Which tyre is the most silent, And the price
TSeric_ocy
May 18 2013, 05:29 PM, updated 13y ago
As per topic, please recommend... All comment are welcome... And I want to ask which tyre are the most silent for altis 1.6e 2006? And the price? A thousands of thanks for all your opinion! !! ^.^
TSeric_ocy
May 18 2013, 05:45 PM
If I just change 2 pcs first is it ok? Because 2 of them almost worn out already...
ckmoy007
May 19 2013, 02:10 PM
michelin pilot super sport? goodyear asymetry 2? but dunno if they have sizes for u. can read from tyre reviews. and yes, u can change 2 tyres first. i did dat too.
another advice, if u wan a quieter ride, can consider to soundproof ur car.
TSeric_ocy
May 19 2013, 03:16 PM
QUOTE(ckmoy007 @ May 19 2013, 02:10 PM) michelin pilot super sport? goodyear asymetry 2? but dunno if they have sizes for u. can read from tyre reviews. and yes, u can change 2 tyres first. i did dat too. another advice, if u wan a quieter ride, can consider to soundproof ur car. interested on the michelin.. btw... soundproof like quite expensive leh... know where can do soundproof at penang island?? :-)
ckmoy007
May 19 2013, 07:28 PM
soundproof u dun have to change regularly. it sticks in ur car forever unless removed. sound proofing a car can take up to 1k+ if do every part and use branded materials. not sure where r the gud shop in penang. if u wan to improve ur NVH onli, suggest to do 4 doors and fenders first. might save up budget.
Samurai X
May 19 2013, 07:44 PM
QUOTE(ckmoy007 @ May 19 2013, 02:10 PM) michelin pilot super sport? goodyear asymetry 2? but dunno if they have sizes for u. can read from tyre reviews. and yes, u can change 2 tyres first. i did dat too. another advice, if u wan a quieter ride, can consider to soundproof ur car. Performance tyres like Mich PSS was never a quiet tyre. I have personally used once but it a used set with 80% tread. Goodyear Asymmetric 2 is fine but they only available in 17" and above. Yokohama Decibel's name say it all. Quiet and comfort. Other Option is XM2 or Conti comfort 5 with some compromise on performance. A good all rounder will be PS3. Just a matter of budget.
Quazacolt
May 19 2013, 07:44 PM
QUOTE(eric_ocy @ May 19 2013, 03:16 PM) interested on the michelin.. btw... soundproof like quite expensive leh... know where can do soundproof at penang island?? :-) michelin are really jack of all trade, master of none if you want really comfort tires can look into the likes of yokohama/toyo/nitto/bridgestone i'd personally recommend c drive 2 from yokohama, but if you scare that may not satisfy you and have better budget, can consider their flagship silent tire yokohama advan DB
TSeric_ocy
May 19 2013, 07:46 PM
QUOTE(ckmoy007 @ May 19 2013, 07:28 PM) soundproof u dun have to change regularly. it sticks in ur car forever unless removed. sound proofing a car can take up to 1k+ if do every part and use branded materials. not sure where r the gud shop in penang. if u wan to improve ur NVH onli, suggest to do 4 doors and fenders first. might save up budget. cool... but I think after take bonus only do la.. coz now suddenly want change all four tyre... After change the tyre woll see the nvh first only decide wanna do soundproof of not... ^.^
Quazacolt
May 19 2013, 07:49 PM
QUOTE(eric_ocy @ May 19 2013, 07:46 PM) cool... but I think after take bonus only do la.. coz now suddenly want change all four tyre... After change the tyre woll see the nvh first only decide wanna do soundproof of not... ^.^ they really affect a lot, if you dont mind, you can look up my tire review between conti cc1 (albeit old vs new tire lol) and yokohama c drive 2 i did a bit of "compensation" by driving at faster speeds on the c drive 2 heh... it has actual sound recording and sound level graphs just to make a point
TSeric_ocy
May 19 2013, 08:15 PM
QUOTE(Quazacolt @ May 19 2013, 07:49 PM) they really affect a lot, if you dont mind, you can look up my tire review between conti cc1 (albeit old vs new tire lol) and yokohama c drive 2 i did a bit of "compensation" by driving at faster speeds on the c drive 2 heh... it has actual sound recording and sound level graphs just to make a point  Sorry, don't really get it... means change tyre or do soundproof for better nvh? if tyre, den you means continental tyre better or yokohama better? paiseh ya.. (^.^")
MyWifeCar
May 19 2013, 08:31 PM
QUOTE(eric_ocy @ May 19 2013, 08:15 PM) Sorry, don't really get it... means change tyre or do soundproof for better nvh? if tyre, den you means continental tyre better or yokohama better? paiseh ya.. (^.^") Can try continental premium contact 2. Yes, very quite tyre and ok on wet as well.
Quazacolt
May 19 2013, 09:42 PM
QUOTE(eric_ocy @ May 19 2013, 08:15 PM) Sorry, don't really get it... means change tyre or do soundproof for better nvh? if tyre, den you means continental tyre better or yokohama better? paiseh ya.. (^.^") - change tire - yokohama c drive 2 beats the living shit outta continental comfort contact 1
TSeric_ocy
May 19 2013, 11:14 PM
QUOTE(Quazacolt @ May 19 2013, 09:42 PM) - change tire - yokohama c drive 2 beats the living shit outta continental comfort contact 1 Yup... Heard a lot of people say yokohama is the most silent wan... but the foreman told me got two type, one is original japan, the other is Thailand, and mostly nowdays all are Thailand.... Will it be much different? Coz as I know is we see the brand, not where it makes right? my car also made in thai by the way...
Quazacolt
May 19 2013, 11:39 PM
QUOTE(eric_ocy @ May 19 2013, 11:14 PM) Yup... Heard a lot of people say yokohama is the most silent wan... but the foreman told me got two type, one is original japan, the other is Thailand, and mostly nowdays all are Thailand.... Will it be much different? Coz as I know is we see the brand, not where it makes right? my car also made in thai by the way... yokohama may or may not be the most silent tires around, however they do have proper marketing in that department and i think it helps letting people know they do have damn silent tires. that said, c drive 2 are mostly from Philippines, not Thailand. Not to mention they don't even have proper DOT ratings probably to cut cost. Advan line up are Yokohama's flagship tires (means it's the best Yokohama has to offer) so they are 100% Japan made. so if you don't want trial and error and have the money to simply go for the best, by all means give Yokohama Advan DB a try
TSeric_ocy
May 20 2013, 01:38 AM
QUOTE(Quazacolt @ May 19 2013, 11:39 PM) yokohama may or may not be the most silent tires around, however they do have proper marketing in that department and i think it helps letting people know they do have damn silent tires. that said, c drive 2 are mostly from Philippines, not Thailand. Not to mention they don't even have proper DOT ratings probably to cut cost. Advan line up are Yokohama's flagship tires (means it's the best Yokohama has to offer) so they are 100% Japan made. so if you don't want trial and error and have the money to simply go for the best, by all means give Yokohama Advan DB a try  good! I'll ask for the tyre availability and the prices differences on Thursday... thx alot!!! ^.^
OC4/3
May 20 2013, 02:01 PM
Biggest questions till: 1.)What is your tyre size 2.)What is your budget per tyre Answering both of these will lead to answers
TSeric_ocy
May 20 2013, 05:28 PM
QUOTE(OC4/3 @ May 20 2013, 02:01 PM) Biggest questions till: 1.)What is your tyre size 2.)What is your budget per tyre Answering both of these will lead to answers  1. I think is 15" ... 2. If worth it more expensive a bit worth it also la... But Don't expensive gila la... Around RM300 per pc will do... Haha...
Quazacolt
May 20 2013, 06:11 PM
QUOTE(eric_ocy @ May 20 2013, 05:28 PM) 1. I think is 15" ... 2. If worth it more expensive a bit worth it also la... But Don't expensive gila la... Around RM300 per pc will do... Haha... rm300 can't afford yokohama advan db lol c drive 2 afaik rm210-230 for 15"
TSeric_ocy
May 20 2013, 08:17 PM
g QUOTE(Quazacolt @ May 20 2013, 06:11 PM) rm300 can't afford yokohama advan db lol c drive 2 afaik rm210-230 for 15" RM210-230 only?? Cheap la... The foreman told me around rm250 for normal wan... I say RM300 is per pc not per set la... (-.-")
Quazacolt
May 20 2013, 09:35 PM
QUOTE(eric_ocy @ May 20 2013, 08:17 PM) RM210-230 only?? Cheap la... The foreman told me around rm250 for normal wan... I say RM300 is per pc not per set la... (-.-") but advan db is around 370-420/piece if im not mistaken. at the very least it is 100% more than rm300 budget you have
nestum
May 20 2013, 11:46 PM
pls state ur tire size for better recommendation
195/60/15? 195/55/16? 205/55/16?
and ur budget also save ur money for a better tire b4 u go soundproof ur floor/fender/firewall
TSeric_ocy
May 21 2013, 12:31 AM
QUOTE(Quazacolt @ May 20 2013, 09:35 PM) but advan db is around 370-420/piece if im not mistaken. at the very least it is 100% more than rm300 budget you have Wow... Way too expensive for a pc of tyre priced at RM370 - RN420!!! Because my tyre won't last for a a year due to nowdays I drive around 100KM per year...