Credit Cards Maybankard 2 Gold & Platinum Cards V7, Pls use Search Topic b4 ask question

GymBoi
post Jun 13 2013, 08:21 PM

1,393 posts

QUOTE(notok @ Jun 13 2013, 11:39 AM)
370K of TP actually is not a lot. you can ask those who frequently go for business trip
true that ... changed a 3rd gen ipad from harvey norman lol ..... then alot other small stuff like hair dryer ... rice cooker ... etc ... harvey norman is good stuff haha .. 9700 for RM50 less than RM1 = 200
GymBoi
post Jun 29 2013, 11:37 PM

1,393 posts

QUOTE(Mollai @ Jun 29 2013, 09:05 PM)
I have a question. I'm actually contemplating whether to use my 2 cards when I'm travelling, or to bring more cash. As I know that there may be some fees imposed when you put through transactions with other currencies besides the exchange rate. Can anyone enlighten me with more information about how it works?

I don't wanna go travel thinking I got the item cheaper than m'sia and in the end check my bill to realize it is actually about the same price after the conversion from the bank and also the transaction fee or sth.
No extra charge but the rate will definitely be higher than money exchanger (how much higher no1 will know unless you call Maybank from overseas when u want to make the transaction lol).. I read somewhere the Maybank 2 Card's MasterCard has 1 of the lowest rates (but still higher than cash exchange) ... You just need to compare the danger of carrying so much cash and that difference in % .... it's not much and for me I'd rather swipe my card

edit: Just remembered .. there was once it happened that the card rate is lower than what I've exchanged with cash ... maybe coz when I exchange cash it was high .. then 1 week after i went overseas the rate dropped .. well this explains how mild the "extra charge" is for the Mastercard ... If you're spending and claiming from company I have a tip for you ...exchange some cash at Mid Valley (famous for low rates) .. get the exchange rate from the airport (get them to print a receipt - which is always highest) .. while in overseas just swipe with your cc ... come home .. compare the cc rate with the exchange rate .. submit whichever is higher lol

This post has been edited by GymBoi: Jun 29 2013, 11:41 PM
GymBoi
post Jul 4 2013, 09:30 PM

1,393 posts

QUOTE(zr125 @ Jul 4 2013, 09:26 PM)

Only for new card members??
You really think you could win the mini ?
GymBoi
post Jul 20 2013, 09:43 PM

1,393 posts

Those who likes ice cream can go redeem at baskin robins ... RM1 = 200 points ... even count to the cents smile.gif Juz came back ... RM 26.25 = 5250 points
GymBoi
post Aug 1 2013, 10:08 PM

1,393 posts

QUOTE(edwardccg @ Aug 1 2013, 10:00 PM)
I don't have any CASA with this card, so i am having two m2u account for these two cards.

Asked branch and they say need open CASA in order to manage both cards account in single m2u. Seems like no people know how to link, but i saw some member mention they can linked together, mind to share how?
Did mine in 1U credit card centre
GymBoi
post Aug 9 2013, 06:38 PM

1,393 posts

QUOTE(LostAndFound @ Aug 9 2013, 04:49 PM)
You're saying the bank earns more than 7% from my spending on AMEX when I always pay in full and on time (one day before due date) and never pay them interest before?

Their charge to merchant can be 7%?

Reason bank can make money is almost all CC users aren't so syiok pay on time (or so calculative only spend weekend). Please correct me if I'm wrong.
That's they key point ... YOU only ... this world not only you use this card ... IF everyone that uses this card stop using once spending reach 1k .. then yes maybe the bank will lose money .. but most of the time the spending will be more than 1k ... your 7% has a cap of RM50 .... their charge to merchant doesn't have a cap .. of course we dont even need to talk about those that only pays minimum .. or better still doesn't even pay minimum

and yes .. bank never loses money ... same as casino ...

This post has been edited by GymBoi: Aug 9 2013, 06:39 PM
GymBoi
post Aug 10 2013, 11:41 AM

1,393 posts

QUOTE(LostAndFound @ Aug 9 2013, 04:49 PM)
You're saying the bank earns more than 7% from my spending on AMEX when I always pay in full and on time (one day before due date) and never pay them interest before?

Their charge to merchant can be 7%?

Reason bank can make money is almost all CC users aren't so syiok pay on time (or so calculative only spend weekend). Please correct me if I'm wrong.
QUOTE(LostAndFound @ Aug 10 2013, 08:14 AM)
Your 'you' if referring to one person then can consider I 'outsmart' the bank? Just pointing out your assumption not true in every case bro.... kalau average to all users different la.
Well i didn't say you outsmart the bank .. i'm just saying bank has ways to earn beside charging merchant more than 7% .. and they still earn even EVERY CC holder pay in time ... they just need to use more than 1k per month .. you asked for people to correct you if you're wrong so that's what i did ..
GymBoi
post Sep 9 2013, 10:41 PM

1,393 posts

QUOTE(snigapoe @ Sep 9 2013, 10:19 PM)
if going to swipe at oversea use this combo card better or just get the debit card only

coz going to china, i dont think they will accept amex so only choice is master or visa
lol u'll be surprised ... in fact amex is widely accepted in china smile.gif
GymBoi
post Sep 17 2013, 11:05 AM

1,393 posts

QUOTE(tednet @ Sep 17 2013, 02:51 AM)
hi... newbie here..

so what with this KARMALOOP?? so far i got such transaction on my 2cards..

should i be worry bout this??
No offense but you sound like you shouldn't be using credit cards ..
GymBoi
post Sep 18 2013, 01:58 AM

1,393 posts

QUOTE(suadrif @ Sep 17 2013, 12:23 PM)
its normal for most people out there dont know about scam, especially for first timer.
thats why the scam exist at the first place, due to lack of awareness
but it doesn't mean that people shouldn't use credit cards.
QUOTE(tednet @ Sep 17 2013, 08:00 PM)
please dun judge me like dat sweat.gif  sweat.gif ... these card im using mostly for travel overseas only..

i know the cases but never heard bout that company in particular..  icon_rolleyes.gif  icon_rolleyes.gif
well yeah i agree that not many people know about scams .... I'm ok if people don't know karmaloop ... but seeing your statement getting charged for something you didn't do? That's kinda common sense yea? It's like .. someone comes and take out RM100 from your wallet, should you be worried about it? Lol ... but yea no offence bro .. just be more careful ... if you need to pay for something you didn't buy .. you should be worried indeed
GymBoi
post Sep 19 2013, 12:22 AM

1,393 posts

QUOTE(spikey2506 @ Sep 18 2013, 10:45 PM)
Same here. Eligible for Plat but lazy to upgrade due to the hassles. Not that much difference between Plat and Gold too. If they really want to promote the Plat card among air travellers, they should include free lounge access.
This ... but i'll just upgrade for the heck of it ... looks nicer than gold lol
GymBoi
post Oct 3 2013, 06:36 PM

1,393 posts

Just for info ... i remember someone asked about this last time ... you can have BOTH gold and platinum together and get RM 100 max cash back provided you pay 2 government tax per year ... so u get 4 cards ... it is possible ... I confirm with Gardens cc centre ... coz i upgraded to platinum .. but didnt want to keep the gold though .. too many cards ...
GymBoi
post Oct 3 2013, 08:07 PM

1,393 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Oct 3 2013, 06:49 PM)
I have tried this 2 years ago and it doesn't work that way. I have confirmed with the bank as well. Someone need to try this again to check, maybe Maybank has relaxed their policy  whistling.gif
I got my info on Monday @ CC centre Gardens ... well yea maybe tat guy is talking kok ... but anyone got time can go and confirm haha too bad amex is not widely accepted and cash back only weekends ... if ocbc got like this confirm i get 2 cards haha
GymBoi
post Oct 3 2013, 08:10 PM

1,393 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Oct 3 2013, 08:09 PM)
If really can work, soon everyone here will be getting gold and plat  drool.gif
If they really spend so much on the weekends then why not ? rclxm9.gif Btw it was an india guy who told me though .. he looked like he know what he's talking with some other stuff I asked him ... not some noob type like once u c it's a noob face ..

0.0419sec    0.43    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 08:51 AM