just need sum advice or any opinions on this.... thanx
Audit or Account, in need of opinions....
Apr 27 2006, 02:11 PM, updated 20y ago
Show posts by this member only | Post
208 posts Joined: Feb 2006 From: Seremban/Kelana Jaya/Kuala Lumpur |
which shud be a good career path? i am a graduate of accounting... n had previously did my practical in an audit firms... i find dat working in audit firm gives u wider xposure as compared to accounts...however, in accounts u'll get better salary than audit....
just need sum advice or any opinions on this.... thanx |
Apr 28 2006, 12:04 PM
3,784 posts Joined: Jun 2005 |
3yrs in big 4...is better than 5yrs in commercial..when u r auditors, ur knowledge much much better than those in commercial...
the only shortfall...u goin be slave for 3yrs..can u take it |
Apr 28 2006, 02:19 PM
541 posts Joined: Sep 2004 |
yeah.. .. listen to him...
if u wanna go into a Big4 PM me... |
Apr 28 2006, 03:36 PM
QUOTE(ts1 @ Apr 28 2006, 12:04 PM) 3yrs in big 4...is better than 5yrs in commercial..when u r auditors, ur knowledge much much better than those in commercial... slave for 3 years in Big 4....i am willing....if i do get to be apart of the Big 4...it will be a chance of a lifetime....i do noe dat u will have to be working long hours n all, but....as long as ur willing to do it..y not rite? the only shortfall...u goin be slave for 3yrs..can u take it This post has been edited by aida^146: Apr 28 2006, 03:37 PM |
Apr 28 2006, 03:49 PM
Apr 28 2006, 10:24 PM
1,333 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: secret |
QUOTE(aida^146 @ Apr 28 2006, 03:36 PM) slave for 3 years in Big 4....i am willing....if i do get to be apart of the Big 4...it will be a chance of a lifetime....i do noe dat u will have to be working long hours n all, but....as long as ur willing to do it..y not rite? u r willing before u experience it.. u wont be willing after u have experience it.. resignation is so common.. everyday i heard ppl talkingbout resigning.. working hours with no claims sux big time |
Apr 28 2006, 10:25 PM
QUOTE(ts1 @ Apr 28 2006, 12:04 PM) 3yrs in big 4...is better than 5yrs in commercial..when u r auditors, ur knowledge much much better than those in commercial... this is bcos u work non-stop in big 4.. long working hours somemore.. double of what the ppl in the commercial work.. i think 3 yrs in big 4= 6 yrs in commercial.. hahahahahthe only shortfall...u goin be slave for 3yrs..can u take it |
Apr 29 2006, 12:18 AM
hm...i can imagine wat u meant....i had a friend who works in KPMG johor...he said work is tough n u do have to work long hours....he even had to work in saturday till late evening... but i guess, that's the life u have to lead if u wanna work in Big 4's...have to be prepared for this kinds of things... yup, double the work...however, if being compared to a medium audit firms, the salary in the Big 4 is worthy of the work done.... do u agree? |
Apr 29 2006, 12:23 AM
637 posts Joined: Nov 2005 |
audit n accounts got wad differents? n btw the salary in big 4 how wan?
Apr 29 2006, 12:32 AM
QUOTE(kyan audit n accounts got differents...hm,basically, as an accountant, u need to prepare the financial statements of the company...the balance sheet n all.....as for auditors, they will see whether the accounts being prepared by the accountants are true n fair...if yes, they will come out with a statement saying dat this financial statement gives a true n fair view.... i hope u could understand wat i'm trying to say... salary in the big 4, according to one of my frens who is working in KPMG is RM2000 - RM2300...by the way, he is a fresh grad. |
Apr 29 2006, 12:44 AM
yup big 4 salary for fresh grad is above 2k, except deloitte.. i think slightly below? .. need someone to confirm this.. pls also look at the experience u'll gain instead of the pay u will get..
with the workload, the pay is not justifiable.. u'll feel that u r underpaid.. hehehe |
Apr 29 2006, 01:18 AM
QUOTE(hikari @ Apr 29 2006, 12:44 AM) yup big 4 salary for fresh grad is above 2k, except deloitte.. i think slightly below? .. need someone to confirm this.. pls also look at the experience u'll gain instead of the pay u will get.. hehehhe.....maybe...the workload is really a lot!!!! i know...but the hand-on experience is also good....for ur future career.... with the workload, the pay is not justifiable.. u'll feel that u r underpaid.. hehehe |
Apr 30 2006, 01:17 AM
560 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: sunway |
hmm...big four sound nice
Apr 30 2006, 04:49 PM
![]() read the pull factor.. 3rd last point.. it reads.. >A completely new work culture in the UK auditing profession compared with Malaysia where teams are understaffed and overworked. hope u'll see what i mean about auditing.. haha |
May 1 2006, 01:47 AM
QUOTE(hikari @ Apr 30 2006, 04:49 PM) ![]() read the pull factor.. 3rd last point.. it reads.. >A completely new work culture in the UK auditing profession compared with Malaysia where teams are understaffed and overworked. hope u'll see what i mean about auditing.. haha |
May 1 2006, 03:56 AM
1,715 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Selangor |
try internal audit ...
i personally havent tried external yet ... but internal audit to me seems quite fun |
May 1 2006, 06:40 PM
QUOTE(yeahh @ May 1 2006, 03:56 AM) try internal audit ... interesting......hm, could u briefly tell me the function as an internal audit...i noe that it involves mostly with management especially risk management.....i am interested to know wat else does an internal audit do... i personally havent tried external yet ... but internal audit to me seems quite fun |
May 4 2006, 10:00 AM
yesterday, got an interview in an audit firm..wow, it was tough...it was a two session interview...the 1st session requires u to do a presentation on my life time, in drawings...heheheh...now i noe, dat my drawings sucks....then the next session is the one-on-one interview....
didnt noe whether that went well....lets just see whether it will turn out ok.... |
May 4 2006, 10:14 PM
QUOTE(aida^146 @ May 4 2006, 10:00 AM) yesterday, got an interview in an audit firm..wow, it was tough...it was a two session interview...the 1st session requires u to do a presentation on my life time, in drawings...heheheh...now i noe, dat my drawings sucks....then the next session is the one-on-one interview.... omg.. PwC? loldidnt noe whether that went well....lets just see whether it will turn out ok.... |
May 4 2006, 10:18 PM
3,760 posts Joined: Oct 2005 |
I dont understand why so many people likes to work their a**off for others?
May 5 2006, 06:16 AM
1,190 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Because these are the people paying you. Might you explain or elaborate further or I'll personally declare you a retard.
May 5 2006, 06:28 AM
2,928 posts Joined: Mar 2005 |
To some, please kindly cut down on the chatters, thank you
May 5 2006, 11:45 AM
May 5 2006, 11:54 AM
637 posts Joined: Nov 2005 |
big 4 as in big 4 in malaysia or international
May 5 2006, 12:55 PM
May 5 2006, 01:07 PM
470 posts Joined: Apr 2006 |
waa. kewL i want open 1 later
May 5 2006, 04:33 PM
167 posts Joined: Dec 2004 From: Peneng ---> Kuala Lumpur |
PWC, Delloitte, KPMG n EY... among this 4..which is is the biggest? and better?
which one offer more higher salary for fresh grad? pls give info..for those had experinced it |
May 5 2006, 05:14 PM
QUOTE(jeff_lee @ May 5 2006, 04:33 PM) PWC, Delloitte, KPMG n EY... among this 4..which is is the biggest? and better? if i'm not mistaken, among the Big 4, the 1st position goes to PWC....however, i might be wrong....which one offer more higher salary for fresh grad? pls give info..for those had experinced it |
May 5 2006, 05:18 PM
May 5 2006, 05:23 PM
May 5 2006, 11:53 PM
QUOTE(aida^146 @ May 5 2006, 11:45 AM) nope...not PWC...but in a medium firm....AFTAAS...in KL...just got a call from them this morning....i manage to secure a place.... oohh.. medium firm also so demanding ar the interview? lol congrats girl!.. i thought u PwC, if u r we can go lunch together gehter QUOTE(aida^146 @ May 5 2006, 12:55 PM) big 4 in Malaysia n internationally...it is the same anywhere in the world... PWC, Delloitte, KPMG n EY... uhmm not same.. i think BDO in malaysia is bigger than delloite.. DKC in malaysia is quite bad.. i think they focus more on consultancy jobs here.. haha.. QUOTE(aida^146 @ May 5 2006, 05:14 PM) this will differ according to countries/region.. US is dominated by Delloite, UK by KPMG if i'm not mistaken.. but the most important one is Malaysia, we r dominated by PwC.. so different country got different positioning.. plus what type of 1st are we looking ar? in terms of size? turnover? employees? client's profile? it's very subjective QUOTE(aida^146 @ May 5 2006, 05:23 PM) |
May 6 2006, 03:41 AM
QUOTE(hikari @ May 5 2006, 11:53 PM) oohh.. medium firm also so demanding ar the interview? lol congrats girl!.. i thought u PwC, if u r we can go lunch together gehter Nope, PwC is still one of the best well known accounting firm in the UK.uhmm not same.. i think BDO in malaysia is bigger than delloite.. DKC in malaysia is quite bad.. i think they focus more on consultancy jobs here.. haha.. this will differ according to countries/region.. US is dominated by Delloite, UK by KPMG if i'm not mistaken.. but the most important one is Malaysia, we r dominated by PwC.. so different country got different positioning.. plus what type of 1st are we looking ar? in terms of size? turnover? employees? client's profile? it's very subjective nope dont differ a lot.. couple of hundreds only.. http://www.accountancyage.com/resource/top50 |
May 7 2006, 01:39 AM
QUOTE(Geminist @ May 6 2006, 03:41 AM) Nope, PwC is still one of the best well known accounting firm in the UK. yah.. best well known.. but what do we constitute as #1? well known? range of clients? turnover? etc etc lol.. there's so many criterias..http://www.accountancyage.com/resource/top50 |
May 7 2006, 11:27 AM
1 posts Joined: May 2006 |
so envy you all ....
i made my first step wrong, should have joined audit in the first place... i m now in commercial, and the pay makes me difficult to turn back to audit...though i know audit will help in future career.... |
May 7 2006, 12:46 PM
1,885 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Bangsar,Kuala Lumpur |
what eva happened to Grant Thornton,heard their office is in Sheraton Imperial
May 7 2006, 02:00 PM
161 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Shah Alam |
In Malaysia, the general perception of rankings among the Big 4 is somewhat like this.
01. PWC 02. EY 03. KPMG (I used to work in International Executive Services Dept aka personal tax for expatriates before leaving on 31/08/2005 for better job) 04. DKC Not sure how they came up with the rankings. I just heard it from many people. Must be a reputation thing. KPMG pays fresh grads RM2,100 per month (that's the revised rate as at 01/01/2005). Before revision was RM2,000. Not sure if anymore revision made to fresh grad pay on 01/01/2006. Working in public accounting firm as a first job is preferable not only because of job experience and prestige but also because of the extremely high level of pressure and stress it piles on you (you don't set deadline. Your clients and the Government do. So it's meeting the deadline by hook or by crook even if you have to camp in the office overnight). Once you join the manufacturing sector, you'll feel like the whole world has been taken off your shoulder. You'll feel job satisfaction by the bucketloads too. This post has been edited by Dias: May 7 2006, 02:01 PM |
May 7 2006, 04:05 PM
QUOTE(Geminist @ May 6 2006, 03:41 AM) Nope, PwC is still one of the best well known accounting firm in the UK. I think you all better check your facts... I'm currently working in a Big4.... and this is the REAL deal... http://www.accountancyage.com/resource/top50 In UK ... Largest "Big4" is actually KPMG.... followed by Deloittes and the PWC and lastly EY. The difference between Deloittes and PWC in UK is not much difference but in UK KPMG is largest in terms of revenue.... EY is definitely the smallest amongst the "Big4" as their revenue just only breach the 1 Billion pounds mark this year. The other "Big4" has breached it years ago. In Malaysia... the largest "Big4" is not really known. Depending on how you want to look at it ... the largest will be either PWC and EY. Why I say depending on how you want to look at it is that Big4 Services consists of mainly Financial Audit, Tax, Transaction Advisory and Business/IT Advisory services. In terms of revenue both PWC and EY are almost on par. A few years ago when there is still an "Andersen" PWC will be largest but EY sort of like merged with Andersen and increased their employees by a lot. If you count total number of employees EY, is the largest in Malaysia as a result EY's TAX, Transaction Advisory and the other services has more employees than PWC. So here's my two cents worth. |
May 7 2006, 11:42 PM
QUOTE(cktwai @ May 7 2006, 04:05 PM) I think you all better check your facts... I'm currently working in a Big4.... and this is the REAL deal... wow....dat is some facts there....didnt noe dat they differ in other countries....i tot they're all the same ranking.....In UK ... Largest "Big4" is actually KPMG.... followed by Deloittes and the PWC and lastly EY. The difference between Deloittes and PWC in UK is not much difference but in UK KPMG is largest in terms of revenue.... EY is definitely the smallest amongst the "Big4" as their revenue just only breach the 1 Billion pounds mark this year. The other "Big4" has breached it years ago. In Malaysia... the largest "Big4" is not really known. Depending on how you want to look at it ... the largest will be either PWC and EY. Why I say depending on how you want to look at it is that Big4 Services consists of mainly Financial Audit, Tax, Transaction Advisory and Business/IT Advisory services. In terms of revenue both PWC and EY are almost on par. A few years ago when there is still an "Andersen" PWC will be largest but EY sort of like merged with Andersen and increased their employees by a lot. If you count total number of employees EY, is the largest in Malaysia as a result EY's TAX, Transaction Advisory and the other services has more employees than PWC. So here's my two cents worth. thanx 4 correcting my facts guys.... will be starting work tomorrow.....quite nervous actually |
May 9 2006, 04:25 PM
TIP TO BE SUCCESSFUL IN AUDIT
a) be always YES man b) see above c) see above This post has been edited by ts1: May 9 2006, 04:25 PM |
May 9 2006, 11:47 PM
wah....with only 2 days, i can already feel the pressure.....hehehehe.....very tiring.....sumore have to travel to kl early in the morning....however, its worth it....really beginning to learn sumthing....
May 10 2006, 06:28 PM
aida where you working now ???
May 10 2006, 11:04 PM
May 11 2006, 11:13 AM
work in audit still got free time surf net...i really envy u guys
May 11 2006, 11:55 PM
QUOTE(ts1 @ May 11 2006, 11:13 AM) wah...u envy us is it? for the time being, i only online now during the nite only....couldnt afford to go online during the day....sumore my time on the net is only 30min...hehehehe.... this is because, i'm getting sleepy already to stay up so late......its hard work in audit world.....but try see it as adventure...... |
May 12 2006, 09:44 AM
QUOTE(aida^146 @ May 11 2006, 11:55 PM) wah...u envy us is it? for the time being, i only online now during the nite only....couldnt afford to go online during the day....sumore my time on the net is only 30min...hehehehe.... Yes I'm in one of the Big4... hmmm did they call you regarding your CV that you sent them ?this is because, i'm getting sleepy already to stay up so late......its hard work in audit world.....but try see it as adventure...... |
May 12 2006, 04:26 PM
May 17 2006, 10:03 PM
hey gang....now i'm wondering....is there any tax people here?
1.how's the work load.....? 2.is it true dat tax people get promoted much2 faster compared to audit or account people...? 3.wat is the common starting pay for fresh graduates in tax...? 4.most of u guyz still using manual or e-filing already...?? hehehehe....tax is sooooo complicated |
May 17 2006, 10:20 PM
1,933 posts Joined: Mar 2006 From: ~Universe~ |
i personally tink tax is very "sayur" 1 lar. depend on how u perform. dun memorize all those stupid sections. we just need to understand it and not memorizing it. we aint taking management le!!
im not sure about tax salary but im very sure that there are only 1 or 2 staffs(specializing in tax) tat manage tax on audit/accounting firm. whereby, there will be a few on big co. like MNC. 1.how's the work load.....? depending ur the place u work. if more clients then more work lor!! 2.is it true dat tax people get promoted much2 faster compared to audit or account people...? hehe~ if audit/accounting firm, u r the king/queen there. as i have stated earlier that there will be maximum of 2 staffs handling tax only. 3.wat is the common starting pay for fresh graduates in tax...? FG sure start wit low paid lar. but if u really specializing in tax together with ur master in taxation, then i can assure u, u will be paid at least RM 5 in big corporation. 4.most of u guyz still using manual or e-filing already...?? im not very sure, but i tink every audit/accounting firm need to use e-filling next year? only if im not mistaken. from what i know, the audit firm that i works already using e-filling. |
May 18 2006, 05:47 PM
QUOTE(yiivei @ May 17 2006, 10:20 PM) i personally tink tax is very "sayur" 1 lar. depend on how u perform. dun memorize all those stupid sections. we just need to understand it and not memorizing it. we aint taking management le!! when u say 'sayur', u meant its easy, is it?? hehehhe.....maybe for those who practices tax everyday then its easy for them...im not sure about tax salary but im very sure that there are only 1 or 2 staffs(specializing in tax) tat manage tax on audit/accounting firm. whereby, there will be a few on big co. like MNC. 1.how's the work load.....? depending ur the place u work. if more clients then more work lor!! 2.is it true dat tax people get promoted much2 faster compared to audit or account people...? hehe~ if audit/accounting firm, u r the king/queen there. as i have stated earlier that there will be maximum of 2 staffs handling tax only. 3.wat is the common starting pay for fresh graduates in tax...? FG sure start wit low paid lar. but if u really specializing in tax together with ur master in taxation, then i can assure u, u will be paid at least RM 5 in big corporation. 4.most of u guyz still using manual or e-filing already...?? im not very sure, but i tink every audit/accounting firm need to use e-filling next year? only if im not mistaken. from what i know, the audit firm that i works already using e-filling. however, for me in audit, sumtimes we have to make our estimated tax 1st rite??? hm, dat part always tortures me....heheheheh.....especially rite now when i'm new, i need to understand it in a short time.....quite tough..... |
May 21 2006, 04:52 PM
1,390 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
--- deleted ---
This post has been edited by lipkhin: Dec 1 2010, 01:59 AM |
May 22 2006, 09:09 AM
QUOTE(lipkhin @ May 21 2006, 04:52 PM) as an employee.. you do realise that this website is just simply putting the companies?who care bout which big 4 is the largest? http://www.skorcareer.com/malaysia-eng/30-...in-malaysia.htm 1. EY 2. PwC 3. KPMG 4. Deloitte there was a list published in the Business Section of the News Straits Times 2 months ago and non of the Big 4 is in the list. |
May 22 2006, 11:10 AM
5 posts Joined: May 2006 |
I dunno about who is bigger in Msia, Pwc or EY but EY always mentions in their presentations that they're the largest during their presentations (I'm guessing in terms of revenue?).
cktwai: which big 4 are you working for, may I ask? |
May 23 2006, 10:23 AM
QUOTE(melsism @ May 22 2006, 11:10 AM) I dunno about who is bigger in Msia, Pwc or EY but EY always mentions in their presentations that they're the largest during their presentations (I'm guessing in terms of revenue?). The largest EY refers to is in terms of total head count in M'sia. cktwai: which big 4 are you working for, may I ask? doesn't necessarily mean revenue... |
May 23 2006, 01:05 PM
QUOTE(aida^146 @ May 9 2006, 11:47 PM) wah....with only 2 days, i can already feel the pressure.....hehehehe.....very tiring.....sumore have to travel to kl early in the morning....however, its worth it....really beginning to learn sumthing.... within 1 month of started working, i have already tried working overnight for more than 30 hours.. and still counting.. |
May 23 2006, 01:12 PM
wah hikari.. which company is that man ??
May 23 2006, 01:32 PM
May 23 2006, 05:40 PM
1,171 posts Joined: Dec 2005 |
May 23 2006, 08:23 PM
May 23 2006, 09:27 PM
1,171 posts Joined: Dec 2005 |
May 23 2006, 11:50 PM
1,933 posts Joined: Mar 2006 From: ~Universe~ |
May 24 2006, 12:55 AM
May 24 2006, 12:57 AM
hm....i think most audit will xperience peak period from january till july...rite?
May 24 2006, 09:09 AM
QUOTE(coolly @ May 23 2006, 09:27 PM) yalor off peak for the firm lor.. jan-march is peak ma.. but it's peak whole year for me QUOTE(yiivei @ May 23 2006, 11:50 PM) haha~ im from sarawak, now its peak time. so i guess he's from sarawak 2. i'm not from sarawak ler.. i from kl 1.. just doing work in s'wak.. so i dunno bout s'wak peak or what lolcare to tell me more about west msia situation like peak season n so on... |
| Change to: | 0.0236sec
5 queries
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 02:34 PM |