QUOTE(adrian23 @ Jun 6 2013, 11:33 AM)
But bro, I m going for a recond car so I guess dun have any service record, sometime I dun mind to pay wat I see, just tht I worry after I confirm tht unit, then they took and changed some lousy part in it when deliver the car...
Some might change the whole car if we never check chassis number...
By the way, I m already not expecting any 'service attitude' from them cos all are dog eyes...
Well for mine, I found out that they put a wrong spark plug type! They put the same plug as other regular Toyota's (Camry, Estima, etc.) even though my Toyota GDi engine plug type should be different. They probably already stock many of those normal Toyota engine spark plugs so they just use it on my car. The car indeed still run fine and no problems but probably not ideal. Found out this when I brought my car to a Toyota/Lexus specialist, so then need to change to proper ones.
QUOTE(kadajawi @ Jun 6 2013, 11:35 AM)
Be wary of low mileage. Most likely it is much higher and they just turned back the odometer.
QUOTE(adrian23 @ Jun 6 2013, 11:39 AM)
Yah, I dun believe in any mileage read on the dash board just tht expecting get a lower mileage than the others..
Eg: hope to get a 30 40k mileage instead of a 80k mileage above...
Guess all the recond car mileage to be less than 20k as projected there..
QUOTE(dtna7 @ Jun 6 2013, 11:43 AM)
guess no choice then. bring a mechanic to check for you engine condition/rust/welding points...b4 you even consider.
Its a huge risk, but manageable if preparation is made thorough.
this one is definitely
I was looking at one that is only used for almost 3 yrs...also adjusted the odometer

Unless you buy recon which is only like 1-2yrs old, then the rest 99.9% recon car mileage is already rewound back! What you need to do is examine the interior closely, see how the leather & upholstery condition especially the driver seat, steering, shifter, driver side knobs/controls, handles, and pedals to determine the usage. If they look very worn out then surely mileage already pretty high. If they're still in pretty good condition, then should not be too bad, maybe rewound by about 20-40k only instead of 50-100k!