Working in Singapore V14

Fiona Chin
post Jun 22 2013, 11:22 PM

1,172 posts

QUOTE(almeizer @ Jun 22 2013, 10:13 PM)
Could it be risky? In case government ask where is the money come from then how to answer? There is no proof.
Your money is clean right? Why no proof? Only the risk of getting stolen in the flight to SG. Hug it with your life and don't fall asleep.

Remember to declare in the customs. I can't remember what is the minimum amount to declare now, around 30k sgd few years back. Fill in some forms and reason to bring in the money. No problem one if you declare and the money is legit. No tax, charges whatsoever.

The 10k notes still available but you have to ask the money changer to keep for you. Dad say very rare in our place, KL should have more. Lost one piece cry until next month.
Fiona Chin
post Jun 25 2013, 12:11 PM

1,172 posts

QUOTE(shiyau @ Jun 24 2013, 11:47 PM)
According to the DM, he still need to have a meeting with dunno who and who before confirmation of my application. The process takes about 2 weeks to a month. (much longer time)

Anyway, I might be worried too much but do you think I still stand a chance of getting the job? As what my frens said, my chance of securing the job is much much higher as I made it to the second interview after all. What say you?
The don't know who will be the DM's boss, the process is long because the boss always busy with his golf and holidays. Hard to make an appointment with him.

Just go with the flow since already done and good luck.
Fiona Chin
post Jun 29 2013, 12:27 AM

1,172 posts

QUOTE(Shawnzz @ Jun 28 2013, 05:10 PM)
achievement? means i have to work in malaysia 1st lo.. because i just fresh graduate.
Look at your gpa first if you are fresh graduate, then your achievements like book prize, awards and medals those kind of thing. I think my CAP help a lot in getting my first job here after graduate, after that people don't even ask where I graduated from... So sad.
Fiona Chin
post Jun 29 2013, 12:31 AM

1,172 posts

QUOTE(Argiope @ Jun 28 2013, 08:45 PM)
I got almost 50% increment in my first job in SG, which means i was way underpaid when i was working in KL. shakehead.gif
Sabah boleh! thumbup.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
Fiona Chin
post Jun 30 2013, 11:43 PM

1,172 posts

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Jun 29 2013, 02:44 PM)
what's CAP?
not sarawak?  hmm.gif
GPA for my school.
Fiona Chin
post Jul 1 2013, 12:23 AM

1,172 posts

QUOTE(shiyau @ Jun 29 2013, 01:07 AM)
since u are fresh grad, they won't be too harsh on you. It's very subjective actually.. Some companies will oni invite those with above 3.0 CGPA for interview.
Some they don't really bother about your CGPA, they treat all fresh graduates the same way.
They won't hire people with 4 pointer but incompetent when doing hands on.. If you are planning to work in SG, well, just apply all the companies that you are interested and wait for them to call you up.
In order to being called up, learn how to make simple and good resume. That's the first medium between you and your potential employer.
QUOTE(Deathscythe@@ @ Jun 30 2013, 01:23 AM)
In university, don't just too focus in the exam for good grade or result. Example, most of my frens graduated with first class, but I just a ordinary second class. I got awards for several exhibitions with gold award and a patent that still pending. Not what lecturer ask u do what then you follow and do. I proposed my project and convince my lecturer. I am not the best but I will do my best. If not, u will be the first class graduate or ordinary graduate. Try to excel yourself in uni life and interviewer will be able to convince by u. Good luck and work hard during uni lifep
For the graduate to be out there, your degree classification is the first thing and maybe the only thing people look at to decide to delete your application or invite you for an interview. If you are aiming for mnc where hundreds of applications coming in, then your degree and gpa are the criteria for first round cut off. These are the things to show how committed you are in what you are doing. Achievements that people may not know is meaningless, no people will spend time googling what competitions are those. Saying gpa is useless is like the fox and sour grape. Listen to your parents and lecturers, study hard for a better opportunity.

For those fresh graduates, no need cry over spilt milk, work harder from now on.
Fiona Chin
post Jul 4 2013, 10:24 AM

1,172 posts

QUOTE(keelim @ Jul 4 2013, 09:43 AM)
http://www.themalaysianinsider.com/busines...rair-singapore/

Ipoh; keeping my fingers crossed. Hope the end of air route monopoly. But not sure if Ipoh's runway can take A320.
Tiger (and also Jetstar) used to fly to Kota Kinabalu from Changi. But they cancel the route few years ago. Monopoly by Airasia or not enough passengers? Now only Silk Air and Airasia flying. The Airasia I take always full, should not be not enough passengers... Silk Air depends on occasion but most of the time still have some seats left.

Got one adv Airasia mocking Tiger, ff tigers were meant to fly, they would be born with wings. The tiger so cute laugh.gif .
Fiona Chin
post Jul 8 2013, 09:47 AM

1,172 posts

QUOTE(light traveler @ Jul 7 2013, 07:25 AM)
please advise,

my bf going to graduate from a local uni. he did Bachelor of IT (hons) business information system.

would u advise him to get experience first in malaysia rather than coming to sg to hunt for a job as a freshgrad?

his friends can get $3k to $4k(with OT) working as support in a bank. well most of them end up working in IT department in a bank.

it seems like the pay is not bad. i fear when he comes here he will be getting low pay job like $1800 basic and dunno whether he can have any career advancement in sg companies.

if he can have a better job prospect in malaysia, then i dun wan him to come to sg for a low pay job because he wants to be with me here...
IT people in my bank about 3k plus for fresh grad I think. 1.8k is long long time ago... Career advancement then depend on his competency already.
Fiona Chin
post Jul 8 2013, 11:09 AM

1,172 posts

QUOTE(Feizai2013 @ Jul 8 2013, 09:56 AM)
I believe the fresh grad is refer to local uni graduate student.

Without PR as a foreign worker unlikely to grab the job or you must be very very lucky person.
That's why our mum ask us study good good lo. Y no listen lol but listen to those people saying GPA is not important bla bla bla. If the us, uk ivy league foreign graduate come here, normal local uni grad also need to step one side...

QUOTE(deodorant @ Jul 8 2013, 10:19 AM)
Just curious, what is your qualifications (dip? degree?) and what job role are you working as? To be honest $1.1k is a very low starting pay ... one of our member tayhaithian got offer as $7k as fresh grad a year ago and now already $8k++++.
Deodorant, 7-8 years ago that time the salary is like that kind of range one. Local graduate around 2k, 8k is the high end investment banking guys liao. 3 bedroom condo in Bukit Timah only 600+ k drool.gif .
Fiona Chin
post Jul 9 2013, 01:10 PM

1,172 posts

QUOTE(shiyau @ Jul 9 2013, 12:03 PM)
7k for a fresh grad is si beh high. many of the senior engineers need to have 3 years exp at least to get that pay i think.
The key word is the bolded part. When I start work with my other half, our pay difference is about 3 times. We came from the same school, different courses and results though, I go into bank and he go into engineering. Fast forward to date, his title I think is principal engineer, and I just a small potato in my company, but the income gap is still significant.

US MNC normally pay huge sum of salary. Can't believe my eyes when I got the offer letter from one of the US investment bank here when I was a fresh grad. Like too good to be true don't know black shop or not lol.
Fiona Chin
post Jul 12 2013, 04:24 PM

1,172 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Jul 9 2013, 01:12 PM)
Er, so ... does banking pay more than engineering or the other way around? When you start work you $3k and he $1k? And now you $10k and he $7k?
Finally Friday rclxm9.gif , so busy making coffee and photocopies for my boss. Banking more, if not Shenton Way and Marina will be crowded with people wearing helmets and yellow water boots instead of coat and ties. We started work he 800 minimum wage, then me 2.0, now he 1.6 and me 3.2 like that lo. Too bad we not considered fresh grad, if not can get the median pay of fresh grad now. Happy weekend all my country men and women, hidup! notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by Fiona Chin: Jul 12 2013, 04:25 PM
Fiona Chin
post Jul 12 2013, 04:59 PM

1,172 posts

QUOTE(toughnut @ Jul 12 2013, 04:23 PM)
guys, remember to pay tax.

damn heartache sad.gif
The more tax you need to pay, the more blessing you have. Anyone also want to pay few millions for tax if possible.
Fiona Chin
post Jul 12 2013, 10:10 PM

1,172 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Jul 12 2013, 05:32 PM)
This is the first intelligent thing anyone has written on this page of the thread.
I posted twice in this page, meaning one of them is dumb cry.gif Can't help with all the influences from trolls around.

Any news for the Kovan murder? Got nagged since landing for working too late and going home alone sometime.
Fiona Chin
post Jul 14 2013, 12:17 PM

1,172 posts

QUOTE(incrediblehippo @ Jul 13 2013, 01:05 PM)
hi all, anyone here works as management executive or have info about those graduate programme? I am at my mid of 20 and possess a degree in building but I want to do something related to management, more accurately, different aspects of property management/marketing. I saw programme from sentosa/mapletree/capitaland which is more to graduates. I have 3 years working experience and earning $3k+ but current career is not what I enthusiast.
two things I am worried about are my age and salary. I am quite old compared to those who just graduated, and I have to support my family's loan. If working as management executive gives only $2k then that would be huge problem to me. And definitely I can't compete with young graduates. But at the same time, I don't want to give up what I really like to do and want to do it when I still can change career.
So, does anyone have info like salary range, do they accept 25 yr old, and possible they give higher salary to experienced graduates?

3-4k for a small scale property management company.
Fiona Chin
post Jul 16 2013, 10:55 AM

1,172 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Jul 15 2013, 09:32 AM)
credit card points are crappy anyway, lol. plus now manhattan card reduce their cashback from 5% to 3% (but you still need big 3k+ spending in that month to qualify). e$saver 1.2% ... how?

http://www.standardchartered.com.sg/person...dex.html#faqb01

e$aver Deposit Interest Rate (With effect from 1 Jan 2012)
Deposit Balance Interest Rate
Less than S$50,000 0.10 % p.a.
S$50,000 to S$199,999 0.15 % p.a.
S$200,000 & above 0.25 % p.a.
Ah I see what you did there.

Why no people keep their money in the world's local bank eh? So sad, job at stake.
Fiona Chin
post Jul 17 2013, 01:43 AM

1,172 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Jul 16 2013, 11:07 AM)
Placement Amount Interest Rate(p.a.)
12 Mths
S$5,000 to S$49,999 0.25%

HSBC FD 0.25% only eh. Got better rate/product to Sharing is Caring?
If talking about bank deposit in SG then I using Maybank time deposit. They used to be the best rate last time, never do any research now, mainly because my saving is too small for the 1% extra interest difference to be significant. Saving in the time deposit for liquidity only (with some strategy).

Last time when I have one lump sum, I saved in oz time deposit, used to be like 6-7%. Also moved most of my saving there when its 1 sgd to 0.9 aud. Earned 30% due to the exchange rate when it jump to 1.2 in a short while, then move back to pay my loan. Now left with peanuts I just leave it there in oz, around 3-4% now and aud is dropping... The extra cash I have now I dump it all to the house loan. A bit unhappy got restrictions to buy stocks, easy money...

Another good choice as they always say, top up your cpf. rolleyes.gif
Fiona Chin
post Jul 18 2013, 02:28 PM

1,172 posts

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Jul 17 2013, 08:12 AM)
i did hsbc for 9 months, 3 renewals.. they gave 0.9-1% each time.. problem is it is a 3 month fd

scb on the other hand, didnt have to locki... it is a savings topup and if you pull out earlier you still get something based on daily avg bal..
Poor people don't have a lot of cash, really. 1% interest rate of 100 only 1 dollar per year. Most of my cash went into early pay off of my house loan here, better off. Left few months of expenditure in saving accounts for rainy days which I put in OCBC for convenience of withdrawing money and internet banking.

If you want liquidity from fix d, break the sum into smaller parts, then choose different maturity periods so that they mature at different time. If you got 50k, then 10k 24 months, 10k 18 months, 10k 12 months, 10k 6 months, 10k 3 months, so every quarter or what you got money to do whatever you want. It take some time and patient for this to work. Op for the monthly maturity one if you really have problem managing the cash flow. I have been doing this for few years for the down payment for the second house I and my fiance planning to buy. Recently we lump together all the money and make 3 3-month maturity so each month we got cash at hand for the down payment and rubbish fees. Fix d interest rate + flexibility thumbup.gif .

For emergency case, better buy insurance than saving it on your own.
Fiona Chin
post Jul 29 2013, 04:41 PM

1,172 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Jul 27 2013, 10:24 AM)
Well, tayhaithian got 7k offer as fresh grad, so to some people it is apparently very easy. I believe toughnut seantang and Fiona Chin are other high earners pulling in above 10k (or close to that) so you could ask them for their experiences too.
What 10k eh later IRAS come after me, have to cook most of my meals to save money on food, stay back late at office just to claim money for dinner. cry.gif
Fiona Chin
post Jul 29 2013, 04:56 PM

1,172 posts

QUOTE(Dark NT @ Jul 29 2013, 03:57 PM)
I am very happy to receive the HDB approval letter for my purchase of a resale unit. Finally I can have my own place! the expected handover date is in mid September smile.gif

And tomorrow I will be registering P1 for my son under Phase 2C.

Will be more than happy to share the process (both HDB resale and P1 registration) when they are complete smile.gif
Your son is a PR sponsored by you? You ok with the NS later?
Fiona Chin
post Jul 30 2013, 12:11 AM

1,172 posts

QUOTE(r1v3r @ Jul 29 2013, 05:50 PM)
I think all are 2nd generation PR. How can a P1 Boy apply his own PR?

NS experience is not a bad thing as it help to build the kid. If you have money then send your boys to internation school as foreinger also a good experience.
The children's parents can chose to let them be a foreigner or a PR. Both can go to public schools, but the foreigner child has less priority in choosing the school and the fees are (a lot) more expensive than a PR. Some pro and cons for both the children and the parents.

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0493sec    0.58    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 04:34 AM