Samsung Galaxy Note II LYN's Official Thread V23, 2nd Gen of the original "Phablet" XXDMC3

h11g
post May 31 2013, 03:23 PM

2,114 posts

QUOTE(Baronic @ May 31 2013, 02:07 PM)
Lol my note 2 damaged good d. Now just going for aesthetics.

Am thinking of trying butterfly or xperia z. I hear they got an update that gives tbe screen a much needed boost
why dont you go for lg optimus g pro? since ur an avid gamer the 5.5" screen size will come in handy.
h11g
post May 31 2013, 03:36 PM

2,114 posts

QUOTE(joytest @ May 31 2013, 02:29 PM)
5.5" FHD ...  tongue.gif

Damn all these FHD screens make me impatient for the Note 3....
yeah actually this model from lg makes me itching to ditch my note 2 whilst waiting for note 3's annoucement. brows.gif
h11g
post May 31 2013, 04:06 PM

2,114 posts

QUOTE(Baronic @ May 31 2013, 02:49 PM)
Note 3 6 inch plus right? I already got tablet la....
what tablet u using?
h11g
post Jun 2 2013, 01:25 AM

2,114 posts

QUOTE(muctabucta @ Jun 1 2013, 11:40 PM)
at long last..finally got my UAG Scout casings from Noobi3..am well satisfied with it tho personally found it a hassle trying to retract the S-pen..still..i can now drop my note2 like it's hot..not being bordered acting all eksyen and such..lol..
any shots of the case?
h11g
post Jun 9 2013, 09:04 PM

2,114 posts

QUOTE(antt00 @ Jun 9 2013, 07:52 PM)
alexng2208 Sentinel 4.7 is out.
sentinel rom that good ah? i must go and try now.
h11g
post Jun 9 2013, 09:27 PM

2,114 posts

QUOTE(joytest @ Jun 9 2013, 08:16 PM)
I notice you have a HTC One. How is your own preference between it and the Note 2?
I have , and my preference? Honestly? Hands down the Note 2 man. Haha, i was bored with the htc one after like 3 days and immediately switch back to using my note 2!!!

reason being, same usage, htc one will get warmer than note 2, battery doesn't last that long compared to note 2, screen wise the htc one has a very good lcd screen with full hd, but i still prefer the size on note 2 screen, and because of the resolution on htc one being higher, the words do appear smaller and find it a little harder to read compared to the note 2.

but i do love the boomsound speakers and i hope every smart phone designed from now onwards should have front facing speakers, why put the speakers at the back right? tongue.gif

so in the end i passed the htc one to my wife, and using my note 2 now, and probably will get note 3 once it's out this year. heard some rumours about htc coming out with a phablet with 5.9" screen that looks exactly like a htc one and that would be a interesting phone. we shall see...
h11g
post Jun 9 2013, 11:13 PM

2,114 posts

what kernel does the sifu here recommend we use for sentinel rom?
h11g
post Jun 11 2013, 04:51 PM

2,114 posts

QUOTE(alexng2208 @ Jun 11 2013, 09:51 AM)
yup

hence reflashing

god sentinel is such an awesome ROM... dev just put in the toggle to on/off crt off animation... among the tweaks..

amazing speeds and battery life (for a non-optimized version of 4.2.2 vs 4.1.2)

anyways, on a side note China is on leave for Dragon Boat Festival. Delays in taobao are to be expected
bro how many hours of sot u get with sentinel? i got 86% deep sleep but my sot cant break past 4.30 hours. omega gives me higher sot.
h11g
post Jun 11 2013, 05:03 PM

2,114 posts

QUOTE(alexng2208 @ Jun 11 2013, 03:53 PM)
so much? i getting about the same as you

no need so much battery life IMO, i got powerbank, charger in car, charger at home... chargers, chargers everywhere

of course la.. don't compare apples with oranges LOL
but i do like the higher % of deep sleep im getting with the sentinel rom, and the slimness of it. yah the 4.30 hours depending on whether i set the brightness to lowest, and turn off auto brightness, and auto sync also off.

have you tried crossbreeder mod with this rom?
h11g
post Jun 11 2013, 05:33 PM

2,114 posts

QUOTE(alexng2208 @ Jun 11 2013, 04:15 PM)
yup since day one and also each time i flash (4.5 until 4.7)

nothing noticeable but i don't bother... better yay than nay
QUOTE(antt00 @ Jun 11 2013, 04:23 PM)
No i have not tried it with sentinel.  I have only tried with samsung rom and never noticed any difference hence i just ignore it from then on. tongue.gif
alright cool, ill test crossbreeder too. tongue.gif
h11g
post Jun 11 2013, 05:39 PM

2,114 posts

QUOTE(joytest @ Jun 11 2013, 04:37 PM)
Another day, another Note 3 leaked pic.

Should I start a topic for all these Note 3 rumors .......
looks very squarish, but couldnt really care about the looks, please come with a behemoth battery~! and fast charging too. tongue.gif
h11g
post Jun 11 2013, 05:57 PM

2,114 posts

QUOTE(tehoice @ Jun 11 2013, 04:54 PM)
Nola, sorry boss, I’m thinking to solve it within this phone, nope my phone is not LTE version, sorry to disappoint you. Not changing phone so fast again la, been only using this phone for 6 months nia.
First of all, I never notice this is now V23 already, I think I last visited note 2 thread was v12 or something haha….

Anyway, I didn’t use any battery saving app, nor the power saving mode. No special setting in my profile la.

My rooted device is on stock ROM and perseus kernel alpha29 which was implanted onto my phone since 18 Dec last year.

And nope, I didn’t use any tasker nor 3rd party clock app, I’m thinking if I should try 3rd party alarm clock?

At night, I will turn off wifi and data and with full charge before bed. So only conventional calls/sms can look for me.

Lately, my battery life also kinda sucks, it depletes over 4-5% with nothing running at all during my 7 hours of sleeps. Should I do a battery calibration?
4-5% of battery depletion within 7 hours is pretty normal i would say. try checking your wakelock and see whether any particular wakelock is causing your battery drain.
h11g
post Jun 11 2013, 07:06 PM

2,114 posts

wow u guys only get 1-2% drain overnight? what settings are you guys on? sync off? on 3g?
h11g
post Jun 11 2013, 09:48 PM

2,114 posts

QUOTE(muctabucta @ Jun 11 2013, 06:12 PM)
if you use Clever connectivity app..try setting the sleep mode..you should be able to get less than 0.5% during your sleep time..with 3g/wifi and what not on..it manage it for you
perhaps they have a profile for tasker as well, because im using tasker, i dont wanna be using so many different apps that does the same thing.
h11g
post Jun 11 2013, 10:26 PM

2,114 posts

QUOTE(AmmoShaf @ Jun 11 2013, 09:24 PM)
done with the form in post 4. Waiting for my UAG Scout...  brows.gif

i think i will go easy on this phone, using stock for a month or 2...hopefully i can tahan the feeling of want to flash custom rom. thanks bro..
trust me, the more you read, the more you wanna flash, so if you want to enjoy your phone stock for 2 months i suggest you stay away from this thread tongue.gif
h11g
post Jun 13 2013, 06:53 PM

2,114 posts

any kernel besides perseus that have the option using stweak to tweak the usb charging current? I'm using Sentinel rom so perseus is out of touch for me.
h11g
post Jun 13 2013, 07:42 PM

2,114 posts

QUOTE(joytest @ Jun 13 2013, 05:54 PM)
Devil?
Just tried devil, no support for stweak =(

although my phone seems more responsive now
h11g
post Jun 13 2013, 11:39 PM

2,114 posts

QUOTE(Noobi3 @ Jun 13 2013, 07:16 PM)
devil dont use stweak la ....... They got their own tweak , u can find it in the thread u dl the kernel
QUOTE(joytest @ Jun 13 2013, 07:20 PM)
Trickster mod
got it working guys

h11g
post Jun 14 2013, 10:48 AM

2,114 posts

QUOTE(EdwinCodec @ Jun 14 2013, 09:40 AM)
Running omega v16 and Persues kernel currently. Just flashed last night. So far so good. Battery life looks amazing.  flex.gif
I'm running this combo atm and if you set sync to on every two hours, you should get at least five hours of sot easily.
h11g
post Jun 14 2013, 01:42 PM

2,114 posts

QUOTE(joytest @ Jun 14 2013, 11:36 AM)

Looking at a few of the submissions made me think:

Some submitted AOSP ROMs but selected "Stock Rooted" for kernel. I don't think that is possible unless referring to the default kernel that comes with the AOSP ROM.

antt00 and others, can shed light on this? I thought "Stock Rooted" will only mean TW kernels and not AOSP/CM.

Do Sentinel, Avatar come with their own default kernels?

I wouldn't want "Stock Rooted" to be ambiguous.
sentinel rom does come with stock but optimized kernel by the cook.

0.0595sec    0.86    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 10:24 PM