Travel Bali V4

jojo_g2
post Aug 17 2013, 12:17 PM

244 posts

QUOTE(Choiyeng6188 @ Aug 9 2013, 01:15 AM)
Going to Kuta, Bali on Feb next year, I searched online and there is a lot of hotels actually..

hmm.. which is the best 1? We r a group of 10 person... Budget around rm200 to 300 per night a room two persons..

Is it cheaper if I buy at MATTA fair on next month?
get a villa instead for soo many people, much more worth it.
try airbnb.com and narrow it down to bali.
jojo_g2
post Nov 27 2013, 02:33 PM

244 posts

QUOTE(whatsayyou @ Nov 27 2013, 01:54 PM)
budget around S$180 per night. Looking for those with private pools, breakfast brought to villa types.
I saw quite a number in airbnb. However I have a feeling private is not really private, as i notice the neighbouring units (those with 2 storeys) can overlook into the pool area.
I really want to swim / sunbathe without having the feeling that i can be watched.  unsure.gif
Try this http://www.tripadvisor.com.my/Hotel_Review...-Ubud_Bali.html

a little bit away from ubud main town. But, free transfer anytime and pick up. Big space, breakfast all you can order, delivered to your villa up to 12pm i think. Very worth. Downside is, bedsheets and linens are all a little bit old. Maybe they've upgraded? stay more than 2 nights and they give free airport transfer 2 way i think.
jojo_g2
post Nov 27 2013, 03:36 PM

244 posts

QUOTE(whatsayyou @ Nov 27 2013, 02:44 PM)
What a coincidence. I have booked this villa too, since its 'book now pay later' with free cancellation on agoda. So I thought what the heck, might as well book first then see how.

I think they have a 3N package that comes with 1 hr spa, pool side dinner and sarong. S$119 more than a normal 3N deal.
Should I take the package? Was thinking can get better and longer massage outside.

i am also looking at this: https://www.airbnb.com.sg/rooms/941763
not sure about the airbnb one, but for those of us who stayed at nefatari before, it really is a special place. Wonder if I'll ever end up there again. Really loved the whole villa and pool for ourselves on that trip. Here's a more recent blog review of the place

Too bad my next trip there, march. Will not be overnighting in ubub. Will stay in one of the airbnb villa in seminyak though, and lembongan as well.
jojo_g2
post Nov 27 2013, 04:20 PM

244 posts

QUOTE(greyshadow @ Nov 27 2013, 03:52 PM)
oh man.... reading the blog makes me wanna go back there again laugh.gif

missed their breakfast so much! tongue.gif
hehe.. 2nd that!
jojo_g2
post Nov 8 2017, 08:22 AM

244 posts

QUOTE(Kechen578 @ Nov 1 2017, 07:13 PM)
Any body need arrange for Nusa penida island,Bali just contact Merta +6281999632748/Watsapp/viber
This island popular for angle billabong, broken beach, kelingking beach and snorkling😍
You've been on the penida tour? Mind sharing the cost? Can be done within the day?

This post has been edited by jojo_g2: Nov 8 2017, 09:06 AM
jojo_g2
post Nov 22 2017, 12:21 PM

244 posts

QUOTE(Amatiel @ Nov 22 2017, 09:41 AM)
Anyone going Bali soon? I'm going next sat. Abit worrying since the they put the SOS alert back on after the minor eruption yesterday.
https://www.todayonline.com/world/bali-volc...lert-not-raised

Heading there this coming saturday.
jojo_g2
post Dec 1 2017, 05:07 PM

244 posts

Don't bother with the nonsense crap news website. Only important on the ground link you need to follow is

Twitter:
@id_magma Check out MAGMA Indonesia (@id_magma): https://twitter.com/id_magma?s=09
Info gunung api indo govt official up to date.

Dr. Janine Krippner
Check out Dr Janine Krippner (@janinekrippner): https://twitter.com/janinekrippner?s=09
Very uptodate actual person who knows all about the volcano

http://www.bom.gov.au/products/IDD65300.shtml
Ash wind drifting position. (if its over denpasar airport, no flying)

The ins and out of all flights denpasar.
https://www.baliairport.com/flight-status-a...als-departures/

Dude who's in charge (very uptodate but in bahasa)
Check out Sutopo Purwo Nugroho (@Sutopo_BNPB): https://twitter.com/Sutopo_BNPB?s=09

This post has been edited by jojo_g2: Dec 1 2017, 09:32 PM
jojo_g2
post Dec 2 2017, 10:07 AM

244 posts

QUOTE(meghamtaro @ Dec 1 2017, 11:33 PM)
Thank you for sharing the useful infos/links.  :thumbsup:

TBH, I trust more on my local news (TV3, Astro News, Hitz FM etc etc). Everyday they will update the status about Bali and the level of dangers.

Hope by mid-end December things will be alright.
Bro, trust me. Take it from someone who is there for the entire duration. I should be back on malaysian soil now.
While we were there the last couple of days, these are the few link and site that is "real". Tv3 and even local news all shows something that happened 48hours ago. Lava and smoke that wasnt there anymore.
On the ground, seminyak/canggu(stayed here 6 days) and kuta, everyone just selamba aje... Relek je. Tourist still banyak giler and act like pricks. Specially the aussies and mainland china peeps.
But it did rained the whole time. Which kinda sucks.

This post has been edited by jojo_g2: Dec 2 2017, 10:08 AM
jojo_g2
post Dec 2 2017, 10:10 AM

244 posts

QUOTE(inachi @ Dec 2 2017, 03:31 AM)
last minute decided to change flight to other place..

conditions are too unstable and trying to avoid all unavoidable circumstances, since traveling with family.
Better to do that, rather than spend all your time checking twitter feed, wind direction, airport flight schedule. Lol. Not fun.

This post has been edited by jojo_g2: Dec 2 2017, 10:11 AM
jojo_g2
post Dec 2 2017, 11:52 AM

244 posts

QUOTE(gonzalo20 @ Dec 2 2017, 10:22 AM)
hi. if let say I'm deciding to not go to Bali because of the volcano, can I get refund of my tickets if i had purchased the air asia insurance? I will fly to Bali on 20 - 24/12
https://twitter.com/AirAsia/status/936716270237396992

Says there you can change date or destination but pay the diff fare. Within a certain time and travel date.
jojo_g2
post Dec 2 2017, 12:03 PM

244 posts

Experience of real people living near the mountain..
https://blogs.agu.org/mountainbeltway/2017/...qFFHH8.facebook

Then, there's sheer madness from some...
http://www.enanyang.my/news/20171202/无...脚拍婚照/
jojo_g2
post Dec 3 2017, 06:32 PM

244 posts

QUOTE(meghamtaro @ Dec 3 2017, 12:57 AM)
you were there when it happened? how was the experience?

coming dec is my 7th time to bali. never been so scared.

asked my regular supir/driver in bali, thry just came back from sending malaysians to surabaya airport.
Yup. Arrived 25th. And the next day, erupted.
On the ground, like i said. Selamba aje.. Nobody look like they were scared shitless & all. Life goes on over there. Pity the balinese though, biz quite less they said.
For us personally the fear of the eruption is not there. But the fear of not able to get out on your departure date is there. We were terrified of the hassle if it did came to that. Even considered buying the gilimanuk-surabaya way out earlier. Lots of people actually did that and suffered for it cuz its a hellish 18-24hr journey.
Lucky for us we just sat and waited till 2nd dec(our flight out). By the 30th, the airport reopens and everything seems to be okay after that.
But yea, this is my 6th or 7th time in bali as well. This trip is the worst among them all due to dread of the hassle we might face if we had to find alternate route out. Also, we were supposed to head to nusa penida and the southen tip of the island but had to cancel due to gloomy and rain weather the whole week we were there. In all my trips there it never rained that much.. Sien trip. Shouldve went to bangkok instead. Pad thai calling.
jojo_g2
post Dec 4 2017, 07:45 AM

244 posts

QUOTE(meghamtaro @ Dec 3 2017, 08:29 PM)
Fyi the last news was the ashes was entering ubud already and can reach kuta anytime.
Dude, thats why i gave you all the "real" links. No offense to you but, the "so called" news are all mostly over dramatized crap. Even went as far as showing vid of mt sinabung as mt agung.
Take a look at the realtime web came here and see where the so called ash is?
https://youtu.be/islcMmfHHqE

https://youtu.be/yyxYdjOgAKg

On the worst days of the eruption, i think it was 27th nov - 29th. We were always worried, but a trip out for meals in our scooter on sunset road and seminyak strip, we can always see families of ang moh kau's with kids and toddlers walking around looking for meals too without a care. Not wearing any facial masks too. Even met a family of malaysians looking for satay's. They all looked okay aje.
One of the reason why we stayed and waited it out. Seeing how they don have the worry.

This post has been edited by jojo_g2: Dec 4 2017, 08:03 AM
jojo_g2
post Dec 4 2017, 07:57 AM

244 posts

QUOTE(meghamtaro @ Dec 3 2017, 08:30 PM)
Wow, so daring la u. Hahaha. Yeah heard many malaysian opt to surabaya and take flight to kl from there. The journey tho..
Not really daring la. But from what we heard, the trip to surabaya is terrible and also, from twitter advisory there is a tropical cyclone hitting that route in java. Turns out it did as well, and if we've taken that route, we'd be going through flooded areas. Depending on how you see it lor, for us I guess kinda lucky lor.. Clear skies when we flew out. Actually kinda of frustrated too, as when we were at the airport to fly out? That's the only day we were able to actually see clear blue sea's and surfs. The whole reason of going to bali on this friggin trip. Dammit!!
Also, fyi. The flight out wasn't even full. Half only. DPS airport was operating normal and not really packed. Which makes me wonder too about the supposed news of mass exodus from the island.
jojo_g2
post Dec 4 2017, 08:05 AM

244 posts

QUOTE(meghamtaro @ Dec 4 2017, 07:58 AM)
This news is not from our local news but from my regular supir/driver in Bali. And this was last week he told me when he is sending his malaysian customer to surabaya.
Supirs and tour people making a killing out of this. Was quoted 3-4mil a car(4 pax) to bring us from bali to surabaya.
jojo_g2
post Dec 5 2017, 06:18 PM

244 posts

QUOTE(paqralos @ Dec 5 2017, 09:53 AM)
I have no idea.. but i think the situation should be better right.. there are no news saying the condition is deteriorating also.
Check my last few post. Follow the few essential twitter links. Can up to date on the situation. And the live youtube link on mt agung as well to see the condition.
jojo_g2
post Dec 6 2017, 11:00 AM

244 posts

QUOTE(meghamtaro @ Dec 5 2017, 08:57 PM)
Checked. at night can see the smoke is visible and clear.
Yup, truth is it's still rumbling on. Red lava can be seen reflecting on the smoke/ash/steam coming out from the top at nights if the skies are clear.
Just to be clear, IT IS SAFE to visit bali right now as the southern tip of the tourist area, like kuta/seminyak/canggu/uluwatu/nusadua/sanur are all very clear of the volcanic area(about 50 - 80km away) .

The MAIN problem is the risk of getting stuck in the airport if when the time comes for you depart and the ash clouds decides to blow east and closes denpasar airport again.

So, if you are the type who worries about these things? better don't go right now. Especially if you're travelling with kids.

This post has been edited by jojo_g2: Dec 6 2017, 11:03 AM
jojo_g2
post Dec 6 2017, 11:13 AM

244 posts

QUOTE(paqralos @ Dec 6 2017, 11:03 AM)
Fantastic. I will be departing tomorrow with my family. I will update the situation there if anything.

thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif
Have fun & Good luck.
Don't worry much. Just like me, when you get there and out on the street, you'll see that most people and tourist alike don seem to worry about the whole thing much. Enjoy aje.

jojo_g2
post Dec 6 2017, 01:28 PM

244 posts

QUOTE(paqralos @ Dec 6 2017, 12:08 PM)
Yeap. Will do.

Thanks mate.
Forgot to mentioned this. Raining almost everyday while i was there. Booring. When it didnt rain, its cloudy. Very sien
jojo_g2
post Dec 6 2017, 01:30 PM

244 posts

QUOTE(meghamtaro @ Dec 6 2017, 12:19 PM)
Thanks again for the useful links.

Yeah man, my man concerned are the kids.
Np. Like i said, had i known, i would've went looking for pad thai instead. The volcano, the rain & cloudy weather was a major bummer.

0.0258sec    0.26    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 07:47 AM