Sony Xperia Z & Xperia ZL offcial thread V7, jelly 4.2 update arrived

Dannyl
post Jun 12 2013, 09:35 AM

what the fucuk-yimai
6,113 posts

QUOTE(droidtrix @ Jun 12 2013, 08:36 AM)
Only thing I noticed that it get warmed during browsing, or playing games.. Is that normal as I do not face this with my other devices such as HTC One X / S3 ..?
My colleague's set also have this issue. She tried browsing with wifi at home for 20 minutes, and it started to feel warm sad.gif she had a Nillkin hardcase on, but I don't think that will affect it, right? How about you, any casing?
Dannyl
post Jun 12 2013, 02:09 PM

what the fucuk-yimai
6,113 posts

QUOTE(psyeo @ Jun 12 2013, 11:41 AM)
I'm using Dolphin Browser atm, tried Firefox and Opera, still prefer dolphin. would have use Chrome if it is not so HOT, haha
Used to love Dolphin Browser, if only for the Exit button and easy tab management. But now replaced with Chrome because of synced bookmarks. Dolphin also gave me problems with text areas in filling forms... like the Reply box in LYN.

BTW, ZL C6502 doesn't have LTE, right?

This post has been edited by Dannyl: Jun 12 2013, 02:09 PM
Dannyl
post Jun 13 2013, 12:59 PM

what the fucuk-yimai
6,113 posts

My ZL has 10.1.1.A.1.253. Is this supposedly the latest firmware with the good display and camera update? Having this side by side with my S3, I still prefer my S3's screen. Still deciding which one to let go.
Dannyl
post Jun 14 2013, 10:32 PM

what the fucuk-yimai
6,113 posts

QUOTE(amir78 @ Jun 14 2013, 06:07 PM)
still thinking. Z or ZL hmmm
Z
+ waterproof
+ flagship, more recognized

ZL
+ smaller, better grip at the back, easier to hold
+ same proc, RAM, and screen size as Z
+ cheaper
+ no fiddly flaps
+ physical camera button with half-shutter

I prefer ZL.

This post has been edited by Dannyl: Jun 14 2013, 10:33 PM
Dannyl
post Jun 14 2013, 10:59 PM

what the fucuk-yimai
6,113 posts

QUOTE(ChuanHong @ Jun 14 2013, 10:41 PM)
few hours usage and updated to latest firmware.. still satisfy.. screen washed out from other viewing angles is not so serious and i dont mind it.. coz i am sure i will not act so stupid action to view my phone from side or top/bottom.. haven't try to take a good photo.. will try it tmr.. now is just prepare all apps i need.. make a good settings..
True also... who would view his phone from the side? Got privacy some more.

But actually, I view my phones from the sides. I put them on the meter panel of my car and use Waze tongue.gif so they're like 45% slanting.

QUOTE(droidtrix @ Jun 14 2013, 10:48 PM)
My preference is XZL as it serves my need as daily driver and as for me it not necessary to have Water/Dust Proof device..

So far XZL are really good design, well build, not that big compare to XZ.
One thing I liked the most is the LED light in XZL, it looks as THE EYE..
The first time I saw the LED while charging, I thought it's so cool! And I thought it would pulsate when I have a notification! But alas, it didn't... it just blinked. Still cool, though smile.gif
Dannyl
post Jun 15 2013, 10:29 AM

what the fucuk-yimai
6,113 posts

QUOTE(CubixShoppe @ Jun 15 2013, 10:20 AM)
That isn't dust. Googling the issue, you'll find more users with the same complaint. A user in forum XDA sent his unit in, and the camera lens / sensor was replaced under warranty. However, because they had to dissamble his phone, it lost it's waterproof capabilities. He submerged his phone in the water , and his phone 'drowned'.

This is a known issue and is affecting many people. It is not a software defect nor is it due to accumulation of dust. Some say that if you turn on the image stabilization future, the black dots would start to move.
Does it affect ZL?
Dannyl
post Jun 15 2013, 11:00 AM

what the fucuk-yimai
6,113 posts

QUOTE(CubixShoppe @ Jun 15 2013, 10:42 AM)
If I am not mistaken, the hardware on the ZL and XZ should be nearly identical so they should be using the same camera sensor / lens. The good news is I have not heard / read any complaints from XL users. For now, the complaints are coming from XZ users only.

It's unfortunate that this has to happen to the XZ. It's good that it can be replaced under warranty, but again, this is a waterproof phone and the only way for them to open the phone is to heat it up so the glue melts and the back cover can be removed. This could unfortunately kill the phone's waterproof ability.
Reading previous pages, owner viking kong managed to get a replacement set for his Z with dot in camera. Need to insist on replacement rather than having them repair.
Dannyl
post Jun 15 2013, 11:06 AM

what the fucuk-yimai
6,113 posts

QUOTE(CubixShoppe @ Jun 15 2013, 11:03 AM)
True. If it was me, I would insist too. But there are some people who purchased AP sets, and I don't think it'll be easy for them to demand for a replacement knowing how AP companies are. smile.gif

If possible, always demand for a replacement if the warranty of the device is covered by Sony Malaysia. Make up as much excuse as you can until they surrender and pass you a new unit.
AP companies might not even cover this, just like how they don't cover S3's infamous motherboard problem (that's what I heard). Such is the risk of AP sets sweat.gif
Dannyl
post Jun 15 2013, 11:44 AM

what the fucuk-yimai
6,113 posts

QUOTE(viking kong @ Jun 15 2013, 11:36 AM)
No need to insist lor. They straight  offer for replacement. akupunye also got replacement unit.
Good for Sony! Which SC did you go to? Thanks smile.gif
Dannyl
post Jun 15 2013, 08:23 PM

what the fucuk-yimai
6,113 posts

1) How does Sony's online registration work?

2) Where exactly is the IR port on the ZL?
Dannyl
post Jun 16 2013, 04:46 AM

what the fucuk-yimai
6,113 posts

QUOTE(ChuanHong @ Jun 15 2013, 10:36 PM)
No need online registration. U can call to sony service centre and ask whether ur set is genuine. By giving I mei number.
Not really worried about genuine set, was thinking about similar thing to Samsung's eWarranty whereby we only bring the handset for warranty claims. Does this work? Why register online?

QUOTE(eddmecha @ Jun 15 2013, 10:47 PM)
well for the bold part if u just wanna use mass storage to transfer files i suggest u use an app called wifi file explorer by Dooblou it serves me well...can view internal n external storage wireless transfer some more...btw i am using the pro version which only cost 0.99cents
WiFi File Explorer works good. But for big files, it's better to use USB OTG cable... which also costs 99 cents.
Dannyl
post Jun 16 2013, 12:58 PM

what the fucuk-yimai
6,113 posts

QUOTE(mafioso @ Jun 16 2013, 12:42 PM)
i see, okay because if i dont like the sony UI i might just flash AOSP rom like i always do.
but few pages back andrew guided me to backup my "TA" files or something like that? hmm.gif
I used to be like you... but nowadays I find stock ROM pretty decent, so I only require root. Once I use MiHome or Nova Launcher, I'm happy already.
Dannyl
post Jun 16 2013, 01:09 PM

what the fucuk-yimai
6,113 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Jun 12 2013, 04:46 PM)

• Morning Outdoor/Bright Indoor- Landscape
  • Flower/Food/Close Object -  Gourmet
  • Night Outdoor/Dark Indoor - Night Potrait

Thanks for the tips. Normal indoor use what? Party?
Dannyl
post Jun 16 2013, 01:10 PM

what the fucuk-yimai
6,113 posts

QUOTE(CubixShoppe @ Jun 16 2013, 01:00 PM)
To unlock the bootloader, you have to request for a serial key from Sony's site. You have to provide your IMEI number. I am not sure but if Sony do check your imei from their database and founded that you have unlocked your bootloader by requesting for the serial key, they could deny the warranty for your device.
Like HTC! What a pain in the ass. Why do phone companies with the best designs want to do this sad.gif
Samsung still the most hack-friendly.
Dannyl
post Jun 21 2013, 09:00 AM

what the fucuk-yimai
6,113 posts

Once the ZL update is available OTA, do give a holler here. Can't wait for transparent navi bar drool.gif
Dannyl
post Jun 21 2013, 03:41 PM

what the fucuk-yimai
6,113 posts

Is the ZL update available at service centers? Where's the nearest Sony SC in the IKEA area?
Dannyl
post Jun 21 2013, 04:00 PM

what the fucuk-yimai
6,113 posts

QUOTE(zarchrykl @ Jun 21 2013, 03:51 PM)
got @sony curve
Ah yes... found it in my warranty card too. Thanks smile.gif I'll go there update later and see what happens.
Dannyl
post Jun 21 2013, 04:25 PM

what the fucuk-yimai
6,113 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Jun 21 2013, 04:15 PM)
Har?

Is this necessary?

can do via Sony Update Service.
I don't want to install anything on my 10 year old PC running XP with 1GB RAM. At work, not supposed to install anything on my work PC too. So my choices are either OTA or SC. Any other options?
Dannyl
post Jun 22 2013, 09:43 AM

what the fucuk-yimai
6,113 posts

Ahh suddenly become Samsung vs Sony. Let me chip in my 2 cents tongue.gif

I've used Ericsson 768, SE T630, SE X10i, SE Xperia TX, SE Xperia ZL. I've always liked Sony's design, and I believe they produce the sexiest phones in the world. But somehow I feel as though Sony software does not take advantage of the hardware. Like the X10i, the hardware was top notch at that time, but the buggy and laggy software really let it down. Even now, with ZL in my hands, it doesn't feel like this year's tech. Fully factory reset, the homescreen feels laggy, and the animation where the app launches feels like it's skipping frames.

In contrast, Samsung phones are plasticky, and the design is... just passable. But they are the most lenient in warranty checks, and remain popular with the 2nd-hand market. Hacker-friendly and easy to return to stock, with plenty of dev support. Some say the S3 hangs, lags, heats up, etc, but from my few months of use, I haven't had any of those. Even stock is good enough, which is surprising to me (never mind the bloatware, we can just disable those, which is just as good as removing them). Stock launcher is smooth (although not functionally enough for me, I prefer MiHome or Nova), even smoother when compared to a fresh reset ZL or Butterfly.

Of course, I'm still very much interested in Sony phones, otherwise I wouldn't be holding a ZL now.
Dannyl
post Jun 22 2013, 02:14 PM

what the fucuk-yimai
6,113 posts

Went to visit Sony SC at Curve yesterday. Was told to go to Sony SC Berjaya for mobiles. Sony Curve will just send the phone to Sony Berjaya.

Went to visit Sony Berjaya to flash 4.2.2 for my ZL. Went for McD, came back, ta-da... 4.2.2. Much better than 4.1.2, and feels like WHAT THE PHONE SHOULD HAVE FELT LIKE WHEN IT WAS FIRST RELEASED, not like some laggy phone from yesteryear. Anyway - better late than never. BTW, no warranty card or receipt check, they just looked at the Thorus sticker.

While I was there, someone was claiming warranty for a Z with cracked screen (not sure screen or back). Don't know how successful he was, the lady said they needed to look at it first.

QUOTE(vincent829 @ Jun 22 2013, 10:27 AM)
Why I select Xperia Z?
Because the speaker is on the side of the phone, not at the back of the phone which cover the sound if I left it on desk...
Why not HTC One? Front-facing speakers, even better.

0.0482sec    0.66    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 01:08 PM