What is Associate Engineer?

TSkatopunk
post Apr 28 2006, 12:02 PM, updated 20y ago

United Pot Smugglers
2,343 posts

Basically i'm not sure what associate means. Anybody could enlighten me?
SUSDavid83
post Apr 28 2006, 06:59 PM

52,874 posts

I guess it just means Assistance Engineer.
kb2005
post Apr 28 2006, 10:31 PM

Yahoo!
17,852 posts

Yes, it is assistant engineer. Some company call it Associate and some Assistant engineer (AE). Normally this position require Diploma or HND as the minimum qualification.
aichiban
post Apr 29 2006, 02:41 PM

pot yia thee keh tai lang!!
1,994 posts

omg
dont mislead pls....

by assosiate engineer, do u mean the title?
it must be, because it not a position. well, some companies do make the title as the position.

assosiate engineer is a title u get after u register with engineering bodies like IEM or BEM. Only years of experience and series of exams n tests.
You will get the title IR in front of ur name. Like Dr. but this is IR.

By this title, you have extra privilage to approve certain things like drawings, designs and whatsoever related to ur profession.

Not to mention that you can register and start a consultancy office. Companies must have 3rd party consultants to get certain things approve and this is where u will get the big bucks
SUSDavid83
post Apr 29 2006, 11:18 PM

52,874 posts

Here are the meanings returned by dictionary.com

1. A person united with another or others in an act, enterprise, or business; a partner or colleague.
2. A companion; a comrade.
3. One that habitually accompanies or is associated with another; an attendant circumstance.
4. A member of an institution or society who is granted only partial status or privileges.
aichiban
post Apr 30 2006, 12:11 AM

1,994 posts

THIS is what u get from "associate" in dictionary.com

1. A person united with another or others in an act, enterprise, or business; a partner or colleague.
2. A companion; a comrade.
3. One that habitually accompanies or is associated with another; an attendant circumstance.
4. A member of an institution or society who is granted only partial status or privileges.
5. often Associate An associate's degree.

adj : having partial rights and privileges or subordinate status; "an associate member"; "an associate professor"

and that is just associate, not associate engineer.
ask ur lecturer for christ sake.

there's just too many ppl giving wrong infos here.
and yes, im an engineering grad
SUSDavid83
post Apr 30 2006, 02:23 AM

52,874 posts

Stop hitting me, please.

If you're so experienced, why there're position of Associate Engineer in some companies which ranked much lower than a Senior Engineer.
iZuDeeN
post Apr 30 2006, 02:27 AM

3,466 posts

Oit... those ppl with IR are called PROFESSIONAL ENGINEER or P.E for short and NOT ASSOCIATE ENGINEER..

If an IR heard u call them ASSOCIATE ENGINEER, u get a spank at ur butt tongue.gif

aichiban
post Apr 30 2006, 02:48 AM

1,994 posts

resident engineer
senior resident engineer
these are eg of standard international titles

senior engineer
junior engineer
pratise engineer
all oso company sendiri cincai give

like - sales executive - can be really an executive o just a salesboy
health n safety officer - really a qualified personnel or just general worker

you dont call IR - associate engineer or profesional engineer. u call them IR or just engineer
Ethan
post Apr 30 2006, 09:08 PM

525 posts

^ Yeah.... there're so many ppl giving misleading info here in LYN, and you know what ? You're one of them.

Associate Engineer has nothing to do with Ir.
You do not really need the Ir. title to be an Associate Engineer.

This post has been edited by Ethan: Apr 30 2006, 09:08 PM
aichiban
post Apr 30 2006, 11:18 PM

1,994 posts

oic
i might be wrong then
my apologies to all

but really, assistant engineer is total bs
AEROZ
post May 1 2006, 10:46 AM

224 posts

In MNC (semiconductor), Associate Engineer is the highest level of technician grading. Is is one rank lower than Junior Engineer level.
SUSflamer
post May 1 2006, 11:15 AM

615 posts

Hhmn...normally in IT line associate is the most junior position. For example an associate consultant is less senior than a consultant. Anyway these terms and jargons are different in all companies so the only way to really find out is to ask the company.
mars2005
post May 1 2006, 11:19 AM

252 posts

Nth so special with the word "Engineer" means labour.... with a paper
kyan :)
post May 1 2006, 11:28 AM

SOH
637 posts

the word "engineer" is to get a secure job with an above average pay n the license to use more brains than factory workers.
Ethan
post May 1 2006, 04:47 PM

525 posts

QUOTE(mars2005 @ May 1 2006, 11:19 AM)
Nth so special with the word "Engineer" means labour.... with a paper
Yeah right, different by only a paper....and some CASH. whistling.gif

You dont have the paper huh? Too bad...... whistling.gif whistling.gif
SUSDavid83
post May 1 2006, 05:04 PM

52,874 posts

It's not easy to get the "Engineer" title. 4 suffering years is the minimum requirement ...
TYK
post May 1 2006, 11:15 PM

995 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ May 1 2006, 05:04 PM)
It's not easy to get the "Engineer" title. 4 suffering years is the minimum requirement ...
That's just the beginning only. laugh.gif More to come when you are going to work in industry.
QUOTE(aichiban @ May 1 2006, 05:08 PM)
its easy if u live in a bolehland

ask me
OK, asking you, why?

This post has been edited by TYK: May 1 2006, 11:17 PM
soulmate
post May 5 2006, 12:50 AM

..your girlfriend said im a good kisser
1,276 posts

aichiban: you r going too far though...

my fren work as Associate Engineer and his job description is to help Senior Engineer
oso got some fren from IT related field which carry title Associate Network Engineer and his job is to help Senior Network Engineer
tot same as Associate Professor which ranked lower than "full" Professor title
imho
LaR_c
post May 5 2006, 11:35 AM

Mediocrity is not an option
1,595 posts

Please refrain from swaying away from the original topic of discussion. Thank you.

0.0169sec    0.43    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 10:14 PM