Fundsupermart.com v3, Manage your own unit trust portfolio

SUSPink Spider
post Jun 1 2013, 11:45 AM

Formerly known as Prince_Hamsap
16,872 posts

QUOTE(pisces88 @ Jun 1 2013, 11:42 AM)
but Select income have some equity , although very small %.. if i wanted to adjust portfolio allocation, then will be complicated? i think that was why i chose HS bond in the 1st place.. what's ur opinion?  blush.gif
Well, its all personal preference lo, I'd go for HSB to be able to better monitor my portfolio, but sometimes I look at the 10% annualised returns of HSI... tongue.gif
SUSPink Spider
post Jun 1 2013, 03:02 PM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(gark @ Jun 1 2013, 02:54 PM)
The bigger the fund, the less efficient the management will be. If a fund is too big, it cannot make purchases without distorting the whole market. Hence big funds can only buy very very liquid stocks hence becoming more like an index fund already, as the list of stocks they can buy is limited.

A good example is public smallcap became sooooo big, until the performance is affected before they decided too late to close the fund.
Hwang SIF is more yield-focused, not so trade-happy. Should not affect much IMHO

This post has been edited by Pink Spider: Jun 1 2013, 03:04 PM
SUSPink Spider
post Jun 1 2013, 03:52 PM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(gark @ Jun 1 2013, 03:38 PM)
Yeah.. but it was a general reply to those who think that bigger funds = better.  tongue.gif

Still even though it is yield focus, the big size does limit some of the purchases. For example if SIF decide to invest in like illiquid stock with good yield like Hup Seng.. what would happen?  tongue.gif
Ikan bilis investors like me would be more than happy to let go at 50% profit and let them buy at inflated price laugh.gif
SUSPink Spider
post Jun 2 2013, 12:34 AM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(millenius @ Jun 1 2013, 11:45 PM)
Hi, I am new to UT. I dont have any experience other than reading through "getting started" in FSM and lurking around this thread. I was wondering, how does one keep track of their portfolio ? What do I need to monitor ? I mean, I wanted to have an excel sort of document to manage my newly started investment but I dont know what to do. Please advise.
https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?act=Atta...post&id=3363202

Editable file attached icon_rolleyes.gif
SUSPink Spider
post Jun 2 2013, 12:35 AM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(aoisky @ Jun 2 2013, 12:14 AM)
EI GEM personally i had this fund under my portfolio before, just sold it not a recommended fund. anyway read fact sheet and past five years track records judge yourself
It's the best GEM equity fund available at Malaysia, at least it beats its benchmark tongue.gif
SUSPink Spider
post Jun 2 2013, 07:23 AM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(aoisky @ Jun 2 2013, 12:48 AM)
Well. It may be the best in it's league but it's definitely not in overall. Yes it outperform its benchmark but there are a lot other funds which is outperform GEM fund. in term of IRR this fund among the lower rank in my overall portfolio. We buy UT, one common objective good return isn't it ?
Guess my timing was right, currently my holding yielding IRR of 4.5% (Sales Charge included), decent I'd say.
SUSPink Spider
post Jun 2 2013, 07:25 AM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ Jun 2 2013, 05:53 AM)
hmm.gif then you might end ups with alot of heavily M'sia eq based fund....kenanga, hw AIIman, Am Div trust, osk uob eme opp, just to name a few...have performanced very well for the past few years.
anyway, i too, sometimes had both sides of my brains arguing with each others......ha-ha..1 side said, as long as it makes $$ it is ok, but the other side said...diversification for you may be safer on the "just in case"... rclxub.gif until now they are still not yet in full agreement....85% in m'sia 15% in Asia ex Jpn
...and see what happened to fans of AmAsia Pacific REITs who overweight it in their portfolio for the past 1-2 weeks? icon_idea.gif

This post has been edited by Pink Spider: Jun 2 2013, 07:29 AM
SUSPink Spider
post Jun 2 2013, 05:41 PM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(TakoC @ Jun 2 2013, 05:02 PM)
I hope I don't piss all the sifu off here by saying this.

But having a too diversified portfolio is not a good thing sometimes. I believe I have a higher portfolio yield than some of the sifu here who have a wide diversification.

But of course, once the market hits me. It'll hit hard. I have got a taste of the 'poison' yet. So diversation is syill the way to go lar. Decision is HOW diversify.
No piss off, different ppl, different preference. nod.gif

I want to sleep sound at nite about my UT portfolio, hence I diversify it in such way that it will (hopefully) go up and down in line with global markets. What I keep in my control is the different % I allocate to the different regions. If in the event that my portfolio kaput, I think most likely the world economy is a gone case already, my job also not secure. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by Pink Spider: Jun 2 2013, 05:43 PM
SUSPink Spider
post Jun 2 2013, 05:45 PM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(PhakFuhZai @ Jun 2 2013, 03:00 PM)
I already have an account with iFast Capital
https://www.ifastcapital.com.my/ifast/home/index.svdo

I just wonder what difference between FSM and iFast, since both of them are related somewhat
Why don't u ask iFast and/or FSM and tell us the difference between opening an account with iFast and opening an account with FSM notworthy.gif
SUSPink Spider
post Jun 2 2013, 05:48 PM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(aoisky @ Jun 2 2013, 09:57 AM)
May be, since when you holding this fund and how long period already ? my net profit from this fund is 3.8% (included SC 6% direct purchased from Prudential that time). So is this a considerable good, better or best fund to invest ? i would say so-so in future you would never knows.
I don't track profit/loss %, to me it is meaningless, doesn't facilitate performance comparison and review, I prefer to monitor and review by IRR instead. smile.gif

This post has been edited by Pink Spider: Jun 2 2013, 05:48 PM
SUSPink Spider
post Jun 2 2013, 06:42 PM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(aoisky @ Jun 2 2013, 06:41 PM)
Is it ? well for me i am monitoring both ways its not meaningless at all. higher IRR doesn't give you an indication that you yield higher Profit/Loss % same apply to vice versa.
Profit/loss % is useless for performance comparison e.g. comparing performance of Fund A vs Fund B cos it does not take into account period invested.
SUSPink Spider
post Jun 2 2013, 09:30 PM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(Kaka23 @ Jun 2 2013, 08:55 PM)
open in iFast will through an advisor or something like a financial company that provide many financial services. FSM is direct to customer..
How about Sales Charges? Similar or slightly higher than FSM? Saw at website they mentioned about "lower SCs"... hmm.gif

With Client Investment Specialists like Eugene and Felix, I'd rather go for FSM thumbup.gif
SUSPink Spider
post Jun 3 2013, 07:07 AM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(PhakFuhZai @ Jun 3 2013, 06:30 AM)
wouldn't call it an advantage, but the difference is you have your financial planner to help you keep an eye on the stuff, he will advise you from time to time, his commission ride on the performance of the funds, hence if the funds are losing money then his commission will reduce as well

this is more suitable for those don't have the time to monitor prices all the time, and also to those very new to the world of UT like me icon_rolleyes.gif
now that is something good and new, any source on that?
SUSPink Spider
post Jun 3 2013, 09:19 AM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Jun 3 2013, 08:28 AM)
Asian market opens in RED today.

Last Friday, US closed in RED.
Today if Shanghai in red sea, top up Eastspring GEM icon_idea.gif
SUSPink Spider
post Jun 3 2013, 11:41 AM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(gark @ Jun 3 2013, 11:34 AM)
They charge a ~0.5%-1.0% p.a.wrap fee for those service. The wrap fee is based on total invested NAV, hence when your NAV goes down, his commission also goes down. However to compensate on the wrap fee, the sales charges are lowered to 0.5%-1.0% per purchase/switch accordingly.

So fee structure will be :-

1 Wrap fee 0.5%-1.0% p.a. based on daily NAV
2. Sales charge 0.5%-1.0% - one time
3. Fund Management fee - 1.0%-2.0% p.a. based on daily NAV

So for example your holding is 100K RM daily average, the 'FA' fees will be RM 500- RM 1000 per annum for his advice... wink.gif

So whether if it is suitable for you or not, depends.. and they only trade in UT carried by FSM. And each FA can have many clients... and your UT portfolio will tend to be trade heavy... whistling.gif
Pakcik gark, u pernah pakai iFast? Why u know so much geh unsure.gif

If that's the case, better go to FSM direct, learn to DIY better doh.gif
SUSPink Spider
post Jun 3 2013, 11:54 AM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(gark @ Jun 3 2013, 11:51 AM)
No not using them.. just know only... biggrin.gif

Not everyone expert like you can DIY...

Maybe you can become FA here... charge 0.25% for you to 'DIY' other people's account.  rclxms.gif Can earn side money... icon_rolleyes.gif
Big shark got RM100K NAV, RM100K x 0.25% = RM250

per month or per annum jek brows.gif
SUSPink Spider
post Jun 3 2013, 11:56 AM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(gark @ Jun 3 2013, 11:55 AM)
per annum... tongue.gif  Look for more clients lah..
Not worth my trouble, RM250 1 nite at pub already kaboom doh.gif
SUSPink Spider
post Jun 3 2013, 11:58 AM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(gark @ Jun 3 2013, 11:55 AM)
per annum... tongue.gif  Ok what, click click 2-3 times a month only per client....More money look for more clients lah..
Ooh u mean 0.25% PER PORTFOLIO REVIEW?

Worth thinking brows.gif

As usual, caveat emptor tongue.gif
SUSPink Spider
post Jun 3 2013, 04:35 PM

16,872 posts

expect further weakness in bonds
SUSPink Spider
post Jun 3 2013, 04:37 PM

16,872 posts