5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Samsung GALAXY S4 Official Thread V3, Kernel & Wakelock issue on LTE !

benny888
post Jun 3 2013, 11:07 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(firstknight @ Jun 3 2013, 07:14 AM)
Uncle Benny where you write? I wanna read... wanna know which one you disable as well... TQVM
Search for it in v1 of the thread ; I remember posting it on/around 28 Apr , one day after I got the S4
benny888
post Jun 3 2013, 05:41 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(firstknight @ Jun 3 2013, 05:38 PM)
Uncle Benny... wanna ask to disable TW you freeze it in TiBkp or just dont use it like default launcer to use Nova?
I always freeze it using Titanium Backup
benny888
post Jun 4 2013, 02:41 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

Those who want to load several games n do not wish to root, get the 32GB version or the HTC One ( 32 GB or 64GB)
I only have Scrabble game as I don't play any other serious games on the phones. So I still have 5 GB space left - space is not an issue at all for me. All my ebook, audio, video are on my 64GB ext card
benny888
post Jun 4 2013, 03:55 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(KennyKB @ Jun 4 2013, 02:50 PM)
It's not just the time spent to learn how to root, you also have to learn how to unroot if you need warranty and that can be scary. What happens if your phone is not in a condition to allow you to unroot? Btw, has anybody tried to claim warranty from Samsung with a rooted phone? I've heard some users say they don't really care but can't confirm this.
I have successfully claim 5 times past 4+ years on rooted flashed phones. 4 times at previous plaza berjaya n once at Lowyat
I never bother to unroot back as I m prepare to pay for whatever is needed but each time was free

benny888
post Jun 4 2013, 04:14 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(firstknight @ Jun 4 2013, 04:07 PM)
usually is RM50?? after that will they say warranty void subsequent claim?
I need not pay anything each time
No idea on your second question as it never occur to me to even ask
benny888
post Jun 4 2013, 10:36 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(joytest @ Jun 4 2013, 10:06 PM)
Screen on time, or SOT, indicates how much you've been actively using the phone. It is the best, although flawed, measure we have of battery life prowess.

If you had SOT of 10mins but 7 days of total battery life, it shows that the phone was simply left on standby.

Typically SOT should be at least 2 hours for most smartphones, and total battery life of around 10-18hours. A phone like Note 2 achieves 4hrs SOT and 16hrs battery life total typically.
Most of my recent snartphones SOT of at least 4 to 5 hours is common. For Note 2 will be at least 7 hours up to 9. Your quoted figures is too low
And these with 3g on most of the time

This post has been edited by benny888: Jun 4 2013, 10:37 PM
benny888
post Jun 5 2013, 07:25 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(streamyxkl @ Jun 5 2013, 01:22 AM)
I believe someone from Maxis have make a mistake coz if u look at the Processor its showing 1.6GHz Octa-Core Processor, I don't think beside of Korea there is anywhere else have such combination ' Octa-Core Processor + LTE'
Not first time such mistakes from maxis n digi
Those guys just copy n paste without any correct knowledge
benny888
post Jun 5 2013, 05:37 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(vincentlai @ Jun 5 2013, 02:59 PM)
I thought every new phone needs to charge for 8 hours?
Not for Li ion batteries at least past 5-6 years phone. Those who tell you such still living in their 80'-90s. Now is year 2013
benny888
post Jun 6 2013, 10:40 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(ahodil @ Jun 6 2013, 10:08 AM)
At the notificatiom bar, is just me or, the colour looks like washed off ?
Cannot see anything unusual in your attachment
benny888
post Jun 6 2013, 01:45 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(ppguy2006 @ Jun 6 2013, 01:35 PM)
Hi Steven,

I am thinking that too now. However, i heard that for S4 non LTE phone, there is a option to switch to LTE network. got such thing? I thought only LTE phone can detect LTE Network.

Any sifu can confirm on this? I am first time smartphone user anyway.
If there is such a thing, why would phone manufacturer release separately a LTE enabled phone ?? Might as well just make one single phone model that can have LTE when needed
benny888
post Jun 6 2013, 02:28 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(ToshibaM100 @ Jun 6 2013, 02:21 PM)
Just bought the s4, the mobile data keep dissapearing from my hone icon.

But once i restart the phone, it return to normal with mobile data icon.
Anyone can help?
Try with another Sim card or other telco card
If similar problem go claim n have sim module replaced
benny888
post Jun 6 2013, 05:24 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(ben3003 @ Jun 6 2013, 05:04 PM)
i wanna ask about installing custom rom, i oledi root, can i direct flash from ODIN or should i flash it thru CWM by installing CWM recovery first?
Odin only to flash official ROM which are in tar format
Custom ROM all in zip files ( with several folders) you use CWM or TWRP to flash from recovery mode
benny888
post Jun 6 2013, 05:59 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(joytest @ Jun 6 2013, 05:57 PM)
Is the same one as used by S3 and Note 2? Or this is a new design but able to support S3 and Note 2 as well?
My S3/note 2 mhl adapter works fine with the S4
The older S2/note unit cannot be used
benny888
post Jun 6 2013, 06:48 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(KennyKB @ Jun 6 2013, 06:02 PM)
Physical buttons can wear out if pressed frequently like iphone's home button.
Wrong comparison.iphone button is used for every function unlike Samsung. And I have yet to hear of Samsung home button spoil faster than iphone
benny888
post Jun 6 2013, 07:09 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(ben3003 @ Jun 6 2013, 06:57 PM)
ok thanks. now on Omega rom biggrin.gif anyone know about this Omega files? is it let say i download the boot animation, then i have to go recovery flash it right? so everything from there basically have to flash to install correct?
If your bootanimaton is just a simple zip file and extracted shows a series of images - than you just replace the bootanimation.zip with your new bootanimation.zip at /system/media . You need to use a root explorer app in order to change this - and do select RW before you can edit it
If the boot animation zip after extract show a series of folders , than you flash this in recovery mode
Where you download the animation zip will often tell you how to get it replaced. If none, just follow my tips
benny888
post Jun 6 2013, 07:22 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(ahodil @ Jun 6 2013, 07:18 PM)
Dont have.. ._.
I think he meant your post #695 which I also find strange if your phone octacore model has this ??
benny888
post Jun 6 2013, 09:40 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

good news for gamers

http://www.theverge.com/2013/6/6/4401652/s...ts-sd-card-apps
benny888
post Jun 6 2013, 09:54 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(noookiller @ Jun 6 2013, 09:39 PM)
Yeah man. Its one of my main  reason why I decided to go with s4.
htc customer services in malaysia real pain in the ass. Delay exchangement,failure promised call back. You can check and observe by your self at facebook htc malaysia
HTC Spore Harbour Court service center is very good. They even replace my Dopod 900 motherboard ( bought in KL ) for free after I fried it during flashing. I try it at Spore as that time I was planning atrip there and Spore was nearer than KL for me.
My friend HTC One X hard brick ( cannot reboot except to fastbootboot mode only) due to reflashing back to stock RUU ( dont know how he got into this mess) and was told by HTC Plaza Berjaya they cannot flash back for him original rom ( when he was even willing to pay for it) as he had unlock bootloader. I took the set from him and got it done at HTC Spore for free too
benny888
post Jun 6 2013, 11:58 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(XeactorZ @ Jun 6 2013, 11:45 PM)
slowpoke whistling.gif
see below quote
thanks me for ?
the link you showing is the apps called appgratis
not cerberus
yet I search for cerberus anti theft, didn't state free lifetime license @@
https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?...LmNlcmJlcnVzIl0.
Download the Cerberus app from the appgratis app itself. It will show you is licence free
benny888
post Jun 7 2013, 12:02 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(simsim @ Jun 6 2013, 11:55 PM)
i know this is a noob question, but i was thinking of pulling the trigger on the S4 LTE. but i really dont want a contract, so im thinking of AP. what do you guys think of AP devices besides the warranty?
Get it from a reliable seller with a shop eg DirectD, satugadjet, item.com etc
Avoid those operating from kiosks. They might not be around when you need them
I have zero problems with AP sets n only make claims on SME sets past 5 years

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0206sec    0.63    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 07:15 PM