160 posts

o mai <3 just what I need. Ty pink.
TakoC
post Jun 2 2013, 01:12 AM

2,081 posts

QUOTE(aoisky @ Jun 2 2013, 12:48 AM)
Well. It may be the best in it's league but it's definitely not in overall. Yes it outperform its benchmark but there are a lot other funds which is outperform GEM fund. in term of IRR this fund among the lower rank in my overall portfolio. We buy UT, one common objective good return isn't it ?
Pink will tell you that diversification.

But somehow I agree with you. Even if fund A returns and market is not as attractive as fund B (and fund A exposure is not yet in my portfolio). I won't buy it if I know Fund B will perform better.
SUSyklooi
post Jun 2 2013, 05:53 AM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(TakoC @ Jun 2 2013, 01:12 AM)

But somehow I agree with you. Even if fund A returns and market is not as attractive as fund B (and fund A exposure is not yet in my portfolio). I won't buy it if I know Fund B will perform better.
hmm.gif then you might end ups with alot of heavily M'sia eq based fund....kenanga, hw AIIman, Am Div trust, osk uob eme opp, just to name a few...have performanced very well for the past few years.
anyway, i too, sometimes had both sides of my brains arguing with each others......ha-ha..1 side said, as long as it makes $$ it is ok, but the other side said...diversification for you may be safer on the "just in case"... rclxub.gif until now they are still not yet in full agreement....85% in m'sia 15% in Asia ex Jpn
SUSPink Spider
post Jun 2 2013, 07:23 AM

Formerly known as Prince_Hamsap
16,872 posts

QUOTE(aoisky @ Jun 2 2013, 12:48 AM)
Well. It may be the best in it's league but it's definitely not in overall. Yes it outperform its benchmark but there are a lot other funds which is outperform GEM fund. in term of IRR this fund among the lower rank in my overall portfolio. We buy UT, one common objective good return isn't it ?
Guess my timing was right, currently my holding yielding IRR of 4.5% (Sales Charge included), decent I'd say.
SUSPink Spider
post Jun 2 2013, 07:25 AM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ Jun 2 2013, 05:53 AM)
hmm.gif then you might end ups with alot of heavily M'sia eq based fund....kenanga, hw AIIman, Am Div trust, osk uob eme opp, just to name a few...have performanced very well for the past few years.
anyway, i too, sometimes had both sides of my brains arguing with each others......ha-ha..1 side said, as long as it makes $$ it is ok, but the other side said...diversification for you may be safer on the "just in case"... rclxub.gif until now they are still not yet in full agreement....85% in m'sia 15% in Asia ex Jpn
...and see what happened to fans of AmAsia Pacific REITs who overweight it in their portfolio for the past 1-2 weeks? icon_idea.gif

This post has been edited by Pink Spider: Jun 2 2013, 07:29 AM
aoisky
post Jun 2 2013, 09:57 AM

1,203 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Jun 2 2013, 07:23 AM)
Guess my timing was right, currently my holding yielding IRR of 4.5% (Sales Charge included), decent I'd say.
May be, since when you holding this fund and how long period already ? my net profit from this fund is 3.8% (included SC 6% direct purchased from Prudential that time). So is this a considerable good, better or best fund to invest ? i would say so-so in future you would never knows.
aoisky
post Jun 2 2013, 10:03 AM

1,203 posts

QUOTE(TakoC @ Jun 2 2013, 01:12 AM)

Well said diversification, UT itself already diversified your investment. Diversification your fund allocation is a good practice but sometimes too diversified may not yield good return.
PhakFuhZai
post Jun 2 2013, 03:00 PM

harimau putih
1,587 posts

I already have an account with iFast Capital
https://www.ifastcapital.com.my/ifast/home/index.svdo

I just wonder what difference between FSM and iFast, since both of them are related somewhat
SUSyklooi
post Jun 2 2013, 03:30 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(PhakFuhZai @ Jun 2 2013, 03:00 PM)

I just wonder what difference between FSM and iFast, since both of them are related somewhat
from the link you provided....
www.ifastcorp.com
iFAST Corporation Private Limited ("iFAST Corp") is the holding company of iFAST-OSK Sdn Bhd which holds 82% of iFAST Capital Sdn Bhd.

www.fundsupermart.com
Fundsupermart.com is the online unit trust distribution arm of iFAST Financial. Fundsupermart.com has an in-house research team to provide independent research in mutual funds and online tools to assist self-directed investors to invest easily online.

TakoC
post Jun 2 2013, 05:02 PM

2,081 posts

QUOTE(aoisky @ Jun 2 2013, 10:03 AM)
Well said diversification, UT itself already diversified your investment. Diversification your fund allocation is a good practice but sometimes too diversified may not yield good return.
I hope I don't piss all the sifu off here by saying this.

But having a too diversified portfolio is not a good thing sometimes. I believe I have a higher portfolio yield than some of the sifu here who have a wide diversification.

But of course, once the market hits me. It'll hit hard. I have got a taste of the 'poison' yet. So diversation is syill the way to go lar. Decision is HOW diversify.
SUSPink Spider
post Jun 2 2013, 05:41 PM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(TakoC @ Jun 2 2013, 05:02 PM)

But having a too diversified portfolio is not a good thing sometimes. I believe I have a higher portfolio yield than some of the sifu here who have a wide diversification.

But of course, once the market hits me. It'll hit hard. I have got a taste of the 'poison' yet. So diversation is syill the way to go lar. Decision is HOW diversify.
No piss off, different ppl, different preference. nod.gif

I want to sleep sound at nite about my UT portfolio, hence I diversify it in such way that it will (hopefully) go up and down in line with global markets. What I keep in my control is the different % I allocate to the different regions. If in the event that my portfolio kaput, I think most likely the world economy is a gone case already, my job also not secure. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by Pink Spider: Jun 2 2013, 05:43 PM
SUSPink Spider
post Jun 2 2013, 05:45 PM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(PhakFuhZai @ Jun 2 2013, 03:00 PM)

Why don't u ask iFast and/or FSM and tell us the difference between opening an account with iFast and opening an account with FSM notworthy.gif
SUSPink Spider
post Jun 2 2013, 05:48 PM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(aoisky @ Jun 2 2013, 09:57 AM)
May be, since when you holding this fund and how long period already ? my net profit from this fund is 3.8% (included SC 6% direct purchased from Prudential that time). So is this a considerable good, better or best fund to invest ? i would say so-so in future you would never knows.
I don't track profit/loss %, to me it is meaningless, doesn't facilitate performance comparison and review, I prefer to monitor and review by IRR instead. smile.gif

This post has been edited by Pink Spider: Jun 2 2013, 05:48 PM
aoisky
post Jun 2 2013, 06:36 PM

1,203 posts

QUOTE(TakoC @ Jun 2 2013, 05:02 PM)

Nope.. who said sifu won't make mistake i believe most of the sifu here having some painful scar before. well its all about how you invest no right or wrong. there are plenty of investment strategy.
aoisky
post Jun 2 2013, 06:41 PM

1,203 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Jun 2 2013, 05:48 PM)
I don't track profit/loss %, to me it is meaningless, doesn't facilitate performance comparison and review, I prefer to monitor and review by IRR instead. smile.gif
Is it ? well for me i am monitoring both ways its not meaningless at all. higher IRR doesn't give you an indication that you yield higher Profit/Loss % same apply to vice versa.
SUSPink Spider
post Jun 2 2013, 06:42 PM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(aoisky @ Jun 2 2013, 06:41 PM)
Is it ? well for me i am monitoring both ways its not meaningless at all. higher IRR doesn't give you an indication that you yield higher Profit/Loss % same apply to vice versa.
Profit/loss % is useless for performance comparison e.g. comparing performance of Fund A vs Fund B cos it does not take into account period invested.
PhakFuhZai
post Jun 2 2013, 08:34 PM

harimau putih
1,587 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Jun 2 2013, 05:45 PM)
Why don't u ask iFast and/or FSM and tell us the difference between opening an account with iFast and opening an account with FSM notworthy.gif
hmm.. will ask my finance advisor friend who helped me to open the account in iFast

but IMO, not much difference gua.. like Aeon vs Tesco only hmm.gif
Kaka23
post Jun 2 2013, 08:55 PM

8,259 posts

QUOTE(PhakFuhZai @ Jun 2 2013, 09:34 PM)
hmm.. will ask my finance advisor friend who helped me to open the account in iFast

but IMO, not much difference gua.. like Aeon vs Tesco only hmm.gif
open in iFast will through an advisor or something like a financial company that provide many financial services. FSM is direct to customer..
PhakFuhZai
post Jun 2 2013, 09:05 PM

harimau putih
1,587 posts

QUOTE(Kaka23 @ Jun 2 2013, 08:55 PM)
open in iFast will through an advisor or something like a financial company that provide many financial services. FSM is direct to customer..
yes you are right, everytime I wish to switch funds/topup I will need to inform my advisor first, and there's a form need to be signed as well, it's not an instant transaction thing
SUSPink Spider
post Jun 2 2013, 09:30 PM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(Kaka23 @ Jun 2 2013, 08:55 PM)
How about Sales Charges? Similar or slightly higher than FSM? Saw at website they mentioned about "lower SCs"... hmm.gif

With Client Investment Specialists like Eugene and Felix, I'd rather go for FSM thumbup.gif

126 Pages « < 15 16 17 18 19 > » Top

0.0332sec    0.73    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 11:56 AM