Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
RSS feedBump TopicClosed TopicStart new topicStart Poll

Outline · [ Standard ] · Linear+

> To replace Astro (SkyBox or OpenBox) good?

lucklyghost
post May 26 2013, 01:17 AM


Casual
***
Group: Junior Member
Posts: 398

Joined: Jan 2003
From: K.l Cheras


Can anyone share about experience on this 2 brand ? which one good ?

im stay in KL , planning to get 1 to replace astro .

I saw Skybox got a latest version can support HD, dont true or not .

im trying to do research but is very less people talk about this.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kripton888
post May 26 2013, 01:28 AM


Getting Started
**
Group: Junior Member
Posts: 188

Joined: Jan 2011
im interested to know also, any1 here can give insight will be helpful
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
pervindran
post May 26 2013, 01:37 AM


New Member
*
Group: Junior Member
Posts: 20

Joined: Oct 2009
From: Kuala Lumpur


QUOTE(lucklyghost @ May 26 2013, 01:17 AM)
Can anyone share about experience on this 2 brand ? which one good ?

im stay in KL , planning to get 1 to replace astro .

I saw Skybox got a latest version can support HD, dont true or not .

im trying to do research but is very less people talk about this.
*
I'm using openbox x5, since April. Happy with it as we can watch all Astro channel except HD channels. Astro first n best will be played randomly. Astro box office will be on everyday. Make sure you have a STABLE internet connection to enjoy the channels.

You can watch YouTube but will have problems for searching the video as u will be using the remote to key in words.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
matrix88
post May 26 2013, 02:16 AM


Getting Started
**
Group: Junior Member
Posts: 274

Joined: Nov 2007
QUOTE(pervindran @ May 26 2013, 01:37 AM)
I'm using openbox x5, since April. Happy with it as we can watch all Astro channel except HD channels. Astro first n best will be played randomly. Astro box office will be on everyday. Make sure you have a STABLE internet connection to enjoy the channels.

You can watch YouTube but will have problems for searching the video as u will be using the remote to key in words.
*
how much are you paying and how much you invested?
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kevinohx
post May 26 2013, 08:16 AM


New Member
*
Group: Junior Member
Posts: 26

Joined: Sep 2008
QUOTE(matrix88 @ May 26 2013, 02:16 AM)
how much are you paying and how much you invested?
*
Skybox F5 latest model best choice-user friendly-upgradedable firmware by usb.HD channel support depends on sat your dish points to.FTA HD sat Nss6 95.0E quite a number of HD channels & SD news channels.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
lucklyghost
post May 26 2013, 10:18 AM


Casual
***
Group: Junior Member
Posts: 398

Joined: Jan 2003
From: K.l Cheras


mean the New F5 can support HD channel ?

how much ? need to pay monthly also ?

why still need internet connection ?
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
chokia
post May 26 2013, 10:21 AM


Chartered Member
*******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 2,162

Joined: Oct 2010

Lol sure have to pay, the internet connection is for card sharing purpose. Im surprised this one last very long compare to durian HD.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
pervindran
post May 26 2013, 11:05 AM


New Member
*
Group: Junior Member
Posts: 20

Joined: Oct 2009
From: Kuala Lumpur


QUOTE(matrix88 @ May 26 2013, 02:16 AM)
how much are you paying and how much you invested?
*
I bought it for rm 600 with lifetime C-line. Means no need to pay yearly.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
LNB1
post May 29 2013, 02:25 AM


New Member
*
Group: Junior Member
Posts: 49

Joined: Feb 2010
From: 127.0.0.1

once astro change all old smartcard to decoder locked beyond smartcard, all this boxes cannot be used anymore..this should happen anytime from now till August 2013..
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
chokia
post May 29 2013, 09:54 AM


Chartered Member
*******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 2,162

Joined: Oct 2010

QUOTE(LNB1 @ May 29 2013, 02:25 AM)
once astro change all old smartcard to decoder locked beyond smartcard, all this boxes cannot be used anymore..this should happen anytime from now till August 2013..
*
DurianHD catastrophe reoccurring. Astro is on the way for destruction, i dont think they just sit down and watch.

This year they bring back the money making program like Akademi Fantasia to gain more customers.


User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
eddyann
post May 30 2013, 02:13 PM


Gold Miner
******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 1,622

Joined: Jan 2003
From: ||| Royal Creek |||



QUOTE(chokia @ May 29 2013, 09:54 AM)
DurianHD catastrophe reoccurring. Astro is on the way for destruction, i dont think they just sit down and watch.

This year they bring back the money making program like Akademi Fantasia  to gain more customers.
*
not to worry, we can use other sat provider like those Truvision. If you still need the local content just get extra decoder like njoi
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
darthbii
post Jun 2 2013, 04:09 PM


On my way
****
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 504

Joined: Jan 2012
From: nil



uhmm... noob question. this skybox thing, does it always have to connect to internet to watch the channels? i heard that it only uses a fair bit at first, then doesnt need anymore. confused.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kevinohx
post Jun 4 2013, 08:38 AM


New Member
*
Group: Junior Member
Posts: 26

Joined: Sep 2008
QUOTE(darthbii @ Jun 2 2013, 04:09 PM)
uhmm... noob question. this skybox thing, does it always have to connect to internet to watch the channels? i heard that it only uses a fair bit at first, then doesnt need anymore. confused.
*
yes it uses d internet connection 4 acess ur seeline,little bit of data is used.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
aeiou228
post Jun 4 2013, 10:53 AM


Look at all my stars!!
*******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 2,818

Joined: Feb 2006
Of late, many providers started offering life time "ceeline" with higher one time fee. I have the feeling that this "kad share-ring" service is going to end very soon.
Unless they can decode and share the "decoder locked" Beyond smart card or avoiding Xtro changing the old decoder and smart card.




User is online!Profile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
b00n
post Jun 4 2013, 11:41 AM


delusional
Group Icon
Group: Staff
Posts: 9,013

Joined: Jun 2007
From: Wouldn't be around much, pls PM other mods.



It is illegal since one is pirating the contents and the broadcast right awarded to Astro or other broadcasting firm whom has the broadcasting right of the shows.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
b00n
post Jun 4 2013, 11:41 AM


delusional
Group Icon
Group: Staff
Posts: 9,013

Joined: Jun 2007
From: Wouldn't be around much, pls PM other mods.



And as we all know, LYN does not advocate piracy; hence topic closed.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Bump TopicClosed TopicTopic OptionsStart new topic
 

Switch to:
| Lo-Fi Version
0.0699sec    1.85    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th April 2014 - 06:51 PM