Working in Singapore V14

Tigerr
post Sep 12 2013, 10:47 PM

3,033 posts

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Sep 12 2013, 07:35 AM)
it does, in terms of financing, the 2nd most important element of trading... those are trading companies, not upstream players, should not be affected so much... noble 'tried' to go upstream and put on assets, got burned bad... olam played with creative financing and bet on long term investments, kena muddy waters...  doh.gif

landlord is in the wheat industry... i am in the rice+salmon @ sushi industry  laugh.gif

chemoil ar? r u guys a jobber only? or have some form of processing?
How u know noble get burnt badly? They are pretty strong in trading comodities, i got invited to attend their annual gathering in HK twice and see they still fare pretty good.
Tigerr
post Sep 14 2013, 01:19 AM

3,033 posts

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Sep 12 2013, 11:30 PM)
dont give up  rclxms.gif  in the mean time can try being a full time dota player  brows.gif  dont be like me, an amateur only..
take it as if you're paying someone to be your job scout.. u can ask them whether those course enables you to join their job placement services, those people are very well connected
new in-thing singapore bro... n-parks are hiring like crazy... for landscaping
http://sbr.com.sg/search/google?cx=0074745..._searchbox_form

read the first page you already know.. first coal, then agri.. all fail

they are good traders, they should emphasis on their core competency, instead they go become planter... lol  doh.gif

http://sg.finance.yahoo.com/echarts?s=N21....urce=undefined;
I not sure about their agri...but for coal business...they have made tons of money from it. The coal market has declined n not only Noble has trouble, but lots of big coal companies is having a bad time now. I dealt with their Indonesia subsi (PT Pinang) quite often n that's what I know.

Tigerr
post Sep 14 2013, 01:31 AM

3,033 posts

QUOTE(Quasi-Suave @ Sep 13 2013, 11:07 AM)

Yes I know what to do. Thanks for the heads up anyways.  smile.gif

Ah, I follow SG & Thai business news since my current portfolio covers Sg and Southern Thailand. Look, I'm not saying I'm better than my Sg counterparts. All I'm saying is that I have readily transferable skills.

Robert, I have gone thru 1 down-cycle and definitely not a 1st year analyst. But I appreciate your POV nonetheless.  smile.gif

Like I said, it was a rant. Give an old man a break will ya? 

Yeah, read that. Thanks!

Oh wow, a back-handed attack cum "look at me I'm soooo goood that people come offer me work" from a stranger. Did I do anything to offend you Mr Tigerr? All I can say is, good for you for getting a job in Sg.

Likewise, I have also decided (long ago) not to work with hunters/recruiters who have no clear understanding of the roles they represent and no respect for the candidates. There are many hunters and recruiters and just as many candidates. It's a free market. The thing is, I still have a job if the recruiter suck at selling me the role. But I wonder, if the recruiter can keep his if he consistently mis-markets the role and runs down his candidates? Bearing in mind that most roles have multiple recruiters chasing after it on behalf of the client.

Btw, I'm very sure that did I mention that my posting was a rant. Go look up the definition of "rant". (google helps)

I've dined with local CEOs not Sg ones. And bang tables with the same CEOs when they default. Hence what RobertChoo mentioned earlier hit home and I acknowledge him for that.

A banker's role is to provide financing, that's why CEOs love us. Not because we are any good at managing their business. They just love the capital we lend them. I have no illusions about that. Also, none I think, can offer a banker a job in Sg where they don't operate in. You sir, clearly have no idea what you are talking about and you want to lecture me about reality? Really?

Well, to be frank. I am also in financing line. We did what you mentioned. We provided funds to the listed companies in hundreds of millions n not only for Malaysian companies. But I hardly see any bang tables, kick chairs when our clients defaulted us. Most of the companies are having a habits of defaults n that's why they love us but we also very selective in giving out the funds n lines.

So, just to tell u, there are many financing companies in Singapore n if really knows those CEOs well, it is not hard to find out what other financing companies they are dealing with through their contact, you can easily find some, whether u 'll be proactively go approach those companies yourself or ask the CEOs to introduce. With a good back ground n experience, it is not hard to land a job.

]
Tigerr
post Sep 14 2013, 12:50 PM

3,033 posts

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Sep 14 2013, 01:35 AM)
the money they made from coal was last time lor... recent performance hasnt been good.. you provide trade financing? or project financing? or corp loan?
Mostly on commodities financing....such as raw materials n finished products....n freight etc..
Tigerr
post Sep 14 2013, 11:36 PM

3,033 posts

QUOTE(akioen @ Sep 14 2013, 04:20 PM)
hi, any nice place for jogging in the west? i live in choa chu kang now btw.
Chinese garden??? Run around the garden...
Tigerr
post Sep 16 2013, 10:30 AM

3,033 posts

QUOTE(tailtwist @ Sep 16 2013, 09:19 AM)
Happy Malaysia day to all....!!
How many is really happy??? tongue.gif
Tigerr
post Sep 16 2013, 06:19 PM

3,033 posts

QUOTE(tailtwist @ Sep 16 2013, 04:22 PM)
I will be happy simply because its an additional day to rest...and that is all....
But in Singapore no holiday woh....n all the clients at Malaysia not working, lots of work cannot be done until another day...
Tigerr
post Sep 16 2013, 11:37 PM

3,033 posts

QUOTE(the100308 @ Sep 16 2013, 09:35 PM)
Guys, is it possible to stay in a small room with aircond and wifi for S$600?
No problem. I stayed in jurong n tampines. Both got aircon. Wifi. Even got free soup from land lady's mother every night. But not walking distance to mrt. Need to take bus.
Tigerr
post Sep 17 2013, 07:54 AM

3,033 posts

QUOTE(the100308 @ Sep 16 2013, 11:58 PM)
So how long does it take to travel from your place to tanjong pagar for example?
Don't know. May be 30 minutes to 1 hour???
Tigerr
post Sep 24 2013, 07:31 PM

3,033 posts

QUOTE(Fiona Chin @ Sep 23 2013, 08:44 PM)
Ya good news for the selfish bunch that made it already.
If he know your face you in trouble later.
Those who has made it not necessarily selfish leh. The decision n new implementation is done by Singapore gomen leh. And I don't think what's wrong with it if the gomen is trying to protect her citizens.
Tigerr
post Sep 26 2013, 10:00 PM

3,033 posts

QUOTE(Metatron90 @ Sep 26 2013, 02:11 PM)
it's sales and dont have commission... sad case haiz.. Fresh graduate price become so low..
If u r good in sales n be the top sales, when u resign, your salary 'll be increased few hundred %....
Tigerr
post Sep 28 2013, 10:12 AM

3,033 posts

QUOTE(megadisc @ Sep 28 2013, 09:34 AM)
rental will make the bundle ...
If willing to share room. Then it is ok.
Tigerr
post Sep 28 2013, 01:50 PM

3,033 posts

QUOTE(keelim @ Sep 28 2013, 01:30 PM)
I don't know where you are getting to in guiding young couples to start a family in Singapore. Throwing in an X6 with a S$1.6Mil condo example; is analogous to killing the self-esteem of a guy struggling to decide a S$1.7k flat monthly pay.

85 to 90% of locals stay in Public Housing in Singapore and only the 60th decile and above owns a car. For all the intents and purposes of your post, it just suggests that you will either struggle to start a family young, or you just die trying. Extrapolating your "guide" attest to this.
I guess trying to show her status for bring in the elite group...hehe
Tigerr
post Sep 29 2013, 05:32 PM

3,033 posts

QUOTE(RabbitS @ Sep 29 2013, 02:33 PM)
We dunno her parents is rich, n she's msian.. Maybe she's one of those hardworkers dat did very well in school..  Top 5% of any singkie gomen school gets $8000 salary.. Maybe her hubbby too.. So $16k fresh grad lor.. Possible
Waa, deodorant can breakdown so well.. No wonder he's top analyst in big bank.. Yet still so humble
Yea, work hard! Let's all strive to buy $1.6 mill condo..
Any sober mind formers here also can do the calculation n many don't even need to think further. Even buy a Toyota vids also think 3 - 4 times.

When she taruh a 1.6 mil condo. It is still understandable, but putting in the close to half a mil x6, I don't see any logic there except to show off or troll
Tigerr
post Sep 30 2013, 10:28 PM

3,033 posts

QUOTE(samual8833 @ Sep 30 2013, 10:26 PM)
How many years u r working in sg with EP? I think of apply ad well... my colleagues said nowaday very difficult to get pr.minimum hold EP for 3years working in a same company only have a chance to get pr. Plus, my helpful hr is leaving the company on this mid oct. Change a lazy wonen to become hr. This lady very hate foreigner. I dont think she will help me to prepare a recommendation letter! As this lady is very slow moving. She need nore than 2months to settle all the staffs claims...
My experience is only 1 year working n I applied n got it.
Tigerr
post Sep 30 2013, 11:19 PM

3,033 posts

QUOTE(samual8833 @ Sep 30 2013, 10:46 PM)
Wow... u r so lucky. when do u get ur pr? Few years back or recently? U r engineer or accountant? How do u get it so easily? Can advice me?
Close your eyes n apply lor. Can't worry too much....
Tigerr
post Oct 17 2013, 03:13 PM

3,033 posts

QUOTE(lzhaojie @ Oct 16 2013, 11:49 PM)
Is it hard to get a fresh grad job in SG for Malaysians?
No...smrt is hiring drivers....tongue.gif

Heard that certis Cisco also hiring....

Grab a job first....think later...some say they come here lap table and pump petrol first....
Tigerr
post Oct 20 2013, 12:46 AM

3,033 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Oct 18 2013, 10:52 PM)
Where you stay is not strictly the criteria. It's what happens to your bosses' perception of your performance (rightly or wrongly) due to where you stay.

For example, if you happen to work in an environment where management perception of high performance = more time spent in office, staying in JB might be detrimental to your promotion prospects. However if you are able to be... say, first to arrive and last to leave - despite staying in JB, then the fact that you stay in JB won't matter. But if you arrive no earlier than anybody else and routinely leave on the dot to avoid the jam at CIQ or something... then you have to expect that you won't be as promotable as someone who can stay longer in office.
My ex Australian boss expects us to leave on the dot despite I staying 15 minutes drive away from office. smile.gif

0.0581sec    0.26    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 04:06 AM