12 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Bottom

Fundsupermart.com v3, Manage your own unit trust portfolio

SUSyklooi
post Jun 8 2013, 11:39 AM

8,188 posts

what have we experience for the last 1 week...Most of the funds in our portfolio turn "RED"....what funds ARE not in the DOWN trends for the last 10 days? can you name some?
even my Hwang SEL income and Balance are down.
IF the mkt were to pick up again (like Europe & US last night because of employment growth report) i think we cannot stick to the existing portfolio that are HIGHly dependents to the US Employment growth report....which are MONTHLY...(even worst, is we know that QE won't last for another few months before they start to pull back gradually)
any comment? hmm.gif

This post has been edited by yklooi: Jun 8 2013, 11:48 AM
SUSyklooi
post Jun 8 2013, 11:47 AM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Jun 8 2013, 11:42 AM)
In my portfolio, only OSK-UOB Global Equity Yield held up.

Not gonna top up or rebalance at the moment.
rclxms.gif thanks for sharing...
1 fund OSK-UOB Global Equity Yield noted....
others got any to share?
just checked the "eunittrust.com.my"...i think Ambond Islamic is also up...BUt the return is not as equities

SUSyklooi
post Jun 8 2013, 11:58 AM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Jun 8 2013, 11:48 AM)
what goes up must go down somehow...I'm afraid that u chase the "leader" at the wrong timing (at its peak) sweat.gif
oh,...just wanted to make a closer observation on which fund mgrs did manage to diversify the holdings to make it "immune" to the BAD QE pull back.(maybe not immune but the least loses)..
i believe what go up must come down...i also believe that if i wanted a 10% return, i must be willing to have a paper loses of 20% too.
yeap...cannot chase the leaders....cos i entered all funds at peak (mid May 2013)(thus it make me a leader??ha-ha...in a money fly way)
just wanted to see what we can learn from this last 1 week

This post has been edited by yklooi: Jun 8 2013, 12:01 PM
SUSyklooi
post Jun 8 2013, 12:03 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Jun 8 2013, 12:00 PM)
OSK-UOB GEY is heavy on US. I believe Eastspring Investments Global Leaders also held up well. Cos US markets holding up, recent losses mainly focused in Asia.
hmm.gif funny. eh??
QE gradual pull back intention got not much effect on US mutual funds? rclxub.gif doh.gif
SUSyklooi
post Jun 8 2013, 12:12 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Jun 8 2013, 12:07 PM)
A: "QE pullback means economy strengthening, US economy is in good shape. Buy equities"
B: "QE pullback means less money in the economy, stocks to pullback. Sell equities"

A and B keep fighting yawn.gif
rclxms.gif that is where a study/observation of which fund mgrs managed to make most $ or lose the least $ is a GOOD to have info in the above situation....
SUSyklooi
post Jun 9 2013, 01:38 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(Kaka23 @ Jun 9 2013, 12:44 PM)
I am having both the Hwang you mention for Asia ex Japan exposure. Got also CIMB Apac income for dividend focus companies as well.

Err.. Not sure if i am too diversified on Asia ex Japan funds!??
what are their total % of asia x jpn allocation per yr portfolio?
SUSyklooi
post Jun 9 2013, 02:34 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(Kaka23 @ Jun 9 2013, 02:30 PM)
Opps.. Cant remember as not using computer now. Will check when I am on my PC, if i forget please remind me to check.
ok, just post that same question with the % of allocation per yr portfolio and your risk level...then i think "pink" can answer in detail...he is good. rclxms.gif
SUSyklooi
post Jun 9 2013, 02:45 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(Kaka23 @ Jun 9 2013, 02:37 PM)
I have low risk tolerance, so i have high percentage in fixed income... tongue.gif
rclxms.gif that would be "hakuna matata" thumbup.gif
from simba the lion king movie.
SUSyklooi
post Jun 9 2013, 02:56 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(Kaka23 @ Jun 9 2013, 02:50 PM)
haha... i hope so la

but always wanted to grow my asset faster, just dont dare to put all into equities.. I wish to retire early tongue.gif
hmm.gif cannot have both....."wanted to grow my asset faster" and "i have high percentage in fixed income"

SUSyklooi
post Jun 9 2013, 03:09 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Jun 9 2013, 02:53 PM)
Me too, facing the dilemma

Conservative me says need to keep 12 months expenses in cash and FD, cos I'm supporting my dad
Investor me says, "what are the chances of me being jobless for 12 months?"

icon_question.gif
hmm.gif
Not just the time to take to look for job...maybe to compensate for a lower paying job. It will allow you to weather any unexpected storms including home repairs, unemployment, and medical bills. At the very least, the emergency cash reserve should be sufficient to cover up to six months (min) of the following:
Mortgage payment
Insurance costs
Utility bills
Groceries
Fixed payments (car payments, student loan payments, etc.)
Minimum payment on credit cards,.etc
SUSyklooi
post Jun 9 2013, 03:22 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(JinXXX @ Jun 9 2013, 03:18 PM)
12 months of is quite alot right ? since we are like no where near recession or economic collapse ?

think some of those should be shifted into bonds/fix income ? maybe half of the half can put into equity ?
wow,..that is "Emergency fund" you are talking about. do reconsider it.
when near recession...yr investment using the emergency fund may already in "RED"
SUSyklooi
post Jun 9 2013, 03:28 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Jun 9 2013, 03:12 PM)
I still reluctant to touch my FDs lar, maybe take out a bit more from bond fund to buy more equities. Most decent local stocks now yielding 4%+ at best. doh.gif
my thought is to use "Some' of it at the bottom of the curve.
Some?? how much is "some"?
bottom of curve,...when?

for me, i still hv 1/3 EPF saving....when to use it? i am thinking of 18 months from the time i goes down....
SUSyklooi
post Jun 9 2013, 03:33 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(JinXXX @ Jun 9 2013, 03:26 PM)
so cash is king during recession  ??  if recession bank chap.. how the money ? BNM give u back via PIDM ? or it will dragg on
anybody thought of that ?
we hv seen some very severe crisis thru out the past few decades in Malaysia/globally...so far got any bank in Malaysia that chap? further more, after so many crisis world wide, i think the BNM and alot of others had learned alot from it.
i think it should be ok.

SUSyklooi
post Jun 9 2013, 03:36 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(JinXXX @ Jun 9 2013, 03:30 PM)
keep physical gold at home. keep about 1 kilo.. when need use knife cut as accordingly smile.gif
1/3 epf saving ?? meaning ?
= i am > 50 yrs. can withdraw 1/3 of my EPF saving liao. currently i consider this 1/3 as part of my FD....
SUSyklooi
post Jun 9 2013, 03:41 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(JinXXX @ Jun 9 2013, 03:24 PM)
yeah when i read back.. if recession/economic collapse.. u think u will have more worries than a 12 month emergency funds smile.gif

if fd in bank and bank chaplap or BNM ask u fly kite/pidm then still hailat lo.. the 12 month fd smile.gif lol
we hv seen some very severe crisis thru out the past few decades in Malaysia/globally...so far got any bank in Malaysia that chap? further more, after so many crisis world wide, i think the BNM and alot of others had learned alot from it.
i think it should be ok.
SUSyklooi
post Jun 9 2013, 03:55 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Jun 9 2013, 03:30 PM)
If u are 50 or older, EPF is touch-able. For ppl like me, got millions (I wish tongue.gif ) in EPF also no use, cos cannot withdraw doh.gif
it also means I hv abt 1/3 of battery life span life (if i am lucky)
for you guys that still hv full battery life,....go take a big plastic bag (big enough to cover the head, and put inside the pocket) the ask "the sifu" to take you to the place he last time mention maybe can hv your picture taken or splashed in the TV.....(those who followed this thread for the last few weeks should know-lah)...ha-ha... icon_idea.gif rclxm9.gif
SUSyklooi
post Jun 9 2013, 04:18 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(JinXXX @ Jun 9 2013, 04:03 PM)
very cryptic... sad.gif tak faham langsung..
in chort..if sill hv a lot of battery life...go enjoy and hv fun and thrill. the place for "thrill" that were suggested by the sifu can minum, pegang,pegang, touch here and there...the plastic bag is to cover the face just in case the "mata" come with news crew and hv to board the black maria truck cool2.gif
SUSyklooi
post Jun 9 2013, 04:32 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(JinXXX @ Jun 9 2013, 04:22 PM)
any funds with exposure in US/developed countries that has
Berkshire Hathaway’s shares ? especially class A one ?
hmm.gif Berkshire Hathaway has two classes of stock. The Class A shares are priced over USD $100,000 per share.
i doubt that FSM has fund that are holding it

SUSyklooi
post Jun 9 2013, 04:36 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(JinXXX @ Jun 9 2013, 04:23 PM)
apa ni ?
rclxms.gif now you see it and now you don't....never leave this thread updates out of sight....even go to wash room bring yr tablet along...else you will "MISSED" the good thi icon_idea.gif ngs...
SUSyklooi
post Jun 9 2013, 04:40 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(JinXXX @ Jun 9 2013, 04:35 PM)
yeah sad.. case.. wonder which other fund manager can be like him smile.gif
yeah, but it is also up to us whether we hv to guts to follow his decision/wisdom at that time.

12 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0358sec    0.61    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 06:25 PM