Fundsupermart.com v3, Manage your own unit trust portfolio

SUSPink Spider
post Jul 19 2013, 10:34 AM

Formerly known as Prince_Hamsap
16,872 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ Jul 19 2013, 10:31 AM)
i dun know about others, as for my case, i was "shiok" by the historical return of RHB bond too....until....realised later....
i guess the OSK UOB income fund, from the historical return charts...only decent.
I buy OSK-UOB Income to "balance" against my stock investments, as spare "ammo". So, stable/decent is a plus for me wink.gif

This post has been edited by Pink Spider: Jul 19 2013, 10:34 AM
SUSPink Spider
post Jul 19 2013, 10:43 AM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ Jul 19 2013, 10:40 AM)
PLUS no sc some more....good choice,.
pink, i remember you mentioned that you did treat CMF as your saving a/c........can i ask, from your experience with it, how will it takes FSM to bank into my PBB a/c the $$ from my sales of CMF...let say
i sell on Friday after 3pm?
i sell in Monday before 12noon?
when will i get to seel $$ in my PBB bank a/c?
FSM will do GIRO transfer (previously they bank in cheque, but recently they do GIRO transfer) into your savings/current account on T+2. If u sell on Friday, they will GIRO to u on Tuesday, most likely u will get the money on Wednesday or latest on Thursday (inter-bank GIRO usually takes 1-2 working days to clear)

http://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/faq/faq.svdo?id=9718
Q: How long will it take for me to receive my money?

A: If you sell the Cash Management Fund (which were purchased via cash), the proceeds will be posted to you either by cheque or deposited into your designated redemption account on T+2. Please note that your designated bank might take 1 - 2 business day to clear the cheque.
As the Cash Management Fund’s net interest rate is based on historical pricing, the selling price will be based on the previous calendar day immediately before the date of the transaction.

SUSPink Spider
post Jul 19 2013, 10:58 AM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ Jul 19 2013, 10:53 AM)
hmm.gif about 5 days then,..now i am having a thought of trying out CMF....instead of parking in saving a/c & FD
Still need to have SOME in savings and FD

Imagine...

u bang ppl car need to pay cash to settle, u cannot call FSM at 2AM to ask for money tongue.gif
or ur puppy kena kidnap for ransom, u also cannot call FSM at 2AM to ask for money tongue.gif

SUSPink Spider
post Jul 19 2013, 04:00 PM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(mois @ Jul 19 2013, 03:39 PM)
My public strategic smallcap also fly. But quite regret didnt buy many.  cry.gif Should have sai lang then huat!  laugh.gif
If it turned the other way? You would have thought that u have god-ly foresight! laugh.gif
SUSPink Spider
post Jul 19 2013, 04:11 PM

16,872 posts

Today bought my first REIT...IGBREIT at 1.29, expecting net yield of about 4.9% biggrin.gif
SUSPink Spider
post Jul 19 2013, 04:52 PM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Jul 19 2013, 04:48 PM)
er.. boss, when prices of chicken ALREADY high,
we should buy chicken
or
fish (assuming fish price fell or is stable and lower than chicken)
?
If we shopping for protein source for our grocery lar tongue.gif
Pls buy chicken IF U need chicken for specific dish/cooking (asset allocation) though  laugh.gif
Eat nasi lemak biasa every day and buy protein drink flex.gif

SUSPink Spider
post Jul 19 2013, 05:20 PM

16,872 posts

My boss is moving his attention to STI stocks hmm.gif
SUSPink Spider
post Jul 20 2013, 11:57 AM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(@secret@ @ Jul 20 2013, 11:32 AM)
Hwang Select Income and UOB Kid Save, which one is more ideal to hold more? Just parking my cash.
or should I start looking into equity? Any moderate risk equity UT to recommend?
For cash parking (u gonna need to use the cash in 5 years or lesser), only consider money market (OSK-UOB CMF, OSK-UOB Money Market, AmIncome Plus) or AT MOST bond funds like OSK-UOB Income or AmBond.

If u wanna INVEST, then only consider Hwang Select Income or KidSave.

If u risk-averse, Eastspring Investments Equity Income or Hwang Select Dividend would be a good choice.

QUOTE(tehoice @ Jul 20 2013, 11:27 AM)
are these good for investment?

my investment appetite is a small amount monthly contribution for say, 3-5 years, then just let it run by itself. and if I don't plan to sell it within 10 years or so.

do you think I'm up for this? I know this sound silly... but I'm really new to these funds....
another long-term fund that I'm looking at is Kenanga Growth Fund, also with a time horizon of about 15-20 years from now.
Build a portfolio of at least 4-5 funds, don't buy 1-2 "hot"/recommended funds and expect your money to multiply.

This post has been edited by Pink Spider: Jul 20 2013, 11:59 AM
SUSPink Spider
post Jul 20 2013, 05:17 PM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Jul 20 2013, 03:16 PM)
Today's seminar conclusion:

1. OSK-UOB speakers is bullish on small cap either in locally or Asia Ex Japan.
2. Hwang DBS speaker is still bullish on Asia Ex Japan and promoted their two star Asia Ex Japan funds.
3. Eastspring speaker talks about China but no impressive outlook or strategy from them.
4. FSM speaker emphasize on developed market.
Evident from their latest Recommended Portfolios move, got major holding in RHB-GS US Equity now.
SUSPink Spider
post Jul 20 2013, 05:31 PM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ Jul 20 2013, 05:25 PM)
very high % of allocation too.
RHB GS US is not in the recommended fund list hmm.gif
they know something yet dun want to let us know??
My wild uneducated guess -

Bond no longer works as a "portfolio stabiliser" in this low-interest rate environment where the market keep guessing when will US raise (or should I say, NORMALISE?) rates. US equities were a good hedge against Asia ex-Japan and GEM in the recent times.

QUOTE(David83 @ Jul 20 2013, 05:25 PM)
FSM fund choice: Alliance Global Equities Fund with 34% exposure in G5.
To be exact, 12% US + 12% Europe (UK + France + Germany) + 12% Japan = 36% icon_rolleyes.gif
They must be including RHB-GS US Equity to boost US exposure.

STILL thinking whether to switch from PGSF to AGEF, PGSF seems to have found a (relatively) stable footing lately.

This post has been edited by Pink Spider: Jul 20 2013, 05:34 PM
SUSPink Spider
post Jul 20 2013, 05:33 PM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(TakoC @ Jul 20 2013, 05:28 PM)
It depends. As mentioned earlier, I'm going to shift 70% of my PGSF into HSAO. HSAQ has very low exposure in HK. Trying to minimize my change in geographical exposure.
Currently I'm 2/5 HSAO + 3/5 HSAQ, targeting to eventually make it 1:1 ratio.

Reason being, HSAO has more HK exposure compared to HSAQ, which is more overweight ASEAN. With Indonesia and Thailand STILL quite hot and HK kena sold down quite badly, it'd be wise not to put too much in HSAQ.

Just my 2 sen icon_rolleyes.gif
SUSPink Spider
post Jul 20 2013, 06:50 PM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(TakoC @ Jul 20 2013, 06:47 PM)
I'm having the same dilemma. My PGSF is gaining much faster than HSAO. If don't sell PGSF, I'll have 2 options:

a) Top up HSAO
b) Buy in AGEF
PGSF gained about 2% in past 1 month, while HSAO flat. But u look at 3-, 6-months, PGSF totally koyak laugh.gif
SUSPink Spider
post Jul 20 2013, 07:07 PM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(TakoC @ Jul 20 2013, 07:02 PM)
I'm losing a bit on HSAO. -1%.

How Pink? You switching to AGEF? You still gonna utilize the 1% SC somehow. Hahaha..
For:
I want to increase my developed Europe exposure, which is now at merely 9%

Against:
Europe and US were resilient lately, whereas Asia ex-Japan still not yet really recovered from recent selldown, thus still quite attractive. If REALLY want to switch to AGEF, why not do it after Asia ex-Japan recovered more?

Dilemma laugh.gif

This post has been edited by Pink Spider: Jul 20 2013, 07:07 PM
SUSPink Spider
post Jul 20 2013, 07:18 PM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(TakoC @ Jul 20 2013, 07:11 PM)
You just answered your own question bro! Go for Asia first, then only increase + balance up your developed Europe exposure. Haha! My 3 step probably is :

1. Top up HSAO (PGSF amount)
2. Sell PGSF (not sure what's my target ROI yet) and buy in AGEF

Eh btw it's Saturday. Why are you so active? Go kau lui, massage, drink till you hangover or something. Hahaha!! smile.gif
What I have in mind right now is this...

Current:
24% OSK-UOB GEYF
12% Pacific GSF

To move toward:
27% OSK-UOB GEYF
9% Pacific GSF

Still feel wanna keep PGSF in my portfolio blush.gif

No lui to kau sad.gif
I don't like to strip naked, lay on my front and let a stranger touch me doh.gif
Colleagues and Sub Cons are mostly married men, they have family life on weekends doh.gif
Some friends have GFs to layan doh.gif
Some friends working shopping centre hours doh.gif

That's why I... doh.gif

This post has been edited by Pink Spider: Jul 20 2013, 07:22 PM
SUSPink Spider
post Jul 20 2013, 07:56 PM

16,872 posts

If follow what Wong Seafood say, I should keep PGSF at 12%, cos it's overweight the currently undervalued Asia ex-Japan hmm.gif
SUSPink Spider
post Jul 21 2013, 12:59 AM

16,872 posts

1:1 is just convenient to monitor and review

If u risk-averse, better HSAO 2:1 HSAQ
If u adventurous, can HSAO 1:2 HSAO

Do bear in mind, what HSAQ can buy, HSAO also can buy
But HSAQ cannot buy everything that HSAO can buy

So, IMHO, better to keep 1:1, there may be times when even HSAO might even go put significant % in small-mid caps.
SUSPink Spider
post Jul 21 2013, 01:47 PM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Jul 21 2013, 01:05 AM)
CIMB APDIF is mainly investing based on stock selection but I guess they'll focus on large cap more.
Large cap + dividend stocks + POTENTIAL dividend stocks
SUSPink Spider
post Jul 21 2013, 10:25 PM

16,872 posts

bcos until now no monthly fact sheet is published doh.gif
SUSPink Spider
post Jul 21 2013, 10:37 PM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(aoisky @ Jul 21 2013, 10:12 PM)
Changing mind ?
I was think to get some Global Fund to invest in PGSF or AGEF ? what do you think
From what I understand, PGSF takes a "value" approach to stock picking.

What does "value investing" mean? It means buying stocks that are trading at below their intrinsic value, i.e. buying good companies trading at attractive valuations.

But in this IT era of free-flowing information, when exactly can u achieve this? By the time u found out, many others would have done so too.

It usually occurs when a good company is in (short-term) trouble, e.g. a product did badly, production got some hiccup, sales growth were stagnant lately etc.

Putting this into context of PGSF, Pacific Mutual ("PM") would look to buy into good companies whose stocks got beaten down for some reasons, hence their recent overweight in Australian mining stocks and China H-shares. They do so believing that it's just a matter of time that the troubles will pass, these companies will realise their fair value.

So the questions now are,
WHEN WILL THE TROUBLE PASS?
CAN YOU WAIT IT OUT?

Food for thought to help with your selection process wink.gif
SUSPink Spider
post Jul 21 2013, 10:39 PM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(aoisky @ Jul 21 2013, 10:26 PM)
How about prospectus ? hmm... if not much reference you dare to buy r ?
Aberdeen Islamic World Equity is a new fund, prospectus where will show its country allocation? doh.gif

Maybe u can get a rough indication of country allocation from its non-Shariah compliant Singapore-managed sister fund? hmm.gif

This post has been edited by Pink Spider: Jul 21 2013, 10:39 PM

34 Pages « < 27 28 29 30 31 > » Top

0.9685sec    0.55    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 10:01 AM