QUOTE(uvo @ Jun 9 2013, 09:36 PM)
Does Xperia Z support USB OTG?
yes it does, tried it with thumb drive, 2tb wd hdd, mouse, game pad smile.gif
nasiayam
post Jun 16 2013, 02:27 PM

668 posts

QUOTE(mafioso @ Jun 16 2013, 02:11 PM)
owh! okay! i guess i will just root it first.. if anything happens i'll just flash back stock rom (few pages back someone told me to flash singapore's firmware can already)

is it advisable to backup TA partition if i were to root? and if i were to flash a custom stock rom, do i need to backup my TA partition too (just in case)?
after you root the phone and want to send in for warranty, just unroot it, no need flash back to stock rom oso can, if u wanna be sure then do a factory reset, you can check whether you still have root by using app like Root Checker

backup TA partition if you wanna unlock bootloader, because TA partition will be lost when you unlock bootloader and cannot be recover if you didn't backup it first

This post has been edited by nasiayam: Jun 16 2013, 02:27 PM
nasiayam
post Jun 17 2013, 07:47 PM

668 posts

QUOTE(mafioso @ Jun 17 2013, 05:49 PM)
ALSO another issue.. i cant search for music in the walkman app?
for example, i clearly have "Drive By - Train" in my music list but when i search "drive, drive by, Drive By"
it states "no match" ?  rclxub.gif

googled "cant search music xperia z" but no answers.. sweat.gif

hope someone can help me out..!
having that prob too, if not mistaken, read awhile ago its due to the mediaserver haven't refresh yet, i realized if use file manager to look for the music file then use walkman to play it, it will detect it

if not after restart phone ok d
nasiayam
post Jun 17 2013, 10:13 PM

668 posts

was thinking bout the rumored Z Ultra wub.gif

seems like 6.4 inch is still quite pocket-able after all biggrin.gif
nasiayam
post Jun 18 2013, 10:36 PM

668 posts

QUOTE(mafioso @ Jun 18 2013, 10:25 PM)
may i have the xda direct link?

i know i can search but im currently having lots of opened tabs now laugh.gif
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=2327472

looking forward to this long time d rclxms.gif
nasiayam
post Jun 18 2013, 11:04 PM

668 posts

QUOTE(make87 @ Jun 18 2013, 10:57 PM)
Oh My GoD ! I had used 3~4 hours to backup + downgrade + root + upgrade to .253 yesterday ! and now come out with new root exploit Zzzzzzzz .................
unfortunately it's meant for very specific customization and kernel only sad.gif
nasiayam
post Jun 20 2013, 01:51 PM

668 posts

QUOTE(droidtrix @ Jun 20 2013, 12:43 PM)
looking forward to it very much biggrin.gif

nasiayam
post Jun 22 2013, 09:28 PM

668 posts

QUOTE(redrum77 @ Jun 22 2013, 07:39 PM)
Tq. Updated 307 successfully rooted using doomloard tool :-)
bro, your 307 is stock Malaysia firmware ? XZ right ?
nasiayam
post Jun 23 2013, 11:31 AM

668 posts

QUOTE(jeff10012003 @ Jun 23 2013, 10:59 AM)
there's no such thing as malaysia firmware..
that's the best thing with sony, you can use any firmware, although it is advisable to take the globalt lte firmware..
ohhh... coz i wanna know if the DooMLoRD Easy Rooting Toolkit (v13) is working for the firmware of XZ sold in malaysia

my concern is on the warranty, will they still accept it if they found out it's not the stock firmware that came with it initially?

i know that if anything go wrong we can fix it with SUS and it will revert it to stock firmware, so is it SUS will revert it to the country specific (or region?) stock fw according to the "hardware" inside? for example to the fw that is supposedly for Malaysia XZ?

p.s. bootloader still locked, and using 350 firmware tongue.gif coz i can't live without root (using tasker and LBE extensively)
nasiayam
post Jun 23 2013, 12:47 PM

668 posts

QUOTE(jeff10012003 @ Jun 23 2013, 12:06 PM)
like i mention, there is no such thing as stock region specific firmware..
i mentioned a few pages back, when i simply tried updating stock firmware using Pc companion, it simply gave me belgium unbranded firmware..

malaysia don't have any firmware, we rely on singapore unbraded firmware..the one we are using when out of box is singapore's..
i see, got another question, if i make a nandroid backup, does it backup the kernel as well?

if i did a nandroid backup before upgrading to a newer firmware and then flashed a different kernel (bootloader locked), i can flash the nandroid backup made previously and it will get back to the previous version and the previous kernel too?
nasiayam
post Jun 24 2013, 10:05 PM

668 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Jun 24 2013, 08:38 PM)
Sony Xperia ZU (Z Ultra) photo leak!

Wow!!! such a giant~!

- 1st - Sony  Xperia ZU (Z Ultra)
- 2nd - Believe is Samsung Galaxy Note II
- 3rd - Sony Xperia Z
must do a pocket-test biggrin.gif
nasiayam
post Jun 25 2013, 10:49 PM

668 posts

QUOTE(refnulf @ Jun 25 2013, 10:39 PM)
In all practicality, the ZU is going to be great for designers, and architects, and contractors and whomever that requires real estate and a phone.

But for me, I don't really think it's a good idea. Even the Z is a little big for me, but I wouldn't mind keeping the same size for the  Honami smile.gif Oh yes, can't wait for that!
if the size of ZU like note 2, that would be the sweet spot for me

but need to see the display unit first and test whether its easy to handle as a day-to-day device
nasiayam
post Jun 26 2013, 10:35 AM

668 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Jun 26 2013, 10:06 AM)
Actually I got 2 friends excited and plan to buy the Sony Xperia Z Ultra BUT ................. after they notice NO LED FLASH LIGHT both confirm not going to buy it anymore.

Dunno what Sony thinking, LED flash light is just a small piece thing, but they decide not include it! People not only use LED flash light for camera, but often use it as TORCH LIGHT.
exactly how I feel, wouldn't mind sacrificing a bit of the thickness for the led and bigger battery, since it's already a big device

no matter how perfect the phone, the manufacturer will always do something foolish to cut the points
nasiayam
post Jun 26 2013, 11:59 AM

668 posts

QUOTE(Dyson Jin @ Jun 26 2013, 11:18 AM)
just now throw my phone inside water again to test if the usb flaps work well..
well indeed..nothing goes wrong..haha
i did not buy dock..so i keep open and close the usb flaps for charging..u might feel it loose a bit..but actually as long as u press it hard on the flaps when u closing it..no problem..
WooHoo..
use the phone for almost 3months dy..
I didn't use dock oso, bought since first day launched, open the USB port few times a day to charge coz I always on the move

been washing it under running tap water every few weeks, but I don't dare to dunk it in water though
nasiayam
post Jun 26 2013, 09:20 PM

668 posts

1 more penang lang checking, but wokring in kl tongue.gif

just check pcc, don't have 4.2.2 yet sad.gif
nasiayam
post Jul 1 2013, 05:17 PM

668 posts

QUOTE(funguss @ Jul 1 2013, 04:59 PM)
I need some feedback from XZ users, do you have to change your SIM card to get Maxis LTE ?

According to their customer service, only a few phones can get it now and XZ is not one of them.
LTE only available for 2gb and above package, not sure if it's available for 1gb package, but pretty sure it's not available for 250mb package coz I was using that previous
nasiayam
post Jul 4 2013, 12:32 AM

668 posts

QUOTE(kilosub @ Jul 4 2013, 12:14 AM)
Yahoo... Completed my phone update. One downside as mention earlier post, screen capture back to old times way. Why they do that? Love to get back like previous button press for screen capture.

Btw, anyone feel that the pull down screen (notification) like a little slow compare to previous version? Any solution to it. I've restart the phone twice and still the same...
i just updated and root the phone, yup the pull down notification seems to be slower, oso slower when pressing power button to get to the standby screen, lag like half a sec

why la they remove the screenshot option with power button... doh.gif

seems like the colour is more vivid in 4.2.2

0.0527sec    0.39    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 08:32 AM