nothing to do with gpu voltage but more related to your gpu speed. sometime higher gpu will result in a lower mem speed and vice versa. u just have to find the best combo of gpu vs mem speed.
for 9600, i suggest you max out your mem speed first and then work your gpu.
What he mean was, when he penciled the gpu voltage controller the mem speed can go higher. Not that that increasing the gpu core would result in lower mem clock.

This is normal when u give more voltage to the gpu, slightly higher mem speed can be achieved. thumbup.gif
uzairi
post May 23 2006, 11:47 PM

Team almostthere
6,744 posts

QUOTE(colinwong89 @ May 23 2006, 02:49 PM)
That is weird... the GPU voltage shouldn't affect the memory voltage. laugh.gif
What i mean was, the memory can go higher but limitation from the gpu core itself. So adding more voltage to the gpu core would give the mem some headroom to increase the speed in a limited margin.

0.0178sec    0.46    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 04:55 AM