FAQ Microsoft WGA Notifications, Windows Genuine Advantage Notifications

epsilon99
post Jun 1 2006, 12:52 AM

?????
1,711 posts

I just received a 2nd WGAN, KB905474.

After I have installed it, but no yet reboot the pc, I went to MS and go into Windows Update page. It gave me error and asked me to restart the pc.

After restarting the pc, then can access the Windows Update page.

DarkWonder
post Jun 2 2006, 12:27 PM

148 posts

QUOTE(HMMaster @ Apr 25 2006, 07:37 PM)
yes, the one that come with Acer/Dell is OEM.

you can still download updates.

but MS will not help you if you have problems with your ms windows.
no matter u are using OEM, OLP (open license program) or retail pack. microsoft do give you support.
hihihehe
post Jun 3 2006, 09:08 PM

13,451 posts

my pc just reformat by acer.n i found tht my serial got a oem word at middle.but how come i cant validate myproduct key?i also got my product key sticker at my pc.but cant validate it.how come?
shockw@ve
post Jun 3 2006, 11:46 PM

d[-_-]b
1,889 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Jun 3 2006, 11:08 PM)
my pc just reformat by acer.n i found tht my serial got a oem word at middle.but how come i cant validate myproduct key?i also got my product key sticker at my pc.but cant validate it.how come?
Post #2 and #3 in this thread has already given you an answer. Do you need to post the same thing here again?

-thread cleaned-

This post has been edited by shockw@ve: Jun 3 2006, 11:47 PM
karhoe
post Jun 4 2006, 01:11 AM

6,238 posts

QUOTE(mengsuan @ Apr 25 2006, 04:38 PM)
Oh damn! I must try using my OEM XP profesional licence. I don't know why windows doesn't allow me to use the key printed on the sticker. Maybe I have to use OEM CD to install OEM windows. I will ask my laptop retailer if I still cannot use my legit key.  blink.gif
same problem, got an acer laptop with COA below and the key showed there, i accidentaly opened a software to check my XP key and it is not the same as the COA, so i tried to reactivate windows, but i could not use that key printed on COA
TSjinaun
post Jun 9 2006, 01:04 AM

where are my stars???
6,138 posts

Microsoft: Oops, We Forgot to Mention, WGA Calls Home Daily

http://www.neowin.net/index.php?act=view&id=33526
yjwong
post Jun 12 2006, 10:11 AM

282 posts

Yes...I realized that... WgaTray.exe does execute at each logon. It only stops executing when there is the existence of %userprofile%\Local Settings\Temp\WgaNotify.settings.
dextermia
post Jun 12 2006, 10:02 PM

107 posts

i just install the WGA and it keeps prompting a message stated that my windows support will end at 10 october 2006. anyone got the same problem as me ?

does that mean i will not be able to receive the windows update ??
mystical zero
post Jun 12 2006, 10:39 PM

876 posts

QUOTE(dextermia @ Jun 12 2006, 10:02 PM)
i just install the WGA and it keeps prompting a message stated that my windows support will end at 10 october 2006. anyone got the same problem as me ?

does that mean i will not be able to receive the windows update ??
Are you using Windows XP sp1? Microsoft has review that it will stop providing updates and support for Windows XP sp1 from 10 october 2006 onwards. It's recommended that you update to windows XP sp2.
slingswish
post Jun 13 2006, 02:57 AM

560 posts

i try before but cannot wor dunno why
fariz
post Jun 13 2006, 05:46 AM

Tan Sri F
16,825 posts

Microsoft's shoddy Windows Genuine Advantage Installation Process

This screen gallery shows the process that some Windows users will see in the course of updating their computers.

http://blogs.zdnet.com/BTL/?page_id=3170
expertester
post Jun 13 2006, 12:25 PM

321 posts

IMHO, OEM is Original Equipment for Manufacturer right. WinXP OEM is licensed to certain manufacturer (Acer, Dell etc) to be installed in their customer brand new PC. In other word, you can buy OEM windows and install it in your not so brand new PC. Even your pc is brand new, i doubt you can buy OEM product and install it to your pc. Normal customer should buy retail product. But, in Malaysia, there is a trend which distributor or dealer have some source to get OEM material, which technically cant be at their hand. Software or Eq sold at shop should be a retail product not OEM. Both OEM and retail need activation.

Only corporate license (in 1000 copies plus) not require activiation. For example an ABC company wanna upgrade 1500 its PC from windows 98 to winxp, so ABC company only need to buy a winxp corporate cd, a munual but 1500 license...tahts what i understand from my company software license policy.

Ah..forgot...about the wga thinggy...i believe we cant remove it even we try to terminate the wga.exe via process explorer. Windows will auto restart lol. Hmm,...about the cost, we have to live with it actually. PC is not a calculator. PC is luxury item even at certain degree it is a need. People at europe and US (some of my gaming online friend) treat software upgrade as a hardware upgrade. Only when they really need it, they consider their budget to upgrade. We Malaysian never think that way, coz in our mind, when we wanna buy a PC, consider the hardware price only. Budget 3k, all the 3k pour into hardware ..squeeze as much possible while other ppl in other side of the world, quater to half of the budget goes to hardware too...coz BSA really agresive there.

About slash up the price...i guess, it more to day dreaming. Most of the software from US which bound to the 3.8 multiplier. Unless we produce our own standard software, it will become another story. But how to produce our own software when almost all malaysian use pirated one...even malaysian sofware already sold as a pirate copy XD. Since the purchase power (Malaysian vs US) about equal (RM 2 to buy a burger here vs USD2 to buy a burger there), discounted imported software seem a long way to be hoped. Imagine 3D card at its prime will be discounted...kinda imposible. We already can accept, the latest 3D card will cost us more than RM2000 rite...

Just my 2 cents

PS > Correction lol..wga could be disable (maybe they hide it) using wga killer. Dont know legal or not.

This post has been edited by expertester: Jun 14 2006, 02:16 AM
dextermia
post Jun 14 2006, 11:04 PM

107 posts

QUOTE(mystical zero @ Jun 12 2006, 11:39 PM)
Are you using Windows XP sp1? Microsoft has review that it will stop providing updates and support for Windows XP sp1 from 10 october 2006 onwards. It's recommended that you update to windows XP sp2.
izzit ok if i decided not to update my windows to sp2 ?
joylay83
post Jun 15 2006, 12:07 AM

854 posts

QUOTE(dextermia @ Jun 14 2006, 11:04 PM)
izzit ok if i decided not to update my windows to sp2 ?
IMHO it is ok. but then y u dun wanna upgrade to xp2?? it is much faster and more stable. fixes a lot of bugs here and there.
dextermia
post Jun 15 2006, 09:03 AM

107 posts

QUOTE(joylay83 @ Jun 15 2006, 01:07 AM)
IMHO it is ok. but then y u dun wanna upgrade to xp2?? it is much faster and more stable. fixes a lot of bugs here and there.
but i heard that it is quite troublesome to upgrade it as you will have to eliminate all the spyware and all other thing inside your PC before you start install the new version. Do i really have to reformat my whole PC before installing it ???
fariz
post Jun 15 2006, 09:41 AM

Tan Sri F
16,825 posts

the best is to start clean.
dextermia
post Jun 15 2006, 01:24 PM

107 posts

QUOTE(fariz @ Jun 15 2006, 10:41 AM)
the best is to start clean.
that is what i meant TROUBLESOME sweat.gif
fariz
post Jun 15 2006, 01:31 PM

Tan Sri F
16,825 posts

if you're sure that your pc is clean, just upgrade, no need to clean install
dextermia
post Jun 15 2006, 10:09 PM

107 posts

QUOTE(fariz @ Jun 15 2006, 02:31 PM)
if you're sure that your pc is clean, just upgrade, no need to clean install
i'm not 100% sure that my PC is clean. Maybe i should download some program to eliminate all those spywares sweat.gif
prakash11
post Jun 17 2006, 12:19 PM

332 posts

Where can i download the latest security updates without going to the microsoft site. Coz i just reformated windows so i'm a bit worried abt security loopholes in my system. Btw i turned off windows auto updates in services.msc so i don't get the wga bug. Did a google search checkout the 4th result 1st page..anyone who dare to try pls tell me whether it works anot.

This post has been edited by prakash11: Jun 17 2006, 12:38 PM

11 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0336sec    0.63    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 07:59 PM