Cycling V7, General talks on Racing/road bikes

Oblivon
post Jun 10 2013, 06:16 PM

138 posts

I am using a floor pump without the pressure gauge all this while, would like to get an accurate reading, should i just get a cheap pressure reader around like 20 bucks or get a new pump with gauge instead ?
Oblivon
post Jun 10 2013, 06:37 PM

138 posts

jeez, better get a new pump with gauge then, save the hassle. got a quote for Topeak Joe Blow Max HP from rodalink for RM113, is this model ok ? or are there cheaper alternative ?
Oblivon
post Jun 10 2013, 07:03 PM

138 posts

QUOTE(miaopurr @ Jun 10 2013, 06:46 PM)
if want value for money, the the genuine innovations floor pump. last time i bought, cheaper than the topeak. tapi not long lasting macam my zefal husky. i still can use my genuine innovations pump. i think i bought it in 2005 or 2006. altho the head can only be used for schrader valve. presta punya sudah rosak
where can i get the genuine innovations ?

QUOTE(butthead @ Jun 10 2013, 06:58 PM)
my best pump in the world is free...

"petrol station"... no problems with volume, no problems with pressure limit, no problems with presta or schrader (just bring your damn converter) and got gauge, digital some more... no need pump pump pant pant and then complain about too many strokes lar or too hard too pump lar...

and best of all things... "FREE"
i can't seems to get the petrol station pump to work. once got a puncture, had the prestra to scrader converter on the tube valve, but once plug into the hose, no air got into it, it kinda have loose connection, both side also not working.
Oblivon
post Jul 4 2013, 06:10 PM

138 posts

Crashed on a car that is waiting to come out from a alley, didnt notice the car at first and its too late to fully stop in time and knocked the side of a car at around 30+km/h. Further inspection I notice a crack at the end of the top tube adjoining the headtube. After that I try sanding the paint and there is no crack present, also took out the fork to inspect for crack but there is none, so does the rest of the part of the frame. Just wondering is it still safe to ride ? It's a alu frame btw.

Aftermath:

After sanded the crack:
Oblivon
post Jul 4 2013, 06:33 PM

138 posts

QUOTE(miaopurr @ Jul 4 2013, 06:15 PM)
paint layer cracked, but not the frame? hmm...  hard to say la, unless use NDE
QUOTE(butthead @ Jul 4 2013, 06:17 PM)
it should be safe lar.. it could have stretched a bit when you impacted... alloys got more give than carbon...worry more about your steerer than your frame...
hmm, guess i will continue riding it on, thank goodness the wheel doesn't taco'ed. Just ponder will the frame had weaken and give way if i ride over pothole.
Oblivon
post Jul 5 2013, 07:09 PM

138 posts

QUOTE(butthead @ Jul 5 2013, 12:21 AM)
the frame tubes won't usually snap in an instant... even if it does, there are other tubes holding the bike togther... worry about your fork more as the fork has to take on more direct forces...

i rode around in a broken drive side chainstay on my old mtb for a long time many years back... didn't do much serious riding but went as far to kepong on weekends to have breakfast with frienda and the sucker continued going on until i gave up on it...
well, gonna continue to ride on ! biggrin.gif The rear wheel is slightly out of true due to the impact, is it better to have the tires off for truing or tires on will do ?

0.0400sec    0.39    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 10:57 AM