Where do you recommend to stay in Kuta and Ubud?
Thinking :
Kuta - Grand Mega Resort & Spa Bali
Ubub - Tegal Sari but need to move between room each day.
Any other good recommendation?
Travel Bali V4
Jun 18 2013, 06:42 PM
1,938 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: http://blog.saimatkong.com |
Where do you recommend to stay in Kuta and Ubud?
Thinking : Kuta - Grand Mega Resort & Spa Bali Ubub - Tegal Sari but need to move between room each day. Any other good recommendation? |
Jun 19 2013, 08:00 AM
QUOTE(mugenz @ Jun 18 2013, 09:18 PM) I had to do the same for tegal sari. Actually does help a lot. Lol in the end we didnt really do much packing when we goin back kl. awesome thanks!Anyway, we just tell front desk that we are changing room and ask them move our luggage then we went out and just goto the new room. I really like ubud very much. It's very peaceful and quiet. Compared to kuta, it's just traffic jam, shopping and clubs. I just read some bad review about the Grand Mega Resort & Spa Bali in Kuta, any recommendation in Kuta? |
Jun 21 2013, 10:17 AM
Anyone stay in Tune Hotel Kuta and Tune Hotel Legian before? Is it good?
Jun 21 2013, 05:35 PM
QUOTE(menmissed @ Jun 21 2013, 03:05 PM) Just trying some alternative and will be staying in others when we go to UbudQUOTE(mugenz @ Jun 21 2013, 03:43 PM) Cant comment about the room. My hotel i stayed is just next to tune. Good to know that! So location wise is actually quite good. Walking distance towards Kuta Beach/Hardrock. Shops are just around. Just alil walking distance towards jalan legian. But its walkable. |
Jun 21 2013, 05:38 PM
QUOTE(menmissed @ Jun 21 2013, 03:05 PM) Do you have a suggestion on where to stay?QUOTE(mugenz @ Jun 21 2013, 03:43 PM) Cant comment about the room. My hotel i stayed is just next to tune. Where you stay on your last visit? Is it good? So location wise is actually quite good. Walking distance towards Kuta Beach/Hardrock. Shops are just around. Just alil walking distance towards jalan legian. But its walkable. |
Jun 27 2013, 10:42 AM
QUOTE(menmissed @ Jun 21 2013, 03:05 PM) not only due to cost but also the surroundings etc in a whole package lor, if it's good and cost effective then why not right? QUOTE(mugenz @ Jun 21 2013, 03:43 PM) Cant comment about the room. My hotel i stayed is just next to tune. ooh cheaper than Tune sumore? You staying at Tune Kuta? I thinking to try both Kuta and the Legain one!So location wise is actually quite good. Walking distance towards Kuta Beach/Hardrock. Shops are just around. Just alil walking distance towards jalan legian. But its walkable. |
Jun 27 2013, 11:03 AM
QUOTE(harhahar @ Jun 22 2013, 03:33 AM) Fave does look pretty neat. good to know! you book via tune website? how much you manage to secure for the price?I will be staying 4 nights @ Tune, Legian next week. Will feedback after the trip! But, it's probably the same like every other Tune Hotel, good location, small & cosy. have your itinerary ready? mind to share? QUOTE(killdavid @ Jun 26 2013, 04:55 PM) Just came back from Bali. This was my second trip. Still love it a lot and would have no worries about going there a third time. This time I was the sole planner and I find that with a little research, you can actually save a lot in Bali. A little research goes a long way to reduce your travel cost. Lobsters for RM 33 ...omfg and manage to successfully propose to my sweetheart. How can I not love Bali .... Lobsters for RM 33? Any details? mind to share your itinerary too? QUOTE(hoiho @ Jun 26 2013, 11:39 PM) tune hotel legian having promo idr 100,000 per night. good deal for a budget traveler.. Yup Legian having promo! But for Kuta only single bed anyone been to Tukad Unda? worth to make a trip there? Seen some pictures, pretty nice with the kids playing water. anyone will be in ubud end of august and interested to do mt batur sunrise trek? i'm interested to do the hike but i'm alone and the hotel quote me Rp.1.000.000 for 2 persons. those staying in tune need to get the wifi pack? This post has been edited by saimatkong: Jun 27 2013, 11:09 AM |
Jul 1 2013, 04:31 PM
Jul 3 2013, 10:56 AM
QUOTE(harhahar @ Jul 3 2013, 02:05 AM) Hi guys! ooh yeah it's a great write-up and thanks for sharing! Good for you and ur girl! Now back to reality Back from Bali with my girl after 4D3N there, definitely would love to stay longer! My itinerary mainly covers only Tanah Lot & Uluwatu as we did not want to rush, it was meant to be a chilled and relaxed trip. Here it is, DAY 1 Arrived in Ngurah Rai at 2.30PM after slight delay due to VIP on ground. Met our driver for the trip Mr. Putu from Bagus (really nice driver, friendly + forever early, highly recommended However, unfortunately due to the VIPs, Ronaldo and the president, we were stuck, static in the airport parking lot for almost 2 hours. About 4 plus, finally ate lunch @ Malioboro. Food there was good, especially the chicken. However the "fish in sarung" thing is a lil too oily IMO, could not finish it. Personally I feel, just stick to the famous chicken Checked in @ Tune Hotel, Legian later. To answer Saimatkong's question, I'm not sure about the price cos I actually won this trip, airticket + hotel Free & easy, checked out the places nearby our hotel. Hotel, location wise is pretty good, lots of warungs and restaurants nearby, a row of them by the beach.. Walking distance from the beach, some shops nearby to see see, also a few mini marts within walking distance, not to mention the one already in the hotel itself. DAY 2 Breakfast @ Warung Murah, nice and cheap compared to others. Roam around until 3PM, met with Putu to visit Tanah Lot. Arrived about an hour later, walked around look look take picha... Finally settled @ a warung to enjoy some coconut while watching the beautiful sunset, definitely recommend you guys to do that, very the romantic. After sunset, dinner @ Naughty Nuri, Batubelig. Freaking crowded, waiting list even though the place is so huge & ended up sharing tables. Ordered the ribs of course, and the chicken (forgotten what is it called), Asked driver to drop us @ Kuta to party the night.. Went to ViAiPi, right beside the bombing memorial, really enjoyed that night, 2 drinks for 80k.. shisha & the live band was fantastic, you can give requests and they seem to know any possible song! Cab back to hotel. DAY 3 Warung Murah for breakfast again. Met Putu @ 1.30PM. Went to Krisna for shopping, everything nice and cheap with no haggling, price approx. tee for rm10, bracelet for rm1, kids beach shorts for rm5, my beach shorts for rm10 Left for Uluwatu @ about 3.30PM Journey was also about an hour. Bought tickets, you can try to get local price although I failed Monkeys were not that scary, just don't wear your sunglasses. They are very attracted if you have corn in your hands which we did, corn was good and shared some with one of the monkey too place was really breathtaking with the waves hitting the rocks and the sun in line with the temple.. nothing else really, we walked to the kecak dance "arena" and sat down, saw everyone holding tickets in their hands and realised we just slumbered our way in without paying went out early and Jimbaran for dinner. This is probably the only regret I have of the trip. We were trapped in the one lane traffic jam to exit uluwatu, worst jam in my life, stuck 2 hours plus and till 9 we still haven't had dinner. We were both hungry and saw a little Bakso cart at the side of the road and decided to just go down and tapao. Mud all over my feet, and there was no fork or stick so we sucked the soup and meatballs from the plastic, but it was damn worth it! The bakso was spot on delicious! Best of all, it was RM3 for 2 packs!!! Decided to visit Made's Warung instead. Had Pork satay, a tomyam soup, spring rolls and 2 drinks. Food was good but burns your wallet with multiple holes. Our meal almost costs 200k IDR. However, do try the mango juice there and the pork satay is probably the only dish I felt was worth it. Although the spring rolls were good too, the portion is a pathetic 2 pieces. Back to hotel. DAY 4 Woke up early to enjoy the beach before leaving back to KL. The sunrise in Bali is a beauty, should check it out, worth it. Hunt for more bakso after the beach but couldnt find any so we went back to Warung Murah again because they had bakso and we were desperate. Bakso no where near the ones we had the day before but it was okay.. Time to leave for airport for a flight @ 2.15PM Used the airport transfer service by Tune, you can book at the counter beside the reception, price is 65K IDR. Back to KL. Although luck was not on our side in terms of weather as it rained the 2 full days we had in bali and was hot as hell on the 1st and 3rd day so the sunset was not at it's best, plus traffic jams everywhere that made us miss Jimbaran, still, we really enjoyed Bali, wished we had more days there, nice people, cool culture, the beach and the sunsets. We spent in total RM1,150 for 2 person excluding stay & flight. The price I got quoted for the driver is 750K IDR for 2full days + lunch and airport transfer on the 1st day. Some info about the marts there is price wise, Mini Mart > Circle K Mart > Alfamart. Sunrise is around 6.30AM and sunset is about 6PM. This is my experience of Bali, hope you enjoy yours too Will try uploading some photos here later on.. |
Oct 18 2013, 08:39 AM
If you guys going to stay in Ubud then try to get a room at Tegal Sari, it's good and it's facing paddy field too! I stayed there during my recent visit to Bali last month.
![]() Super Deluxe Room (600,000 Rupiah + 10% tax) ![]() Super Deluxe Wooden Room (600,000 Rupiah + 10% tax) Verdict: Tegal Sari is a lovely place to stay in Bali; great location, impeccable service, spacious and clean rooms, friendly staffs! Do make your reservation in advance (at least 6 months in advance) as their rooms run out pretty fast. P.s: Here’s the good news for Tegal Sari’s repeated guests: during our stay at Tegal Sari, new villas and rooms are under construction which I believe are going to be ready soon, so do keep an eye on it! You can read more and check out more photo at my blog here : http://bit.ly/tegal-sari This post has been edited by saimatkong: Oct 18 2013, 08:40 AM |
Oct 18 2013, 08:46 AM
QUOTE(saimatkong @ Oct 18 2013, 08:39 AM) If you guys going to stay in Ubud then try to get a room at Tegal Sari, it's good and it's facing paddy field too! I stayed there during my recent visit to Bali last month. ![]() Super Deluxe Room (600,000 Rupiah + 10% tax) ![]() Super Deluxe Wooden Room (600,000 Rupiah + 10% tax) Verdict: Tegal Sari is a lovely place to stay in Bali; great location, impeccable service, spacious and clean rooms, friendly staffs! Do make your reservation in advance (at least 6 months in advance) as their rooms run out pretty fast. P.s: Here’s the good news for Tegal Sari’s repeated guests: during our stay at Tegal Sari, new villas and rooms are under construction which I believe are going to be ready soon, so do keep an eye on it! You can read more and check out more photo at my blog here : http://bit.ly/tegal-sari QUOTE(mugenz @ Oct 18 2013, 08:43 AM) My previous visit in May 2013, i stayed the same room as yours hahaha.. ooh yeah, I missed that out, they provide free shuttle but within selected area only. wanted to try the villa there one day! No regrets, if i were to go Bali again definitely gonna stay in Tegal Sari unless i choose not to visit Ubud. Also they provide free shuttle service from hotel to any place right up to the bridge after Ubud palace. So if you wanna go anywhere just ask they to drop you This post has been edited by saimatkong: Oct 18 2013, 08:51 AM |
Nov 3 2013, 01:17 PM
Naughty Nuri’s Warung Pork Rib is a must go!
![]() ![]() ![]() Apart from serving American and barbecue food, Naughty Nuri’s also serve local Indonesian food. For those who do not know, Naughty Nuri’s is famous for its unbelievably wicked, delicious and juicy pork ribs. ![]() Verdict: This is the best place for rib lovers to go to in Bali. Food was good, service is friendly and environment is great for dining. I will definitely come back when I travel to Bali again. Read more on my blog if you want to check out more on Naughty Nuri's : here This post has been edited by saimatkong: Nov 3 2013, 01:18 PM |
Nov 5 2013, 08:41 PM
QUOTE(littlerainbow @ Nov 4 2013, 12:57 PM) I've just made a reservation for Tegal Sari. Would like to seek advise on making payment to Tegal Sari via TT Hey, been there but used CC instead and it's pretty fast and easy compared to transfer.1) What are the additional bank charges that will be charged to me (for both the M'sian sending bank and the Indonesian recipient bank)? 2) It was mentioned that "You could transfer the payment in your currency and will be converted into Rupiah, therefore, due to foreign exchange discrepancy we may receive less or more. If we receive less, the balance could be paid at Tegal Sari. Is it possible to remit IDR to them? So that at least I know what is the FOREX gain/loss on my side before remitting the money. 3) How long does it take for the recipient bank to receive the payment? Thanks! |
Nov 6 2013, 03:05 PM
CREDIT CARD (Visa and Master Card only) :
Kindly be informed if you pay by credit card an additional 1.8% charge from your total bill will be added, therefore, the amount we will charge to your card is at RpXXXXXX. If you prefer to have this method, please complete and signed the attached authorization form . Choice of fax it or scan then send via email back to us together with copy of the first page of your passport with photograph and passport no. to the following fax number : 62.361.970 701 for submission to our credit card merchants. Pleased be informed that billing must be processed in Indonesian Rupiah by law and will be converted at the prevailing bank selling rate - IDR, Tegal Sari can not be held liable for the exchange rates. The other alternative of securing the reservation is full prepaid which could be transferred to the following bank account: BANK TRANSFER: Name of the bank : CIMB NIAGA Bank Ubud Branch Office Account Name : I Nyoman Gosih (please ensure the name is correct, not using Tegal Sari Accommodation) Account number : 489-0100-797-182 SWIFT code : BNIAIDJA Currency Account : Indonesian Rupiah ( IDR ) BANK ADDRESS : Jalan Raya Ubud No 392 Gianyar 80571 OR Name of the Bank : Commonwealth Bank Branch Office : Ubud, Gianyar Account Name : Tegal Sari Accommodation (please ensure the name is correct) Bank Address : Jl. Raya Andong no.22-24, Ubud, Gianyar, Bali Account number : 1045549559 SWIFT code : BICNIDJA Currency Account : Indonesian Rupiah ( IDR ) Please note that any bank transfer fees or foreign exchange discrepancy are to be applied to your own account (please inform your bank that beneficiary receive full amount). If paying by bank transfer please email or fax a copy of your TT receipt to our fax number +62 361 970701 to confirm your booking. You could transfer the payment in your currency and will be converted into Rupiah, therefore, due to foreign exchange discrepancy we may receive less or more. If we receive less, the balance could be paid at Tegal Sari. |
Nov 11 2013, 08:37 AM
QUOTE(littlerainbow @ Nov 9 2013, 09:44 PM) Thanks a lot for the info saimatkong & mugenz! strange I only sent them the authorized form instead if I remember correctly I didn't send them my passport.I've successfully made the payment via TT No doubt payment by credit card is more convenient, they required that I send a photocopy of my passport to them together with the credit card authorization form. Didn't feel comfortable sending my passport details to strangers |
Nov 29 2013, 10:04 PM
QUOTE(GravityFi3ld @ Nov 28 2013, 01:38 PM) Stay Tegal Sari!QUOTE(saimatkong @ Oct 18 2013, 08:39 AM) If you guys going to stay in Ubud then try to get a room at Tegal Sari, it's good and it's facing paddy field too! I stayed there during my recent visit to Bali last month. ![]() Super Deluxe Room (600,000 Rupiah + 10% tax) ![]() Super Deluxe Wooden Room (600,000 Rupiah + 10% tax) Verdict: Tegal Sari is a lovely place to stay in Bali; great location, impeccable service, spacious and clean rooms, friendly staffs! Do make your reservation in advance (at least 6 months in advance) as their rooms run out pretty fast. P.s: Here’s the good news for Tegal Sari’s repeated guests: during our stay at Tegal Sari, new villas and rooms are under construction which I believe are going to be ready soon, so do keep an eye on it! You can read more and check out more photo at my blog here : http://bit.ly/tegal-sari QUOTE Naughty Nuri’s Warung Pork Rib is a must go! Eat at naughty Nuri!![]() ![]() ![]() Apart from serving American and barbecue food, Naughty Nuri’s also serve local Indonesian food. For those who do not know, Naughty Nuri’s is famous for its unbelievably wicked, delicious and juicy pork ribs. ![]() Verdict: This is the best place for rib lovers to go to in Bali. Food was good, service is friendly and environment is great for dining. I will definitely come back when I travel to Bali again. Read more on my blog if you want to check out more on Naughty Nuri's : here |
| Change to: | 0.0917sec
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 02:25 PM |