Working in Singapore V14

tengah
post Oct 8 2013, 05:55 AM

Way my on
851 posts

QUOTE(kiyomizu @ Oct 7 2013, 09:40 PM)
We've rented the whole unit and subletting out one room.
QUOTE(deodorant @ Oct 7 2013, 09:48 PM)
Hmmm if I'm not mistaken you're not allowed to sublet rooms unless you're the owner. Anyways as long as hdb dunno then it's fine, just make sure your neighbours don't harbour any grudge towards you lol.
Not only you treat the neighbours nice, you also need to treat the tenant nice because he can cause as much trouble as the neighbours. laugh.gif

tengah
post Oct 8 2013, 11:21 AM

Way my on
851 posts

QUOTE(kiyomizu @ Oct 8 2013, 10:58 AM)
That's the troublesome part of living in Sg *sigh*
Haha what to do, just have to think positively smile.gif
It is a rat race in Singapore but the money is good, better than Malaysia. But the rat race can cause people living in Singapore snap easily eg. the recent fake commando snapping at the library in Singapore.
tengah
post Oct 22 2013, 01:31 PM

Way my on
851 posts

QUOTE(hitsugaya2010 @ Oct 22 2013, 01:19 PM)
In  my understanding, most Singapore companies do not hire fresh grads from other countries that often. Normally they would prefer experienced person.

They seem reluctant because they have a certain quota to hire foreigners. That's why they keep those quota for experienced person.

Last time, those are the options I used to apply. But finally I got this job thru recommendation.

And yea, another option, try going into their website as well.

Good luck!
In addition to that, a foreign fresh grad in Singapore is competing with graduates of six public universities in Singapore.

If that is not enough, the foreign fresh grad is competing with graduates of the 5 polytechnics in Singapore.

The Singapore employer would hire a fresh grad with a Diploma say in IT, from one of the 5 polytechnics than a foreign fresh grad from Malaysia with a BSc in Computer Science.

tengah
post Oct 23 2013, 01:00 AM

Way my on
851 posts

QUOTE(Fiona Chin @ Oct 22 2013, 05:56 PM)
6 public uni already? I thought 3 only, with another one just start operating. For fresh graduate, also take into the account of the quality of the degree. The 2 local unis here are almost top of the world. So unless you are US/UK Ivy League, your degree already lose out on top of other disadvantages like quota and local network.
Yes, Six public universities - National University of Singapore, Nanyang Technological University, Singapore Management University, Singapore University of Technology & Design, Singapore Institute of Technology and SIM University.

0.0529sec    0.50    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 10:09 PM