125 Pages « < 16 17 18 19 20 > » Bottom

Samsung GALAXY S4 Official Thread V3, Kernel & Wakelock issue on LTE !

ivanchin99
post Jun 4 2013, 02:47 PM

813 posts

QUOTE(MsiaqweR @ Jun 4 2013, 02:28 PM)
In this corporate world and today society, not many have the time to learn how to root.
I believe only 1 out of 10 are rooted phones.
Naw, excuses. If you want really want something, you'll get it. Besides, the process for android is really simple. Flash a root-enabled kernel with Odin and you're done. Plus comes with CMW recovery, whole process takes <1min, of course make sure you read the instruction clearly, i still recheck 3-4 times the file selected in Odin - you dont wanna flash the modem into the PDA tongue.gif
joytest
post Jun 4 2013, 02:49 PM

Vox populi vox dei? Quot homines,tot sententiae
13,188 posts

QUOTE(noookiller @ Jun 4 2013, 02:43 PM)
*nods*
lol,my main reason to buy high end is because of rpg-game-on-the-go  icon_idea.gif
+1 This
Personally, RPG on the go, especially the old Baldur's Gate etc, is better enjoyed on something, like 6" or more otherwise the icons and graphics are so tiny. I have an 8.9" netbook and it was just borderline playable due to the size of the sprites on the screen. And when you factor in the onscreen controls it's not going to be a nice experience on 5" or less.

I mucked around with the BG Tweaks and made the screen full resolution, and I suppose if you did that for your S4 at 1920x1080, you won't be able to see anything man.
KennyKB
post Jun 4 2013, 02:50 PM

1,765 posts

It's not just the time spent to learn how to root, you also have to learn how to unroot if you need warranty and that can be scary. What happens if your phone is not in a condition to allow you to unroot? Btw, has anybody tried to claim warranty from Samsung with a rooted phone? I've heard some users say they don't really care but can't confirm this.

SteadyPana
post Jun 4 2013, 02:56 PM

2,554 posts

Maxis 4G Network "Area" unsure.gif

MsiaqweR
post Jun 4 2013, 02:57 PM

642 posts

QUOTE(ivanchin99 @ Jun 4 2013, 02:47 PM)
Naw, excuses. If you want really want something, you'll get it. Besides, the process for android is really simple. Flash a root-enabled kernel with Odin and you're done. Plus comes with CMW recovery, whole process takes <1min, of course make sure you read the instruction clearly, i still recheck 3-4 times the file selected in Odin - you dont wanna flash the modem into the PDA tongue.gif
The problem is not many even know what "Rooting" means or even know what is "XDA forum".
noookiller
post Jun 4 2013, 02:58 PM

446 posts

QUOTE(joytest @ Jun 4 2013, 02:38 PM)
Rooting in and of its own is not "interesting". It just unlocks all the doors in your house. I mean if auntie/grandpa is using for some FB and Candy Crush then no rooting needed.

If you want to play the nice 3D games, not being rooted means all the stuff is kept in your living room only, and you can't move it to the store room.
I mean interesting is like if giving them any benefits to root.
Most of the people bought high-end phones just because it's popular, not for any other purpose

For an instance , I am totally new on this android and I don't find rooting is doing any beneficial to me "yet" and I dont think I will because I don't want to void my warranty and I dont want to learn how to un-root tongue.gif (im not a risk taker)

So the point is , most of users dont even know what is root and benefits of rooting

QUOTE(joytest @ Jun 4 2013, 02:49 PM)
Personally, RPG on the go, especially the old Baldur's Gate etc, is better enjoyed on something, like 6" or more otherwise the icons and graphics are so tiny. I have an 8.9" netbook and it was just borderline playable due to the size of the sprites on the screen. And when you factor in the onscreen controls it's not going to be a nice experience on 5" or less.

I mucked around with the BG Tweaks and made the screen full resolution, and I suppose if you did that for your S4 at 1920x1080, you won't be able to see anything man.
Well, for sure it is , but I find tablet is too big to carry as I don't bring bag anywhere hmm.gif
Maybe I will find BG/Torment too small..But perhaps more Zenonia 5 ! drool.gif

This post has been edited by noookiller: Jun 4 2013, 02:59 PM
emy_xvidia
post Jun 4 2013, 02:59 PM

2,735 posts

QUOTE(SteadyPana @ Jun 4 2013, 02:56 PM)
Maxis 4G Network "Area"  unsure.gif

4G.. so envy liao...
TSmudkipryan94
post Jun 4 2013, 03:50 PM

someone need a sarcasm meter?
12,000 posts

QUOTE(emy_xvidia @ Jun 4 2013, 02:59 PM)
4G.. so envy liao...
no need evny geh... brows.gif brows.gif brows.gif
just waiting for launching den go buy la laugh.gif
benny888
post Jun 4 2013, 03:55 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(KennyKB @ Jun 4 2013, 02:50 PM)
It's not just the time spent to learn how to root, you also have to learn how to unroot if you need warranty and that can be scary. What happens if your phone is not in a condition to allow you to unroot? Btw, has anybody tried to claim warranty from Samsung with a rooted phone? I've heard some users say they don't really care but can't confirm this.
I have successfully claim 5 times past 4+ years on rooted flashed phones. 4 times at previous plaza berjaya n once at Lowyat
I never bother to unroot back as I m prepare to pay for whatever is needed but each time was free

emy_xvidia
post Jun 4 2013, 03:58 PM

2,735 posts

QUOTE(mudkipryan94 @ Jun 4 2013, 03:50 PM)
no need evny geh...  brows.gif  brows.gif  brows.gif
just waiting for launching den go buy la laugh.gif
waiting for good offer from Maxis. If no good offer, then have to wait la. So expensive if true that the RRP for S4LTE 32GB is RM2499. Shouldve been RM2299 max. blush.gif
TSmudkipryan94
post Jun 4 2013, 04:00 PM

someone need a sarcasm meter?
12,000 posts

QUOTE(emy_xvidia @ Jun 4 2013, 03:58 PM)
waiting for good offer from Maxis. If no good offer, then have to wait la. So expensive if true that the RRP for S4LTE 32GB is RM2499. Shouldve been RM2299 max.  blush.gif
yes ! indeed... but need waiting from my fren that they go debate w SME... doh.gif
Pricing should'nt over geh... sweat.gif
so that max approx pricing range , 2299-2399.. doh.gif
firstknight
post Jun 4 2013, 04:07 PM

2,681 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Jun 4 2013, 03:55 PM)
I have successfully claim 5 times past 4+ years on rooted flashed phones. 4 times at previous plaza berjaya n once at Lowyat
I never bother to unroot back as I m prepare to pay for whatever is needed but each time was free
usually is RM50?? after that will they say warranty void subsequent claim?
benny888
post Jun 4 2013, 04:14 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(firstknight @ Jun 4 2013, 04:07 PM)
usually is RM50?? after that will they say warranty void subsequent claim?
I need not pay anything each time
No idea on your second question as it never occur to me to even ask
syke
post Jun 4 2013, 04:24 PM

443 posts

Hi peeps, any extended battery case for S4 available in Malaysia?

Currently this one looks great, but it's from overseas :

http://www.seidioonline.com/galaxy-s4-inno...y45ssgs4-bk.htm
firstknight
post Jun 4 2013, 04:25 PM

2,681 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Jun 4 2013, 04:14 PM)
I need not pay anything each time
No idea on your second question as it never occur to me to even ask
nvm then.... well you are lucky... i didnt have the same luck that time... lol.... remember?
jiash87
post Jun 4 2013, 05:00 PM

368 posts

QUOTE(keeplwk @ Jun 3 2013, 12:02 PM)
you can only scroll by tilting ur head or device not your eyes.. sweat.gif
So much for calling it eye scrolling then. But then I never use this features.... use finger scroll much easier.

knuta
post Jun 4 2013, 05:12 PM

65 posts

QUOTE(steventan85 @ Jun 4 2013, 02:19 PM)
can we claim warranty if rooted ? no right ...still need to unroot and get rid of the red exclamation mark ...not sure for S4 , but S3 got red exclamation mark if not mistaken...pls correct me if im wrong ...
true enuf , some ppl dunno what is root... some buy phone and use it that way .... juz lazy to learn sometime...LOL..especially when u need to undo everything that part
I had an S3 which I rooted, never saw any red exclamation mark so not sure what you mean, but regardless the Samsung guys surely can check quickly if the phone is rooted or not.
I had to root it to fix a bug that Samsung didn't bother to fix...copy/paste stopped working and the only way to fix was to root the phone so you got access to the root-folders where the cache was, and clear the cache. Then copy/past started working again smile.gif
Took about 20 minutes to learn how to root and actually do it. Then install some nice file browsers. I never installed a custom ROM, but I installed a file explorer that allowed me to remote access/stream files from my pc over wifi to my phone - so I could watch movies etc from the pc straight on my phone without copy files when I was home.
It also allowed to install a flash player, but it did not work for all content.
Now my S3 suffered sds and I am out of warranty so waiting to get the S4 LTE...

steventan85
post Jun 4 2013, 05:19 PM

6,447 posts

QUOTE(knuta @ Jun 4 2013, 05:12 PM)
I had an S3 which I rooted, never saw any red exclamation mark so not sure what you mean, but regardless the Samsung guys surely can check quickly if the phone is rooted or not.
I had to root it to fix a bug that Samsung didn't bother to fix...copy/paste stopped working and the only way to fix was to root the phone so you got access to the root-folders where the cache was, and clear the cache. Then copy/past started working again smile.gif
Took about 20 minutes to learn how to root and actually do it. Then install some nice file browsers. I never installed a custom ROM, but I installed a file explorer that allowed me to remote access/stream files from my pc over wifi to my phone - so I could watch movies etc from the pc straight on my phone without copy files when I was home.
It also allowed to install a flash player, but it did not work for all content.
Now my S3 suffered sds and I am out of warranty so waiting to get the S4 LTE...
sds after warranty finished ? thats suck .... hope my S3 doesnt have such issue ...else , i wont get normal SME unit , rather get frm senheng for the 2yrs warranty
tarm
post Jun 4 2013, 05:21 PM

805 posts

Well, in previous firmware versions, the Octa version seemed to take better pictures than the i9505 (not by that much though).
Recently though, I find the pics from the i9505 very similar to the Octa, so I'm guessing they could have the same camera module.

The Octa was confirmed to have a Sony IMX135 module (which is the new Exmor RS), and Anandtech said the i9505 has the Sony IMX091PQ module (which is an older Exmor R), but that wasn't confirmed anywhere else, so noone really knows for sure I think.

Another rumor was that not every i9505 has the same module, so maybe some of them have the IMX135, and others the IMX091PQ?

I guess we'll find out eventually, but I think every S4 is capable of taking great pics anyway.
The quality of photos on the Octa-core is still superior, but Samsung applied some sharpening for the SD ones to improve quality a little without not too much aliasing, something seen on the artifect-plagued updated Xperia Z. Samsung could further improve on the snappiness side, longer than 1/15s exposure in low light and less saturation, but of course the HTC One will always have the edge there with the dedicated (and extremely troublesome to manufacturer) image chip. Hopefully the Sony Honami gets something similar.

Taken from this thread at XDA.

Last time on S3 also same issue, between Sony made (more superior) and Samsung made sensor.
knuta
post Jun 4 2013, 05:26 PM

65 posts

QUOTE(steventan85 @ Jun 4 2013, 05:19 PM)
sds after warranty finished ? thats suck .... hope my S3 doesnt have such issue ...else , i wont get normal SME unit , rather get frm senheng for the 2yrs warranty
Yeah, my sds came 1 year and 1 week after purchase...just bad luck I guess.
Senheng gives 2 year warranty?? any t&c? wonder if they would cover sds...

125 Pages « < 16 17 18 19 20 > » Top

0.0265sec    1.06    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 11:35 AM