The Not So Official Q10 Thread, Q10 owner and fans get in

hyperyouth_firepower
post Dec 1 2013, 11:39 AM

BlackBerry enthusiast
1,964 posts

QUOTE(mohamadnizam @ Nov 30 2013, 05:20 PM)
Lol. Same as me dude. Ive been using hybrid since bold 9000.. until 9900. Haha. Now im switching to BB10 feels awkward.. but damn. The gui is awesome.

Thanks anyway for the link.. and quick question. Im using celcom prepaid. How to get activate LTE? I've change the network option to 4G.. but all I got is HSPA+. Is it coverage problem? Or I have to change sim card at celcom center and ask them for new sim card.
I want to answer two of your threads, but I'll answer this one first.

Assuming your BB10 is LTE ready, then yes, you need to go to the Celcom centre to get a SIM card replacement.
Also, if you don't like the GUI, you can always install the NOVA launcher (free punya lah) from, erm... say, sources like SNAP / 1Mobile / Amazon APK store. (i strongly suggest you try SNAP, since Google Play Store is not available)

On your earlier post about OS, BB10 does not have hybrids, but you can always check out the CrackBerry "BlackBerry Leaks" team, they are always "leaking" builds left and right. Do some reading first though before deciding to jump whether to use the leak or not.
hyperyouth_firepower
post May 12 2014, 09:03 AM

BlackBerry enthusiast
1,964 posts

QUOTE(pedas126 @ May 12 2014, 01:50 AM)
Hi all,

planning to get 1 q10 fr postpaid plan here in philippines, but it will be locked under the telco, is there anyway to unlock it?
You can try unlock codes. Some sites sell very good unlock codes services.

Try crackberry and n4bb

with the com behind them.
hyperyouth_firepower
post May 12 2014, 06:58 PM

BlackBerry enthusiast
1,964 posts

QUOTE(m3darkid @ May 12 2014, 05:26 PM)
i'm back to using 9700 after both my 9900 and Xperia Z got stolen (SO DAMN UNLUCKY!). using BB OS again after Z, I have to say I really missed the neat, non-messy UI and OS in general.

oh android is just too cluttered for me.

and my Z sucks battery like a leech D: the only thing I liked about it was its waterproof character, but that can be done with a casing.

9700 is fine, but the memory is too low for today's web browsing experience, and I miss the touch ability of 9900.

right now I'm really eyeing the Q10 and Z30.

how's Q10 screen size do in terms of apps and web browsing? i think that's my main concern between those two.

I'd prefer physical keyboard, but seeing so many positive feedback on the Z30's virtual, I'd sold on it too. after all, the screen estate is almost the same when the virtual keyboard pops up.

hope to get some opinions from all the sifus here, thanks! biggrin.gif
If i'm not mistaken, the Q10's screen size is the SAME as Z10 with virtual keyboard.

z30 is significantly larger in terms of screen size.

I'm not going to sell you "potential", but the up and coming Windemere, if the specs are to be believed, is to have the 1:1 size (in width) as FAT as the z30, but having a 1:1 inch, which is still CONSIDERABLY LARGER than the Q10.

If you're hardcore 9900 user, I'll suggest you actually wait for the "Classic Bold". Its like the Q10, but with a toolbelt. Not sure about the screen size yet.

But otherwise, if you want the real screen estate, and the pure power + battery longetivity, the Z30 is definitely the one to have. It has the muscles to guarantee that its not going to lose on future upgrades (software), and it has all the fancy hardware to actually consider it as a MICRO COMPUTER, with Miracast, USB OTG, better antaenna, better speakers and microphone, etc.

You will love the keyboard, once you get over the "zomfgwtfisthiskeyboarddoing?" phase.
hyperyouth_firepower
post May 13 2014, 08:57 AM

BlackBerry enthusiast
1,964 posts

QUOTE(m3darkid @ May 12 2014, 09:57 PM)
ahh the Windermere. The beast itself sounds tempting, but I don't think I can wait for that long  tongue.gif have to shut my longing as fast as I can as this 9700 seems to be needing a rest.

I tried demo set Q10, it seems to work fine without the toolbelt for me but no Z30 at the store. does Q10 not have USB OTG capability? I forgot about battery longetivity, I really need that as I'm a heavy browser. what about the virtual key, I read somewhere you have the Z10. do you think it is decent enough for me to not take Q10 over Z30? smile.gif
i'm not so sure about what i'm going to write, if it works... So i'm going to PM you.
hyperyouth_firepower
post May 18 2014, 09:37 PM

BlackBerry enthusiast
1,964 posts

QUOTE(Speedy~ @ May 14 2014, 12:10 AM)
Hi Guys,

Was thinking to get one of this. Is waze able to sideload? i believe this app is not available for q10
I just had to re-check this again and again.

Oddly enough, Waze is not supported (NATIVELY) on BlackBerry.
Stranger than fiction as it is, Android version of Waze works perfectly on BlackBerry Q10 and Q5.

What gives?

hyperyouth_firepower
post Jun 5 2014, 08:18 PM

BlackBerry enthusiast
1,964 posts

QUOTE(Cryptic @ Jun 3 2014, 12:58 AM)
there's an update? if only we can get more peeps on BBM  drool.gif

btw some juice on the Windermere the q10 replacement?
You got any good BBM groups to join?

I'm looking for a Malaysian Liverpool BBM group to join.
I'm also with the BBUGMY group, at the moment.

The old LYN and old LYN kopitiam BBM group died.
hyperyouth_firepower
post Jun 7 2014, 08:53 AM

BlackBerry enthusiast
1,964 posts

QUOTE(Cryptic @ Jun 7 2014, 01:09 AM)
nah man, I'm not in any groups. What is BBUGMY?
BBUGMY dot com

Its a club, and also a group at the same time. They've expanded to being like a news portal for BlackBerry scene (malaysia) too, as far as I can tell.
hyperyouth_firepower
post Jun 19 2014, 09:45 AM

BlackBerry enthusiast
1,964 posts

QUOTE(humongousgravy @ Jun 19 2014, 09:32 AM)
Guys I am a qwerty person. No much of a fan of the virtual keyboard. Currently using nexus 4, interested to get a Q10, either used or new. How much is the new one and only 1 year warranty?

Any reviews for this? I am interested to know about general use, and specifically the battery life, calls quality and signal.

http://www.cnet.com/news/blackberry-diaries-the-verdict/
http://www.cnet.com/news/blackberry-diaries-day-four/
http://www.cnet.com/news/blackberry-diaries-day-three/
http://www.cnet.com/news/blackberry-diaries-day-two/
http://www.cnet.com/news/blackberry-diaries-day-one/
http://www.cnet.com/news/blackberry-diaries-the-prequel/

I'm not very sure if there is a day 5.

But you get the idea.

And some information is already out of date (yes, BlackBerry updated)

This would FIT your situation, since the author is a pro-Android guy.
hyperyouth_firepower
post Jun 20 2014, 07:02 PM

BlackBerry enthusiast
1,964 posts

QUOTE(humongousgravy @ Jun 20 2014, 12:47 PM)
Thanks guy. Will check it out. Any more input? New one would be just slightly more than 1000 right? Oh yeah one question, just to confirm, we no longer need to subscribe to BIS for using data right? Just plug in my current sim and it would work?
That is correct. No BIS needed, plug and play.

Watch out for the quota! It guzzles!
hyperyouth_firepower
post Jun 22 2014, 12:04 PM

BlackBerry enthusiast
1,964 posts

QUOTE(humongousgravy @ Jun 21 2014, 01:29 AM)
Bro why do you say that? Because of the LTE speeds?

The new Q20 won't be out so soon right?

Seriously how can the price drop so drastically after less than a year of being released? I remember it was retailing at 2399 when released?
Price per hardware, then demand and supply. More to economics of things.

on the data usage, its because its not "tuned", as in compression, and using the NOC (BlackBerry's servers). Therefore all APP's data is free to transmit and receive anything in any way they want (or actually given more freedom, and more leniency on how the data is transferred). Without those optimization, the data usage actually increases.

This post has been edited by hyperyouth_firepower: Jun 22 2014, 12:05 PM
hyperyouth_firepower
post Jun 24 2014, 09:49 PM

BlackBerry enthusiast
1,964 posts

QUOTE(humongousgravy @ Jun 24 2014, 08:41 PM)
Unable to buy the Q10 with any of the telcos anymore! why....
Eh, I thought UMobile and Maxis still have it?

Tunetalk, not so sure.

Celcom still has, IIRC. They have been BlackBerry's preferential partner for a long time.
hyperyouth_firepower
post Jun 27 2014, 09:35 PM

BlackBerry enthusiast
1,964 posts

QUOTE(humongousgravy @ Jun 27 2014, 08:51 PM)
Just check with Maxis and Digi last week, both shop in Johor told me no longer available. Perhaps I'll check Celcom then, and maybe other Maxis partners. Personally prefer Maxis but it is no longer available on their website. It's like it evaporated in thin air. No traces of BB devices on the Maxis pages.
I guess you'll have to go to the stores then. :/

its one of the sad cases we blackberry users have to go through.
hyperyouth_firepower
post Jul 24 2014, 10:52 AM

BlackBerry enthusiast
1,964 posts

QUOTE(alexanderclz @ Jul 23 2014, 12:16 PM)
there's rm799 from one it. but only 1 year manufacturer warranty. I thought 2 years?
maybe newer batch.

Older batch ones had 2 year warranty.
hyperyouth_firepower
post Aug 12 2014, 06:44 PM

BlackBerry enthusiast
1,964 posts

QUOTE(humongousgravy @ Aug 12 2014, 05:39 PM)
Hi guys, is there anywhere in Malaysia I can get original/quality Blackberry accessories? I've checked Crackberry but the delivery is quite costly.

I am searching for socket charger (original is 0.8A?), screen protector, extra battery, charger bundle, maybe a car stand?

Sounds ambitious. haha.

Please let me know. Thanks.
try ipmart or lazada?

or bbugmy.com ?
hyperyouth_firepower
post Aug 19 2014, 09:48 AM

BlackBerry enthusiast
1,964 posts

QUOTE(dhui @ Aug 19 2014, 12:18 AM)
I am interested to buy a Q10.

I am looking at Satu Gadget/ Directd are selling brand new original set for RM888. But some sellers are selling RM1k - RM1.2k.

Anyone bought it recently from Satu Gadget/ Directd? Is the market now really RM888 for brand new sealed unit??
There are official sets for RM888. Just make sure to get 2 years warranty, from Brightstar.
hyperyouth_firepower
post Aug 21 2014, 01:31 PM

BlackBerry enthusiast
1,964 posts

QUOTE(olygopoly @ Aug 21 2014, 02:13 PM)
Hi Guys,

Was wondering, does the sound of the keyboard when we type message will fade away over time ?

Beside that, BB Q10 does support 4G/LTE right. Planning to use it with my new Altel simcard
it means the rubber may be dead. (depends on how you look at it, some people like it some people don't)

yes it should support Altel's band since it shares the same frequency that Celcom is utilizing.
hyperyouth_firepower
post Aug 21 2014, 02:38 PM

BlackBerry enthusiast
1,964 posts

QUOTE(olygopoly @ Aug 21 2014, 02:36 PM)
Oh OK. Tried typing on my friend BB Q10 and can hear the keyboard sound. Maybe because brand new. Suddenly dont like the keyboard making sound when typing. I guess use to the touch screen keyboard no sound.

Used to be a BB fan once. Thats why was thinking to get one for my extra sim.

BTW the new BB10 dont need BIS anymore right, not like older model BB. Thats what I read on the net and my friend experience.
Yeap, no need BIS. If your company insist on using BES (its even better actually), by all means go ahead. laugh.gif
hyperyouth_firepower
post Aug 21 2014, 03:11 PM

BlackBerry enthusiast
1,964 posts

QUOTE(olygopoly @ Aug 21 2014, 03:50 PM)
No BES for me since using personal device. BTW can BB Q10 be installed with android app ?
Yes it can. If you're on 10.2.1 and above.

Later when 10.3.1 hits out for all BlackBerry devices, it should remove almost all incompatibilities (except that you still cannot use Google Play Services, but some apps can still be bypassed)
hyperyouth_firepower
post Aug 21 2014, 03:14 PM

BlackBerry enthusiast
1,964 posts

QUOTE(olygopoly @ Aug 21 2014, 03:50 PM)
No BES for me since using personal device. BTW can BB Q10 be installed with android app ?
By the way, you can split the phone into two, one for work, one for personal, with just one tap, even with BES. kekekekeke. Way better than Android L's implementation.

Kekekekeke.
hyperyouth_firepower
post Aug 22 2014, 09:34 PM

BlackBerry enthusiast
1,964 posts

QUOTE(alexanderclz @ Aug 22 2014, 02:59 PM)
any idea how to move files into the internal memory?
You can use the file manager to do that. It has the functionality.

0.0425sec    0.40    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 06:12 AM