SUSPink Spider
post Jun 15 2013, 06:07 PM

Formerly known as Prince_Hamsap
16,872 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ Jun 15 2013, 06:03 PM)
1st yr made 100%,
2nd yr lost 50%
annual average ROI ...100-50/2yr=25%?

i know this is sort of "trick' question...in actual fact...like you always posted...use IRR for actual returns calculation.
btw, IRR and XIRR=same?
Average return is calculated by taking TOTAL PROFIT (in $$$, not %) / No. of years x Initial investment

Not average out the %... doh.gif

XIRR is the Excel formula...it is IRR

This post has been edited by Pink Spider: Jun 15 2013, 06:10 PM
jutamind
post Jun 15 2013, 06:30 PM

2,429 posts

that's the reason why i saw i'm hunting for a global fund, but cant seem to find one that can perform consistently on FSM platform.

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Jun 15 2013, 04:17 PM)

Very high IRRs thumbup.gif

Still the same question - MANA US + EUROPE + JAPAN EXPOSURE???
SUSPink Spider
post Jun 15 2013, 06:39 PM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(jutamind @ Jun 15 2013, 06:30 PM)
that's the reason why i saw i'm hunting for a global fund, but cant seem to find one that can perform consistently on FSM platform.
Pacific Global Stars used to be the star, now the star faded laugh.gif
OSK-UOB Global Equity Yield lagged previously, now rose when US and Europe performed strongly
Same thing for Eastspring Investments Global Leaders

Maybe u can consider Aberdeen Islamic World Equity, but being a Shariah-compliant fund, u will miss out on banks, insurers, breweries and tobacco stocks doh.gif

Just go for the LEAST WORSE lor tongue.gif
jutamind
post Jun 15 2013, 06:50 PM

2,429 posts

am keen on Aberdeen Islamic World Equity by hoping it will run like its sisters funds...but am quite disappointed on its performance since launch....slow like snail when everyone else shot up
aoisky
post Jun 15 2013, 11:06 PM

1,203 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Jun 15 2013, 06:39 PM)
Pacific Global Stars used to be the star, now the star fadedlaugh.gif
OSK-UOB Global Equity Yield lagged previously, now rose when US and Europe performed strongly
Same thing for Eastspring Investments Global Leaders

Maybe u can consider Aberdeen Islamic World Equity, but being a Shariah-compliant fund, u will miss out on banks, insurers, breweries and tobacco stocks doh.gif

Just go for the LEAST WORSE lor tongue.gif
How about now ?

This post has been edited by aoisky: Jun 15 2013, 11:07 PM
JinXXX
post Jun 16 2013, 12:07 AM

2,516 posts

want cross check with sifu's here ah

most of my funds is focus into equity and into asian market

planning to get this two

HWANG SELECT INCOME FUND
cause its fixed income, which im interested in as my current portfolio is skwed towards equity and its also covers globally

ALLIANCE GLOBAL EQUITIES FUND
for have some portions of my equity cover the global region
im guessing this is back to back for "the Fullerton Global Equities Fund" right ? , any comments on global funds performance when fx rate comes into play ?

edit: yeah the AGEF is tagging along with the FullertonGEF smile.gif

This post has been edited by JinXXX: Jun 16 2013, 12:08 AM
millenius
post Jun 16 2013, 12:30 AM

160 posts

hello sifu2 here. I just want to ask, how does one decide when to topup their funds ? All I am seeing is the ever increasing NAV. What are the criteria if I want to topup my funds ?
SUSDavid83
post Jun 16 2013, 12:39 AM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(millenius @ Jun 16 2013, 12:30 AM)
hello sifu2 here. I just want to ask, how does one decide when to topup their funds ? All I am seeing is the ever increasing NAV. What are the criteria if I want to topup my funds ?
The original DCA concept doesn't time the market. That's why RSI monthly at a defined date.

But another variation appears to employ VCA.

There's no definite answer to answer your question.
SUSPink Spider
post Jun 16 2013, 12:57 AM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(JinXXX @ Jun 16 2013, 12:07 AM)
want cross check with sifu's here ah

most of my funds is focus into equity and into asian market

planning to get this two

HWANG SELECT INCOME FUND 
cause its fixed income, which im interested in as my current portfolio is skwed towards equity and its also covers globally

for have some portions of my equity cover the global region
im guessing this is back to back for "the  Fullerton Global Equities Fund" right ? , any comments on global funds performance when fx rate comes into play ?

edit: yeah the AGEF is tagging along with the FullertonGEF smile.gif
Hwang SIF has up to 30% exposure to dividend-yielding equities FYI
SUSPink Spider
post Jun 16 2013, 01:00 AM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(aoisky @ Jun 15 2013, 11:06 PM)
How about now ?
I (remain) invested in Pacific GSF bcos I believe in its management.

For now, it still lagged behind other global funds like OSK-UOB GEY and EI Global Leaders due to 1 reason, those funds are overweight US+Europe whereas Pacific sees value in Asia Ex-Japan hence its overweight HK+China.
millenius
post Jun 16 2013, 01:02 AM

160 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Jun 16 2013, 12:39 AM)
The original DCA concept doesn't time the market. That's why RSI monthly at a defined date.

But another variation appears to employ VCA.

There's no definite answer to answer your question.
defined date ? regardless of NAV, even if its ever increasing ?
SUSPink Spider
post Jun 16 2013, 01:03 AM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(millenius @ Jun 16 2013, 01:02 AM)
defined date ? regardless of NAV, even if its ever increasing ?
Traditional DCA technique has yourself defining a date, and u top up on that date every month.

With FSM, it's 15th of every month.
millenius
post Jun 16 2013, 01:25 AM

160 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Jun 16 2013, 01:03 AM)
Traditional DCA technique has yourself defining a date, and u top up on that date every month.

With FSM, it's 15th of every month.
oo I got it now. ty ty.
SUSyklooi
post Jun 16 2013, 01:32 AM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(millenius @ Jun 16 2013, 12:30 AM)
"how does one decide when to topup their funds ?"...it depends on your hindsight on the fund. is it over value now? does the fund allocation in your portfolio allows? How is the valuation of the fund coverage area? etc and finally it also depends on you yourself.
"All I am seeing is the ever increasing NAV. What are the criteria if I want to topup my funds ?"....
i think this headings look almost similar to what you asked....
If a stock I own keeps climbing, should I buy more shares? Check this out if you like...
http://investdaily.custhelp.com/app/answer...-more-shares%3F
happy investing
TakoC
post Jun 16 2013, 09:37 AM

2,081 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Jun 15 2013, 04:17 PM)
AGEF
- restricted to the 15 markets listed under its mandate (go see its Fact Sheet and Prospectus yourself)
- ALWAYS 36% US+Europe+Japan + 64% AexJ

Topped up RM125 on Pacific GSF, RM100 on Hwang Quantum and RM100 on Hwang AexJ Opportunity. biggrin.gif
Very high IRRs thumbup.gif

Still the same question - MANA US + EUROPE + JAPAN EXPOSURE???
There is no AGEF in your portfolio right? Where is your US+Europe+Japan exposure?

I will top up PGSF too. Dropped more than 5% already doh.gif
JinXXX
post Jun 16 2013, 09:49 AM

2,516 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Jun 16 2013, 12:57 AM)
Hwang SIF has up to 30% exposure to dividend-yielding equities FYI
thanks.. 30% for the amount im investing if drop also loose like few bucks only hahahha smile.gif

will hunt for better fixed income once the bond yield/interest rate thing has settle down again...

need to read up on that too... wonder whats up with that
SUSPink Spider
post Jun 16 2013, 09:53 AM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(TakoC @ Jun 16 2013, 09:37 AM)
There is no AGEF in your portfolio right? Where is your US+Europe+Japan exposure?

I will top up PGSF too. Dropped more than 5% already  doh.gif
OSK-UOB GEYF lo...80%++ invested in US +Europe
JinXXX
post Jun 16 2013, 10:03 AM

2,516 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Jun 16 2013, 09:53 AM)
OSK-UOB GEYF lo...80%++ invested in US +Europe
OSK-UOB GEYF

which is a "better" global fund to invest in ?
SUSPink Spider
post Jun 16 2013, 11:15 AM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(JinXXX @ Jun 16 2013, 10:03 AM)
OSK-UOB GEYF

which is a "better" global fund to invest in ?
Read their prospectus and come back tell me what are their different investing style smile.gif
JinXXX
post Jun 16 2013, 11:28 AM

2,516 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Jun 16 2013, 11:15 AM)
Read their prospectus and come back tell me what are their different investing style smile.gif
ALLIANCE GLOBAL EQUITIES FUND aka Fullerton Global Equities Fund

2/3 asia.. 1/3 in G5 market

from last report japan and us heavy

OSK-UOB GEYF

currently they are heavy towards US market at 48% holdings with UK @ 10% , Germany @ 5.5

hmmmmmmm

both fill/fit into two different "niche" segment...

any reason to go for 1.. or go for both ??

126 Pages « < 58 59 60 61 62 > » Top

0.0276sec    0.61    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 09:46 AM