Audit or Account, in need of opinions....

hikari
post Apr 28 2006, 10:24 PM

I'm constantly sleepy
1,333 posts

QUOTE(aida^146 @ Apr 28 2006, 03:36 PM)
slave for 3 years in Big 4....i am willing....if i do get to be apart of the Big 4...it will be a chance of a lifetime....i do noe dat u will have to be working long hours n all, but....as long as ur willing to do it..y not rite?  smile.gif
u r willing before u experience it.. u wont be willing after u have experience it.. resignation is so common.. everyday i heard ppl talkingbout resigning.. working hours with no claims sux big time smile.gif
hikari
post Apr 28 2006, 10:25 PM

I'm constantly sleepy
1,333 posts

QUOTE(ts1 @ Apr 28 2006, 12:04 PM)
3yrs in big 4...is better than 5yrs in commercial..when u r auditors, ur knowledge much much better than those in commercial...

the only shortfall...u goin be slave for 3yrs..can u take it
this is bcos u work non-stop in big 4.. long working hours somemore.. double of what the ppl in the commercial work.. i think 3 yrs in big 4= 6 yrs in commercial.. hahahahah
hikari
post Apr 29 2006, 12:44 AM

I'm constantly sleepy
1,333 posts

yup big 4 salary for fresh grad is above 2k, except deloitte.. i think slightly below? .. need someone to confirm this.. pls also look at the experience u'll gain instead of the pay u will get..

with the workload, the pay is not justifiable.. u'll feel that u r underpaid.. hehehe
hikari
post Apr 30 2006, 04:49 PM

I'm constantly sleepy
1,333 posts

read the pull factor.. 3rd last point.. it reads..

>A completely new work culture in the UK auditing profession compared with Malaysia where teams are understaffed and overworked.

hope u'll see what i mean about auditing.. haha
hikari
post May 4 2006, 10:14 PM

I'm constantly sleepy
1,333 posts

QUOTE(aida^146 @ May 4 2006, 10:00 AM)
yesterday, got an interview in an audit firm..wow, it was tough...it was a two session interview...the 1st session requires u to do a presentation on my life time, in drawings...heheheh...now i noe, dat my drawings sucks....then the next session is the one-on-one interview....

didnt noe whether that went well....lets just see whether it will turn out ok....
omg.. PwC? lol
hikari
post May 5 2006, 11:53 PM

I'm constantly sleepy
1,333 posts

QUOTE(aida^146 @ May 5 2006, 11:45 AM)
nope...not PWC...but in a medium firm....AFTAAS...in KL...just got a call from them this morning....i manage to secure a place.... smile.gif be starting work next coming monday.....
oohh.. medium firm also so demanding ar the interview? lol congrats girl!.. i thought u PwC, if u r we can go lunch together gehter tongue.gif

QUOTE(aida^146 @ May 5 2006, 12:55 PM)
big 4 in Malaysia n internationally...it is the same anywhere in the world... PWC, Delloitte, KPMG n EY...  tongue.gif
uhmm not same.. i think BDO in malaysia is bigger than delloite.. DKC in malaysia is quite bad.. i think they focus more on consultancy jobs here.. haha..

QUOTE(aida^146 @ May 5 2006, 05:14 PM)
if i'm not mistaken, among the Big 4, the 1st position goes to PWC....however, i might be wrong....
this will differ according to countries/region.. US is dominated by Delloite, UK by KPMG if i'm not mistaken.. but the most important one is Malaysia, we r dominated by PwC.. so different country got different positioning.. plus what type of 1st are we looking ar? in terms of size? turnover? employees? client's profile? it's very subjective smile.gif

QUOTE(aida^146 @ May 5 2006, 05:23 PM)
smile.gif lucky i got that rite....if not, 'malu' for being an account student... lol...but wat 'bout the salary? do they differ. a lot?
nope dont differ a lot.. couple of hundreds only.. tongue.gif
hikari
post May 7 2006, 01:39 AM

I'm constantly sleepy
1,333 posts

QUOTE(Geminist @ May 6 2006, 03:41 AM)
Nope, PwC is still one of the best well known accounting firm in the UK.

http://www.accountancyage.com/resource/top50
yah.. best well known.. but what do we constitute as #1? well known? range of clients? turnover? etc etc lol.. there's so many criterias..
hikari
post May 23 2006, 01:05 PM

I'm constantly sleepy
1,333 posts

QUOTE(aida^146 @ May 9 2006, 11:47 PM)
wah....with only 2 days, i can already feel the pressure.....hehehehe.....very tiring.....sumore have to travel to kl early in the morning....however, its worth it....really beginning to learn sumthing.... tongue.gif tomorrow will be my first audit field work....
within 1 month of started working, i have already tried working overnight for more than 30 hours.. and still counting.. yawn.gif yawn.gif
hikari
post May 23 2006, 01:32 PM

I'm constantly sleepy
1,333 posts

QUOTE(cktwai @ May 23 2006, 01:12 PM)
wah hikari.. which company is that man ??
big 4 lar LOL.. so who else wanna join big 4?
hikari
post May 23 2006, 08:23 PM

I'm constantly sleepy
1,333 posts

QUOTE(coolly @ May 23 2006, 05:40 PM)
hehe....still considering.. thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif  tongue.gif
almost 40 hours without sleep soon.. yawn.gif rclxub.gif

hikari
post May 24 2006, 09:09 AM

I'm constantly sleepy
1,333 posts

QUOTE(coolly @ May 23 2006, 09:27 PM)
i thought now shd be off peak,how come u still so busy?now u in sarawak is it?
yalor off peak for the firm lor.. jan-march is peak ma.. but it's peak whole year for me sad.gif yes in miri now

QUOTE(yiivei @ May 23 2006, 11:50 PM)
haha~ im from sarawak, now its peak time. so i guess he's from sarawak 2.

care to tell me more about west msia situation like peak season n so on...
i'm not from sarawak ler.. i from kl 1.. just doing work in s'wak.. so i dunno bout s'wak peak or what lol

0.0186sec    0.72    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 03:57 PM